You are here: HomeSports2013 11 25Article 293086

'The Brazilians of Africa’ now in Brazil

Read Comments Comments (93)

• BerylRichards 10 years ago

the worse original is better than the best duplicate.
    if Ghana cant be Ghana, then there is no way "brazil of africa" can ever win the world cup. When will we chart our own path for others to follow. It is sad but annoying t ...

• POW@ GHFUO is a damn liar 10 years ago

The phrase "Brazil of Africa" came about as a result of our style of play which was close to the then Brazilian style. Nobody has said Ghana is or has changed her name to Brazil. Besides, it's an old phrase, I mean very old t ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

WE ALL SAW HOW AA BOMBED AT AFCON13? WE ALL SAW HOW KESHIE BOMBED AT THE CONFED CUP. AA HAS ONLY WON 1 AWAY GAME SINCE HE TOOK OVER. I WISH I WAS MAKING THIS UP. THE MANTLE OF A GOOD COACH/TEAM IS THE ABILITY TO WIN GAMES ON ...

• Kob 10 years ago

Pls. check your facts. The Black Stars played 8 qualifying games (4 home, 4 away)and won all but two away games. Also the performance at AFCON06 was even worse but the maiden WC was respectable, don't you think?

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

You can't even win the AFCON for the NEXT thirty years, and you calling yourself Brazil of Africa? No wonder I used to hear a Ghana footballer called Abedi Pele, named after the Brazilian great football legend, Edson Arantes ...

should read 'be original for once?

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, Joy News, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• Manchester 10 years ago

We are Black Stars of Africa not Brazilian of whatever. Why do we always want to belittle ourselves? Lets be proud of our team. Brazil will always be Brazil and Black Stars will always be a Ghanaian

• theAntedote 10 years ago

This stupid writer should go and face the wall. That Brazilians of Africa crap is so stupid and childish. Ghana is Ghana dumb ass.

• READ THIS 10 years ago

Johnson Kuta & Co Chambers
    Solicitors & Advocates.
    Lagos - Nigeria.
    Tel:+229-98620468.

Dear Friend,

I am Barrister Johnson Kuta, the Personal lawyer to late Mr. Michael Taylor, who was a contractor with gold compan ...

• ABBA 10 years ago

You must be aware of these notorious Nigerians scam letters. When you receive such letters in your e-mail, just delete. Don't follow it.

Last week, we receive similar letter and some good Samaritans posted such letters as ...

Diasporian News of Saturday, 5 May 2012

Source: Tulsa World

Man guilty in credit, debit card theft plot that targeted Tulsa McDonald's customers

A 19-year-old native of Ghana pleaded guilty Friday to taking part in a ...

• Criminals! 10 years ago

It's hard to believe that the Nigerians are still at this.
    Who in the world is still falling for this?
    The African Union should expel Nigeria and urge the UN, Commonwealth, ACP and Ecowas to do the same, period!

• {567}2 +{M}4 10 years ago

Does this evil dreamer think he will be able to convince somebody to call him. Nigerians crooks never get tired.

GHANAIAN "SAKAWA" CRIMINAL "ENTERPRISE EXPOSED!

PUBLIC AWARENESS ADVISORY REGARDING ""SAKAWA" OR "ADVANCE FEE FRAUD" SCHEMES

SAKAWA AND SEKADRO Schemes frequently use the following tactics:

An individual or company r ...

• ABBA 10 years ago

NEMESIS,UK, instead of being angry, why don't you and Nigerian crooks stop this nonsense? No matter how angry you are, we will continue to post all your scam letters to as many as media organizations. Any time we receive your ...

BLACKMAN CAN'T THINK!
    GHANA CAN WIN THE WCUP! GH HAS WON U17, U20.....
    GH GOVT IS MEDIOCRE, INDISCIPLINED AND SUPREMELY CHEAP!
    BLACK PPL ARE VERY STUBBORN, INDISCIPLINE AND HATE CHANGE. IF YOU WANT A BETTER GH. U HVE TO BE ...

• Abeoku 10 years ago

Nigerians give bad name to all black Africans. Nigerians are addicted to evil deeds. They won't stop these scamming. It is up to individuals to be very careful with these Nigerian criminal entrepreneurs.

How can you imagin ...

Igbos Tribe Number 1 In Crime Aboard,-dominance Of Igbos In 419 Scams Was A Harm - Ethnic, Racial, Or Sectarian Politics - Nairaland.com

Igbo Leaders Meet To Plot Strategy
    From Jaiyeola Andrews in Asaba

The maiden edit ...

• ABBA 10 years ago

I am really sure that NEMESIS,UK is in a horrible state of affairs. Why would he turn against his own Nigerian swindlers?
    Crime does not pay, NEMESIS,UK.

• ??? 10 years ago

never run away from the truth

• Uche 10 years ago

Ofe manu chimp. Leave Ghanaians alone

Ghanaians will soon send you packing with all your fake businesses and Igbo Chieftaincy title in Ghana. Very soon their new laws against foreign businesses in Ghana will catch up with your people their with all your 419 and d ...

The whole world hated Nigerians because of the criminality of the evil Igbos like Anajembas of this world who are the pioneers of 419 fraud in Nigeria and abroad., (Anajemba wrecked a whole Bank in Brazil with his evil Igbo 4 ...

• ABBA 10 years ago

NEMESIS,UK speaks the truth for the first time that 419 scam originated from Nigerians Igbos. This is all what we want to hear. When you speak the truth like this, it makes you truthful swindler.Good job NEMESIS,UK.

• Choo Boi 10 years ago

Nemesis,i am sure you are Nigerian.don,t you think you Nigerians rather have a complex when it comes to Ghana!Don,t forget when ghana was known and called "Gold" coast,Nigeria was the "Slave"coast!You know why most countries ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Idiot why don't you contact Frank Rijkaad fools like you never learn anything you are either a brain dead or blind. How many local coaches has coach the Black Stars in the past 30 years? How many foreign coaches had won AFCON ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

We dont need any Rijkaard or any foreign material. Having reached the point of the World Cup alone proves that we are good enough. Even Brazil with all their excellence and quality coaches have on many occasions been eliminat ...

• Ern 10 years ago

POW, please change your name, you are spoiling GH FUO's "street cred!".... Ah! he is here speaking abrofo k3si3, k3si3 and you call him not only a liar, but a DAMN liar..... oh! please, have pity wai? GH FUO will cry, please, ...

LEAVE POW ALONE TO SOIL MY REP. LIKE THEY SAY..."BY THEIR DEEDS, YE SHALL KNOW THEM". POW IS SLOWLY DISCREDITING HIMSELF BY CALLING ME OUT ON THIS FORUM. VERY SOON, HE WILL USE A DIFFERENT NAME. JUST WATCH.

• Ern 10 years ago

LOL, GH FUO, dont talk too much because POW is right. Just keep quiet like a good little boy whilst I beg on your behalf ok? Good boy!

GO EAT GARI N PEPPER. KWASIA...

• Ern 10 years ago

What a joke! GH FUO, you are a disgrace to Ghanaians! LOL

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Look who is talking about being inward looking? I am still waiting for the day when I will read an article with a minimal amount of wisdom from this GHFUO character whether he is the original GHFUO or not, he always seems to ...

• SAMUEL OSEI-TUTU 10 years ago

This is no way to make a story sweet. Beryl is not being inward looking. Our style of play is our own; It should not be compared with any other. We should begin to think positive of ourselves. Just listen to some people refer ...

• YAW OFORI 10 years ago

THAT IS ALL THAT I AM SAYING.WHY DO WE ALWAYS HAVE USE OTHER PEOPLES CLOAK? WHY CAN'T WE BE A PATHFINDER WITH OUR OWN NATIONAL SIGNATURE? LOOK AT THE PATHETIC WAY PEOPLE THESE DAYS CHANGE THEIR NAMES TO MIRROR OTHERS IN THEIR ...

• CITIZENS ADVOCATE 10 years ago

You should be ashamed of yourself.

• Nana Antwi 10 years ago

Our goalkeeper is not good. Pease change him for the better.

• Kwadwo Arhin 10 years ago

Another dstupid fool!!

• AKK 10 years ago

why do we always want to use others as standards? what about Ghanaian style? I agree with you so strongly. It is a mental disease of Africans in general.

• AKK 10 years ago

why do we always want to use others as standards? what about Ghanaian style? I agree with you so strongly. It is a mental disease of Africans in general.

• maxwell Afriyie 10 years ago

May be the writer is Brizilian.That's why l love Americans. Now, who has been giving this precious space to this unpatriotic mosquito brain to write on Ghanaweb.

• nkwaseasem 10 years ago

The writer is simply not smart enough to realize the stupidity in HIS labeling. In his warped mind, he thought, he was praising Ghana. In a broader light, there are some folks who feel superior because of the sheer fact, that ...

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 10 years ago

I have never heard or seen Europeans Americans etc naming their things after Africans prospects.so why must Ghana or Africans name adopts certains names that have already been established by the whites?why cant Ghana be Ghana ...

• ??? 10 years ago

why not Berekum united,B-Dons or B-city

• SAMUEL OSEI-TUTU 10 years ago

You are 1000 percent right. WE should be ourselves and not miniature of others. What mentality!!

• CITIZENS ADVOCATE 10 years ago

I couldn’t agree more BerylRichards. It so disheartening to see that Africans still have to be imitations! There is no excuse whatsoever for this inferiority complex behavior. Michael Essien is Michael Essien and Lionel Mes ...

• Smoking Columbia 10 years ago

WE are BLACKSTARS of Africa and a proud one! We aint any god damn Brazilian of Africa. No imitation for so ever. Get the fuck out and appreciate originality!!!

• Wuorfei 10 years ago

This how we create inferiority complex in the mind of our players. We have our own brand of football, let's appreciate it for what it. Fake Brazil vs Brazil?

• KURASINI 10 years ago

WETTIN BE BRAZILIANS OF AFRICA?
    NEGROES ALWAY IMITATING OTHERS
    NKWASIASEM ARA KWA

• KURASINI 10 years ago

WETTIN BE BRAZILIANS OF AFRICA?
    NEGROES ALWAY IMITATING OTHERS
    NKWASIASEM ARA KWA

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

Why must the BLack Stars be second fiddle. They are simply the Black Stars of Africa and we must not allow anybody with inferiority complex to accept nothing less.

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

We cannot play badly like we did in our matches against Zambia and Egypt in Brazil and hope for good results. We really need to prepare well ahead of the tournament, else we'll just be mere passangers in Brazil.

Gone are ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A lady approaches her priest and tells him, "Father, I have a problem. I have two Brazilian female talking parrots, but they only know how to say one thing." "What do they say?" the priest inquired. "They only know how to say ...

• ??? 10 years ago

nice one.pls., give us more

• BJ 10 years ago

Fatau is not good enough for the tournament; Adams may be better, although we could try new ones as well.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

It seems as if we are afraid to take on teams from South America. We need to play teams like Argentina, Brazil, Columbia,Chile, Ecuador and Uruguay to learn about their styles of play.
    Our youngmen are quick to flock to Euro ...

• Kobena Fynn 10 years ago

Stop this adoption of foreign names and labels. Lets start using our indegenious names for companies,teams, hotels and national programmes. My parents named me full English names and and it can be emabarrasing.

• Wahington Insider 10 years ago

We cannot make a whole lots of noise and giving brand name of Ghana as Brazil of Africa. Our quality of play from day one of the qualifying games to Brazil is questionable. Brazil have players who can dribble to make room for ...

WE NEED MORE COMMENTERS LIKE U ON THIS FORUM. OUR 10 DEDE DOSENT RUN N HOLD THE BALL. WE DONT HVE A RIGHT WINGER. WE DONT HVE A SERIOUS DRIBBLER LIKE EVEN ABOAGYE OF U20. 30YRS WITHOUT A MERE AFCON TROPHY N PPL THINK OTI AKEN ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

here we go again. GHFUO I suppose you have been watching European football regularly on TV. When was the last time you saw a good dribbler in any of the top teams? Football has evolved beyond entertainment and circus antics.

• factMaster... 10 years ago

note to remember: their coach Carlos Alberto Perreira came to learn football in Ghana from the Black Stars in the late 1950s - Google it if you don't believe

• NONSENSE 10 years ago

COACH CARLOS ALBERTO PERREIRA NEVER CAME TO GHANA TO LEARN FOOTBAL.YOU MUST BE JOKING.

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Thanks. What I found out after some casual reserch on the internet is that Brazils Coach Parreira's first coaching assignment was a stint with both Asante Kotoko as well as the Black Stars in or around 1967. Wonders will neve ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

And Carlos Alberto Parreira has won World Cups with Brazil since coaching the Black Stars way back then.

• OLDMAN GYASI 10 years ago

-----POT-BELLY MAN IN THE PHOTO?

• Banana 10 years ago

Is Brazil wearing white?...this was a rhetoric question asked by a commentator when Ghana was playing Brazil in a world cup elimination match in Germany, i think...correct me if i'm wrong...Ghana was wearing white and Brazil ...

• The Future 10 years ago

It is time we as people of this great continent began living in our own image. We are always "dubbing" rather than being. Imitating rather than innovating, duplicating rather than creating. We present ourselves to the world a ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

As a matter of urgency GFA and the entire BS techical crew need 3 things done rightaway before the world cup begins in 6 months from now minus December.1,We urgently need a very good goalkeeper who is very good in handling ae ...

• Gabriel Lartey 10 years ago

Am so glad that Ghana have qualified to Brazil but not qualified per say but Ghana is going there to bring the cup Amen

• Akamai 10 years ago

With the way we have been playing without Ny cohesion? Funny

• chelsea 10 years ago

a vry well done to the players especially the coach

• JAMES DADDAH 10 years ago

GOD BLESS GHANA,JAH LOVE

• him 10 years ago

Stop publishing this bullshit

You've make good analysis here, however, I don't think Ghana can claim to be "Brazil of Africa" name tag anymore, esp. watching out matches with Zambia and Egypt. Our team won alright but lacked the kind of cohesive play and ...

Counter attacks are usually generated from the back line; we need players who can read the game 110% during play time. Any player who cannot initiate a counter-attack move is not worthy to play for the Black Stars. Coach Kwas ...

• >>Shop online at www.hemoh.com 10 years ago

Good suggestion,Rijkaard can help plenty

• THE ETERNAL PRINCE 10 years ago

ONE THING THAT MAKES ME SAD IS JOURNALISTS WHO HAVE INFERIORITY COMPLEX. KWABENA YEBOAH IS THEIR LEADER. HIS THINKING IS ALWAYS TO SEE GHANAIANS AS CARBON COPY OF OTHERS. HE MUST KNOW THAT AFRICANS ARE ON PLANET EARTH IN THEI ...

• koffie 10 years ago

All Glory to the creator

• KWAKU 10 years ago

WE ARE NOT BRAZILIANS OF AFRICA, FOR GOD SAKE. WE ARE FROM GHANA IN WEST AFRICA AND, WE PLAY OUR OWN STYLE OF FOOTBALL. DO NOT EVER USE THAT TERM (BRAZILIANS OF AFRICA) FOR OUR CHERISHED BLACK STARS AGAIN. IS AN INSULT AND IT ...

• Kwalos 10 years ago

Like the "Jews of Africa" and now "the Brazilians of Africa". Why all these false labels? No Ghanaian, I can think of, wants to be a Brazilian. The slave trade legacy comes to mind. Let's rather address the questions of disci ...

• sick and tired 10 years ago

WILL YOU STOP THIS BELITTTLING: WHAT DO YOU MEAN BRAZILIANS OF AFRICA??????????? STUPIDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Jetmoney 10 years ago

Please stop refering out country as Brazil, respect Ghana as it and stop giving Ghana franchise names, why do u people never learn to respect and promote what u have?

• Who cares what my name is 10 years ago

About time we start being our own people and stop comparing ourselves to others!!!

• Ndebugre 10 years ago

I don't particularly like this white jeysey ghana used during the world cup qualifications. It looks too simplistic and poorly designed.

I think the black stars deserve better designed jeyseys at the world cup. This is a w ...

• Amendos 10 years ago

Am not interested in wot name u call ur self,am interested in ur unity, understanding,organisation and discipline u are representing Ghana so lets all be patriotic and do de job collectively. We are de black stars of Ghana. G ...

• kasoa 10 years ago

Stupidity at it peak. Where in Ghana do you see Brazil. Its time to own ourselves and stop imitating other nations. This article is completely useless!

• Black Man 10 years ago

Conditioning

• amoah peter 10 years ago

when jesus was asked, who are you he answered "i am who i am".The black stars must belief in themselves with no fear for any team.And as our anthem goes God will surely bless our homeland Ghana.Join me to say AMEN

• kojo 10 years ago

god, if he exists, does not pick a winning team. perhaps you should pray for an end to poverty.

• Kwadwo Arhin 10 years ago

Evans Sackey Teye you are stupid beyond words!!

Kwasea!! Ko te bot!!

Brazilians of Afroca?

Are Brazilians better than Africans? How?

Wo ye kwasea paa!!

• ali 10 years ago

i dont understand why ghana should be Brazilians of africa logicaly is rong becauose Brazilians will never ever say Brazilians are Ghanians of Latin America put Ghana first in any comment your making ,GHANA FIRST I LOVE GHAN ...

• kojo 10 years ago

what is wrong with my people? who is your editor? since when did we change the name from black stars to brazillians of africa? what;s with the self-hatred?

really saddens me. i know you mean well and i hope that you will w ...