You are here: HomeSports2014 01 10Article 297412

Asamoah Gyan is 8th Best Player in Africa

Read Comments Comments (39)

• dodu 10 years ago

hmm!

• Phil Sarpong 10 years ago

I don't he is better than those ahead of him In the ranking anyway.....

• truth 10 years ago

drogba? what did he do under the yr of review at outweighs gyan's performance?
    this is totally out of context......
    gyan, it means u r not recognized in UAE..do something else .................

• GEORGE 10 years ago

The world cup is just at the corner, we shall see if it is Obi Michael, or Yaya Toure or Djan. This fake award givers shall be exposed Inshah-Allah. To me Djan is by far better than all the players mentioned and that truth sh ...

• FRANCOPHONE AWRADS 10 years ago

We need to boycott this and leave it for the French Africans.
    Let's have our own Anglo African awards.
    This trophy belongs to Mikel.
    Hayatou crap.

• YAKUBU MOSHIE KUMBELE 10 years ago

IF I MAY ASK ,BASED ON WHICH FACTS DO THEY SELECT THE BEST AFRICAN PLAYER OF THE YEAR ,IS IT WINNING THE EUROPEAN CHAMPIONS LEAGUE ,THE WORLD CUP OR THE AFCON ? IF BASED ON THE AFCON AND ANY EUROPEAN CUP THEN MIKEL OBI HAS BE ...

• KKB 10 years ago

You are right !!!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

GYAN SCORED 1 GOAL AT AFCON12. 1 GOAL AT AFCON 13. IF UAE HASNT DESTROYED GYAN'S STYLE OF PLAY, THEN I DONT KNOW WAT HAS. IF GYAN CAN ONLY SCORE 1 GOAL IN A WHHHOOOLLLEE TOURNAMNT, 2WICE. THEN WAT TYPE OF STRIKER IS HE? WE WI ...

• BJ 10 years ago

Isa Hayattou just went to Nigeria to disgrace them there. He should have given it to Mikel and by the way, Drogba made top three but couldn't made team of the year, how come? This indeed Francophone award. Ghana, South Africa ...

• BJ 10 years ago

Isa Hayattou just went to Nigeria to disgrace them there. He should have given it to Mikel and by the way, Drogba made top three but couldn't made team of the year, how come? This indeed Francophone award. Ghana, South Africa ...

• kwaku ghawa 10 years ago

you cant compare a kotoko player to susubiribi players. playing second division football in arab is not the same as even sitting on th bench of mancity in uk

• JOHN J JOHNSON 10 years ago

GOOD TALK ....BJ A TRUE AFRICAN...

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

the guy has been playing good soccer recently

• kofi 10 years ago

This means nothing, it is like the "fifa rankings" Uruguay currently lies 3 or 4, but it does not mean they are stronger than us. They will shit in their pans if they meet Gyan and the Black Stars in Brazil.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Samuel Eto'o is by far the best player on the continent. We should set it up in such a way that the people of Africa who are knowledgeable about football get a chance to vote. Or let all the media houses in Africa select the ...

• FRANCOPHONE AWRADS 10 years ago

MR. AMPADU, WHAT DID ETOO ACHIEVE IN 2013?
    THAT IS THE QUESTION, NOT WHETHER HE IS STILL THE BEST OR NOT.
    I THINK YOU ARE USING HIS PAST EXPLOITS.
    THE FACT IS, HE ACHIEVED NOTHING IN 2013.

HOW DO YOU DETERMINE WHO IS "K ...

• KT 10 years ago

If that's the case, then what did Yaya Toure achieve to win it?

What do you mean, my friend?

I've been following Eto'o since he came to play at Chelsea; let me tell you that he's been very good. You can go to the Chelsea website and check on Eto'o stats.
    The media houses in Africa that are knowledgeable about what i ...

• Paa Pee 10 years ago

I will bet you will select Abedi Pele too?

• Nigeria n Ghana must unite 10 years ago

Instead of Nigerians uniting with Ghana in all spheres of African businesses they keep fighting each other. its obvious and francophones are fighting a unifying battle against us the francophones.Wise up our nigerian brothers ...

• Omanbapa 10 years ago

Before you start advising Nigeria and her people about how to conduct themselves why don't you start at home and advice our brothers in Ghana.It takes two to fight and I see the problem coming from both sides so why not remov ...

• ° ° ° O-G-I-D-I-G-I-D-I ° ° ° nyamaaa 10 years ago

so why dont we both remove the log , unite and fight our fight together.

for me as a ghanaian i still give the player award to mikel. infact for me the team to watch out for is the naija team, they are my favourites, and i ...

• The African Patriot 10 years ago

For us, Ghanaians, Asamoah Gyan is the best in Africa. That the others ranking better due to the decisions of the other coaches is mere politics. Ghana should intensify it external relationships to other countries in order to ...

• Danny 10 years ago

Can Ghanaians ever be objective? How on earth can Asamoah Gyan be the best player in Africa, at least for now. Our national coach voted the way he did because he is not objective- He is a Ghanaian.

• kofi 10 years ago

That is why this does not mean a thing because that is the way they all voted.

• HIDDEN IN THE BUSINESS SECTION 10 years ago

Author: HIDDEN IN THE BUSINESS SECTION
    Date: 2014-01-10 08:40:31
    Comment to: Rawlings is an attention freak, ignore him – Kwa

President John Dramani Mahama has appealed to the China Development Bank (CDB) to expedite ...

• Sunsum 10 years ago

There is a very simple solution to the obvious biases been displayed by Francophone dominated CAF.Adopt Azumah Nelson's battle plan.If we won all our friendlies and tournament matches with them it will be very difficult for t ...

• Bam 10 years ago

Let`s be frank ghanaians, Asamoah Gyan is not!!!, but if it`s about lackiest one then i will say yes

• Hlor 10 years ago

If Akwasi Appiah gave 10 marks to Gyan, then how is he going to select best players for the Black star for World cup? He is bairse.

• Ghana against corruption 10 years ago

You are damn right. Appiah will be biased. I like Asamoah Gyan but can't officials be truthful?

• The surest yardstick 10 years ago

Neither fans nor coaches should be allowed to vote for African best players.
    If fans do the voting , then the result will be dictitated on the population of the countries where the players come from .
    If coaches do, then ob ...

• anidacn 10 years ago

Lets keep this up.

• agyaprice 10 years ago

God will panish them

• oppong london 10 years ago

this award is given only to francophone countries or a person who plays in a french speaking country ,like when abedi pele was in france,i don,t recognize it,it,s very bias,fake award,Asamoah gyan is the best,he can score fo ...

• Asobayere Mumuni 10 years ago

Asamoah Gyan is not a football but rather a business man so he not interested in trophies but CASHHHHHHHH he will play were the money motivation is high.

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

ANYWAY! nd......from Samms!....God bless u nd babye,from Samms!..

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 10 years ago

OOH NA LIE,ASAMOAH GYAN IS BETTER THAN EVEN YAYA TORE,ATSU IS BETTER THAN OBI MIKEL,LETS SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN IN THE WORLD CUP

• SEAMAN UK 10 years ago

NDC FOREVER ASAMOAH GYAN IS THE BEST AFRICAN STRIKER HE CAN BE VOTED THE EIGHT 8TH BUT HE IS THE KING OF FOOTBALL IN AFRICA TODAY HOPING WE SEE HIM COMMAND IN BRAZIL FORGET ABOUT THE RANKING