You are here: HomeSports2013 11 13Article 291903

Essien: I’m frightened to play in Egypt

Read Comments Comments (66)

• John,Tema 10 years ago

Useless Ghanaian JSS sports journalists like quoting out of context,did he really say he is afraid so he won't play in Egypt?

• SAM 10 years ago

THE ARTICLE WAS AS POORLY WRITTEN AS THIS READER GRASP OF THE LANGUAGE.READ IT AGAIN JOHNNNN

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

whether u dey fear OR NOT. U ARE STILL GOING TO PLAY. SO ADVICE YOURSELF....

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND, MOVIES, BEST GHANA-NIGERIA MOVIES, LOCAL TWI MOVIES PLUS
    OVER 7500 TV and RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM plus LIVE ...

• NANA 10 years ago

I AGREE BROTHER,

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

Your fears are legitimate given the rampant and arbitrary disregard for soccer rules by the Egyptian funs. The truth is that nothing will happen to a single Black Star player because we are praying for you all.
    This is th ...

• CASH LOAN 10 years ago

VERY QUICK, FLEXIBLE AND LOWEST LENDING RATES LOANS
    FOR ALL CIVIL SERVANTS. 020 850 6425 , 057 351 5377

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

DAUDA, 2-AFFUL, 3-ADDY, 4-AKAMINKO 5-AWAL, 6-ESSIEN, 7 KPB 8-MUNTARI, 9-WARRIS/GYAN, 10-DEDE, 11-KASA

• Mahama 10 years ago

THE BLACK STAR PLAYERS WILL BE PROTECTED BECOS OF ALL THE QUESTIONS RAISED TO FIFA. THE REAL ISSUE HERE IS THE SAFETY OF THE GHANA FANS AT THE STADIUM AFTER THE MATCH.

• Wuorfei 10 years ago

You must be very bored

• Awoba 10 years ago

Indeed this is a bad stupid journalism. Where did he actually say that? Write something better!!!!

• Wuorfei 10 years ago

He picked one line out of an entire interview and made it his focus. He didn't do any justice to Essien with that caption. I read a few lines and quit

• sampido 10 years ago

The Players should pray very hard because there is manipulation in the realms. Dreaming of guns and knives but Ghana to surely win. All is evil is canceled in Jesus blood. Ghana to score 2 goals.

• NDC Foot Soldier 10 years ago

For the fact that Ghana is a Free country and like people does not mean we should sit down for them to maltreat us. If they like they should try and see

• NDC ELBOWS SOLDIER 10 years ago

FOOT,THIS IS ELBOWS YOUR COUSIN FROM UP COUNTRY WITH BAD NEWS.WE REGRET TO INFORM YOU THAT THE TENANT NAMED COMMON SENSE WHO WAS RENTING ROOM FROM YOUR BIG BIG MANSION HAS VACATED YOUR HEAD MANSION DUE TO UNLIVABLE CONDITION ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Buddy be a man of yourself and stop your pessimism. Take courage from your Capito - Asamoah Gyan's inspiration message the other day that come what may the Black Stars are going to Egypt and triumph over the Pharaohs and not ...

• Shankiki 10 years ago

Sad news, there will be a penalty shoot out. It was revealed to me.

• lydia.usa 10 years ago

you are right bro don't play with your
    life

• GOOGLE MY ASS 10 years ago

ESSIEN MUST ACT LIKE A REAL MAN ,NOBODY WILL KILL HIM .

• Twaapea 10 years ago

It is for reasons such as this that Africans are considered stupid by people of other races.

When even a whole American Vice President, for obvious reasons, quietly sneaks into Egypt unannounced and at night to have a meet ...

• GOOGLE MY ASS 10 years ago

ESSIEN IS MY BOY AND I LOVE HIM AND I DO RESPECT HIM A LOT . I JUST WANT HIM TO THINK LIKE A MAN THAT IS ALL .

• I Pepeni FUCKED 9 Ashanti girls!! 10 years ago

You will fly in from Istanbul by 9pm Monday, depart by 9pm Tuesday after a further humiliation of the fake Pharaohs !!

• Emmanuel Appau 10 years ago

why should this player's have to risky their lives to play Cairo in Egypt? If this situation have happen in any country in the world, apart from Africa non of football body will take their guy's to such situation.In Europe FI ...

• Appau. Holland 10 years ago

Emmanuel

• balackorf 10 years ago

man dnt warry Allah wll guid u guys we still praying 4 u

• Dongoba 10 years ago

Essien! you and your colleagues should not worry at all. Look Coach Appiah, if you find out that they (Egyptians) will not play any good football but resort to rough tactics, then let your boys play the ball into the crowd fo ...

• Tommy 10 years ago

GFA should boycott the game, after all we beat them well in the first leg. Life is not something you can gamble with, the Europeans wouldn't have gone to play in a country that is politically unstable. It will be very irrespo ...

• kwami 10 years ago

Kevin said he is not afraid to play in Egypt so hey essien watch ur comments you already know your people

• jm 10 years ago

travel opportunity for women in Oman.

female house helps are needed in Oman in the Gulf, everything has been sponsored by our partners in Oman all we need is your passport and in 3 weeks time you are gone

free:visa

f ...

• Session 10 years ago

Tactically play defensive game, do not score, and the Egyptians score one goal towards the end. The will face-saving for Egypt and we will we still qualify and get out of Egypt without any wahala

• Session 10 years ago

Tactically play defensive game for the initial part. Intentionally don't score any goals , and allow Egypt to score one or two goals towards the end to save face. This will allow us to qualify while avoiding any problems : ...

• Rocky 10 years ago

Then next time we play them they will say Egypt has a good record against Ghana. Why do NIGGERS like you act foolish. If we are better we should beat them and if they do something we should KILL them in Ghana

• EKOW NUNOO 10 years ago

After reading your post I went on my knees and thanked God he didn't curse Ghana with too many idiots like Rocky or whatever his name is.If you are so enlightened and proud of yourself why don't you reveal your identity.IDOIT ...

• Nii Boye 10 years ago

Rocky your post is very disturbing to say the least.I seriously think you need psychiatric attention or at least counciling therapy before it's too late.

• KOFI MANU 10 years ago

Read his post again and you will see it sounds more like a foreigner trying to instigate problems in an already difficult situation.Ignore his stupidity.

• kwami 10 years ago

Who goes to war with this kind of mentality.. score them 1000 if you can... if ghana loses or draw in Egypt the team needs to be dissolved and coach sack.. we don't have time for this am afraid stuff.. the whole world is watc ...

• KOFI MANU 10 years ago

Well said my friend.All this nonsense has gone far enough!!!!

• GJGJG 10 years ago

IDOIT MAKE REASONABLE SUGGESTIONS.

• Rocky 10 years ago

Typical Akan!!

• PASTOR KOFI AMPOFO 10 years ago

Now the Egyptians are men and not God'
    And their horses are flesh not spirit.
    When the LORD stretches out his hand, Both he who helps will fall,
    They all will perish together
    For thus the LORD has spoken to me
    (Isaiah ...

• Shankiki 10 years ago

There will be a penalty shoot out. It was revealed to me.

• Rocky 10 years ago

Egyptian FOOL!!!

• Shankiki 10 years ago

Rocky, don't forget we are all animals, moreover your insults will not change the score line. Just write it down.

• seattle, wa 10 years ago

dont be afraid, bro, just give yr heart a bit rest,and believes that there someone bigger who is going to protect and shield u and yr brethen all. there is nothing than to go and just play football, end game 2 1 ghana.assure ...

• mallam, md -usa 10 years ago

why all this stupid drama....the coach is our spokesperson...have we heard anything negative?? Let the boys go play

• Aboakesse 10 years ago

Don't afraid God is with you all, nothing will happen to you. God is on our side, fear not.

• KOFI MUMUI 10 years ago

Fool, stay home. Do not go there if you are afraid. Use your brains, Essien!

• Kooofah 10 years ago

He can stay in chelsea and continue to warm the bench. when he was at his Best de deserted us. We will still qualify with or without you.

• Kente Warriors!! 10 years ago

Egypt's ousted President Mohammed Morsi has warned that the country cannot be stable until he is returned to power.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Martin 10 years ago

The poorly-written article is a perfect indication that journalism in Ghana has gone to the dogs. What a horrible thing for Essien to say that he frightened to play in Cairo. Essien should have kept his opinion to himself. If ...

• Azonto Man 10 years ago

I sincerely hope Essien was misquoted or the journalist took some liberties to get folks to read the article. If he really means this, Ghana has already lost the match. Only prayer will be by how much. Chaucer wrote in the ...

• BS Fan 10 years ago

For those in the UK, the match (19th) including Algeria vs Burkina Faso which follow Ghana's, is being shown live on BT Sports 2 which is Sky channel 414.

Nigeria vs Ethiopia & Senegal vs Ivory Coast is also being shown th ...

• NII TOGBE TETTEHVI III 10 years ago

U WANT ME TO FORCE FEED YOU GA COMMEY N KETA SCHOOL BOYS PLUS RED N BLACK PEPPER BEFORE U play? ur face like togbe in dirty togas....

• sas 10 years ago

I DON'T WANT TO BELIEVE THAT HE SAID IT,IF HE REALLY SAID IT,IS BETTER HE HE STAY AWAY,THERE ARE BRAVE ONES WILLING TO DIE FOR THE NATION,YOU ONCE DESERTED US,COWARD ESSIEN.

• nana, Ga 10 years ago

Wow! so you think Ghanaians will be maltreated in Cairo? It will be interesting for how FIFA will deal with such a situation. I am worried about the officiating. The whole world will be watching that encounter so guys never ...

• Citizen-B-A 10 years ago

Go!!!!Our God,The ONE and ONLY GOD who delievered the Israelies out of the hands of the Egyptians will surely be with you.Remember we are all praying for you.Also know that some of we Ghanaians are decendants of Israel.Go for ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Well, "wo de3 wonnsuro a, me de3 mesuro"

I wish the match is cancelled by the GFA to get FIFA's attention.
    "Owuo nny3 mmienu na y3de baako adi agorO"
    Beats Me.

• Naa 10 years ago

Hey Tiger do not go to Egypt to play this match. Please, please, please, follow your instinct.

• Young Graduate 10 years ago

YOU WILL GO AND RETURN JOYFULLY IN JESUS NAME

• STEVE. 10 years ago

In my opinion, Sepp Blatter and his FIFA mafia are biased against Ghana. I do not think any of the European countries will agree to play a match against Egypt in Cairo. What a shame to the FIFA. This is pure RACISM.

• Peter 10 years ago

The GFA has been advised to take it`s own logistics to Egypt emphasizing the need not drink water, any type of drinks or even to eat food in Egypt. The writer of the article referred to a bitter experience of the Black Stars ...

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, TO THE BLACK STARS OF GHANA, I SAY IT IS WRITTEN: "FEAR THOU NOT: FOR I AM WITH THEE: BE NOT DISMAYED; FOR I AM THY GOD; I WILL S ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

Why cant these stupid media write something positive to motivate oyr players instead of childish quotes that do not make any sense.All these writers should be considered public enemies bcos they are helping nobody but Egypt,e ...

• naty 10 years ago

Laser beams being shone on the pitch is a feature of Egyptian football, where fans will do anything to give their team the edge, and on Sunday night Orlando Pirates players were at the receiving end of this tactic.

Goalkee ...

• TONNY 10 years ago

GOD IS WITH YOU GUYS DON`T FEAR