You are here: HomeSports2013 11 28Article 293535

‘Akwasi Appiah deserves more than paltry $20,000’

Read Comments Comments (64)

• kk 10 years ago

good and sensible comment thanks

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Kwasi Appia did not serve under Coach Ratomir Dujkovic you have to get your facts right. Tetteh served under under Coach Ratomir Dujkovic. Akwesi Appiah served under Le Roy,Coach Milovan Rajevac and Coach Goran Stevanovic.

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, Joy News, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

AA NEEDS A FOREIGN TECHNICAL DIRECTOR IN BRASIL. YES, AS HEAD COACH 20GRAND IS NOT MUCH, BUT WAT HAS HE WON IN TERMS OF TROPHIES? KONADU HAS WAFU, PREMIER LEAGUE ETC....U ARE PAID BASED ON THE RESULTS

• Wells 10 years ago

And that's the truth. GFA are you listening?

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

The fact that we pay white coaches FOOLISHLY with other people's money does not mean we should do same to Akwasi Appiah. $20,000 per month is even too much

• IT. 10 years ago

Are you saying we should continue being foolish when dealing with white people but stingy with our own? we continue to be slaves, this time psychologically. Sad at comments disagreeing with the writer of this noble piece. Is ...

• Burger Thailand 10 years ago

Do you know what you are saying. I thinh you have no profession.

• Burger Thailand 10 years ago

Do you know what you are saying. I thinh you have no profession.

• Alah 10 years ago

Bottom line is, Kwasi Appiah deserves more than he is being paid for the job well done in qualifyin the Ghana Black Stars to Brazil 2014, my friend.

• JOE TEX 10 years ago

Ilearnt that, Marcel Desailly demanded a much higher salary and his application was rejected. We must remember Appiah on paper had no records to back him to demand a higher income. If he acquires the neceasary credentials he ...

• Jaspo 10 years ago

!00% spot on. Akwasi Apiah has brought smile on faces of Ghanians than politicians who promise but don't deliver. His task is huge sohedeserves better pay.

• Kofi Addo 10 years ago

For once the GFA and the Ghana Sports Council should wise up and stop been wicked leaders and pay our local Coach what we pay International coaches.Let's grow up and appreciate our quality coaches for their dedication
    PLEAS ...

• Sundiate Kurumanguru 10 years ago

Africans value white skin more than their own. That is the only explanation. How dare you threat you own like that?

Akwasi Appiah should take GFA to court for racial discrimination.

• wise 10 years ago

it is shame brother, that is why they are not improving.they are ignorant

• Allan Buggi 10 years ago

It never surprises me how badly we treat our own. If truly Mr Appiah is receiving $20,000 then that is really sad. It is not too late for GFA to correct this unfair treatment!

• Visionary (REAL ONE) 10 years ago

AFRICANS ARE OUR OWN WORST ENEMIES. JEALOUSY, HATRED AND UNDERMINING. DESPITE OUR NUMEROUS TALENT AND RESOURCES WE ARE STILL POOR BECAUSE WE HATE OURSELVES. WHEN WILL THIS STOP? WHEN WILL THIS MENTAL SLAVERY STOP SO THAT WE ...

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

IF MILOVAN RECEIVED $45,000 THEN APPIAH SHOULD GET AT LEAST $30,000. CAN'T WE RESPECT AND VALUE OURSELVES AT ALL AS BLACK PEOPLE?

• Okro Mouth 10 years ago

Nana K Agyeman is beong dishonest. If he himself is offered 1/2 what KA is receiving he will jump at it. We are no longer excited for merely qualifying for rhe world cup. Let KA perform on the bigger stage and we will give hi ...

• Okro Hynie 10 years ago

"Let KA go to an European country to coach snd see if he would not be paid more".

Ebeii, are you sure?
    Are our players abroad paid more than the locals, overall?

Agyeman's point is that the ex-pats already had respecta ...

• akwamu the wise man 10 years ago

he has not done anything to deserve more than that...$240,000 a year in Ghana! how many people make that in Ghana?!

• edward harrison 10 years ago

how much is the president of ghana taking per mouth? that should be a big question for every Ghanaian to answer period.

• TT 10 years ago

edward, who said the president must be the highest paid person in Ghana?
    A coach brings special skill and talent.
    A pepsodent steals all the wealth generated by your skill and talent.

• wise 10 years ago

your stupid, jealous period.

• charles koduah 10 years ago

coaches are paid to perform in the arena ,whether sports or any other entertainment.when they perform well,they deserve to be paid more for all the joy they provide to the society as a whole.it takes a special talent to get t ...

• Arkose 10 years ago

Anybody can stand on the sidelines and let the guys play what they want and win against mediocre teams...he has not done anything to show he is a coach.

• TT 10 years ago

How many people in Ghana bring instantaneous joy because of an international football win?
    Compare his salary to those of other world cup qualifying coaches' salaries and you will see the discrimination against Appiah by our ...

• Anyan Edward.ITALY 10 years ago

You See How Greedy G.F.A Are? They Are There Doing Nothing All They Know Is To Spend The Money Which Is Not Their's On Small Small Girls. Kwesi Appiah GOD Punish YOU And Your Minister Elvis Afriyie Ankra And Your Entired Fam ...

• IT. 10 years ago

Get the no of expats whites who watch porno, drink coffee and smoke cigarettes and do nothing at work but drive the best cars in companies and you will know. We will remain poor if we don't change our poverty mentality. whate ...

• Mactonto 10 years ago

There seems to be a concerted effort to influence how Ghanaians perceive Akwasi Appiah, and consequently, to influence his re-appointment or pay increase. We have seen this approach in our politics, where some individuals or ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Kwesi Appiah deserves more than what he is being paid,if he has,so far,done better than the former foreign coaches, he served under,put together.
    We don't have to wait till he proves more than what he has already performed,t ...

HE HAS QUALIFIED GH TO THE WCUP. HE DESERVES MORE MONEY. HOWEVER, GFA MUST GET HIM A FOREIGN COACH TO HELP HIM AS TECH DIRECTOR. AA WILL BE ASSESSED AFTER BRASIL.

• Owura Wiafe Akenten 10 years ago

we need equal treatment. Mr Akwasi Appiah should receive either same as his ex-boss or even more. if you come to Europe they pay they own people better than foreigners so GFA please be fair to Mr J.A. Appiah for his wonderful ...

STUPID WIAFE. MILO N ALL THOSE OTHER COACHES WERE PAID BCOS OF THEIR PREVIOUS SUCCESSES. WAT HAS AA WON? HE DONT EVENT HVE A REPUTABLE COACHING LICENSE. ASK HIM WHY HE CANT GET ANY OVERSEAS JOBS? HE NEEDS A RAISE OF 30GRAND D ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

If important job is done in the public,but receives no befitting reward/due attention,GOD NORMALLY TAKES THE CHARGES AND PAY FOR THE CHEATED.
    If Ghana does not take care,they will regret one day,for seeing KWESI APPAIH makin ...

• Patrick Fiadjoe 10 years ago

I agree entirely with this article. Our coach has proven that he is capable. We have no reason to continue to underpay him. Let's pay him well and also extend his contract.

• Contract Period okay for now 10 years ago

As for the contract, nobody should worry about that now.
    If he makes it to even the quarter finals, it will be extended.
    Why not?

Duya's and Milo's were up to the wc, renewable, so there's nothing wrong placing Appiah's ...

• Bogoso 10 years ago

Black Africa, is its own enemy,we are last in all the human race, no race gives us any respect because we dont respect ourselves.
    We have become witches and wizards, destroying ourselves, what a pity, is this how we are crea ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

Quarter of a million dollars plus presumably bonuses cannot be bad at all!

• Rozzi 10 years ago

The argument put forward is flawed. Kwesi Appiah signed the current contract and he could have negotiated for a bigger salary. Also the expats are paid more for the simple reason that they need extra incentives- good accommo ...

• OMANBA 10 years ago

20 thousand dollars a month or a year? If for one year it is small and should be increased but if for one month then it is enough.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

KA signed a contract through 2014 for $20,000 and he has to honor the contract. There was no incentive clause to increase his salary after qualification. Coaches are paid based on the revenue generated by the team. He would h ...

• Nana The Don 10 years ago

Milo was receiving $20,000 and the rest of the ($25,000) was shared among Nyantakyi and his cronies. Check thats why they always opt for Serbian Coaches.

• charles mensah newark usa 10 years ago

money talks bullshit walk our good local coaches deserved better wake up GFA dont foul us this time or one day we will stand up against you guys

• Justice 10 years ago

If you hire a proven European coach then you pay him top dollar. If you hire a local coach then let him prove himself before you pay him the same as a European coach. This is not about rascism. If you had the talent locally y ...

• no name 10 years ago

This article shows how ignorant some Ghanaians are.When you hire an expat you pay them based upon their currency
    value and the cost of living in their country.Their mortgages are high,the cost of living is higher unlike some ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Where did that idea come from?

• no name 10 years ago

Still $20k a month is a lot of money
    that's almost 400 million old Ghana cedis...Instead of crying Akwasi Appiah we should be crying for the nurses,teachers,doctors etc....$20k a month in Ghana is a lot of money

• K MAN 10 years ago

Some comments about Africans hating themselves and so on are wide of the mark. There are instances where as Africans we show a lack of appreciation for ourselves and our countries but this is not a good example.

Appiah has ...

• K MAN 10 years ago

This is a few years old but to help add to the discussion this is taken from justfootball.com and is the WC salaries of coaches at 2010 in USD

Fabio Capello (England): 9,900,000 USD/year
    - Marcelo Lippi (Italy): 4,100,000 ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Ghanaians would rtaher pay a useless white man more than the best black man!

• PAA MORKEH-NYANN (Axim/USA) 10 years ago

PEOPLE SHOULD STOP COMPLAINING FOR AKWASI APPIAH. ALLOW HIM TO SPEAK FOR HIMSELF IF HE'S NOT SATISFIED. PATRIOTISM SHOULD BE HIS HALL MARK.

• Mr Okuru Kumah. S Africa 10 years ago

Such a great disparity needs to be look upon

• PAA BLUNT 10 years ago

Sometimes it looks as if we Ghanaians don't know what we are about, or are downright cheap or maybe envious when we are dealing with our own people.See, we had no problem paying an expatriate coach that much simply because he ...

• Akanbasiam Apigagua Joshua 10 years ago

Please 20,000 dollars is about 40,000 Ghana cedes this is ok if not too much. we may have spent more on expatriate coaches,but this is to be spent in their home countries where the economy is different (I am not an economist) ...

• DK 10 years ago

Look he has to prove himself $20,000 US a month is good. I have not heard him complaining. Sellas Tetteh is a proven winner, AA has his chance in Brazil.

• kpani 10 years ago

why he should be lucky he got that job. he has not shown any ability to deserve such let alone an increase. Its a national team not a royal family

• kpani 10 years ago

Name one foreign team Kwasi will be allowed to couch. the man took a part time couching class. The man is bigger than his shoes.

• Nana 10 years ago

Has Akwasi Appiah complained to you? Since when did you become his advocate? You are one of those people who will shout Hossanna, Hossana and later crucify him. $20,000 is enough for Akwasi. He is not greedy, so please stop c ...

• GHANA 10 years ago

if these story is true, then where is the balance of the money they were paying to the whites coaches passes? ooooh GHANA

• apetupre - usa 10 years ago

Kwesi Appiah is the Black Stars coach and he deserves any amount that a foreign coach was paid

• Ekow 10 years ago

Coach Akwasi Appiah, deserve to be paid more so call the boss men are more greedy than I guess

• Samuel Arthur 10 years ago

WELL i tend to ask myself do we really love ourselves or do we care to make someone happy? No if yes we would always try to do things that will interest others than being selfish.

• All Die be Die 10 years ago

Here we go again,"Money palaver".can,t we do somethings for a great name?I don,t think Appiah is greedy,but the people around him are putting the pressure of greed around his neck.Sika asem,SIKA sika dro ,sika ,sika.Oh Ghana ...