You are here: HomeSports2014 01 22Article 298479

With World Cup Comes Suarez Again

Read Comments Comments (53)

• BAABOOO!!! 10 years ago

In fact, it is very confusing and can't take it any more. A striker using his both hands to deny a clear goal at the verging minutes of the game like WC to go escort free, isn't ridiculous? This is what I actually don't under ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Typical Ghanaian like Pobee-Mensah, Tony and all think alike him would love to see Suarez's in jail if a Ghanaian player had done the same thing he would be a hero.

My friends the punishment for handle the ball is PK and a ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

If something like that had been in favor of Ghana, I would rejoice. That does not mean that FIFA should not stive to make the game fair for all. Just too bad that you seem to think that wanting the game to be fair for all i ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

What do you want FIFA to do? Ban the player for life or what?

Commit the crime do the time Ghana was awarded PK and Suarez was rejected from game and had a match ban this was the punishment.

What is not fair about this ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

I want the game to be fair to everyone. If there is an aggrieved country that goes to FIFA with grevance, I want FIFA to give it adequate consideration. If this has to happen after each game, so be it. These people are pai ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Tony you have not answer my question what was not fair and how you want GFA to address the issue we were awarded PK Suarez was kicked out and ban what else. USA case was a different case I know you are talking about Donovan G ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

I guess I have to spell it out for you. Leaving 2010 alone, I want GFA to ask FIFA for a new rule that categorizes certain infringements as deserving of a team forfeiting a game such as Suarez's blatant act. I think GFA as ...

• Mudus 10 years ago

Mr N u don't seem to understand simple issues. What Tony PM is saying should be the norm, we should seek redress and this go as far as making the game fairer such that what happened to us should never happen again to anyone w ...

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

FIFA has finally accepted that and it's in serious considerations. I suspect it'll used during this year's world cup. If it does, this will make issues like Suarez's clearer for the referees to take final decision.

• askantwi 10 years ago

Mr. N, you have very little mind. Consider this, Suarez punishment was not enough. It did not remedied the offense committed. Besides, it leaves the door open for any player to do the same when the situation arrives again. Be ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

What about Diego Maradona's 'Hand of God' Goal against England in 1986.

Frank Lampard goal against Germany which was disallowed in 2010 World Cup.

What is FIFA's punishment for handle the ball and preventing goal scorin ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

I am not advocating applying the same solution to all problems. If Suarez's act had come at any time other than that critical time, I would have accepted the normal solution. I am advocating that certain delibrate acts at c ...

• Mudus 10 years ago

TonyPM stop wasting your breath on this semi-literate. His postings indicate lack of grasp of simple logic
    Suffice me to say what you are propagating is beyond his comprehension, the reason for the stubborn intransigence. Pe ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

Mr.N may have missed a thing or two about my point, but I think it's worth engaging everyone. Thanks for the comment about my articles.

• The Stallion 10 years ago

Mr. N is right. The player was shown red and a penalty given; what else do you want?
    We can't even prove that Suarez's use of hands was not spontaneous!
    Read your postings well before you call someone a semi-literate.

• STUPID N 10 years ago

Mudus, you are 100% right.
    TonyPM, Mr.N is a fool. He does not know anything.
    He is less than a semi-literate. He is totally illiterate. His IQ level is that of a moron. You can tell from his struggles with simple English w ...

• Agyaa of Prempeh College fame 10 years ago

Ghana should have been awarded a goal.Really?Mr.askantwi,please during that time of the incident,there was no FIFA law like "if someone uses his hands in the goalpost to block a scoring opportunity,the opposing team should be ...

• BATOURE Q 10 years ago

THERE is no any other way to explain it than this. thank you very very very much.

• OBRONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Men like you were placed here on this mother earth to change the world from warped thinking. Keep on knocking for the right things.

• the truth 10 years ago

kpom!!

• NIPA 10 years ago

MEANINGLESS MOVE

• john ansah 10 years ago

yes i agree with you 100%. Ghana has to move on!

• ASEM 10 years ago

TAKE THIS UP GFA

• Stav57 10 years ago

Worry less about what Suarez did or "purple cards" and concentrate on properly taking penalty kicks as that WAS the reason why Ghana lost

• Nii Tafo - Hawaii 10 years ago

Well said Stav57 :-)

• Agya Gyamfi 10 years ago

I don't see anything evil with what Suarez did to Ghana but to do what was allowed within FIFA rules, and to face the appropriate sanctions – a penalty and a Red Card. In fact, if any Ghanaian found himself or herself in th ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

Suarez surely was a hero to his people. He should have been the villain to his people for being the one who lost the game for them. Anyone would do it, but my point is that FIFA should make the penalty so severe that people ...

Its imperative to have goal-line technology,but that ball did not cross the line before Suarez blocked it.

• blackstars 10 years ago

what happened to the hand of God and so many referees that award fake penalties and offside goals. Even the one that killed more than fifty people when kotoko and hearts played on may 9th. what has been done to the referee.

• MISCHELLE ADAMS 10 years ago

Its time Ghana stops this Suarez nagging thing and move forward afterall its not the only spectacular incident to ever happen to an African country, Cameroon got the same raw deal against England othewise Cameroon would have ...

• askantwi 10 years ago

MICHELL ADAMS, you have very little mind. Consider this, Suarez punishment was not enough. It did not remedied the offense committed. Besides, it leaves the door open for any player to do the same when the situation arrives a ...

• MISCHELLE ADAMS 10 years ago

Askantwi, your attitude is one of desperate looser looking for fame and credibilty out of a near miss opportunity. You never in the first place thought Ghana was worth enough a semi final matterial otherwise you'll not be ask ...

• abi 10 years ago

There is a time to put your country first. Any one in black star jersey could have done what he did. Pls just forget about this suarez issue and lets move on. after all he is still playing better than all our Ghana strikers. ...

• ISSAKA, COWLANE BOY IN CANADA 10 years ago

HEY TONY I WILL AGREE WITH YOU IF YOU HAD MENTIONED A BLACK OR GREEN CARD ALONGSIDE THE RED AND YELLOW FOR PUNISHING ACTS OF GROSS DEMEANOUR DURING GAME PLAY LIKE THAT BETWEEN GHANA AND SUAREZ...LOL. NOW FOR MENTIONING A PURP ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

With 7 kids, I don't think I am confused about my sexuality. If you wish, make it black; white; green; or blue or any color that you fancy. Purple just happen to come to me at the time I wrote my original article on this. ...

• ISSAKA COWLANE BOY IN CANADA 10 years ago

no tony i will pass on that i am a father of 2 zebra kids also and i dont desire you buddy. its just that it beats my mind when you mentioned a purple card knowing very well that it was the blue that took the chance from ghan ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

I don't call my kids Zebra if by Zebra you mean mixed race kids. I also don't use some of the words that you use. Anyone who knows me knows that I am far from worshiping white people.

• issaka cowlane boy in canada 10 years ago

yes by zebra i meant my kids are of me negroid race from cowlane Accra and their mother a caucainoid race from cannington Ontario, inother words mixed race. that said i personally dont think your idea of imposing an additiona ...

The ball was on par with the goal-post.It did not cross the line.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

Will you write this Article if Asamoah Gyan Score that Penalty and Ghana won that Match.Will you Blame Luis Saurez for that Penalty?

• TonyPM 10 years ago

I probably wouldn't have written this opinion. It still doesn't take away from the point I am making. Please try to understand the point that I am making.

• KO 10 years ago

Come on Ghana... I'm a Ghanaian and even though it hurts so bad we could'nt make it past Uruguay, I strongly believe Suarez was punished accordingly. Was he not ejected? Were we not awarded a penalty? What if Asamoah Gyan had ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

KO that is my point when this happened to England 1986 no one wrote an article calling for new rules. If Ghana had been the receiving end we would be calling them heroes.

When Germans were crying about hard tackles Kevin- ...

• EMMANUELSON 10 years ago

YOU KNOW GHANAIANS ARE VERY STUPID PEOPLE, WHO THINK OF THEMSELVES ALONE. IF NOTHING FAVOURS THE GHANAIAN TGEN THAT THING MUST NOT BE DONE AT ALL. JUST READ ALL THE POSTINGS PUT OUT HERE BY THE STUPID FOOLS CALLED GHANAIANS A ...

• charles koduah 10 years ago

Another card will not solve this problem.I think FIFA should adopt the goal tending as in basketball.This will only applied to handball like what Suarez did.I think it will stop this practice instantly.

• Wuofei 10 years ago

For the records Suarez was shown the red card but we failed to take our chance to put the game away. If you can't mix the successes with a bit of broken heart then you are into a different sport. Again let me reiterate " move ...

• Damien! 10 years ago

you make a compelling argument but the after match ban will still affect Africans most!!! We just have to play football and win. How many African ref's do we have?

• Ernest Peter Ofori 10 years ago

That act deserved a change in the rule book. Perhaps eg. " If a player handles a goal bound ball and he is deemed to be the last man on line, a goal is to be awarded" instead of the normal red card and a penalty. Because with ...

• Stav57 10 years ago

What about if you are attacking, I am the goalie, you go past me and I tackle you from behind? If I did not touch you, you had an empty net, a sure goal. I would get a red card, out of the game and penalty awarded. Should we ...

• Stav58 10 years ago

GREAT QUESTION, Stav57.
    YES, IT'S A GOAL, AS LONG AS THE REF DETERMINES THAT THE GOALIE IS THE VERY LAST DEFENDER.

• ebenezer nii amu first-quao 10 years ago

...representing Africa at that stage of the game had but the spine of the Ethiopians at Adowa or the resilience of HIM Haile Selassie when he addressed the League of Nations in Geneva before WWII, we would have walked off the ...

• Dr BEE 10 years ago

Massa Tony, get over that game. FIFA can't can make rule because you look back and it seem Suarez was in the way. Forget it, let's concentrate on our game. If we do not get ready in all respects something else would kick us o ...

So if Gyan had scored the penalty, will Ghanaians still be talking about Suarez?