GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 12 years ago
CAN GH WIN THE WCUP? YES!
HOWEVER, THE LACK OF POSITIVE TEAM PSYCHOLOGY. COACHES LACKING ENOUGH TECHNICAL ABILITY TO COMPETE AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL ARE THE 2 MAIN ISSUES.
SOLUTION: PLAY MORE FRIENDLIES BETWEEN EURO N S AMERIC ... read full comment
HOWEVER, THE LACK OF POSITIVE TEAM PSYCHOLOGY. COACHES LACKING ENOUGH TECHNICAL ABILITY TO COMPETE AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL ARE THE 2 MAIN ISSUES.
SOLUTION: PLAY MORE FRIENDLIES BETWEEN EURO N S AMERICAN TEAMS BEFORE THE WCUP. AA NEEDS PROFESSIONAL HELP. HE LACKS DISCIPLINE N ATTENTION TO DETAIL IN COACHING AT THE ELITE LEVEL.
THIS IS WAT NAIJA SAW IN AMODU N DECIDED TO LET HIM GO. WE CANT GET RID OF AA, BUT BRING IN A REPUTABLE TECH DIRECTOR TO ASSIST OR WORK WITH HIM. OTHERWISE, GH WILL GET SMOKED IN BRASIL.
DEFENCE WINS TROPHIES, TOURNAMENTS
THE BEST WAY TO ATTACK IS TO DEFEND!
AA SAID "THE BEST WAY TO DEFEND IS TO ATTACK". THIS IS WRONG. I DONT KNOW IF HE WAS BEING SARCASTIC/ME BOAPA AS U SAY IN TWI, BUT HE IS WRONG.
THE BEST WAY TO ATTACK IS TO DEFEND.
THE TEAMS WITH THE BEST DEFENCES WIN TROPHIES AND TOURNAMENTS. TEAMS THAT CONCEEDE LESS GOALS IN TOURNAMNTS WIN THE TROPHY. E.G..U17 NAIJA TEAM HAD A VERY GOOD DEFENCE.
U20 WCUP WINNERS FRANCE CONCEEDED THE LEAST GOALS IN THE TOURNEY. POGBA IS IN THE FRENCH NATIONAL TEAM, BUT AA WONT CALL YIADOM AND ASSIFUAH? HOW?
NAIJA WON THE AFCON 12 BCOS OF THEIR DEFENCE. CAMEROON N EGYPT WON THEIR AFCON TROPHIES BCOS OF THEIR DEFENCE.
DUMMY, DO U SEE THE CORRELATION? LOOK AT MOURINHO? LOOK AT ANCELOTTI. FERGUSON IS A PRIMARILY OFFENSIVE MINDED COACH. DID HE WIN A UEFA TROPHY? YET, U HAVE TH NERVE TO CALL ME STUPID.
THE BEST WAY TO DEFEND IS TO ATTACK, IS WHAT IS OFTEN SAID BY EXPERTS LIKE AA, AND YET IN BIG GAMES AS WAS IN THE CASE UNDER FERGIE/FERGUSON, AND NOW DAVID MOYES. MAN U HAS HAD TO ADAPT TO
COUNTER THREATS OFFERED BY THE OPPOSITION. INSTEAD OF THE OPPOSITION ALTERING THEIR PLAY TO COUNTER MAN UNITED.
Animal 12 years ago
You are an APE You need help you fool. Appiah is good enough!!
Okobo 12 years ago
He dares not to expose himself behind that fucking forum nickname!
APE MAN fits him best & thanks Animal (u too change your forum nickname) animals don't read & write in this 21st. century!!!!
U 2 FILTHY NAIJA BOYS SHOULD GO N CHEW HUMAN FLESH. CAN AN APE REASON LIKE MOI? U CLEARLY DONT KNOW THE DIFF BETWEEN HUMAN N APE BRAIN, U CANNIBAL
WELLS 12 years ago
Do not wait. Tell GFA and the President that the game have just begun and we need to immediately start playing more friendly games with major contenders. Please do not wait. We have to tell the world that Ghana is ripe for the world cup
mensah 12 years ago
this is not magic or voodo .. appiah, if he want to be fair and not selfish should demand from the gfa to get a good technical director.. is not about black or white issue .. ghana is bigger than that and appiah should know that..ghana want more and he shouldn't think he is going to play with a whole nation in brazil ..
Ern 12 years ago
GH FUO, I have told you that AA was quoting a WELL KNOWN quote and he said it correctly........if you disagree, just say so, but do not say AA was wrong, because he was not!!
The saying is "the best way to defend is to attac ... read full comment
GH FUO, I have told you that AA was quoting a WELL KNOWN quote and he said it correctly........if you disagree, just say so, but do not say AA was wrong, because he was not!!
The saying is "the best way to defend is to attack". As I said, go and type it into Google the way you are saying it, and you will see that it will be automatically corrected to the way AA said it. So AA is right!!
The sign of a true fool is that you educate him and he goes back to do the same thing that he was doing before. This is the 3rd or 4th time I am telling you GH FUO, that the way you are saying it is wrong!!
PEACE-MAKER 12 years ago
...and you clueless hogs and dogs have to view everything through a race-tinted lenses. If you asked a huffing and puffing Ghanaian whether they thought Appiah needed help with the technical aspect of the game, he would bellow a loud NO from his fufu-mulched, akpeteshie watered guts and then add, "we don't want any White man". So in fact, the issue is not that the stupid Ghanaian doesn't think Appiah needs assistance, it is that he doesn't think Appian needs "White" assistance. Does it really matter if that help came from a White or Black person? So what about the pale skinned people who hold Ghanaian citizenship? Would they be denied a job just because of their skin pigmentation. These same simpletons shout racism when they gallivant in Europe begging for crumbs and are treated unfairly.
PEACE-MAKER 12 years ago
...and oh by the way, if you actually watched Ghana's qualifiers, you would notice that Appiah hardly had any tactical input in the performance of the Black Stars. Sheer will and determination to be present at the global fiesta carried them through. At the tournament, when sheer will is not enough, you hogs and dogs will finally wake up to the gaping hole that is currently shrouded in mass hysteria and kokonte buffoonery.
Yes, PEACE-MAKER, I am back...
CONTACT RIJKAARD. I CHOSE HIM BCOS HE IS ONE OF A FEW COACHES WHO HAS HAD SUCCESS WINNING THE UCL TROPHY. HE IS GOOD, BUT THE ESTABLISHMENT ARE RACIST TOWARDS HIM.
Okute 12 years ago
You live in Amsterdam-Zuid-Oost (the Bijmer ghetto) so your mindset is totally rotten, just so to see here in you series of comments; you first need a change too by a very well integration once you live in a very well being nation as Holland.
STOP THIS GHETTO LIFESTYLE ( pimping & pushing) & get a better life for yourself than that!!!
WHO TOLD U I LIVE IN HOLLAND? DUMB FOOL, U CANT EVEN WRITE UNDERSTANDABLE ENGLISH. YET, U HAVE THE NERVE TO CALL ME GHETTO?
henry 12 years ago
Appiah selected the players,and motivated the players,that is a tactical input.We like to pull our own down.The crab in the backet syndrom.Give the coach some credit bro
VICE RESSIEN 12 years ago
...with exquisite eloquence,you make your point to those brainwashed idiotic ghanaians.
PEACE-MAKER 12 years ago
Oh Magister RESSIEN, how honored I am to have been swiftly recognized by your far-seeing eyes after my return from a blissful,un-GHANAIAN hiatus . No doubt you have been improving (I know, it is extremely difficult) the psyche, as well as negative ethos of Ghanaian society as epitomized here on ghanaweb while I have been away.
I, PEACE-MAKER, am back. Together, only you, VICE RESSIEN and I, PEACE-MAKER can take Ghana, A COUNTRY FREED FROM WHITE OPPRESSION BY NKRUMAH AND GIVEN STABILITY BY RAWLINGS to the summit.
mensah 12 years ago
appiah needs help
wo maam tw3. WAT DID OTHERS SAY WHEN PPL SAID THE WORLD WAS FLAT? EVEN EINSTEIN'S THEORY OF RELATIVITY HAS BEEN DEBATED AND QUESTIONED. I SWEAR, U ARE BEYOND DUMB. GO N EAT CLAY, ABOA FUNU...WE HAVE QUALIFIED TO THE WCUP, BUT IM NOT SOLD ON THE TACTICAL EXPERTISE OF AA. WAT KIND OF BAFOON ARE U, ERN. EVEN IN THE FACE OF FACTS, U STILL DOUBT?
Kofi Yankey 12 years ago
I is not clear to me from your writing but I think you are saying Sir Alex Ferguson didn't win a UEFA trophy. You are wrong. He won two Champions League trophies, in 2009 and 2011. I agree with you that Coach Appiah needs a lot of improvement but please check your facts before you make noise.
THANKS FOR THE CORRECTION. HOWEVER, THIS APPLIES TO TOURNAMENTS, NOT NECESSARILY 1 OFF PLAYOFF GAMES, BUT STRICTLY TOURNAMENTS LIKE WCUP, AFCON, EURO CUP, COPA, GOLD CUP, ASIAN CUP, AFCON, CONFED CUP.....ONLY TOURNEYS! DEFENCE WINS TOURNEYS!
Slimzay@The Unshakable Shaker 12 years ago
Massa, you are making a good point but confusing yourself. By the way kindly forget about those insulting you. Just try your best and ignore tham. I know it is hard but you can do it. Oh, AND TRY NOT TO INSULT OTHERS EITHER BECAUSE WHAT GOES AROUND, COMES AROUND.
Now to your comment.
You talked about getting defenders to help us win something; however, turned to use Pogba as an example and called the names of our U-20 strikers, Assifuah and Boakyie-Yiadom. Which department do we need to strengthen according to your comment, and who are the players from the U-20 squad do you recommend? Don't forget that the players you mentioned are attackers not defenders. Aöso remember, Baba Rahman was invited during, if I'm not mistaken, Zambia or Egypt match at Kumasi and was evaluated properly. He just wasn't picked over Daniel Opare and David Nii Addy ans as usual, a position doesn't need 3 players when only 23 is allowed to be invited. Now, beside Baba Rahman, who else do you think can come into the squad and take a position right away? I will be waiting for you on that.
By the way, when you were mentioning the names of the great coaches, why didn't you mention Pep Garduola's name? Why didn't you include him to the list? At least, you and I know that he is one of the best coaches of all time though may be new in the system. Is it because he is not a defensive minded coach though expect his players from defenders to attackers to defend? This alone should tell you that not all coaches rely on defensive strategies but all implement and execute them during matches. The sport of football has 4 departments and all these departments have to function well for a team to be able to perform well. One department may be the weakest link but the other departments have to come up and compliment for the benefit of the team. That is why it is called a TEAM! Corrections could be made to strengthen it later and that is allowed.
We learn as we go and I think, the coach did his best in this tournament. I'm certain he has adapted and has learned a lot and will still learn even after his turn at office.
Where were you when Spain used mainly midfielders to win Euro 2012? These are some of the strategies our coaches may need to adapt because when it comes to a midfiled department, we have it. It was just not our day when our strongest department broke down before us all.
I understand your point. On the other hand, never expected Kwasi Appiah to get us this far. Therefore, he has done what many coaches given the opportunity couldn't do.
AA NEEDS A TECH DIRECTOR. GFA SHOULD CONTACT RIJKAARD ASAP. HE HASNT WORKED SINCE JAN 13.
SLIM, SPAIN AND ITALY WERE THE BEST DEFENSIVE TEAMS IN THE GROUP STAGES AT EURO 12. BOTH TEAMS WERE EVEN IN THE SAME GROUP C AND ENDED ... read full comment
AA NEEDS A TECH DIRECTOR. GFA SHOULD CONTACT RIJKAARD ASAP. HE HASNT WORKED SINCE JAN 13.
SLIM, SPAIN AND ITALY WERE THE BEST DEFENSIVE TEAMS IN THE GROUP STAGES AT EURO 12. BOTH TEAMS WERE EVEN IN THE SAME GROUP C AND ENDED UP PLAYING IN THE FINAL WHICH SPAIN WON. THIS AGAIN PROVES MY POINT THAT IN TOURNAMNT SITUATIONS, DEFENCE TRUMPS ALL AND WINS TROPHIES. SPAIN MAY HAVE USED MIDFIELDERS, BUT THAT IS NOT THE POINT HERE....HAS GUARDIOLA COACHED A TEAM IN A TOURNAMNT BEFORE? CL IS NOT A TOURNAMNT, BUT A COMPETITION.
SLIM, POGBA WAS THE MVP AT THE U20 TOURNAMNT THAT FRANCE WON. FRANCE WAS THE BEST DEFENSIVE TEAM AT THAT TOURNEY. ASSIFUAH WAS THE EBST GOALSCORER. SO IF POGBA IS NOW WITH THE FRENCH NATL TEAM. WHERE IS ASSIFUAH? YIADOM TOO IS MIA, ABI? ADIYIAH AND JORDAN AYEW MUST BE DROPPED, ASAP.
WITH RESPECT TO THE GBSTAR TEAM, WE NEED TO SHORE UP OUR 3 AND 7 SPOTS. FOR THE 3/LEFTBACK SPOTS, WE HAVE ADDY AND NANA ASARE WHO ARE BOTH NATURAL LEFT FOOTERS. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ABEYIE IN A FEW FRIENDLY GAMES TO SEE HOW RELIABLE HE IS ON THE RIGHT WING/7. THE 2/RIGHT BACK MUST BE LEFT FOR AFFUL AND OPARE. PLAYERS LIKE ADIYIAH, NKUM, JAYEW, RAHMAN NEED NOT BE ENTERTAINED. IM NOT CONFUSING MYSELF,BRO. IM HIP TO THE LEDGE. HATERS CAN GO N EAT DEAD RAT MEAT.....
POW@ Appiah anaaaa 12 years ago
You claim Ghana will not qualify for the world cup abi? Now Ghana qualifies and here you're talking another trash. Better go sit somewhere diiinnn and wipe your mouth on the floor.
Nii Oshiki 12 years ago
This dog has no self confidence, self respect or trust in his own race. These fools continue to bow down and worship the white man in this day and age. Wake up, jackass
BCOS IM RECOMMENDING FRANK RIJKAARD, U THINK I HAVE LOW SELF ESTEEM? U ARE CLUELESS MY FRIEND. HAVE U FORGOTTEN HOW AA PERFORMED AT AFCON 2013? U THINK HE CAN DO ANY BETTER AT WCUP IN BRASIL? BRASIL HAS 2 WORLDCLASS COACHES ON THEIR BENCH. THE WORLD CUP IS NOT FOR AMATEUR COACHES LIKE AA. ABOA, NEXTTIME U WANT TO TAKE A TRIP TO THE UK, WHY DONT YOU WALK?
NAKED 12 years ago
Please know how to use your words think that we are all ghanaians irrespective of your tribe or ethnicity you belong to let learn how to criticize people in a good manner not an insult, each and everyone is entitle to his or her own opinoin but it should be in a decent way .To tells us that no body have been hurt the Akans especially the Asantes it means you are throwing dust into our eyes what did J.J Rawlings and his pals did to the Asantes during his so-called revolution huh? brother at times we must called spade a spade but not a big spoon, it was blantant to everyone who was there at that time and today you are tellings us different story we should stand for the truth always stand alone let the truth prevail my brother am not supporting anyone because of some words and the insults but we speaking the truth we must all forgive ourselves and come together to build a better nation because we've been hurts each other in one way or the other so forgiveness is the remedy to the key of development or else our nation will stand still till they kingdom come.If any anyone called you pepeni or tani is not an insult please, let me explain it better pepeni or tani is a corrupt word from p3p33p3ni in english it called honest person because they were honest to our forefather and the tani or ntaafo)means twins our forefather always sees them in pairs and they look alike they can't differentiate them, if they meet one person they called him tani, two or more ntaafo) but we contemporary ghanaians are using it as a derogatory term for northerners but it's not like that, it has meaning why our forefathers were calling them that because of their honesty and how they love themselves that is the reason they gave that name to them not in a derogatory manner, Ghana is not a divided nation where we can have northerness, southerness, eaterness and westerners no is one nation with different ethnic groups we have frafra, fantis, konkombas, dargatis,asantes,brongs, gas etc, so you see you can identify yourself with your ethnic group you belong to if you called asanteni is not an insult to me, we asantes understood the word pepeni and tani because our parents taught us the meaning so if non-asantes are using pepeni and tani as an insult never mind them i have seen many akan group they hate asantes with the exception of Akyems that is why in akan group we always associate ourselves with akyem and people do not understand 3firis3 asuo ne asuo na3b), come on we asantes love pepefo) and ntaafo) as well they have done a lot to us asantes we always appreciate their endeavors without them we wouldn't have been what we are now and we can never do away with them, we are like body and clothe, as human being can not do away with clothe so does asantes can not do away with pepefo) or ntaafo), today am telling everyone on this forum that if asante refer northerness as pepefo) or ntaafo) is not an insult if an asante wants to insult a northerner he or she will use another word rather than peneni or tani. Becuause of colonialism and slavery everything was corrupted for us but yet still we are not ready to emancipate ourselves but encomium the oppressors how stupid and ignorant we can be as a nation, always when we see the Europeans we called them Abr)fo or broni which means white to contemporary ghanaians how funny it sound.Did our forefathers used skin color, language, nationlity, to describe the Europeans when they encounted them? research that i have done from nature university aka nature inclined proves that the abr)fo or broni is a derogatory terms for English people not the entire european nation and i can prove to you thousand times no wonder even our history have been corrupted and twisted for us so we don't know our left and right, which is which? blind nation like ghana with bogus education instituition and myopic educational elites, our educational elites always write to conform what have been twisted and fabricated by the europeans, no ghanaian writer have ever write something to challenge the europeans but they rather write to attack ethnic groups and they called themselves educational elites ignorance is killing them, if illiteracy is disease as descbribe by so-called educational elites in Ghana then ignorance will be what? the educational elites should judge for themselves.Am there to help people who are willing to know something in the world this is my facebook id naked-derootman or you can add me on whatsapp 008613566124757 or email wellsbrains1919@yahoo.com.Things we will dicuss are (i)the corrupted language, politics, christianity, etc don't let the phd holders deceive you, they can think they know everything in the world to them but they are the mediocre in the nature inclination we use senses to talk not degrees, how many senses you have but not how many degrees you have acquired through eurocentric standard
Animal 12 years ago
deranged PIG
Nana 12 years ago
Well said, bravo my brother.God bless you.
Cartus 12 years ago
Poor defense, very poor midfield.. We can't even hold a ball and pass around like the Egyptians nor the Zambians.
fact 12 years ago
If the Zambians and Egyptians were better than us,why didn't they qualify to Brazil. The fact that we lost doesn't make us a bad team. We will always rise to the occasion. England lost at home to Chile, Belgium lost to Japan, Spain lost to south Africa. It was a tough away game.I doubted AA BUT he has done it. Just a little bit from him would make us proud.We lost just two games in qualifiers and suddenly people are being hysterical n criticizing. abeeeeg!!
Ibrahim Young 12 years ago
Appiah, you have done a good job, but there are still rough edges to smoothen. An expatriate technical adviser will benefit you as well as the players.
Animal 12 years ago
You useless ANIMAL and FOOL. DEVILISH RAT
K.S 12 years ago
I'm sick and tired of all these boneheads kissing the ass of white coaches even if they are mediocre. Black people will rather pay Serbians.... millions of dollars to do something a Black man can do better for less salary. We are the reasons why money hungry white coaches are all over African countries taking them for granted and moving on aimlessly. Egypt announced today they will never hire another foreigner so wake up Africans! Ebeiii!
How many foreigners have been coaching Brazil or Spain? In fact, how many Africans will be good enough in the eyes of Europeans to let them take over their national teams?
k. amponsah 12 years ago
Akwasi and the fantastic boys all the way. We are proud of you.
NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago
Well done Akwasi Appiah and his technical team. You have done us proud. However I must state that this time, Ghana is not going to Brazil for picnic or sight seeing. We have reached the quarterfinals two times and nearly made it to semi final in South Africa. Ghana must be ready to win it this time. I have a lot of concerns about the team. The stars have to play as a team. Their ball distribution is poor and their passing is atrocious. If Ghana wants to make an impact in Brazil, they must play tika taka football. The Coach has to get some videos about Arsenal and Barcelona.
NANA YAW 12 years ago
There are times you defend and there are times you go on offense. It is not either or !
One thing we must do is to play South American teams more often.
Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina and Chile.
There are times you defend and there are times you go on offense. It is not either or !
seth 12 years ago
we need to improve in the goel keeping position.The keeper is lame.
U HVE THAT LUXURY IN SINGLE GAME QUALIFIERS, FRIENDLYS, BUT NOT IN TOURNAMENT SITUATIONS. IF YOU WANT TO WIN A TOURNAMENT. MAKE SURE YOUR DEFENCE IS ALWAYS ON POINT N CONCEEDING LESS GOALS. DEFENCE WINS TOURNAMENTS, NOT STRIKERS
MARCUS AMPADU 12 years ago
You use every means necessary to win, including hands. Remember Maradona of Argentina and Suarez of Uruguay?
They won their matches, didn't they?
You use every means necessary to win, including hands. Remember Maradona of Argentina and Suarez of Uruguay?
Charlie 12 years ago
Kwasi u have done well give thanks to God for helping u through this.
Light to darkness 12 years ago
The ones who predicted that arabs are wild and would KILL (f*king idiots) the BS, bomb the field. Not ONE hair of any player, except dede who came with no hair, was missing because of Egyptians. I knew the BS would lose because of this senseless racism.
PepperJ 12 years ago
DID YOU SEE THE SMOKE/FIRE BOMB BEFORE YOUR SECOND GOAL? IT COULD HAVE BEEN A REAL BOMB GIVEN THE VOLATILE SITUATION IN EGYPT. AND MIND YOUR LANGUAGE!
Light to darkness 12 years ago
Pepper J you clearly dont watch football on a regualr basis, because lasers and smoke is nothing new and surely not a sign of ANY danger unless you THINK that way in the first place. No one has made mention of it except racists who stick to their beliefs.
PepperJ 12 years ago
SURE, ONLY HOOLIGANS CHOOSE TO THROW SMOKE BOMBS AND SHINE LASER LIGHT ON REFEREES AND GOALKEEPERS. YOU DONT THROW A SMOKE BOMB NEAR A KEEPER SECONDS BEFORE A GOAL IS SCORED. YOU THINK I DONT WATCH SOCCER, AT LEAST I WATCHED THIS MATCH AND SAW THINGS YOU DID NOT SEE.
pala 12 years ago
its like a lot of the players are feeling very big now looking at the way some of them play. apart from the supposedly younger ones are not really polished players. why was muntari standing behind every freekick & producing nothing extra ordinary? wakaso stands behind a dead ball situation and you expect to see something extra. mahatma stands behind a dead bal situation and you are likely to see something stunning
SEAMAN UK 12 years ago
NDC FOREVER WELL DONE KWASI KEEP TO YOUR CONFIDENCE , PLAY MORE FRIENDLIEST WITH BIG TEAMS EXAMPLE BRAZIL, SPAIN, IVORY COAST GREAT, GREAT KWASI NDC ALL THE WAY
OBOATANTO 12 years ago
IT'S TIME FOR AFRICANS TO WAKE UP FROM THEIR DEEP SLUMBER AND SHINE IN THE WORLD. I CHOOSE THIS FORUM TO CONGRATULATE ALL THE FIVE SHINNING COUNTRIES: NIGERIA, CAMEROUN, COTE DE VOIRE, ALGERIA AND OF COURSE MY BELOVED GHANA NOT ONLY TO MAKE AN IMPACT BUT TO BRING THE GLAMOROUS TROPHY TO OUR BELOVED CONTINENT FOR THE FIRST TIME. I BELIEVE THE ETOS, DROGBAS, ASAMOAHS, OBIS AND ALL OTHERS CAN MAKE AFRICA PROUD. GOOD LUCK FOLKS. THE WHOLE CONTINENT WILL RALLY BEHIND YOU IN PRAYERS TO MAKE OUR DREAM BECOME REALITY.
mark 12 years ago
OUR keeper,Duada is a weak link,he is poor on crosses.
Abongo 12 years ago
We are Africans and Appiah can do the job
mensah 12 years ago
no one is saying he cannot do the job but he needs help and on paper he is not even qualify to take the star to brazil we just happen to have determined players .. lets be clear .. he is not going to break my fucking heart in brazil.we want to be in the semis this time , can he do it .. its not about been an african or not but having a coach with good cv and experience.. u cant use the black stars to learn on the job cuz ghana will even forget you that why if he is wise he should ask for help then he can be our coach for longer period than others.
SAMUEL GYABAAH 12 years ago
Will Dan BLACK STAR
REV ROBERT BOATENG 12 years ago
I wholeheartedly congratulate the Black Stars and the technical handlers for making all of us proud as Ghanaians. I pray that the good Lord helps the Stars to make an unprecedented impact in Brazil 2014. Congrats once more.
PepperJ 12 years ago
Let me add my congratulations to the BLACK STARS for making it to Brazil. However, we must not lose sight of what happened in the second leg match at Cairo. I was totally shocked by the open bias displayed by the Ivorian referee and his team. Prior to the game readers were impressed upon that this referee was a NO-NONSENSE man. What I saw was a timid and indecisive coward. He will apologize to the Egyptians players when they commit bookable offences before issuing the yellow card (even if they deserve a red). He allowed a second goal against Ghana when a fire/smoke bond was thrown near the Ghanaian goal seconds before the goal was scored (it could have been a “real one” given the volatile situation in Cairo). A good referee would immediately halt the game and restored order on the field. He/they woefully failed. There were hundreds of laser light pointers being shown on the faces of the Ghanaian players and coaches. This is totally uncivil and illegal. I think the GFA must protest to FIFA to act on these violations by the home team. FIFA must sanction Egypt and ANNUL the match; anything short of that amounts to failure on the part of FIFA.
Kofi UK 12 years ago
Well done Black Star. We now need to find a way to win this cup. First we have to identify our past mistakes, The first one is penalty kicks. We have a big problem in this area whether is because of lack of practice, confidence or sheer general anxiety. These have to be addressed. We know how vital penalty is in this game.
The second problem is defence and counter attack. The Brazilians used this to trash us in 2006 World cup. We should always leave a player or two at the back to help our goal keeper when the opponent uses strategy of counter attack.
Thirdly, we need strong midfielders who can hold the opponent and feed the attackers.
Last point is for the attackers to be able to put pressure on the opponent's defence and force them to commit errors and punish them.
We also need a good psychologist to prepare them for the task after all it was the confidence in David the drove him to kill Goliath.
Me 12 years ago
When the going was tough I said Ghana will qualify and we have done it.
Ghana has qualified but there are some issues:
Ball possession - I am always saying this on the forum. Our ball possession really sucks. Ghana must build on this. Ball possession in WC 2006 was a wonder to some of us. The current team has ability to do more than that.
It seems ball possession among the current team is the worse I have encountered from Black Stars teams.
Goalkeeping - I think Mr. AA should build confidence in Kwarasey. I believe he is the no. 1 in goalkeeping. Dauda though good is still a suspect. I have read him well. When balls are close to him he becomes confused, jittery and fumbles and can easily be scored. I have noticed that from AFCON to yesterday. He is good at bullets fired from afar but not balls close to him. Why is he not being used in South Africa? Build confidence in Kwarasey for the WC 2014.
Others:
Striking fine but still few problems at midfield. Can Essien run for 90 minute at wc 2014. Yesterday it seems he was so tired and allowed Egyptians to do their own thing. Dede too was very tired why? Hmm. Mr. AA should never leave Rabiou behind.
I am one of those who was against KPB due to his attitude but now understand him based on what the Ghana medical officer said about him. Yesterday his presence was very good.
Ghana need to play tough teams now in friendlies.
Black Star Line 12 years ago
And the Black Stars are bringing the GOLDEN-BALL back to Africa, where it belongs to;&
TO BE THE FIRST AFRICAN NATION TO WIN THE WORLD CUP!!
SURELY, SURELY YOU GUYS ARE GOING TO "ROCK" THE WORLD COM ... read full comment
And the Black Stars are bringing the GOLDEN-BALL back to Africa, where it belongs to;&
SURELY, SURELY YOU GUYS ARE GOING TO "ROCK" THE WORLD COMING 2014 IN BRAZIL; FOR SURE!!!!!
Yes, we can so SANKOFA-bra!!!!!
Ilunga 12 years ago
Definitely, if the game were a knock out stage game, Ghana would have been eliminated. Egypt succeeded in mounting pressure on our ageing Essiens, Muntaris etc. It took the younger KPBs, Wakassos etc to meet the pressure and pull one back
Many of the world cup games will be of this nature. Spain or Germany for example will apply both force, tactics and experience combined. It is left to Appiah to mix up experience with youthful exuberance to get the job done.
But for conflict and money, a technical director who is a good tactician is OK to blend with AA's efforts at the world cup. But the Technical Director should not take up the Head Coach AA's job.
Okute 12 years ago
...........TECHNICL DIRECTOR!!!!!
The Black Stars need a technical director & a coach who understands their native body language signs & local ethnical communication signs also among themselves on the field.
... read full comment
The Black Stars need a technical director & a coach who understands their native body language signs & local ethnical communication signs also among themselves on the field.
A white 'oyibo' technical director is purely a waste of our national resources which won't deliver any positive results but losses instead!
Moreover, Black Stars must portray to the entire world in Brazil -& all world cups- as a pure national African team, a total 100% ALL BLACKS as our national PRIDE & IDENTITY.
In Ghana, we make a whole lot of BIG MISTAKES about our true national identity pride in everything!!!!
Sticking with the tried and tested
Many heavyweights of African football would have replaced their coach and brought in new players after being beaten by Burkina Faso (albeit on penalties) and Mali at the CAF Africa Cup of Nations in February this year. One of the pre-tournament favourites, Ghana left South Africa having finished fourth - a disappointing result for a nation desperate to win another continental trophy after over three decades. Rather wisely, officials decided not to ring in wholesale changes, sticking with coach James Kwesi Appiah. The former Black Stars' captain, who in turn kept most of his players, repaid the officials for their faith by taking the side to Brazil. The nucleus of the squad has been together for a long time now and this has worked wonders for the confidence of the team.
Zambia lose the plot
Having beaten the Black Stars at home, Zambia were in control in Group D ahead of their away trip to African footballing minnows Lesotho. However, a very late equalizer for the Likuena (Crocodiles) by Litsepe Marabe not only cost Zambia two points, it swung the pendulum back in Ghana's favour. An even costlier draw for Zambia at home against Sudan in their penultimate game left Ghana firmly in the driving seat, as all they needed to escape the group phase was a draw from their final match against the Chipolopolo.
The return of the prodigal sons
German-born midfielder Kevin-Prince Boateng, who threw in his lot with the country of his father, retired from international football during the 2011/2 season. The Ayew brothers Jordan and Andre, who are the sons of former African Footballer of the Year and Ghana captain Abedi Pele, followed suit after the Africa Cup of Nations finals in South Africa. Both had been omitted from Ghana's squad for the tournament. However, all three players made themselves available for selection to the squad midway through the year and together with another returnee, Michael Essien, were called up for Ghana's decisive game against Zambia. The decision went far beyond merely strengthening the team on the pitch, and it sent an important message that another bite at the World Cup apple was more important than any individual concerns.
Winning when it matters
Going into their last match against Zambia in Kumasi, the Black Stars needed just a draw to escape the group phase, whereas Zambia needed to win. Ahead of the game in Kumasi both sides were involved in some mind-games, with the Zambian players saying that they would definitely win in Ghana, especially given their good history against the west Africans. However, it was all very different on the pitch as a capacity 40,000-person crowd in the Baba Yara Stadium saw Majeed Waris opening the scoring just 17 minutes into the game, thereby settling any big-game jitters the Black Stars' players might have. When Kwadwo Asamoah added a second a few minutes after the break, Ghanaian fans already started celebrating. Although Nathan Sinkala pulled one back for the southern Africans, they were never in with a chance of grabbing the victory they needed and instead left Ghana just two games away from a third consecutive World Cup appearance.
Hitting a peak at the right time
There are days in football when just about everything goes right for one team and just about everything goes wrong for another. It was such a day on 15 October, when the Black Stars faced Egypt in the first leg of the play-offs. Egypt coach Bob Bradley recalls that the home side had their first chance within 15 seconds of the game starting, and from there, it just went downhill for his side as Asamoah Gyan scored the opening goal in the fourth minute. Egyptian captain Wael Gomaa made it two with an own goal midway through the first half. Egypt were thrown a lifeline shortly before the break when Mohamed Aboutrika converted from the spot, but Warris restored the two-goal lead just three minutes later. A spectacular performance in the second half saw the Black Stars add three more, with Gyan grabbing his second and Sulley Muntari and Christian Atsu adding the others. The 6-1 scoreline all but guaranteed Ghana a place at the finals, and even though they lost the return leg in Cairo 2-1, it made no difference to the outcome of the tie.
ERNEST 12 years ago
No need of any foreign coach or director. Ghanaians are feed up with one goal projects. The silent killer should continue with his good job
asuobonteng 12 years ago
what is the use of camping in turkey just waste money and lose in egypt .. this tells me that ghana did not win in in kumasi because of tactic by the coach.. unless a coach is primitive, he will not leave KPB on the bench for that long beside gyan , he is our next best striker .. why call him then
Ghana First 12 years ago
This is exactly what i want you to think and say
John,Tema 12 years ago
We will not get it easy this time around,most of the participants will take us as a major threat so we have to prepare well to make an impact.
edmondy 12 years ago
So what up about with all the crap about "we scared to play in egypt" and all the bullshits? have we been bombed or anything? egyptians are more civilized than we may think of, its clear they arent as primitive and ignorant as we are, we talk too much. Congrates Blackstars !
PepperJ 12 years ago
My friend not too fast. Did you see the laser pointers, the fire/smoke bomb? these are not acts of civilized people!!!!
mensah 12 years ago
appiah needs to be fired for losing in ciro .. he is just not a good coach ..this players are taking big bonuses yet they can even draw in Egypt .. whats going on with the black stars
edmondy 12 years ago
So what up with all the crap about "we scared to play in egypt" and all the bullshits? have we been bombed or anything? egyptians are more civilized than we may think of, its clear they arent as primitive and ignorant as we are, we talk too much. Congrates Blackstars !
pierceman 12 years ago
there are two things black star needs a technical director and a better goalkeeper. If only Ghana will listen to my advice then we can win the world cup.
Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 12 years ago
Bro, do not bother arguing with those blinders on this forum. It is obvious to me that you are more knowledgeable about the philosophy of the game than most people on this forum are.
I am yet to see a team with a weak or ... read full comment
Bro, do not bother arguing with those blinders on this forum. It is obvious to me that you are more knowledgeable about the philosophy of the game than most people on this forum are.
I am yet to see a team with a weak or undisciplined defense team win a tournament (in any team sport) at this level. This is why no African team has won this tournament, thus far.
For a national coach, and some blind people on this forum, to suggest the suicidal strategy of “the best form of defense is to attack,” tells me a whole lot about our so-called experts. Could you imagine using this strategy against teams like Germany, Argentina, Holland, Uruguay, France, and the rest?
Folks: This is the World Cup, not the “Charge of the Light Brigade of the Crimea War.” Now, I am convinced that we really need that technical director (black or white). This skipper would not be able to navigate the Ghana ship through the rough international waters all by himself. This is not navigating a dugout canoe down the Korle lagoon.
I like and admire AA. But, I believe, he may need some help in the world cup.
MAKA 12 years ago
I DON'T SEE US ROCKING WITH THESE NERVY GOAL KEEPING AND DEFENCE IF WE DON'T DO SOMETHING FOR THE 7 MONTHS. WE HAVE TIME BUT EVERY DAY COUNTS.
NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago
I support you 100% Maka. The ball distribution by the defence is poor. Though Fatau Dauda did well in Egypt. I dont think he has what it takes to be in Brazil. I believe you all watched Olele Kingston in Germany and South Africa. He made some miraculous saves.
Joker 12 years ago
lets go as the underdogs and surprise the world. Do not go bragging yet.
A T GERMANY 12 years ago
what are u experting him to say?IF U THINK WE ARE UNDERDOGS THEN THEY IS NO NEED TO GO THERE
eric 12 years ago
well done black stays
M. U 12 years ago
Bravo Akwasi, you and your team have made Ghana proud. We salute you and thank God for his lovely kindness on us.
Please Akwasi, Check Fatau Dawda, his chanlleges on fifty - fifty balls on air at the panelty box is very wo ... read full comment
Bravo Akwasi, you and your team have made Ghana proud. We salute you and thank God for his lovely kindness on us.
Please Akwasi, Check Fatau Dawda, his chanlleges on fifty - fifty balls on air at the panelty box is very worrying. He always got locked up at the back of three of four players which give room for 55% scoring chance for the opposing team. Very bad go keeping. He need to calculate the steps well. He should come out if he is confident to get hold of the ball or to punch it to safety. Anything apart from that, he should be in the post.
kofi 12 years ago
The Black Stars is a political tool established by Kwame Nkrumah to be used to fight racism and other abuses suffered by the Black people as a result of the 400 years of slavely. It is a team all Black people are in love with as you saw in South Africa 2010. We are going to Brazil with our great WORRIORS led by Kevin Prince Boaten, Esien, Gyan, Ayew etc who are themselves victrims of racism and will do their best to make a statement to the world that "the Black man is capable of managing his own affairs." What will happen in Brazil will be a wake up call to our Kings. Queens, the president and all political leaders in Africa that "Material things mean nothing because you will soon die and leave them behind, your ability to fight and bring about a positive change in the lives of Africans, who the world looks down upon and walk over them everyday where ever they are, is of ultmost importance." May God bless Mandella, Kwame Nkrumah, Martin Luther King, Ohene Gyan etc. Now Nyantakyi and Mahama we are all behind you and we are watching you and reading what you are writing in the history books of Ghana as the first son from the north to be given the chance to conjtribute.
God fred 12 years ago
Let all Ghana give Mr. Akwasi Appiah full support. He can make it
mensah 12 years ago
serious coaches are coming to Brazil with tactics and serious game plans .. even maradona couldn't do it and was fired so the wise thing is to ask for help not been selfish cuz if ghana exist early , you will have no job
SOLUTION: PLAY MORE FRIENDLIES BETWEEN EURO N S AMERIC ...
Do not wait. Tell GFA and the President that the game have just begun and we need to immediately start playing more friendly games with major contenders. Please do not wait. We have to tell the world that Ghana is ripe for th ...
this is not magic or voodo .. appiah, if he want to be fair and not selfish should demand from the gfa to get a good technical director.. is not about black or white issue .. ghana is bigger than that and appiah should know t ...
The saying is "the best way to defend is to attac ...
...and you clueless hogs and dogs have to view everything through a race-tinted lenses. If you asked a huffing and puffing Ghanaian whether they thought Appiah needed help with the technical aspect of the game, he would bello ...
...and oh by the way, if you actually watched Ghana's qualifiers, you would notice that Appiah hardly had any tactical input in the performance of the Black Stars. Sheer will and determination to be present at the global fies ...
You live in Amsterdam-Zuid-Oost (the Bijmer ghetto) so your mindset is totally rotten, just so to see here in you series of comments; you first need a change too by a very well integration once you live in a very well being n ...
Oh Magister RESSIEN, how honored I am to have been swiftly recognized by your far-seeing eyes after my return from a blissful,un-GHANAIAN hiatus . No doubt you have been improving (I know, it is extremely difficult) the psych ...
appiah needs help
wo maam tw3. WAT DID OTHERS SAY WHEN PPL SAID THE WORLD WAS FLAT? EVEN EINSTEIN'S THEORY OF RELATIVITY HAS BEEN DEBATED AND QUESTIONED. I SWEAR, U ARE BEYOND DUMB. GO N EAT CLAY, ABOA FUNU...WE HAVE QUALIFIED TO THE WCUP, BUT ...
I is not clear to me from your writing but I think you are saying Sir Alex Ferguson didn't win a UEFA trophy. You are wrong. He won two Champions League trophies, in 2009 and 2011. I agree with you that Coach Appiah needs a l ...
THANKS FOR THE CORRECTION. HOWEVER, THIS APPLIES TO TOURNAMENTS, NOT NECESSARILY 1 OFF PLAYOFF GAMES, BUT STRICTLY TOURNAMENTS LIKE WCUP, AFCON, EURO CUP, COPA, GOLD CUP, ASIAN CUP, AFCON, CONFED CUP.....ONLY TOURNEYS! DEFENC ...
Massa, you are making a good point but confusing yourself. By the way kindly forget about those insulting you. Just try your best and ignore tham. I know it is hard but you can do it. Oh, AND TRY NOT TO INSULT OTHERS EITHER B ...
SLIM, SPAIN AND ITALY WERE THE BEST DEFENSIVE TEAMS IN THE GROUP STAGES AT EURO 12. BOTH TEAMS WERE EVEN IN THE SAME GROUP C AND ENDED ...
BCOS IM RECOMMENDING FRANK RIJKAARD, U THINK I HAVE LOW SELF ESTEEM? U ARE CLUELESS MY FRIEND. HAVE U FORGOTTEN HOW AA PERFORMED AT AFCON 2013? U THINK HE CAN DO ANY BETTER AT WCUP IN BRASIL? BRASIL HAS 2 WORLDCLASS COACHES O ...
Please know how to use your words think that we are all ghanaians irrespective of your tribe or ethnicity you belong to let learn how to criticize people in a good manner not an insult, each and everyone is entitle to his or ...
deranged PIG
If the Zambians and Egyptians were better than us,why didn't they qualify to Brazil. The fact that we lost doesn't make us a bad team. We will always rise to the occasion. England lost at home to Chile, Belgium lost to Japan, ...
I'm sick and tired of all these boneheads kissing the ass of white coaches even if they are mediocre. Black people will rather pay Serbians.... millions of dollars to do something a Black man can do better for less salary. We ...
Well done Akwasi Appiah and his technical team. You have done us proud. However I must state that this time, Ghana is not going to Brazil for picnic or sight seeing. We have reached the quarterfinals two times and nearly made ...
U HVE THAT LUXURY IN SINGLE GAME QUALIFIERS, FRIENDLYS, BUT NOT IN TOURNAMENT SITUATIONS. IF YOU WANT TO WIN A TOURNAMENT. MAKE SURE YOUR DEFENCE IS ALWAYS ON POINT N CONCEEDING LESS GOALS. DEFENCE WINS TOURNAMENTS, NOT STRIK ...
The ones who predicted that arabs are wild and would KILL (f*king idiots) the BS, bomb the field. Not ONE hair of any player, except dede who came with no hair, was missing because of Egyptians. I knew the BS would lose bec ...
Pepper J you clearly dont watch football on a regualr basis, because lasers and smoke is nothing new and surely not a sign of ANY danger unless you THINK that way in the first place. No one has made mention of it except racis ...
SURE, ONLY HOOLIGANS CHOOSE TO THROW SMOKE BOMBS AND SHINE LASER LIGHT ON REFEREES AND GOALKEEPERS. YOU DONT THROW A SMOKE BOMB NEAR A KEEPER SECONDS BEFORE A GOAL IS SCORED. YOU THINK I DONT WATCH SOCCER, AT LEAST I WATCHED ...
its like a lot of the players are feeling very big now looking at the way some of them play. apart from the supposedly younger ones are not really polished players. why was muntari standing behind every freekick & producing n ...
IT'S TIME FOR AFRICANS TO WAKE UP FROM THEIR DEEP SLUMBER AND SHINE IN THE WORLD. I CHOOSE THIS FORUM TO CONGRATULATE ALL THE FIVE SHINNING COUNTRIES: NIGERIA, CAMEROUN, COTE DE VOIRE, ALGERIA AND OF COURSE MY BELOVED GHANA N ...
no one is saying he cannot do the job but he needs help and on paper he is not even qualify to take the star to brazil we just happen to have determined players .. lets be clear .. he is not going to break my fucking heart in ...
Will Dan BLACK STAR
Let me add my congratulations to the BLACK STARS for making it to Brazil. However, we must not lose sight of what happened in the second leg match at Cairo. I was totally shocked by the open bias displayed by the Ivorian refe ...
Well done Black Star. We now need to find a way to win this cup. First we have to identify our past mistakes, The first one is penalty kicks. We have a big problem in this area whether is because of lack of practice, confiden ...
Ball possession - I am always saying this on the forum. Our ball possession really sucks. Ghana must bui ...
SURELY, SURELY YOU GUYS ARE GOING TO "ROCK" THE WORLD COM ...
Definitely, if the game were a knock out stage game, Ghana would have been eliminated. Egypt succeeded in mounting pressure on our ageing Essiens, Muntaris etc. It took the younger KPBs, Wakassos etc to meet the pressure and ...
Five keys to Ghana's qualification
(African Football Media) Wednesday 20 November 2013
Five keys to Ghana's qualification
© AFP
Having qualified for the 2006 and 2010 finals, Ghana's Black Stars were eager to make ...
what is the use of camping in turkey just waste money and lose in egypt .. this tells me that ghana did not win in in kumasi because of tactic by the coach.. unless a coach is primitive, he will not leave KPB on the bench for ...
So what up about with all the crap about "we scared to play in egypt" and all the bullshits? have we been bombed or anything? egyptians are more civilized than we may think of, its clear they arent as primitive and ignorant a ...
So what up with all the crap about "we scared to play in egypt" and all the bullshits? have we been bombed or anything? egyptians are more civilized than we may think of, its clear they arent as primitive and ignorant as we a ...
I am yet to see a team with a weak or ...
I support you 100% Maka. The ball distribution by the defence is poor. Though Fatau Dauda did well in Egypt. I dont think he has what it takes to be in Brazil. I believe you all watched Olele Kingston in Germany and South Afr ...
well done black stays
Please Akwasi, Check Fatau Dawda, his chanlleges on fifty - fifty balls on air at the panelty box is very wo ...
The Black Stars is a political tool established by Kwame Nkrumah to be used to fight racism and other abuses suffered by the Black people as a result of the 400 years of slavely. It is a team all Black people are in love with ...