You are here: HomeSports2013 10 30Article 290401

FIFA declares Cairo safe for Egypt/Ghana clash

Read Comments Comments (103)

• PHILOSOPHER 10 years ago

FIFA, do you want people to die before you know Egypt is not safe?

• Akwasi 10 years ago

No matter where BS meets Pharaoh, BS is going to Brazil. FiFA is disappointed with the result of the first match; they wished no team from Sub-Sahara region made it to Brazil.

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

SUPER SPORT DEAL FOR GPL TELEVISION COVERAGE
    HOW DO U SELL THE LEAGUE RIGHTS TO SUPER SPORT FOR $700,000 A YR, NOW GFA SAYS ITS 2.1 MILLION?. JESUS CHRIST, THIS GUY IS TOO STUPID TO BE GFA HEAD. SUPERSPORT WILL NOW SELL SOME ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

CAN WE BELIEVE THAT ASSURANCE? i WILL NOT BE SURPRISED IF SOME OF THE GHANAIAN INTERNATIONALS START FAKING INJURY TO AVOID GOING TO PLAY IN AN UNSTABLE COUNTRY.MAY GOD HAVE MERCY.

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

if he truly believes in the assusrances given by the Eqyptians. Would they have endorsed Cairo for any European country at thie time?

• Ewusi 10 years ago

Now anti coup Egyptians are eye red than Talaban and Boko Halam combine.Sepp Blatter should be in Cairo and watch the match or be charge as a captain abandoning his ship at the time of disaster

• Kantinka.USA 10 years ago

It's only fair to say the BOSS himself should be there to make sure everything runs smoothly in Cairo. Isn't that what bosses do? Stepp Blatter I dare you to be there if you so sure think it's save!

• UNCLE KOFI 10 years ago

THE HEARTS OF THE EGYPTIANS HAVE ALREADY MELTED ON ACCOUNT OF OUR "JOSHUA GENERATION" BLACK STARS. THE VICTORY IS THEREFORE OURS.

• O. Bosompra-Gyeabuor 10 years ago

Sed Blatter and that CAF Chief Hatayou (?) must both be there together with a fair size contingent frm FIFA and CAF. If they stay away then GFA and the Government of Ghana must demand reparations from FIFA and CAF.

Everyb ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I did not bother to read your submission because you keep on using block letters that makes it hard to read and understand anything you write here even though I have told you several time about NETIQUETTE rules that discourag ...

IF I WRITE IN BLOCK LETTER TELLING YOU TO GO TO THIS ADDRESS FOR A MILLION DOLLARS. WILL YOU BE ABLE TO READ IT?

U THINK NYANTAKYI KNOWS BETTER? THIS FOOL GOOFED ON THE GLO DEAL AND THE SUPERSPORT DEAL. HE IS TOO DUMB TO PETITION A VENUE CHANGE. HE WONT EVEN KNOW HOW TO COMPILE HIS LIST OF ARGUMENTS. FOR ALL WE KNOW, HE HAS CLAIMED BRIB ...

IF U CANT READ. GO N GET MAGNIFYING GLASS ON PUT IT ON UR COMPUTER SCREEN. OR PUT THEM ON UR FACE AS EYE WEAR/READING GLASSES....U DONT PAY ME TO READ MY POSTS, U HEAR

• HEXAGON!! usa 10 years ago

We need to take Ghana Army/Navy/Air force/Police Soccer Team and add a the few willing brave Black Stars players to play against Egypt. They can't even beat them, they may at worse only lose about 2-0.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

You need to change your backward thinking.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

The concern is about the safety of our players and supporters in a volatile Egypt.

How can the Egyptian FA and FIFA guarantee the safety of our players and supporters?

Would it not be prudent to play this match on a neu ...

• Ghana First 10 years ago

GHANA WINNING
    THE FEAR IS ONLY A FIGMENT OF IMAGINATION
    THIS IS FOOTBALL IT IS NOT WAR AND THOSE CRAZY CANNOT EXTEND THEIR JIHADIST MENTALITY IN FOOTBALL
    EGYPT WILL BE BOUND IF THEY TRY AND THE GOVERNMENT IN POWER WILL NEV ...

REMEMBER
    DAVID(BLACK STARS)IS GOING TO TAKE GOLIATH(PHARAOHS OF EGYPT)'S OWN SWORD(STADIUM AND FANS) TO CUT OF THEIR HEAD

I see Ghana qualified and already in Brazil.It will marvel you to know or see how Ghana is going to beat them on their own soil
    Jehoshaphat and for that matter the whole Ghana( the playing body and every football loving Gha ...

• Petitmillionaire 10 years ago

Don't go and get killed Black Stars. If the match is forfeited, it's a 3-0 win for Egypt. Ghana still qualifies.

• Fred 10 years ago

That was bad pronouncement from fifa, how can fifa said egypt is a safe vanue to play the second leg, everbody hate our homeland Ghana even fifa. Ghana cannot play over there.

• Alugu 10 years ago

Why was the playoff draw moved from Cairo to Luxor? I am just fed up with all these hypocrisy.

• HAAAAAABA!!! 10 years ago

My friend don't worry at all Ghana is going to beat them by 2 goals to 1 to be at it west but hope FIFA is ready to responsibilities if any security breakthrough happens.

• ........ 10 years ago

BS MUST WIPE OUT THE 6-1 GOALS FROM THEIR SHOULDERS.BS MUST PUT ON THEIR SHOULDERS THAT WE ARE DOWN 6-0 IN GHANA AND WE ARE GOING FIGHT AND WIN AT EGYPT.WE SHOULD NOT LET THE SECURITY DETER US.MAHAMA MUST SEND DELIGATES TO FI ...

BLACK STARS SHOULD GO INTO THE MATCH AS IF THEY ARE DOWN AND HAVE COME TO REDEEM THEIR IMAGE AND SETTLE THE DEFICIT
    IN THIS WAY THEY WILL BEAT EGYPPT ON THEIR OWN SOIL TO CONFIRM OUR SUPERIORITY OVER THEM
    GHANA IS AFRICA'S ...

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

DOUBLE STANDARD FROM FIFA AND CAF.Even yesterday some police officers were attack and killed in Egypt

• kobi 10 years ago

Assuming Egypt were the world cup hosts, would FIFA allow them to go ahead? What they seem to be telling us is that 'this is an African problem so you deal with it. After all even your own CAF does not care'.

• anokwale 10 years ago

Now GFA can make the proper arrangements for camping. I suggest they bring their own cook. In addition, have a team of back up players sitting in Ghana who will fly in if needed. You never know what type of slick moves c ...

AND T ROLL.....

• ........ 10 years ago

NICE QUESTION

• Papa Dey 10 years ago

I hope Blatter ansd his people will be there.

• KKB 10 years ago

Did you see how biased he was when comparing Messi and Ronaldo?
    Biased is every where especially those on high positions...We are going to Brazil for sure and nothing is going to happen by His grace..Kudos to BS

• Pinkus 10 years ago

I was not expecting anything different. Indeed, FIFA would have cancelled this game two weeks earlier if the venue was Ghana. Where is all the talks about fairness? The world is watching!

• QUAME 10 years ago

This decision goes to tell the type of people who manage football. When it come to Africa they have different yardstick. How can they make such decision? I don't think a decision can be taken based on assurance from Egyptian ...

• Cornell 10 years ago

FIFA officials are a joke. We need not worry because all eyes will be on them. And should anything happen to our players or supporters we will demand justice from the highest court. These are the same officials who stripped C ...

• Blackstar Fan 10 years ago

Fifa wants to deny Ghana a place in the Brazil and have our players and fans killed. I don,t think we should risk a single life playing the match in Egypt. Whatever the outcome,it is unsafe.

• Obrefoo Nkansa 10 years ago

The fear of Ghana is already upon the Egyptians.They know Ghana will beat them but they are trying to use intimidating tactics to win the return encounter.But gone were those those days when they could employ all those infer ...

HE WANTS TO BE CAF HEADEE SO HE IS IN BED WITH THE EGYPTIAN FA TO HOLD THIS GAME IN CAIRO. REMEMBER, EGYPT IS THE HEADQUARTERS FOR CAF. DONT BE SUPRISED IF SOME MONIES HAVE CHANGED HANDS.

• KKB 10 years ago

Zambians were also afraid to play in Ghana cos of ongoing election petition so why should we worry. There are problems everywhere so please lets go to Cairo and book our ticket to Brazil 2014..Go Black Star, Long live Ghana a ...

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

..just asking because you don't make sense

• KKB 10 years ago

Do u know how many Ghanaians in Egypt now.. Why Ghana Govt still have diplomat in Egypt if it is not safe. Who is Kwasea then...

if our high commission is secured in cairo, does it mean that the same security would be given to the hundreds of the stars' fans going to cairo, the stars, the officials and ghanaisns residing in the country.

oga, you alm ...

• KKB 10 years ago

cos u dont have brain to understand common sense

omo ole.

oga, even if the match is held in cairo, many egyptians would not be safe because egypt is at war.

• GEORGE 10 years ago

Did you see Ghanaians slaughtering each others during the election petition like Egypt is killing? please be reasonable for once. Even journalist are captured and killed in Egypt, how much more our supporters and players?wher ...

• KKB 10 years ago

Then Ghana govt should bring its diplomats from Egypt and FIFA should let Nigeria plays on neutral ground cos boko's are killing other innocent people..Football is different from politics and even Brazil is not safe cos there ...

• Johnny, Atlanta USA 10 years ago

Ghana had (and still does have ) a legitimate concern when the GFA asked for a venue change. Are you aware that all of Egypt's WC qualifying matches were played outside of Egypt behind closed doors? The play-off drawing was m ...

• light 10 years ago

Johnny stop your lying - ALL the qualifiers were played in Egypt for home games even for the champions league Al ahly played its games in Egypt. The fk do you know from the US? you call it soccer.

• Oso 10 years ago

PUBLISH FIFA'S LETTER FOR THE WORLD TO SEE THIS BODY'S COMMITMENT TO THE BLACKSTAR'S SAFETY; as the FIFA is being stubborn in spite of our protest.I am sure should the U.K or Germany had demanded fifa would have obliged.Let's ...

• Tommy 10 years ago

Any where the match is played, Ghana will beat Egypt. My only concern is the one who is going to handle the game. Egypt officials are going to bribe who will handle the game to go against Black Stars to award penalties and s ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

You got it it right, man. No matter where the match is played, the BS would beat them. And this time it may be heavy.

• A concerned citizen 10 years ago

Blatter should show up himself. This shows that FIF does not like Ghana to qualify but they can not control destiny.

• truth be told 10 years ago

The whole world will be watching, and if they do anything silly, they will be banned for good. Let's go Ghana, Black Stars!

• Kwame 10 years ago

I support you and we would give any player who dies a befitting burial for their patriotism which would even make the family of Mills envy with jealousy.

I think this should take care of any concern!

• AKB 10 years ago

This is very unfair to Ghana, FIFA & CAF have connived, they want to use the venue to intimidate the BS in order for Egypt to qualify, they made a very big mistake of their by pairing Egypt with Ghana, because Ghana will go t ...

• A concerned citizen...2 10 years ago

What a bad job by Blatter he must therefoe go

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

Lets support like never before with the-- kum apem a apem beba-- energy and we shall succeed

• light 10 years ago

Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Guinea and many clubs played in Egypt this year oftentimes with crowds with No problems. Why are some Ghanaians so senselessly afraid?

• GEORGE 10 years ago

Those countries you mentioned have all played their games on their respective soil and on neutral grounds with Egypt. They did not play in Egypt.

we are talking about the national teams of two countries fighting tooth and nail to qualify the world cup and you are disturbing us about mere continental soccer clubs tussle.

• Romeo 10 years ago

FIFA, why do you to do such a thing knwoing that the place is not safe of us

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

I know GFA cannot convince FIFA to change the venue.Their demand was not technical because it lacks credible evidence.On the other hand,GFA could have factored the security of Black Stars fans and not only the playing body.Th ...

U EXPECT THIS AFUOM TRAINED, LEGON LAWYER TO WIN A VENUE CHANGE PETITION? TWEAA...THATS LIKE ASKING A NAIJA HUMANMEAT EATER TO WATCH OVER DEAD BODIES. WAT DO U THINK WILL HAPPEN? SOON AS U LEAVE, HE WILL START ROASTING THE DE ...

• Rasheed@Rasheedmulor 10 years ago

What is wrong with Nyantakyie being trained at Legon?,and where else do we train our Lawyers?, young man. I may have my problems with Nyantakyie but he is not that corrupt to level of selling his country, Buddy.

• MC, Kbu 10 years ago

Why Worry?
    Let the field decide and FIFA take the blame for whatever will happen.. It is time to forget if FIFA has been fair or not. This is OPERATION annihilate Egypt which started in Kumasi and need completion in Cairo n ...

• NOKORE NA EYE OOH 10 years ago

The FIFA rules have its control on the events of the games but not on the citizenry constitution rule of law governing the Presidency of a nation like Ghana. FIFA rules and contracts is not above the GHANA CONSTITUTION. In su ...

• shaggy 10 years ago

FIFA declares Cairo safe for Egypt/Ghana clash,while Aljazeera declared Cairo has dangerous city....May Allah save us

THE SAME SEPP BLATTER WHO WANTS TO INCREASE WCUP SLOTS FOR AFRICA. IS NOW PUTTING GH IN HARMS WAY. EVEN THE EGYPTIANS THEMSELVES DONT WANT TO PLAY IN EGYPT? WAT HAPPND IN THE WCUP QUALIFIER VS ALGERIA? GFA SHOULD ASK FOR A CL ...

fifa is sick

• yaw 10 years ago

I said blatter and his men do not respect we the blacks, but as said early on shd any Ghanaian loose his/her life in Egypt as a result of the match, Blatter and his men will be sorry..

• Kwame 10 years ago

This would prove their commitment. Only those who are prepared to make it to Cairo should be selected for Brazil!

• Nana 10 years ago

What if some riots or fight who should be held accountable , useless FIFA bribes and coruption, they said cairo is safe because Caf has claered African championship to be hosted there

• Kwame 10 years ago

If you love Ghana , you would be prepared to come and die for Ghana small at Cairo. It would prove your real love and commitment for the country. "Wo domeabra"

• Ajah-B 10 years ago

First, each member of Black Stars should have 2 military men as guards.
    Second, no supporters from Ghana should go to the game, so that the Egyptians will not have anybody to attack. Remember, Arabs as a race, have problems ...

• kotoua selira 10 years ago

Was Ghana expecting FIFA to help them against Egypt? These people are racist behind close doors.If Ghana was a white nation they would have changed the venue but God is with Ghana and Egypt will still smell pepper in their ow ...

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

We scored 6 goals because the Egyptians were all the time tantalised that they could also score 2 or 3 away goals to enhance their chances in Cairo,therefore they failed to defend effectively.Now we have the advantage to def ...

oga, the issue at discourse is the security of the stars, officials and fans.

in view of this, who is going to qualify after the game is insignificant.

oga, a life of a ghanaian is precious than just qualifying for the ...

IS NYANTAKYI NOT A NOETHNER? HE HAS COLLUDED WITH THE EGYPTIAN FA TO HVE THIS GAME PLAYED IN CAIRO BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY. NYANTAKYI IS ONLY AFTER HIS OWN OOOO TOM! HE DOES NOT GIVE A DAMN ABOUT GH. HAVING THIS GAME PLAYED IN ...

• Lord Dennings 10 years ago

Ghana will not run away from where ever the match would be played. All we are asking for is a safe and soccer friendly atmosphere to display once again our soccer powers. I expected FIFA come out and say we have done a thorou ...

• Dallas 10 years ago

I bet you, if it was a european/western country, the venue would've been automatically switched to a safer and neutral ground. Africans killing Africans is no big deal but when shall we learn?

NYANTAKYI WANTS THE CAF JOB. SO HE HAS LOOKED THE OTHER WAY FRO THE GAME TO BE HELD IN CAIRO. REMEMBER, THE CAF HEADQUARTERS IS IN CAIRO. THIS IS A WCUP QUALIFIER, SO WHY DIDNT FIFA SEND THEIR OWN INSPECTORS, BUT ASKED EGYPT ...

• STEVE. 10 years ago

The only option we have is to prepare physically to match the Egyptians. They will resort to all sorts of intimidation against the Black Stars and fans. Ghana needs to focus now on the clash

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Ghana should not send any fans to Cairo to reduce the chances for insecurity.

• Ghana Fan 10 years ago

FIFA feels it's too powerful and even is above a few human lives!

GFA skip this match n let them go to hell! What is the worse outcome?

1. Let them aware 3pts-3goals n we still qualify

2. Show their carelessness to t ...

• Ghana Fan 10 years ago

Sorry for the quote coming out wrong, what it sh read is

"U have the least instability in your country, we DON'T play there"!

• Dallas 10 years ago

Fifa should not change the qatar 2020 world cup venue as well. We all dey inside. Qatar is safe for all. Africans go to europe and other western countries to play in freezing weathers so they should also go to qatar and play ...

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

if anything happens to any of our players, Ghana should sue FIFA.

• EKOW PHOBIA 10 years ago

Collectively and heavily sue the Football governing bandits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• E. AYIM LEEDS UK 10 years ago

CAF AND ISA HAYATOU ARE BEHIND THIS.

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

LET THE FIFA BOSSES ALSO BE IN CAIRO ON NOVEMEBER 19. EVEN EGYPT'S MILITARY RULERS CAN'T DECLARE CAIRO SAFE, HOW MUCH MORE FIFA?

NOW THE NEXT THING IS FOR EGYPT TO ADOPT EVERY DIRTY TRICK POSSIBLE TO TRY TO INTIMIDATE, FR ...

• Addonoble 10 years ago

GFA should ask FIFA for a copy of the guarantee and an life insurance cover for all Ghanaians,players,officials and spectators.

• Billy, USA 10 years ago

This doesnt make sense. FIFA what in the world do you expect the egyptian authorities to tell you? Why cant you(FIFA) get off your lazy butt and send your own factsfinding team to verify? we all know for a fact that their var ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

I kind of like it this way. I am sure the blacks stars know what to do in Cairo. Thrash them on their own back yard to let them know that you guys mean business. Guys we need a repeat of Baba Yara stadium.
    The Blacks Stars ...

• Angelo 10 years ago

Black Stars should concentrate on winning the game. I believe they should just play their game, avoid mistakes near their penalty box and also play their sweet flowing man to man passes to avoid physical contact with the Egyp ...

• APPIAH EUGENE 10 years ago

WHERE EVER WE WILL MEET THEM WE WILL SCORE THEM SOO MAKE WE ALL PLAY FOR BLACK STAR TEAM.FROM EUGENE APPIAH A.K.A SNR MINISTER INSIDE NEW ABIREM

• RAWLINGS 10 years ago

RAWLINGS

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

People at FIFA have no brains

• tA concerned citizen 10 years ago

Sepp Blatter should lead the contingent because FIFA is unfair to Ghana..They want Egypt to use the fear factor to subdue the B/S but it will backfire..Watch this..this is rather going to serve as a motivation for the B/S to ...

• jay 10 years ago

the world is watching and fifa official will be there so all that scary shit needs to stop .. asamoah gyan should empower his army and stop saying we are scared.. we don't want his scary ass to repeat Uruguay vrs Ghana.. nobo ...

Black Stars should refuse to play in Cairo, the situation is dangerous. The police can't protect themselves let alone protect others.

• Godsway Apreko 10 years ago

Provided the security level will be high.

• CITIZEN CANE 10 years ago

GHANAINS AAAA BLACK PEOPLE SO THEIR BLOOD IS USELESS. FIFA BODY AAAA WITHE. THIS PURE RACISM FROM THEM BASTARDS. IF IT IS ANY COUNTRY WHERE WITHE PEOPLE LIVE THEY WILL LISTEN TO THEM.