You are here: HomeSports2014 01 19Article 298238

Brazil 2014: Ghana will surprise the world - Kwesi Appiah

Read Comments Comments (43)

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

A very interested interview by coach MRAA, all the doubts about the Gyan's captainship has been clear out. And our ambition to Brazil is that;

"When you’re given the chance to prove what you can do, and you get the sup ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

In the last thirty something years,your Ghana has entered, and even hosted very important tournaments with equally very good OOPS! strong quality players, yet we come up short.

What makes you think, we can wrought wonders ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

"What makes you think, we can wrought wonders in Brazil if 'surprise' is your watchword." ***Prof. Sarskolone***

Krufasah, the most difficulties task for me to handle or to dealt with over here is the problems within the ...

You have gotten it all wrong, His excellency.
    However, I will not blame you for not able to grasp me clearly when I fumed at the S word coming from MRAA was abominable.

Yes, am the Whip-In-Chief. Me, myself, and my work h ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

The surprise here means:
    I am going or can do the impossible others doubt its possibility.
    That doesn't mean KWESI APPIAH himself has the doubt that Ghana can make it a win of the WORLD CUP,in its totality.
    THE GUY HAS FAI ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

If Akwasi Appiah says Ghana is going to surprise the world, he means that Ghana is going to beat Germany to top our group, reach the finals and bring the cup to Africa to give credence to Pele's prophesy. Good as we are if we ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

U are nothing but a concert coach. U fail to play friendlies bcos u don't want to be exposed. We all know u won't do any better in brasil. U better go n get a text. Not milo.....

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Hahahahaha, this GHFUO guy paaaa !!! You are so dumb you said the GFA is responsible for the upkeep of Ghana Stadiums. You also said that the GFA is directly responsible for a Ghanaian referee's selection to man a CAF game. H ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

they r indirectly responsible. if there r no stadiums. how will the fa be operational? if we have no quality refs, what do u think will happen to the local league? do i need to spell everything out? read between the lines.

• Prof Ato Azumah 10 years ago

That's the voice of a confident coach. Though a manager's confidence is needed in every tournament that must be won that alone will not bring victory. Black Stars must prepare, prepare and prepare well. Play friendlies again ...

• Me 10 years ago

That is the talk of a confidence coach. You have the men to deliver but the problem is ball possession. If a solution is not found with the ball possession do not be surprised to see about 75% of the WC games being played i ...

• Dr edusei 10 years ago

You can play whatever % in our half and the goals are what counts at the end of the game. Pressuring the ball, get behind the ball and attack the defense with your speed. It's more important. We have good midfielders. They ca ...

• Kofi Yankey 10 years ago

You will only win by playing 75% in your half if you play against a team like Lesotho. This is the world cup. The fact is that the Black Stars can't keep the ball, and the reason they lost to Egypt in Cairo. The talent level ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Here are the reasons why effective ball possession is very crucial in a tournament
    It helps you control the game and conserve energy
    It makes the opposition team run around and gets tired as the games goes on
    It frustrates ...

• Atopa 10 years ago

I like how you took your time to enumerate the reasons why you think ball possession is crucial and I do agree with you but I think you missed the point Dr.edusei was trying to put out.I think possession is very good if it le ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

I accept you take on the issue. After all even the worse team will get one chance

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Ball possession is forever very important in every soccer game. Most great teams in history depend on ball possession. Brazil is regarded as the home of soccer because of ball possession. Talk of Barcelona and Spain and you w ...

This same fool was hanging bl3 like Nana Addo before afcon 12. Wqt happened? Abi ghfuo have forgotten, I lie?

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

AA please, try your best to invite Menphis Depay into Black Stars. I have leart he's half Ghana half Dutch.Folks, check him out on youtube.

Please, know the facts about what you say. Depay plays for the Netherlands, as of Oct 15, 2013.

Mr. Appiah, you and the entire Black Stars team deserve commendation for qualifying for the WC. However, I will be panicking if I were you because of the many weaknesses the team has shown since you have been the headcoach. I ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Never better said than this. Beautiful

• pato 10 years ago

True, well done and well said I think most Ghanaians should stop dreaming. while there is potential Ghana is not above any team in the world cup.
    1. the goalkeeper issue should be settle as Dauda should be nowhere near first ...

I think Ghana has quite a number of talented left fullbacks. We should be able to get a decent production from one of the following players: David Addy, Masahudu Alhassan, Baba Rahman, Nana Asare and Kissi Boateng. The coach ...

• Afeto Kwasi 10 years ago

Stop talking and prepare for the games.

• ATOPA 10 years ago

THIS IS A RECYCLED NEWS BROTHER, DON'T PAY THEM ANY MIND.IT WAS A SLOW DAY FOR THEM

• Harrison 10 years ago

Look AA! Please, stop the talking and start playing trial matches now. We have big names, but big names do not win matches. Trial matches will help blend the players to play as a team. We all saw what happened with Zambia ...

I think Aa, mahama love stinky, momoni toto. Play friendlies against wclass teams and let's see wat you're capable of. Kwasia ppl.

• YAKUBU KOBO 10 years ago

WE DO WHAT WE DO AND THERE IS NOTHING YOU GONNA DO ABOUT IT ,YOU'LL COMPLAIN AND BE BITTER TILL YOU DIE .WE ARE IN CONTROL SO FUCK YOU ALL 'AGAINST PEOPLE'WHETHER WE GET KICKED OUT IN THE FIRST ROUND OR WHATEVER GHANA STILL R ...

• kofi 10 years ago

Every thing depends on the first game with USA. We are one of the best teams in the world today, we have been since the 60's. Our only problem is lack of confidence so there is always room for us to step up our game. This exp ...

• Victor A, Young 10 years ago

Thanks Coach Kwasi Appiah for taking Ghana's team to the level we are, so far! I wish I could get the chance to communicate with you in person than in the open (public) about our strategies. All we have to do in our preparati ...

• obtt 10 years ago

ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS. KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT FOR NOW AND CONCENTRATE ON TRAINING. STOP BLOWING YOUR HORN

• Question Your Mentality 10 years ago

Appiah stop talking allow the playing field do the talking.

• Kingsley ASIEDU 10 years ago

After planning to play a country like Montenegro,as a peperation towards the WC.GHANA will definitely surprise the world with not a single win.GOOD LUCK THOUGH.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Appiah is an intelligent man! His answers are crisp; he avoid pitfall answers to traping questions!

I believe he is, my dear. But how on earth could he have said Ghana was going to surprise the world?
    Is he not sure of himself?

I want to hear words like with the kind of players we have, am going to make sure we win the ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

ANATOMY OF A STOOPID GHANAIAN!
    A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/D ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, -SOCHI WINTER OLYMPIC 2014; WE GO! AND TO THE -JOY- OF HUMANITY AND THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD. YES, HUMANITY; -GLORIOUS GATHERING; ...

• Odapagyan 10 years ago

Appiah, stop talking and start serious work together with the FA. This is no joke. Germany and USA are seriously working behind the scenes. You don't even want to play top countries tio know our real level. Give us a break!

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

that ,(forget my comments.... nna twewoho fiho, the comments of me!, u the insulter! nd Amen with this!.EXCELLENT ND THE CAP OF WORLD WIN.....FOR OMAN Ghana Nation!.The great Black Stars nd its spercial selection,nd....specia ...

• JA Biney 10 years ago

well spoken coach, we are all praying the team goes the finals

• Gabriel Lartey 10 years ago

Ghana will make it at all course to bring the cup

• Joker 10 years ago

JUST SAY GHANA WILL DO WELL. DO NOT GIVE US ANY FALSE HOPE.
    OR YOU COULD LOOSE YOUR JOB IF YOU PROMISE AND FAIL