You are here: HomeSports2013 11 22Article 292834

The Black Stars have qualified but Akwesi Appiah must improve

Read Comments Comments (89)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

WHY AA NEEDS A TECH DIRECTOR!
    DO U KNOW THE RESPONSIBILITIES OF A TECHNICAL DIRECTOR? I WOULD URGE ALL SOCCER LOVERS TO GO N FIND OUT THE DUTIES OF A TECH DIRECTOR BEFORE THEY COMMENT. SECONDLY, BRASIL HAS A HEAD COACH IN SC ...

• koo Tee 10 years ago

Sorry my dear.Its not about insults but advancing positive arguments.Kwasi Appiah may not be at that level now but at least there is an improvement.Osam Duadu,Ben kwofie and the like can help and that is exactly what they ar ...

• Kofi Yankey 10 years ago

Koo Tee, you said a lot, a lot of facts about soccer, but no coherent argument. It seems you are close to Coach Appiah and therefore speaking out of emotions. You are making excuses for the coach and self-incriminate in the ...

WE HVE 7MTHS BEFORE THE WCUP. AA HAS HAD ENUFF TIME TO SHOW THE QUALITY OF HIS TECHNICAL EXPERTISE. AT THIS POINT, EXTRA COURSES ETC WONT HELP HIM. HE NEEDS A TECH ADVISOR/DIRECTOR. WE DONT NEED 10YRS TO RECOGNIZE SUNSHINE. W ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I was going to stay out of all these nonsense and allow the fools and opportunities take the lime light but I cannot take the stupidity and nonsense any more. Where were all these idiots writing all kinds of crap when the Ser ...

• Me4U 10 years ago

Just read what you wrote and tell me which sensible individual will rain insults on other contributors for voicing out their democratic opinion?

And of course everyone knows Milo and Duya were sub-average European coaches. ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

People do not want can't stand the truth sometimes one has to say it as it. Where were all these people in 2006 when we came from AFCON in Egypt with one of lowest performance we even lost Robert Gabriel Mugabe's Zimbabwe no ...

• Prophet from Mantukwa ELIJAH 10 years ago

Ghana can pay Jose Morihno for technical advice if we need help from one of the best.

• kofi 10 years ago

No one in his right mind will seek the services of an expatriate and pay him huge sums of money in a land where soccer stars abounds. What about soccer do our mothers, fathers, coaches, ex-stars etc not know? Some of you will ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

My brother, I thought when you took a break,it was meant to cool your temper down and turn over a new leaf. Rather, you have returned with the same tantrums. If you do not agree with some of us ,please do not address us idio ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

You of all people should have found a hole and hide in it like tough looking and gun firing Saddam Hussein of Iraq did when real men show up at his door steps. You said many times that we would not make it to the world cup Ap ...

• POW@ GHFUO is a liar 10 years ago

This guy reasons as if it comes from his anus. If you have any idea, nothing stops any of us from carrying it across for debating. Unfortunately for GHFUO, he say things he doesn't know and the way he comes here very often sp ...

WHY DONT U CORRECT THE SO CALLED LIES I HAVE PUT ACROSS? DO UR RESEARCH AND COME BACK N TELL US ALL THAT WHAT I HAVE PUT ACROSS IS PURE LIES...

U ARE EITHER VERY STUPID OR SIMPLY MISSING THE POINT. AH, WAT IS UR PROBLEM?...LOOK, U CANT USE 1978 FORMULA FOR TODAY OO. THE BEST TEAM IN THE WORLD BRASIL, WHO JUST WON THE CONFED CUP BY OUTCLASING ALMIGHTY SPAIN. HAS A TEC ...

• KK 10 years ago

The game the Stars are playing now does not give us any hope in Brasil. We have good individual players (except for the goal keeper). The way the boys play depends on what the coach tells them. It is the coach that has to dra ...

LOOK AT WHAT BURKINA, CAPE VERDE, MALI AND DR CONGO DID TO US AT AFCON 13? U SEE, THE REASON WHY NONE OF THESE COUNTRIES ARE NOT GOING TO BRASIL IS SIMPLY BCOS OF THE QUALITY OF THEIR PLAYERS. INFACT, I THINK BURKINA AND MALI ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

The countries you've mentioned also played well with Ghana.But at the end of the day,where are their names in the WORLD CUP TOURNAMENT 2014?
    THAT IS THE BOTTOM-LINE.
    One cannot confess negatively and expect blessing at the ...

• koo Tee 10 years ago

Nothing like that my bro.No emotions!I have a lot to say and in an attempt to do that get into incoherency at times.I have been a coach for many years now and I still stand by my word that the work of a coach is supplemented ...

• Gbomo Bi 10 years ago

Inferiority complex is destroying this country, there is already a Technical directorate cum advisers made up of old coaches in helping Kwasi Appiah. all those calling for this whites are skin pain and apologies of Yaw Ampofo ...

U ARE A RETARD. WHERE WERE THESE SO CALLED CASSAVA, OLD COACHES DURING AFCON 08,2010, 2012, 2013? U THINK THE WCUP IS ANYWHERE LIKE AFCON? HMM, U HAVE NO IDEA....EVEN THE EURO AND COPA AMERICA, CONFED CUP ARE NOWHERE LIKE THE ...

• Santana 10 years ago

GHiFUO u are an uncivilized bastard! All u do is insult people and yet u don't know shit about soccer!

THOSE SAYING WE SHOULD CONTACT OTI AKENTENG, DUODU ETC ARE SIMPLY USELESS. WE HAVENT WON A SIMPLE AFCON TROPHY IN OVER 30 YRS. WHERE WERE THESE OLUMEN BOOGIES WHEN AA WAS STRUGGLING AT AFCON 13?...MUAHAHAHAHAAAA. U R NOT SERI ...

• POW2 GHFUO is a liar 10 years ago

You need it very much and you'll know if you searched who were our technical directors during those years you've mentioned. I'm even daring you to start from 2006 - 2013 and we'll continue like that even in 2014. It's been Gh ...

OVER 30YRS AND GH STILL HASNT WON A SIMPLE AFCON TROPHY. THESE SO CALLED OLUMEN COACHES IN GH ARE SIMPLY NOT GOOD OR CANT THINK. WHERE WERE THEY AT AFCON 2013 WHEN AA SAT THERE FOR DR CONGO TO COME BACK FROM 2 GOALS DOWN? I K ...

• POW@ GHFUO is a liar 10 years ago

We all know Parreira is the technical director of Brazil, but for his job details which I see you goofing about. So if you're man tell us what you know about his job details, I dey the corner bl3k3t333 waiting to pounce on yo ...

All Ghanaians are expecting progress and success at all times. Constructive criticism and improving the way we do things is what will make us better. I can't speak for Yaw Ankrah but most people advocating for Appiah to impro ...

• Owusu 10 years ago

All what you are saying is rubish.you seem like somebody who does not know the game of football,any way can I ask you,do you know how to play football% All the so called big coaches you ignorant self made football advisers an ...

• koo Tee 10 years ago

Did you read my comment very well?I don't think you did.I think we are on the same side.Owusu this is just a forum where constructive discussions are made.Can you stop the insults?

• eric 10 years ago

I am very sorry for that,I accept that was the wrong way for me to argue or make my point.forgive me.

• eric 10 years ago

my name is Eric Owusu that is why I used Eric to apologize.

• akua mustapha edem laryea 10 years ago

Dear Eric. Enough respect for you. it takes a real man to apologise when he makes a mistake. This forum is about expressing oponions and i think the insults should stop. We all want the Good of Ghana.

• Maka Meho 10 years ago

Don't scream at everybody on this forum with your upper case typing. Unlock the "Caps Lock" on your computer before we consider your contribution as serious.

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

This is a stupid article. Who does not know that AA has to improve. Everybody needs improvement in spite of all achievements. Only God is perfect. Even if AA wins the World Cup, he will still seek improvement. Stupid article ...

• THIS IS NOT ABOUT RACE. 10 years ago

Indeed, your comments are on point. The best coaches can be found in Europe and South America(SA) as these two continents have consistently won the WC. Hiring the best in anything will at the moment come from these two locati ...

• CLKK 10 years ago

Well said man...we need to do what we need to do to become better as a team and if that means getting a more qualified/experience TD; regardless of race, then lets do that.
    Congrats to Kwesi Appiah for a great job done thus ...

• Oh-Andy -K 10 years ago

Thanks. May be someone should tell GFA, Coach AA and all those simple-minded Ghanaians that "The color of the cat does not matter so long as it can catch a mouse". We need good playing strategy that wins cups and tournaments. ...

• Asou! 10 years ago

I see with the writer alright. But I do not think the predecessors of AA had the chances of managing any team at any world cup level. They did for the first time with Ghana and made names for themselves. All the same, it is n ...

• DELA 10 years ago

is high time we should stop criticizing everything that God has given us,as black people. Kwesi Appiah has done enough to secure our qualification, we should support and encourage him rather than destroying him. Every footbal ...

HVE U FORGOTTEN WAT AA DID AT A TOURNAMNT.....AFCON 13? WHO WAS HIS TECH DIRECTOR? WAT TACTICAL APPROACH DID AA ADOPT AT AFCON 13 AND WAT WERE THE RESULTS? THE WCUP IS EVEN MORE TOUGHER....

• Asem beba dabi 10 years ago

Did Nigeria & CoteD'Ivoire have tech dir at AFCON 13?

LEARN FROM THE BEST...LIKE BRASIL. NOT NAIJA N IVORY COAST. KWASIA! IF U WANT TO COPY SOMEONES NOTES. COPY THE NOTES OF THE BEST STUDENTS IN CLASS, NOT THE WEAK ONES.

• POW@ GHFUO is a big liar 10 years ago

You can't reason and you want to shift blame on color? You're very pathetic. Everybody knows it in here that you don't reason. It's not part of you to reason. Matter of fact you don't have reasoning faculties, it's not a blac ...

• Johnny Football 10 years ago

Reading the comments here, all I can say is that Africa as a continent is in trouble. It appears the African (sorry for generalising)does not believe that one of its own is capable of anything unless a "foreigner" is involved ...

• bogass 10 years ago

BRO YOU HAVE HIT THE NAIL RIGHT AT THE TOP. SOME GHANAIANS STILL THINK WE ARE IN A COLONIAL ERA WHERE THE WHITE MAN RULES. WE SHOULD MOTIVATE OUR OWN.

• carlous dunga 10 years ago

Even if coach Kwasi Appiah will need technical director nothing bad and we don't need any white in this set,so far as we have our fifa technical instructors in Ghana like Osam Dodu, Sam Addy ,Otti Akenti and others we can mov ...

• Bogoso 10 years ago

If you want him to improve, then you are in the right direction, thats why God created all things that can move to go forward and not backwards but if you try to say he has been recycling players and systems as if he does not ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

kwesi appiah must be help to improve all has to put hands together and help him he can eve be sent to refresher courses now the better his stand one has to listen to the comentators on BTSPORTS during the second leg in Egypt ...

• Yamba 10 years ago

The World Cup is not about individuals. Ghana has a fantastic collection of world class players at the moment. The Coach shouldn't have all the credit. This is why a strong technical advisory team is needed. Knowing Ghanaians ...

• Gbomo Bi 10 years ago

There is a Technical Director; Oti Akenten. and a Technical Advisors;Ben Coufie, Sam Aday, Osam Doudu and co, so wht else do we want? or because we dont have a white face some ghanaians feel so stupid and scadalised unless th ...

• jUJU gUY 10 years ago

Some people just don't understand. Oti Akenteng, Osam Duodu, Sam Aday and others were in South Africa but our team lacked any chemistry. We simply depended on the individual players to reach the semi finals. Can you compare t ...

• Viper 10 years ago

What a muppet,the writer goes on to say Akwesi Appiah holds impressive winning percentage than the previous foreign coaches yet the very same writer is demanding that Akwasi Appiah improves??????????? Did we tell claude La R ...

Coach Appiah should improve because Ghanaians expect more from him than the previous coaches. The bar is higher now, at least quarter finals is the expectation at the WC. All that people, including the writer, is saying is th ...

• lonely stranger 10 years ago

Viper or whatever you call yourself, did you actually read the article well or you are just hitting on the writer for nothing? There is absolutely nothing wrong with what the writer stated, if you really understand football l ...

• Viper 10 years ago

What hard truth you're speaking of?????????? That the current coach has better winning ratio than his predecessors???? But somehow needs to improve????????????? Sid you muppets say anything about improvement when we had forei ...

Dude, i will try very hard to accommodate your ignorance! looks like you have really lost your way because if you can ask these class one questions on this esteemed platform, it only goes to give a vivid description of whom y ...

• Viper 10 years ago

..not here to trade insults with you,kwasia,which you are...

• Osei Kofi, Son of The Great Pele 10 years ago

ARE YOU CRAZY? WE BRAZILIANS ARE ALSO BLACKS!

• Viper 10 years ago

Did*

• Kobby 10 years ago

Spain lost to south Africa so is the coach a bad one? laeva Kwasi Appiah alone

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

I think you are being unfair to Akwasi Appiah here. He and the GFA made mistakes leading up to the South Africa Games - they succeeded in creating dishamony in the team through exclusion of certain players (unfairly in my opi ...

what is more sensible than what the writer stated? if you clearly admit that AA made a mistake in south Africa then why cant you admit that he needs to improve prior to the upcoming tournament in Brazil? so what is the elemen ...

My poinjt is that the head coach has improved, he has learned, he has got the team working well together and he has qualified us for the World Cup. What the likes of the writer and you should is simply shut up or support them ...

• Oh-Andy -K 10 years ago

But first the Coach must stop his vengeful nature and favoritism. Everybody knows he has special affinity for some Team B and C players and has promised them tickets to Brazil. That is the problem. Will he call up and select ...

• thinking man 10 years ago

in the world of online etiquette, writing comments in CAPS is akin to shouting at your audience. its disrespetul to your audience and demeaning. Imagine someone standing close to your face and screaming at you. thats what it ...

• Peepe 10 years ago

To all the Pen Football players and analysts: how many of you have ever studied as coaches? It is enough! Kwasi Appiah and the management are not that stupid. They know that, even teams like the so called football bigwigs, as ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Thanks Peepe, if I had read your post, I would not have bothered commenting on the gibberish this author came up with. Having now read your comment, I have to say you said exactly and more what I was boiling to point out. The ...

• seini 10 years ago

This is a very good article. Qualification was one goal which has been achieved. What is our next goal? To me it is going to Brazil to bring the cup to Africa. I believe we have the players who can do it. But from their perfo ...

• DR. 10 years ago

SOMEONE PROPOSED A WONDERFUL IDEA THAT WE NEED A PERSON OF A WORLD CUP EXPERIENCE AS A TECHNICAL DIRECTOR. WE DON'T NEED TO WORRY AT ALL AS FOR GHANA I THINK ANYTHING WHITE LOOKS LIKE GOD AND IS WORSHIPPED AND SO I WANT TO SU ...

• Peepe 10 years ago

Stupid article. This English speaking excuses are resurfacing. AA was robbed as a National captain and given to Abedi Pele with nonsense excuse of can't speak french, etc. Where did it take us? It rather demoralized the playe ...

• Great 10 years ago

6-1 victory over Egypt at Kumasi was DONE by the work of JUJU, so simple. I have my own personal reasons and can Explain if giving a chance.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

I believe,our prayers for God's wisdom and understanding(discernment,comprehension and interpretation)is what he needs to see the BLACK STARS through,in the forth coming WORLD CUP 2014(BRAZIL).
    He needs our encouragement tha ...

• awey 10 years ago

my brother i agree with you hundred percent

• Boy Wonder 10 years ago

Master,
    To me, if we had even lost 3-0 to Egypt and played well, I would not mind. The fact is that we were completely outplyed by the Egyptians. Why did Kwasi Appiah put out an attacking team only to go and defend? He was s ...

• Peepe 10 years ago

No wonder your name is Boy Wonder. I will not comment on your article here. Whatever we do you will wonder. What is your point here? What did you want AA to do? Did we achieve our goal? Do you think after thrashing the Egypti ...

• Tadi Ba 10 years ago

As it stands now, Coach Akwesi Appiah holds an impressive 66% winning percentage .Then,writer what's your problem ?

• KWAKU 10 years ago

WHAT ESLE DO YOU WANT TO SEE BEFORE YOU START BELIEVING IN THE BLACK COACH? ARE YOU YOU SUGGESTING THAT ZAMBIA IS A WEAK TEAM? IN FACT IF YOU REVIEW THE QUALIFYING MATCHES CAREFULLY, YOU WOULD REALIZE THAT WE PLAYED THE TOUGH ...

• James T Kirk 10 years ago

Mr Journalist if that's what you call yourself, your headline is very pathetic, Lacking imagination, Your Article is tripe, please stop been negative towards Mr Appiah, Ghana does not need negative people like you around wri ...

• salcido 10 years ago

what is negative about what the writer said you block headed pig.you really shouldn't be commenting on this page if you have nothing better to say.maybe you want to settle for the less but surely most Ghanaians are not ready ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Thank God that I'm not alone in this debate to press for assistance for coach Appiah and his assist for sponsorships to broaden their knowledge in the game. Or to inform coach Kwasi Appiah and Maxwell Konadu the need for them ...

• Kwaku 10 years ago

U see foolish ppl like this y can u write such n article ? U r stupid indeed

• Charlie King Addo 10 years ago

You wanted results and the man has given you just that. The goal was for him to take us to Brazil. Now we have the ticket. Can the man relax just for a second to enjoy his success? Turn on the heat on your politicians the way ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

A coach who plays and maintain a 4 4 2 formation in Cairo, same array players more or less from the first leg... that coach seriously need improvement. No wonder our midfield was overran. A good coach would have played a 4 5 ...

I guess that is why you were NOT the coach and CAN NEVER be the coach of any team let alone the National team, the Black Stars!!! Why can't we 'arm-chair' coaches, pundits and 'experts' simply learn to shut up for once? I pre ...

• Alain Gnahore 10 years ago

As an Ivorian i came love Ghana because of the quality of football they used to display.Unfortunately under Kwasi Appiah Ghana has lost that brand of football that made the whole Africa love Ghana as the World likes Brazil ...

• Ceto 10 years ago

Stop being an arm chair critic of Kwesi Appiah's coaching abilities. Since you know so much about nothing, I dare you to come out with a more comprehensive coaching plan which you think our current Black Stars/ players will ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Stop being an arm chair critic of Kwesi Appiah's coaching abilities. Since you know so much about nothing, I dare you to come out with a more comprehensive coaching plan which you think our current Black Stars/ players will b ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

I disagree with most of the rubbish you have served us. Dont think you know too much about football. To come out and say that the 6-1 win the first leg was a fluke clearly demonstrates that you are nothing but a pessimist. So ...

• michael boye marquaye 10 years ago

I agree with the writer one way or the other, lets not forget coach Akwesi Appiah has done tremendously well in dealing with the Black Stars throughout the qualifications period and need to be acknowledged by many many Ghanai ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

The Black Stars must work on defending and team work. Finishing can always be improved upon.

We need Anthony Annan back as a defensive shield in front of our back line to break up opposing attacks. there must be better com ...