You are here: HomeSports2014 02 27Article 301967

Cameroon legend Biyik: Ghana can't reach World Cup semi-finals

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Promise Son 10 years ago

Nonsense! who the hell is he to make that stupid remarkS on Ghana? He should rather think about his country and not ours for we are already there.BUULLSHIT!

• Papa Appiah 10 years ago

If mouths played football, we would actually win the cup. What has our government done for football in the last four years to make us deserve to be in the semi-final?

• isaac 10 years ago

I think we black people are very sick mentally. Everywhere we go we got government problems. From beginning of time until today politics never change. People in Ghana are getting rich others are complaining it will always be ...

• GEORGE 10 years ago

They will put everything on government. They think they can lay down while the government feed them in their mouths. As for the ex-Cameroon player I think there is something wrong with him. Ghana was able to beat some Europea ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

with a cassava coach, tutulapatu coach like aa, without a td. gh aint going nowhere...
    bribe selection, entertaining less fit, mediocre players like nkum, adomah, adiyiah, jordan ayew,boye wont help gh. we hve the boys to do ...

• Avogadro 10 years ago

He will only be right if our players adopt his words 'not possible' as their vocabulary. Yes, we may not have a good coach; we only need our coach to put the right players on the field. After that, the rest is up to the pla ...

• Senior citizen Br,weig Germany. 10 years ago

Mr promise son, why do you insult the legend Biyik\.Biyik is an experience ex footballer who has watched the Ghana Black stars vis aviz their Group G team opponents and by his annalysis has found out that,they are not up to t ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

And Cameroun will ah? You are just as myopic as the hapless Biyik. The fact that he is an ex-footballer does not necessarily make him an informed football pundit. He sounds daft to me, he is better off shutting his gob.

• The Son of Man 10 years ago

Come June, we will know who is right, Biyik or the host of jingoistic Ghanaians.

• Kalek Nkono 10 years ago

Simply because Biyik's comments didn't go down well with you that makes him daft?. Then I am sorry for you.

• isaac 10 years ago

When shall we come together as one for Africa

• Kalek Nkono 10 years ago

We shall come together as one for Africa when people like stop being fanatic and try to be realistic.

• CRAP HEAD NKONO 10 years ago

FAKE CAMEROUNIAN NKONO, WHAT IS REALISTIC ABOUT BIYIK'S COMMENT?
    DOES GHANA NOT HAVE RETIRED FOOTBALLERS?

GHANAIANS ALWAYS SUPPORT CAMEROUN WHEN THEY ARE OUT THERE BEING CHEATED BY EUROPEAN REFEREES, OR WHEN GHANA IS OUT ...

• Alah 10 years ago

Did you predict your exit, also did you say Cameroun was not on the same level with the then europeans when you played in the world cup. If you think you can predict, tell us who is winning the trophy and stop being an annoyi ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

The word here is pure jealousy, why don't you talk about your country.
    Ghana was not expected to even qualify beyond the group stages at the last world cup but ended up nearly making it to the semi-finals. Same will happen, ...

• ghanaman 10 years ago

I agree with Omam 100%. We will even be lucky to get out of the group stage. We only know how to make noise, nonsense!

• Ama Atta 10 years ago

Ghana has never been able to attain the standards of the European teams say the Soccer experts and predicters. How was Ghana able to beat the europeansin the previous world cup.Whatever the outcome will be ,we are proud of o ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

The reality in international football is the underdog can win even when outclassed if 1) Centerbacks play well and 2) Strikers score two goals. See the USA 2- Spain 0 at the Confederation Cup in 2009. If you have an above a ...

• Amada 10 years ago

ANOKWALE, OMAM-BIYIK CAN SAY WHAT HE LIKES, BUT IT COULD BE FAR MORE EASIER FOR HIM TO RULE CAMEROON OUT AND LEAVE GHANA ALONE TO ITS DESTINY. WE ARE NOT GOING TO THE WORLD CUP AS SPECTATORS OR TO HELP OTHER TEAMS GATHER POIN ...

• Pablo 10 years ago

Ultimate bullshit, of course who is he to decide our destiny. If Ghana can't reach semi final, then Cameroon would surely not go beyond the group stages. Biyik knows the state of Cameroonian football at present it doesn't eve ...

• ghanaman 10 years ago

We’ve gotta quit focusing on past glories. This is 2014, not 2006 or 2010. There is no way we can compare with the current Cameroon team. They have been sleeping, but you needed to have watched their qualification matches a ...

• Randy Abbey 10 years ago

The truth stinks, that is why Ghanaians don't want the truth.

BUT ACCRA IS THE STINK CAPITAL, NEXT TO LAGOS

• ??? 10 years ago

YOUR CAPITAL ABI?

THE ENTIRE CITY IN UNINHABITABLE. STINKS LIKE DEAD KAYAWO'S ARMPIT....

• FIIFI 10 years ago

OMAM BIYIK WELL SPOKEN,I AGREE WITH U.INFACT THIS SO CALLED BLACK STARS ARE USELESS,AND HOPELESS BUT I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY SOME BUSH PEOPLE WHO DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT FOOTBALL TRUST AND SUPPORT THIS USELESS BLACK STARS.

• RICHMOND BOATENG USA 10 years ago

GHANA WILL REACH WORLD CUP SEMI-FINALS
    BY THE GRACE OF GOD AMEN.

• bernard 10 years ago

Yes ghana can reach the finals of the world cup in brazi.You can go fuck yourself olu man.

• dance 10 years ago

Fuck him, is he a God?

• kwesi apppiah 10 years ago

he said the truth

• shaqmoo 10 years ago

The other teams have started preparing for the matches. Infact the USA team is currently in session in preparation for the matches. Mainwhile, our team would start camping in May.. Oman may be right since, it takes preparatio ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Why cant he pass comments or make predictions about his own country? Was Cameroun at the same level with the European teams when they got to the quarters in 1990? So, how did the Black Stars get to the quarters the last time ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Omam Biyik is not God and moreover the dude is free to make any comments with regards to any country as far as the world cup is concerned. You people should have considered the context in which he passed those comments.

• Mudus 10 years ago

It is not about wishful thinking but rather about technical abilities and capabilities. We normally get charged up emotionally when we r criticised. We also tend to seek heavenly help to help us win or succeed in all endeavou ...

• JOHN MAHAMA 10 years ago

Kwasea kwa

• solomon 10 years ago

biyik if you that your country cant play just stay & keep quit

• village boy 10 years ago

we di make noise too much. we ko win world cup, na with mouth them di take win world cup?

• koooko 10 years ago

is that man oooooooook at all how can u say that foolish man

• ab 10 years ago

what about your country?

• Mudus 10 years ago

Biyik is an African and a professional at that who sees things you don't and can never see. He is only giving us a clue as to wake up from our slumber n work harder. Why all the insults from the dunderheads.

• ab 10 years ago

tweaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

before afcon 2013, players like keshie, abedi, siasia said the sssaaammmeee thing about the gbstars and it came to pass. if i were these fools hurling insults at biyik. i will take wat he is saying seriously n learn smthing f ...

• Chief Akwasi 10 years ago

ghana is going to take the cut, GHANA OSIEE YEEEEE!!! GHANAOOOOOOOOOOO

• christian brotherhood 10 years ago

we shall prove him wrong,you see,these are some of the things which makes Africa not progressing, it is time like this morale support is needed for all the qualified teams from Africa but for him Biyik to blow dirty statemen ...

• de 10 years ago

This is an argument that doesn't click at all. How would Omam-Biyik admit the high unpredictability in the game of football and argue at the same time of impoosibility on any team's part to advance? It is good Biyik critiqued ...

• Adjoa 10 years ago

Where, when and on what platform did the ex-Cameroon international striker François Omam-Biyik, make the pronouncement? GUTTER JOURNALIST!

• AHMED BIN-SALIH 10 years ago

There the Ghanaians go again with their trademark attitude of insults. The rest of African continent should not be surprised at the level of uncivilised behaviour of the Ghanaians. Ghanaians open their mouths wide to insult ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

You are attacking us for our trademark attitude of insults, but heading too is an insult. Your comments is very laudable, but you negated it with your insult.

• jt 10 years ago

Good point made by you Ahmed,but why shld Biyik comments on blackstars,is it the only African team going to the world cup?No,so he shld have generalize the whole teams heading to the tournament,am worried for Biyik for where ...

• sarko joseph 10 years ago

the battle is the lord's. i know shall by the power of the holy ghost reaches final and even win home the tropphy.

• Ojay 10 years ago

Mede wano atwetwere fom!

• Black Star 10 years ago

Who ever thought any African country could store a goal against any European country judging by the different resources available to the nations? How could countries whose players earn peanuts as ages compete with those who ...

THOSE SAYING BIYIK IS JEALOUSE, STUPID ETC SEEM TO HVE FORGOTTEN HOW MUCH THE NATION STATE GH MEANS TO AFRICA IN TERMS OF SOCCER. GH WAS THE FIRST TO WIN 4 AFCON TROPHIES. WE MAY NOT HVE WON A TROPHY IN 3OPLUS YRS, BUT ANYTIM ...

• AHMED BIN-SALIH 10 years ago

You can continue to decieve yourself that Ghana is what the rest of Africa is looking out for best performance. Where was Ghana in the last 2 AFCON where the likes of Cape Verde, Burkina Faso, Mali & co made Ghana looked like ...

GH IS THE IRIS. THEY HAVE MORE FOREIGN BASED PLAYERS PLAYING REGULARLY OUTSIDE GH N FOR BETTER CLUBS TOO. THE SENIOR TEAM IS THE MOST CONSISTENT IN CONTINENTAL TOURNEYS. THE JUNIOR TEAMS ALSO DO WELL IN CONTINENTAL N GLOBAL T ...

• KUNTA KINTE 10 years ago

WHEN U SCORED WITH A HEADER WASNT ARGENTINA THE FAVOURITES . I BEG IF U ARE TOO OLD, WAIT AND WATCH WC ON TV WITH YOUR PIPE

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

Oman Biyik hold your crticism. It was unfortunate that your Cameroonian team did not win the world cup. You know the reasons. Remember Cameroon versus England. Remember the referee during that game. Remember the penalties wh ...

• the truth 10 years ago

He is Francois Omam Biyik. He has the right to air his views on any issue. he does not deserve to be insulted for airing his views.

• sampido 10 years ago

The future is already known in the Realms. For the spirit reals produces the physical. Ghana will loose to Netherlands. A Ghanaian player will score and own goal... watch out.... to take place in PRE-match at Rotterdam or Bra ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, PRECIOUS ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA,-WITH MEN THIS IS IMPOSSIBLE BUT "WITH GOD NOTHING SHALL BE IMPOSSIBLE". SELAH. "IT IS FINISHED" THEREFORE, "OCCUPY TILL I COME". S ...

• SAARA-MENSA 10 years ago

HE IS ONLY THROWING A CHALLENGE TO US.

• OBTT 10 years ago

OMAN BIYIK IS DEFINITELY A JEALOUS MAN. HE THOUGHT NO AFRICAN COUNTRY COULD EQUAL THE ACHIEVEMENT OF CAMEROUN IN TERMS OF AFRICAN WORLD-CUP REPRESENTATION. AND THAT IS A TYPICAL AFRICAN MENTALITY. I DON'T BLAME HIM. IT'S SIMP ...

WEN WAS THE LAST TIME GH EVEN WON AN AFCON TROPHY? BIYIK IS SIMPLY STATING THE FACTS. GH MAY BE OVERRATED, BUT CONSISTENT NONETHELESS!

• BIYIK CRAP 10 years ago

BIYIK'S COMMENT IS NONSENSICAL.

QUALIFYING FOR THE WC IS DIFFICULT.
    SURVIVING ROUND ONE, THE SIXTEENTH, THE EIGHTS, THE QUARTERS, THE SEMIS AND THE FINAL ARE DIFFICULT, BUT HUMAN BEINGS DO IT, SO WHAT'S THE FOOL TALKING A ...

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

If you know ur history u would know where u come from. Ghana is always a different Ghana @ WC.They predicted a win for Czeck,a massive win for Germany and another destruction by Uruguay but in all games Ghana proved her capab ...

• stephen osei,norway 10 years ago

talking cant do noting,he should also talk about his country too, cameroon not only Ghana because we all are in the samme boat,

• maamibiba 10 years ago

I personally disagree with Biyik because we play with sheer determination and not with some plan or tactics. Call it guerrilla football.For me determination is everything. But please we can make our point without insults and ...

• Owuo 10 years ago

How can the ghana even qualify for the first stage? Whiles the these foolish GFA insist to go and train in their oponente nation like USA ,and still expecting to do something better? Useless leaders. I am so sorry for innocen ...