You are here: HomeSports2014 01 01Article 296703

Mourinho agrees Essien exit

Read Comments Comments (56)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

THATS THE ONLY CLUB I SEE HIM PLAYING FOR IN ITALY. THEY R CHAMPS LEAGUE BOUND N WITH ESSIEN. THEY HVE A GOOD CHANCE OF KO ATLECTICO...

• Whatever 10 years ago

I really want Essien to be in the blue shirt but if he can't play because of Abramovich 'barcelona'- project then he has to leave to play where his style is needed

• MONTSERRAT 10 years ago

You are one of those who want Essien to remain in the blue Chelsea shirts when it's obvious his form cannot cope with what is required at Standsford Bridge. All you want is just a bragging right of Essien playing for Chelsea. ...

• Africanus 10 years ago

Essien should head to the Arab world to make some oil money before he retires. There will be no any other better time.

• Ringo Watusi 10 years ago

If Essien wants to play regularly and earn more millions,then he should join Asamoah Gyan in the Arab wilderness. Yes,he would then be more refined for Brazil than warming benches in Italy or UK. True talk,we need sharp defen ...

• Wells 10 years ago

As age catches on him the best is for him to accumulate more money as much as he can and as quickly as possible.Ringo your idea is good. Go make more money in the Arab wilderness and forget about European League.

• UNCLE KOFI 10 years ago

ATSU IS ALREADY IN LINE TO REPLACE HIM PLEASE DON'T LOSE SUPPORT FOR CHELSEA ON ACCOUNT OF ESSIEN'S EXIT

ESSIEN IS FAR BETTER THAN MANY PLAYERS ON THE CURRENT CHELSEA SQUAD. WAT ESSIEN SOMETIMES LACK IS CONFIDENCE. U SEE, WHENEVER ESSIEN PLAYS FOR GH OR WEARS THE CAPTAIN BAND FOR CHELSEA. HE PLAYS AMAZING. WHEN HE IS NOT, HE TEN ...

• Essien 10 years ago

Asante kototoko

• kofi adankoba 10 years ago

what ever goes up must come down. 2 more years in the big leagues + 3 or 4 in the rich Arab leagues, that is it. "Life is like a walking shadow...."

• ABDULMOHAMMED AMEEN 10 years ago

Thank God FATHER & SON LTD. relations has ended in a final exit option for Essien. I believe Essien must have known by now that professional football at the level of Chelsea in not played by sentiments based on personal relat ...

• Obenfo 10 years ago

I really respect people who make sound constructive decisions based on reality. Asamoah Gyan left the Europeans at the right time, and he has nothing to loose except the little clout that comes with playing in the European B ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

In fact, all our top players on bench warming list MUST at least be ACTIVE for the rest of the short time left. Because past glories and names alone cannot help us at Brazil.

You were right Mr. Obenfo, he need a team ...

• Africanus 10 years ago

The Gulf Region is the place to go for aging players sitting on the bench. Big money, less sweat, less injuries.

ESSIEN IS ALREADY WEALTHY. HE IS THE ULTIMATE COMPETITOR WHO WANTS TO PROVE THAT HE CAN STILL PLAY. WHY DO U THINK PLAYERS LIKE SEEDORF, KAKA, DIDA, CAFU, RONALDINHO, ARE NOT ALL PLAYING IN THE GULF? U FEBLE MINDED PPL DONT G ...

ANATOMY OF A STOOPID GHANAIAN!
    A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/D ...

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuuhu 10 years ago

27 points put in place by you and titled "the anatomy of a stoopid Ghanaian"

Well, nice points but here's one: After carefully reviewing your points, I noted that though I don't know you in person but for the few times I'v ...

the falls never freezes. it changes color tho...someDAYS, THE WATWE COLOR IS GREEN, RED, PURPLE ETC...GO VISIT THE FALLS.
    GH HAS HAD 3 JOHNS AS PRESIDENTS N WAT DID THEY DO TO ELEVATE GH FROM POVERTY?

• Ern 10 years ago

Nice one POW, I FULLY agree with you!!

• Sea 10 years ago

I strongly believe that if his agent goes into discussions with Liverpool they would employ the services of Essien to beef up their defense and midfield. I don't think Italy would be the best place for Essen now.

• REALISTIC MAN 10 years ago

HE's already a dead wood

• Tunkumaruu 10 years ago

Serious injuries takes a toll on a footballers performance. Essien is officially 31 years of age but for now I cannot tell tell you his biological age. This is because he thinks he still has some football in him. The spirit m ...

Serious injuries take a toll on a footballer's performance. Those who have eyes have already seen this. It is time for him to retire.

• Cynthia 10 years ago

He cut his age by 20yrs to join the methodist church priesthood. Then osteoporosis caught up with him.He couldn't climb the pulpit at his supposed age of 59yrs (actual age is 79).He was supposed to retire at 70 (he will be 90 ...

• nii ayi 10 years ago

why did he take this long to realize he has no future at chelsea? the signs were all there and he refused to see it.let's hope he goes to a club where he will see meaningful playing time though. all the best. I think he shou ...

We live on a planet that is controlled by gravity. There must therefore be a rise and fall of everything. If you accept this then you will be at peace with yourself. Essien must call it quits because he is no longer in top fo ...

• Cynthia 10 years ago

Can u play his position or do u have someone better for his position visavis the world cup?

Cynthia,Ghana has very good players. Even when he decided not to play for his country because of recurring injuries,did Ghana stop playing football? You cannot blame me for not believing in indispensability. It is therefore n ...

So what should we do with him now, to dropped him from the final Brazil list or what?

ARE U CONFUSED? ESSIEN WAS AT REAL MADRID LAST SEASON. HE HAS CAPTAINED CHELSEA N SEVERAL OCCASIONS. WE SAW HOW EFFECTIVE HE WAS FOR GH VS EGYPT, N NOW U WANT TO DROP HIM FROM THE BRASIL SQUAD?....PLS, GO N READ MY ANATOMY OF ...

"Essien must call it quits because he is no longer in top form." (Kuntumaruu)

And in reply I said, so what should we do with him now, to dropped him from the final squad for Brazil or what?

So Ghananiba, I did asked a ...

• Ben 10 years ago

I wonder why people mention about ages,Essien is claiming that he is 31years old and you guys were saying he is older than his age,how old is he by now;40,50,if he is up to this ages do you think that he can act like the way ...

• Justman 10 years ago

ESSIEN IS DEAD AND CANNOT COPE WITH VERY HIGH COMPETITIVE FOOTBALL NOW. WE ALL ADMIRE HIS HEY DAYS.HAVE GOT ALL THE TITLES.HE SHOULD JUST PROCEED TO SAUDI ARABIA JUST TO KEEP FIT WHILST ENJOYING HIMSELF

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 10 years ago

WE WISH YOU A GOOD LUCK, BIG BOY

• OSAGYEFO 10 years ago

Hmmm when Ghana needed him most, he turned his back on Ghana and looked at Chelsea. You see Essien, Chelsea has turned their back on you and Ghana has welcomed you. Never say never and remember in capitalist world, owners of ...

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

OH, Osagyefo, I like your comment. Very nice comment!!

• KANE 10 years ago

LIKE MANY BLACKS DO IN EUROPE INCLUDING BBC'S KOBLA DUMOR, ESSIEN LICKED MOURINHO'S ARSE TO GET WHAT HE WANTED ALL THESE YEARS, TURNING HIS BACK ON THE COUNTRY THAT MADE HIM WHAT HE IS TODAY.

IN EUROPE, YOU COULD LIKE YOUR ...

• KANE 10 years ago

......YOU COULD LICK........

• K POM 10 years ago

OH, Osagyefo, I like your comment. Very nice comment!!!!

THE NUMBER 1 KEY INGREDIENT IN BUSINESS IS LOYALTY. IF ESSIEN LEAVES, CHELSEA WILL FALTER. MOURINHO THINKS HE CAN DISPOSE ESSIEN N BE WELL BUT HE IS WRONG. HE THINKS HE CAN RELY ON SENIOR INADEQUACIES LIKE TERRY, LAMPARD, COL ...

• Ghanavi 10 years ago

Osagyefo, you are 100% right. This should serve as a learning model to the rest of ghanaian ball players abroad. YOU DO NOT AND SHOULD NOT TURN YOUR BACK ON YOUR COUNTRY. Your country made you who you are today. Never forget ...

GO N PAY BRIBE FOR SELECTION. WHERE IS ABEYIE? PLAYING FOR GBSTAR WONT PUT FOOD ON UR TABLE N WEN U GET INJURED. THEY WILL SAY BYE BYE OOOO.. THIS IS WAT HAPPENED TO ESSIEN. U WOULD DO WORSE, SO SHUT UP ALL U UNGRATEFUL HYPOC ...

• Ghanavi 10 years ago

You may be right, but where is the money now? There are younger players than 30+ something year old players. The club you thought loved you so much NOW says "WE DO NOT NEED YOU anymore" What happens to you football career now ...

AH, WHEN ESSEIN WAS PLAYING AT REAL MADRID LAST SEASON. DIDNT U SEE HIM? ABI U FORGET? TYPIKAL GH MENTALITY.....
    U THINK OTHER CLUBS HAVENT BEEN WATCHING ESSIKEN PERFORM? JUST BCOS MOURINHI ISNT GIVING HIM PLAYING TIME. DOSE ...

• Orlando 10 years ago

too old

• Amada 10 years ago

Can a man be over-grateful, or over-loyal even to his own loss? Coach Mourinho refused to release Michael Essien for important national assignments re CAN and claimed the gentleman was injured. Things went very badly for the ...

• TerriblY Spe cifi. 10 years ago

Then King Faisal should go for Essien.

• Asem ooo. 10 years ago

How can a player not fit for Chelsea but fit for the Black Stars for WC?
    Is he going to come off the bench or be a starter?
    Hmm asem oo.
    How far can we go at Brazil?

• SEAMAN UK 10 years ago

NDC FOREVER SEE YOU MR ESSIEN HOME IS HOME LOVE UR COUNTRY REMEMBER HOME SWEET HOME

• JAMES, MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA 10 years ago

If ESSIEN want to leave CHELSEA in order to have more playing time, I will advice him to move to Clubs like ASERNAL, LIVERPOOL, NEWCASTLE, EVERTON, SUNDERLAND and STOKE CITY.

• koo nti-LIVERPOOL 10 years ago

CAF officials envy the money Gyan is making in UAE and the goals he's scoring is to them a shit.He is one of the few well paid players in our continent and they do not want to add this to it.They should make it explicit wher ...

• BENJAMIN IKE OFFEI DODOO 10 years ago

A step in the ryt direction, more playing time is more needful at this moment of his career.GOOD LUCK ESSIEN!

• kwaku cole 10 years ago

essien is 4 asernal

• andy cole 10 years ago

hi essien we love you ok

• GOVERNOR 10 years ago

come back home

• ESSIEN 10 years ago

GHANIANS SHOULD THINK THAT ESSIEN IS NOT A YOUNG PLAYER...ITS REAL AGE IS GETHING TO 40 YEARS