You are here: HomeSports2013 12 12Article 294939

‘Ghana is one of the best in the world’

Read Comments Comments (104)

• ISAAC CCBC TWI SERVICE 10 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT KWESI. I AM PRAYING OUR PLAYERS STAY FIT. GOD BLESS YOU AND BLACK STARS. YENBEDI ENKON NIM. THIS TEAM IS MORE STRONGER THAN THE ONE WE HAD BEFORE.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

This is called believing in yourself only a fool who have something against this and to hell with all inferiority complex and mental slavery who are calling for Tech Director stupid and dumb idea. Now let me leave you with sp ...

• Bob 10 years ago

Work on the goalkeeper Dauda and defense. That will move us far because we have talented midfield. That in fact will also make it easier for the strikers.

• OZA 10 years ago

Good, Kwasi Appiah. I love that kind of attitude and mindset. As I said some time ago, we humans see a giant giraffe and run away. But a lion sees it as "lunch" and goes for it no matter what. The black star needs that kind o ...

• Mactonto 10 years ago

Does this man understand that eleven good players on a field does not guarantee a win? Mediocre players with a good plan and effective techniques is more likely to win matches. Yes Kwesi we have good players but poor coaches.

• Jipsy Range 10 years ago

Just Fool....Mactonto

• Maximum 10 years ago

Man, i don't think you have sense at all, can you coach? have you ever kick football sef ... stop talking nonsense

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

EGYPT DIDNT QUALIFY FOR AFCON13.
    ZAMBIA WERE OUSTED IN RD1 OF AFCON13.
    AA, U EVEN FAILED TO WIN THE AFCON13 TROPHY. AFTER BEING THE DEPUTY GH COACH UNDER LEROY, DUYA N MILO FROM 2007 TO 2012, WEN U WERE HANDED FULL REIGNS. ...

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

Oza, I like your comments

• Maximum 10 years ago

Thanks man, i don't think that guy have a sound mind. Kwesi has taken us very far. I was not expecting him taken the Stars that far. He has tried his best. Local Coach has taken the Stars far be grateful and stop hating ....

• Nakson 10 years ago

Ghana has one of the top 3 midfields in the World. The attacker's core is showing some promise based on the results (number of goals) during their world cup qualifiers campaign. I agree , need to work on improving the defense ...

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

Yes, the defensive apparatus of the Black Stars have many unanswered questions. They easily show signs of fatigue and with opposing strikers like that of team USA, Germany and Portugal, the defense must build their stamina an ...

• Osei Bonsu 10 years ago

In addition let Essien feed strikers mainly Boateng and Djan to glorify Ghana

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

“And for that reason, the most important thing is we need all your support to be able to prepare the team very well so that whichever team comes our way, we will be able to face them.” (MRAA eulogizes)Haaaaaaa I Laf.

H ...

• Appiah's Appeal 10 years ago

Mr. Sarskoberta, you seem to be infatuated with a complex use of words without an iota of a sense of their meanings.

Subjective contributions are opinions.
    Ojtective contributions are facts.
    You can't put value on obje ...

Here's something, leaders in every field agree on: There is a shortage of top-flight qualified person to fill key positions.

The governor had interviewed 'abenefoO akukudamfoO' to fill the position of a speech writer.
    Dur ...

• Sien 10 years ago

Hahahaha, really Sarsks? I'm laughing so hard because of this 'old skool' song you wrote out "I don't know much about science, don't know much 'bout psychology, don't know 'bout history, don't know much 'bout trigonometry" an ...

Thank you for your vote.
    Your candid observation has made my day.

Your recognition and the truth you stand for albeit haven endorsed my identity as a pious member of the inky fraternity makes you the greatest of all time. ...

• Sien 10 years ago

Sarsks,
    Akwasi needs help but the GFA should let AA tell them what kind of help he needs and how he suggest they get the help. If he wants someone that will help in any form or shape, that person should be provided to him bu ...

You are perfectly right. It is the right "protocol on demand"
    But you know us as Ghanaians. Its a place where an officer goes on vacation with his office. Until he's back no services is done.
    Try be there with your problem ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

"the ill-names, by which some of us in a manner have carried our messages across to our targets need much to be desired." ***Prof. Sarskatrokozy***

Haaaa now the govina has to step in before things get out of control. So ...

Am sorry the work you just read appeared to be a merry-go- round puzzle to you.

Sorry, I didn't mean to confuse you but like you know, am your CW. You know my identity. You know my signature tune.
    You know where I have b ...

• Rasheed@Rasheedmulor 10 years ago

Winning a world cup doesn't need black man or a white man, but a good and competent coach with lots of good tactics. This idea that, a black man this, a black that is irrelevant. You keep on hammering on the fact that, all t ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Do you think Uruguay ,Italy, Germany, France, Brazil, Argentina England and Spain all got up one day and won the world cup. Roman was not build in a day I am not one who is saying even FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter has s ...

I don't get you.Are you claiming that Blatter said "Rome was not built in a day" or what?

• POW@ Group G for the 2 G's 10 years ago

There was nothing special about Milo in his days. You remember his game plan right? Until the final whistle in every match, no Ghanaian was at peace. In Appiah's era, there's a breather even though sometimes we get shaky as f ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

"If you want it well done, you go through the hard way" ***Powatoloo***

Nothing, I mean nothing is so easy in this world. Even having sex at times could not be easy for some people at times haaa I daff, and what about food ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

Defence and retrain your goalkeeper on aerial balls,corner kicks and free kicks and try Kwarasay too.My reason is that the first goal scored by Egypt in our last game was entirely our goalkeepers fault he was indecisive inste ...

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

Please, we need to stop talking too much and focus on the preparation. We all saw how vulnerable we were when we played in Egypt. Honestly I do not think we should be counting ourselves among the world best especially when we ...

• ffonky 10 years ago

Hi AA,
    exactly that is why we all supports you as the team Manager. Please prepare the team well to face "ANY Team" of the world and victory should be on our side too

• BAABOOO!!! 10 years ago

Yes, AA. is purely right. We have been able to face all of the teams in our group except Portugal but Portugal must be nothing to Ghana due to the fact that when Czeck Republic was second world best at 2006 WC we beat them ev ...

• John,Tema 10 years ago

My paddy stop running your mouth till the tournament,the world will not spare us this time around.We caught the world unaware in 2006 & 2010,2014 will be the real battle.

• BAABOOO!!! 10 years ago

1)Look John, what makes others extra ordinal than our boys?

2) In other to achieve your goals or be a successful man what should you do?
    Listen, to be a successful entity, you must engage in passion, faith, sure and abov ...

• YAW-COLUMBUS OHIO USA 10 years ago

Please give the players a 1st class physical training.Build them and let them exercise everyday.Give them good diet,vitamins and let them run everyday like crazy before their training.Abtainece from sex and alcohol should be ...

• AMEDIGBOR 10 years ago

A.A. You really have to do a lot of work on your defence. Again look at the midfield and also sharpen the shooting prowess of Wariss. This dare devil of a striker is Black Stars future so keep your eagle eyes on. Very importa ...

• FOYOOSIS 10 years ago

I like and also admire your name(moniker)soo much. Why wouldn't you add GBORDAHE and YAKAME to it? Lol!

• Harrison 10 years ago

AA ask for help and stop bragging. Individually the players are good. But you AA need help to blend these talented players together. You were exposed at Egypt. The BS players were in all in disarray.

• seth amu 10 years ago

Be positive harry. We had already won 6-1 so there was no urgency in that match. What help does he need? Even Moyes is struggling with Man U. I believe in akwasi. South Africa beat Spain in a friendly so anything is possible ...

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

I don't see Spain or Brazil saying because they won 6-1 they will fall easily to that team. We need to be honest for once and correct our mistakes. Egypt over run us in Egypt and if a team like Egypt which could not even qual ...

• Santana 10 years ago

AA is not bragging. This is a sign of confidence and that is exactly what we need.

• kojo 10 years ago

this is what our players need a confident coach not someone who complains about group

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

World Cup different...confidence is not enough....start the preparation immediately...any player that is not serious should be tossed

• Star Black 10 years ago

That is the exact discipline he cleverly brought to table.his technique for choosing/grooming a solid team that he has successfully achieved from SA CHAN debacle.

I agree with you! The talking is too much. Start playing friendly matches against countries like Mexico,Colombia, Ivory Coast,Sweden and Iran, and that will do the talking.

• POW@ Group G for the 2 G's 10 years ago

The only thing Ghana can do now is to rely on the FIFA's friendly calendar until we get to camp in May. You guys shouldn't walk in over expectation. The most friendlies we might play before the players move camp for final pre ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Your talk is cheap lacks sense to begin with?

• TRAINING ALL THE GUYS WELL 10 years ago

READ THE HISTORY of Brazil and you will know that their superiority of their national team started from that action.
    In the 1950's the Brazil team went into an intensive training to begin their national team superiorities wo ...

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

We have to get a keeper in whom we can repose enough confidence.Although Dauda had managed to get the results the true talent of kwarasey is not yet known.The team is equally good as the big ones and i personally have no fea ...

Please nothing personal towards Jordan Ayew or Dauda but I would not recommend Jordan on the list,these is in the love ofGhana,we need only the best.Dauda is good the truth is he needs more training on how to face aerial ball ...

Good young but still not ready for Black Stars yet

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

Thank you coach Appiah, but make use of all the good players. Let the defence learn to play in all positions by revolving them. Each player should be good enough for at least 2 positions. Akaminko, Rashid, Boye, Jonathan, Vor ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

U HVE A GOOD POINT, BUT HOW MANY POSITIONS CAN MAICON, DAVID LUIS N MARCELO PLAY? OVER TO YOU

• kwame Gyebi 10 years ago

The Ghana black star supporters need action not words the players need to work hard I wish u well Coach Akwesi Appiah

• Yaw 10 years ago

Good for the assurances but so much of the talking now.
    Show and prove it with some silver ware.When was the last time Ghana won anything?
    Mere saying and boasting we're the best bla bla means nothing until we show somethin ...

• JAMREAH 10 years ago

PLEASE MR APPIAH OPEN AN ONLINE SITE FOR US TO SEND YOU OUR CANDID SUGGESTIONS. WE DO NOT WANT GFA WEBSITE. IT SHOULD BE BLACKSTARS@2014.COM.GHANA. YOU WILL GET MORE POSISTIVE SUGGESTIONS. KUDOS AND MAY GOD BLESS GHANA.

• Bashman 10 years ago

Hey guys, this is no boasting ok. It is a show of confidence, which every member of the team needs to face the best in the world. What if the coach went sounding scared and downcast? I know you would be the same people to cas ...

• Star Black 10 years ago

A B S O L U T E L Y!!!!!GHANA is one of THE BEST IN THE WORLD!!! this is straight confidence talk …a reality check underscores it in full ….WORLD CUP 2014 assembles only the BEST countries in the WORLD to play in that tou ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

KA has just said it-the truth. Anyone take the Portugal team, match their players one on one and tell me how many of their players are better than ours, only Ronaldo, we all know that. The rest of our players are better than ...

• Footballer 10 years ago

This is not the matter of boasting. Its a matter of self confidence and self determination. Without these two ones aim may go astray.

• FRANCIS PAKIS TRINIDAD 10 years ago

Dear black star lovers we miss the point with the coach all are right or correct we do not have quality goal keeper we still have train and train them for there quality to come out well what happened in south Africa can be b ...

• FRANCIS PAKIS TRINIDAD 10 years ago

MR COACH APPIAH ALL IS NOT WELL WITH THE YOUR TEAM PLEASE SO START WATCHING YOUR GOAL KEEPERS SITUATIONS AND YOUR DEFENCE AS WELL.

• BJJ 10 years ago

I don't understand,under,17,20and 23 Africans are good but the senior teams no one reached semifinas, why? OUR LEADERS MUST OPEN THEIR EYES.

We've all been thinking of this. One of the major factors is that the junior level leagues are the same. Senior level European teams are higher level than ours. Now that most of African players are doing well at senior level ...

• AGYA ADOFO NEW YORK.AKWASI 10 years ago

AKWASI WHAT YOU SAYING IS TRUE BUT YOU MUST WORK ON THEIR PHYSCIAL STRENGTH AND STAMINA AND HOW TO SCORE ON PENATIES.

• JACOB 10 years ago

Ghanaians who support and believe coach AA should not mind the HATERS & DOUBTERS.WHY THERE ARE ALWAYS THOSE WHO WILL MOCK.KURO BE BO FOUR.WITH GOD ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE.AKWASI PLAN WELL & YOUR GOD WILL SEE U THROUGH, JACOB

• MY FUCKING PISTOL NEVER JAM 10 years ago

GHANA IS NOT THE ONLY COUNTRY FACING TURF TEAM GERMANY . NIGERIAN IS FACING ARGENTINA AS WELL . CAMEROON WILL FACE BRAZIL SO IT'S TIME TO STOP PANIC . COACH APPIAH IS RIGHT GHANA CAN FACE ANY COUNTRY VERY HARD .

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

You can't spell TOUGH team ?
    Use your spelling checker.

• Jakutu 10 years ago

We don't need any selfish player in our team and no show offs that is what will cause early exit especially those Ashanti players we are all for Ghanaian play together to the top.

• HENRY 10 years ago

why don't you tell the coach to select players from your tribe to appease you.

• agrada 10 years ago

The players shiuld be selected according to tribe or region.ome player from each tribe/region.African tribal warefare on the go.

• BIN KHALEED 10 years ago

Before you blow your horns too far just take a second look at your petformaces with Cape Verde, Mali, Zambia, DR congo snd Burkina Faso and measure up your strengh with your African mates before you run your mouth loosely, th ...

• nii 10 years ago

do you need visa to malayisa,then waste no time.call 0245886343 for details

• KK 10 years ago

nii, why don't you go to Malaysia and tap rubber juice for them? We are discussing football here.

That's my man. That's how it should be. We shouldn't be afraid of anybody. Good That's what Freedom and Justice is all about....

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

AKWASI.

THIS IS THE TIME FOR YOU TO WORK HARD
    TOWARDS 2014 WORLD FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP GAMES IN BRAZIL.

• BASHIRU ABDULAI 10 years ago

Yes, Akwesi Appiah can do it. So he shouldn't give up

• engineerasare 10 years ago

GHANA - PORTUGAL
    THE DECIDER

• francis kofi egyir 10 years ago

we are praying to win.and that is goog too

• POPE 10 years ago

KWESI APPIAH U R AN ASHANTE IDIOT,SHUT THE FUCK UP AND STOP TALKING RUBBISH.THIS BLACKSTARS R TOTALLY USELESS.THE BEST BLACKSTARS WAS THE 1982 TO 1984 SQUAD.QUARSHIE,YAWSON,KOFI ABBREY,EBOW ESSIEN ZION TRAIN,ANSAH,RAZAK,KUKU ...

• toto 10 years ago

Hmm! ghana in d news again!

• Kelvin Lawson 10 years ago

Go Black Stars Go Ghana i will behind you with full supports

• ziggy w 10 years ago

if we don't believe in our boys who would. the world will only support us if we make it pass the group stages, so lets give the coach all the support he needs eventhough he might not have it all like some of the other best co ...

• GHANA IS SHIT 10 years ago

AA: You are right that Ghana is one of the best teams in the world--No thanks to you. But you are one of the worst coaches in the world and the GFA is the most corrupt organization in the world. That is why we will not advanc ...

• Ghnansd 10 years ago

You are lower than a RAT you devil!!

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

There some anti-Asantes who have lobbed their stupidity on Akwasi

• anumnyam 10 years ago

That the players are gifted with talent and are capable is not the question; should they be ruthless on the field of play they risk an early shower; should they exercise common sense and wisdom they stand the chance of bring ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

MY FRIEND ASANTI MAN STOP BLOWING YOUR HORN GHANA HASNT WON ANYTHING SINCE U BECAME THE COACH!!! WAIT WIN A CUP ANY CUP THEN START THE ASHANTI SYNDROME THING... HORN BLOWING!!! WU BA DAN BEN? (WHEN DID U ARRIVE)?

• EWES STINK BAD!!!!!! 10 years ago

You piece of stinking shit. Ashantis will forever be the best and not even jj, Nkrumah, and ass wipe like u could. may u die young and may u n ur descendants be cursed. what is wrong with a couch instilling some confidence in ...

• ranky 10 years ago

you need more technical eyes.how u lost to zambia,burkina faso and egypt tells u cannot see in difficult times.u have all the good players but how to select against a match is wat all the world is looking at now.be wise

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 10 years ago

Where were you when he beat Zambia 2-1? Some Ghanaians are just a bunch of fools and idiots.....just like talking nonsense and never appreciate anything. Inferior beings.

• YENKA NTI 10 years ago

Akwasi, meet every country with eleven players that is all. I wish we meet Brazil after our group. Akwasi go in for the kill. Stay calm, cool and steady. One move at a time. You and your team will not only win world soccer cu ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Ghana is Ghana. We have seen it all. ever ready

• J Ansah 10 years ago

That's right Kwasi, we should not feel inferior to any team at this stage in Ghana's football. We nearly reached the semis albeit that theiving Suarez. Let's play as a team and also utilise the technical skills we have in the ...

• (Smiling) Abdul-Ganiyu 10 years ago

No turning back, the only good opponent is the defeated one. With dedication and discipline Ghana can win the trophy.

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

Coach you and the black stars are up to make history in soccer. Bring the cup to Ghana next year. Bring the young boy in for one of the forwards. Ghana will be the first seat in group G. Ghana will surprise the World on June ...

• kusasi 10 years ago

appiah hope you are listening.include Clifford aboagye in your brazil team

• A Kojo 10 years ago

The problem is goal scoring. Ghana waste a lot and a lot of chances.
    Now coach APPiah has a big challenge and is a every Ghanian responsibilty to help coach Appiah train five or six players to be specialist in goal scoring.

• HAGGLAR 10 years ago

EVERY COACH WILL THINKS POSITIVE TO WIN,WE WILL MAKE A SHUCK TO THE WORLD.

• agosta 10 years ago

Mr . AA if Ghana is the best among the top national teams in world prove it to us . By choosing the right players to the coming tournament . This us because the like of Albert adomant is not a player we need to take to world ...

• N.Lawrence 10 years ago

We wish you well

• agosta 10 years ago

Mr . AA if Ghana is the best among the top national teams in world prove it to us . By choosing the right players to the coming tournament . This us because the like of Albert adomant is not a player we need to take to world ...

• agosta 10 years ago