You are here: HomeSports2013 10 22Article 289594

Kwesi Appiah set for $300,000 qualification bonus

Read Comments Comments (81)

• AKB 10 years ago

I think the man deserves it if he qualifies the team for the WC

• NINCAMPOO Mahama 10 years ago

IF WAYOME IS CHOPPING MILLIONS OF EUROS THEN KWASI APPIAH.......

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Odiasembone 10 years ago

So that means GFA is assured of millions if Ghana qualifies for the Brazil 2014, because GFA does not lose. Lets evaluate how much $$ GFA receives and what they do with it.

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

WE HAVE UNIVERSITY GRADS. HIGH SCHOOL TEACHERS IN CANADA WHO WORK FOR LESS THAN 30GRAND A YEAR. I KNOW PUBLIC SCHOOL TEACHERS IN THE US WHO MAKE LESS THAN 20GRAND A YR. AA GETS PAID 20GRAND A MONTH. WAT IS HE DOING WITH ALL T ...

• Akwasi 10 years ago

Appiah rightly deserves a bigger bonus. It's time we reward those who selflessly serves our nation.

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

When will African coaches become millionairs like the others. This is could bring a better coaches out of them. Doing well to earn million should be the goal of the continent to produce our own expertise on the game of soccer ...

• bogass 10 years ago

I TOTALLY AGREE. APPIAH SHOULD GET MORE THAN $300,000. AT LEAST $500,000 WILL SUFFICE.

• John,Tema 10 years ago

How much was paid to the 2 Serbian coaches?Someone once told me they had more than this,can somebody help me?

• The Stallion 10 years ago

If he were white, you would say "give him 1 million".

Look at how TB & KPB, who are not even whites, are opening your intestines apart!

• Slimzay **Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

A half a million will do. One million is too much, Bro. The Serbians were due for $300,000, if my mind would serves me right. For me the 300,000 for Kwasi is low because the Serbian coaches couldn't overcome Egypt like Coach ...

• Mr.N@Irreconcilable differences 10 years ago

Make it $600,000.00 if we were paying that lazy Serbian $60,000.00 month a Ghanaian football sense is double that of a Serbian.

• POW@ Appiah anaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

$300K is too small, looking at the number of Ghanaweb forumites Appiah has to buy them presents as a sign of thanking them for their support. As a result, I "POW" the unofficial spokesman of Coach Akwasi Appiah have the singl ...

• Rasheed@Rasheed anaaaaaa 10 years ago

Do not joke with powerful Rasheed! I have managed to bring in German Klaus Toppmoller to take over from wimpy Appiah. Enough! we don't need TB Joshua any more.

You again your wife would be leaving you soon by the powers confirmed on me.

They are trying to pay off Appiah, so that My man, Klaus Toppmoller will take over. Do not joke with powerful Rasheed.

Massa, Ghana bringing a foreign coach as at now is total berserk. It'll not happen. No, not in the next 2 years. Tell that your Toppmoller or whoever to go look for another job. It ain't gonna happen

why do you think America where you live, is POWERFUL? Abi no be money for hand back for ground?

Not in the foreseeable future I declare Matt 16:19 “I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven."

• Mamara 10 years ago

Just make peace with the Essien, Sule and Ayew bros and World Cup is for you. Forget about the African pride and tribalism and God will help you.

• jyga 10 years ago

Mamara,
    You're a fool and tribalistic yourself to think that coach AA is playing the tribal card with Essien, Sule and the Ayew bros. Don't you think if AA just considered this huge reward/bonus waiting for him if the Black ...

• Kofi Yankey 10 years ago

You just completed what I didn't have time to say to Mamara.

• Kofi Yankey 10 years ago

Appiah wants discipline in his team so he is too proud and tribalistic. Essien was the one who excused himself from the team. Dede Ayew and Suley Mutari disrespected the coach, which is crazy to me. Dede and Jordan resigned a ...

• fred 10 years ago

I hope you are old enough to remember the story between Mayele and Abedi pre-Senegal 92? The Ayews are still guilty and as such want to disrespect Mayele even as he is in charge? No way!!!

• check ur seif 10 years ago

A. Appiah should dump this racism and look for good players not trabalism. he better check him self well well

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

cut your coat according to your size....what they will not tell you is how much Nyantekyi and his gang also award themselves for qualification?

Everyone is happy that BS is winning but do not break the bank...there are a ...

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

-KWESI APPIAH DESERVES THAT BONUS OR MORE.GHANA CAN TAKE THAT WORLD CUP IN 2014.KWESI,IS LIKE EX-BARCELONA COACH -PEP.GUADIOLA.HE CAN CHANGE GHANA FOOTBALL.

• esam 10 years ago

With this publication, you are just giving him away to armed robbers. If a white man is given this money, you will find nothing wrong with it. leave him alone.

• Papa Kobina Otumanyi 10 years ago

He really deserves it. God for it bro. Please don't give 10% out to anyone ok?

• PLUMBER 10 years ago

God rewards his children for hard work, humility and the trust in Him. Kwesi Appiah's nice temperament and quiet disposition has endeared himself to many people despite his shortcomings. And no one should begrudge him for thi ...

• SAMMY 10 years ago

IF THE BONUS WERE TO BE GIVEN TO A "FOREIGN COACH" THE MEDIA WOULD SUPPORT IT.NOW, A "LOCAL BLACK" COACH WOULD QUALIFY FOR THE BONUS ON MERIT AND THE MEDIA ARE COMPLAINING.
    WHAT A DOUBLE STANDARD!
    CONGRATS, KWESI APPIAH.

• anokwale 10 years ago

He deserves it and more if they qualify.

• Ern 10 years ago

Sammy, I dont see the "complaint". Or are you talking about a different article cos there is certainly no complaint in this particular article.

ALL WEDO IS QUALIFY FOR WCUPS. GET OVER 16MILLION AND BLOW IT ON BELLIES, AND HEFTY BONUSES TO PLAYERS. VERY SOON, THE PPL WILL DEMAND FOR MORE. THEY WILL DEMAND FOR TROPHIES. THIS WILL BE OUR THIRD TRY AT THE WCUP. WHEN WE F ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Football coach, yeah! If only we could compensate our doctors, nurses and lecturers who "win their matches every" in the same way, our life as nation would be better. There are many Ghanaians who qualify for so many "tourname ...

• Owass 10 years ago

go and write on Drs and Teachers forum!

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

The absence of such a forum is the problem to start with. Some of you will never use your brains. This is not a forum for coaches.

• Owass 10 years ago

aren't coaches part of football;idiot!!
    search for it you'll find the medium where Drs and Nurses write their grievances!
    HERE IS FOOTBALL AND ASSOCIATE FORUM,abi

• truth- UK 10 years ago

why are comparing National football coach to Doctors and nurses.Dumb ass-it different profession.In most countries National coach earns alot of money.If he had fail in his job you would go against him.Beside in Ghana he can l ...

• Too much talk 10 years ago

Ghanaians talk too much and do very little about what needs to be done. Some earns that amount in one week so, what is the big deal about $300,000?

• pablo 10 years ago

sn thathould bw more tha

AA HAS NO WIFE N KIDS

• Kwame london 10 years ago

He does have a family in london.

It's even been said here over and over. Appiah is a married man with kids and they live in London but your pea size brain seems too to have a storage area for such news.

MO MFA NSOHO...SHE HAS 3 DAUGHTERS, NOW I KNOW....AA, MAKE I MARRY 1 OF UR DAUGHTERS, ABI?

I think it is too much and it is wrong. How much do you pay teachers, nurses, doctors, hard working cocoa farmers, fishermen, etc? If this is what is going on in Ghana then the country is on the way to collapse. Do you have b ...

• YAW-COLUMBUS OHIO USA 10 years ago

Like every good coach,Kwesi Appiah also deserve to be rewarded and even more.He is man right Kotoko to present day.Highly disciplined,patriotic and hardworking.

• Siisi 10 years ago

Please the qualification campaign began with a 7 nil drubbing of Lesotho in Kumasi before losing to Zambia on their home ground.

• Michael Boye Marquaye 10 years ago

While I ll agree that coach Akwesi Appia Deserves the Bonus is that at least he listen to outside advice from members of the entire public both home and away for any changes toward the selection of the black stars. Example wa ...

• MUHIZ 10 years ago

EVEN POLITICIANS WHO DO NOTHING FOR US BUT FOR THEMSELVES GET EX-GRATIAS AND BONUSES. LOL

• DR. AMPONSAH 10 years ago

JOE TURKEY,

I think you understand what contract means. AA had a contract with the GFA to receive that amount if he qualifies as to the World cup. The same demand you were making which was in your contract or conditions of ...

• jyga 10 years ago

Thanks Dr Amponsah. I've tried numerous times, without success, trying to post a reply to Joe Turkey and Kwame Angel. Not sure why my posts cannot go through. But you've said it all.

• OGYAM 10 years ago

I was supporting you by cheering and praying for you all the time. Send me some few $$$$$$ from your bonus. I'm happy for you.GOOD-LUCK.

• SAA NA Y3 TI3 10 years ago

We always envy the reward without taking into account the hard work that yielded it. We must end that bad habit. Bravo, Kwesi Appiah, you deserve every dollar of the package and even more.

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

MONEY COME FOR SPEND...A HUGE THANKS TO THE RETURNEES TOO ..HOW MUCH GOES TO THE PLAYERS...ANYWAY I HAVE IN STOCK 5BIG DRUMS OGOGLO TO WELCOME THE BS FROM EGYPT..AA DON'T FORGET ME,I ALWAYS POUR LIBATION FOR YOUR SUCCESS..G ...

• truth- UK 10 years ago

Kwesi Appiah deserve to end this amount of money.He is the first black coach to take us to world cup.He even deserve to be honoured.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

If an AFRICAN TEAM WILL EVER WIN THE WORLD CUP,IT WILL TAKE AN INDIGENOUS AFRICAN,TO LEAD THAT TEAM,AND NOT ANY FOREIGN COACH,AS YOU PEOPLE ALWAYS THINK.
    I believe,KWESI APPIAH,would be that guy.
    I have heard many saying,if ...

• Rasheed@anaaa. 10 years ago

Do not joke with Rasheed! I have lobbied to bring in Klaus moller of Germany to take over from wimpy Appiah.

• Bobostone 10 years ago

I pray for Kwesi Appiah's success. The black stars will go to Brazil and win the world cup.

• Watchman 10 years ago

Kwesi Appiah deserves this money. He should get more if qualifies the Black Stars to Brazil. Nobody must jealous the coach. Good for him.

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Coach Kwasi Appiah is the man. He's proven all his critics wrong. It's a fact that many Ghanaians (including myself) who wanted Black Stars progress and become one of the best teams on the globe, wanted a coach win modern ide ...

Oh...ho! Typos and misconstructions here and there. Wow, unbelievable! Folks pls close one eye while reading to avoid contamination and surprises.

Thanx for your patience anyway; it's maybe part of the fun and excitement.

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

He deserves every penny and more... What a cool, calm and comforting presence. Congrats and well done, Kwesi.

• Suhum-Nsawam 10 years ago

If Ghana qualifies for the world cup, the Ghana FA will receive $1 million from FIFA just for qualifying. So if the coach that helped us get there receives 300 thousand, it's a fair return on investment for the FA.

• Dunaa, Chorkor 10 years ago

Why expose our dear J.K. Appiah to the sharks, the petty jealousies of our times, our coached who can't achieve anything and earn less than $500 per month? How do you guys expect the childish jealousies to end if you easily e ...

• NAWAO! GHANA 10 years ago

KWASI, ENJOY YOUR $300,000 WHILE IT LASTS.

UNLIKE GHANA USELESS POLITICIANS, YOU WORKED HARD FOR THE MONEY.

ENJOY YOURSELF, MAN!!!

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS 10 years ago

KWAESI APPIA DESERVES MILLIONS SINCE MANAGERS IN THE UNITED STATES MAKE MILLIONS FOR BASEBALL CLUBS.

• IBRAHIM 10 years ago

He deserves more than $300 for bonus because how much will we pay to a white- man coach.

• WOFA YAW 10 years ago

MY ATTENTION IS WINNING THE WORLD CUP,I HOPE ASAMOAH GYAN WILL LEAD US.THEN MILLIONS OF DOLLAS WILL FLOW, GHANA BLACK STAR HAS A MEANING THAT IS WHILE THE NPP BUILT IT.

• Kosh 10 years ago

KWESI APPIAH YOU HAVE NOT ACHIEVED A SINGLE MEANINGFUL GOAL, NOT EVEN A TROPHY TO SHOW FOR ANY KIND OF PERFORMANCE.WE GHANAIANS HAVE NOT FORGOTTEN THE ABYSMAL AND DISASTER THAT RUINED OUR CHANCES AT AFCON 2013,WHILE YOUR FELL ...

• Ojam 10 years ago

OF COURSE, WE DO NOT EXPECT OUR BLACK STARS TO LOSE TO ANY THING WHEN PLAYING AT HOME, SOWHY ARE NOW OVERCELEBRATING AND OVER-REWARDING KWESI APPIAH? KWESI APPIAH FOR ONCE BECAME A THINKING COACH AND JUST BEAT A MENTALLY FLAW ...

• real 10 years ago

300 thousand dollar's OMG,look at some of Our stadiums need to be rebuild but yet Kwesi appiah is getting paid for nothing and yes I can say that,is he the reaaon Why ghana is wining or Ghana is wining because the players ...

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

Ghanaians were very happy last tuesday after the great game which our Black Stars won.Am happy you told your boys to forget that victory and prepare for Egypt in the 2nd leg,which to the best of my knowledge should be a do or ...

• Nana-B. 10 years ago

Akwasi, you deserve more than that. Just focus on your job and great things will happen.

• HEXAGON!! usa 10 years ago

WHO CAN TELL ME WHERE THE NAME MAYELE COMES FROM? AND WHY IS HE CALLED THAT!!

That name is probably East or South African name. Coach Kwasi Appiah got that nickname while playing in his youthful years with Kumasi Asante Kotoko or maybe in his Secondary School days. He's cool and collected kind of guy; ...

• Slimmart 10 years ago

MAYELE WAS A VERY SKILFUL FORWARD LINE PLAYER IN AN EAST OR CENTRAL AFRICAN CLUB (FORGOTTEN THE NAME)TEAM, AND HE MADE AKWASI APPIAH SWEAT TO KEEP HIM IN CHECK DURING AN AFRICAN CLUBS MATCH BETWEEN KOTOKO AND THAT TEAM. IT WA ...

• Slimmart 10 years ago

MAYELE WAS A VERY SKILFUL FORWARD LINE PLAYER IN AN EAST AFRICAN CLUB (FORGOTTEN THE NAME)TEAM, AND HE MADE AKWASI APPIAH SWEAT TO KEEP HIM IN CHECK DURING AN AFRICAN CLUBS MATCH BETWEEN KOTOKO AND THAT TEAM. IT WAS A NAME AF ...

• clarence 10 years ago

Why should we glorify football, majority of us are suffering, so why should he earn so much, players are earning so much and I weep for Ghana if this decision is carried out. Sit up Elvis Afriyie Ankrah. Look at other sportin ...

• George Adama 10 years ago

To add to this topic , i remember the name Mayele, he was the centre forward of the team A.S.BILIMA of Zaire . Accra Hearts of Oak has gone away to Zaire in the Africacup Championship (not sure of the scoreline but i think ...

• Frank 10 years ago

Monkey dey work baboon dey chop.