Comment: We owe Kwesi Appiah an apology

Read Comments Comments (86)

• DOUGLAS USA 10 years ago

BESIDES POLITICS, BLACK MAN IS CAPABLE OF MANAGING HIS OWN AFFAIRS

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

(Y)_

• Avogadro 10 years ago

Well, too early for that. We have not qualified for the WC yet. We are on our way but not there yet.

If the coach takes us to Brazil and takes us to the semi-final or beyond or even win the trophy outright, we can do a ...

• barahamas 10 years ago

WE dont owe Appiah an apology.Ghanas team is full of proffessionals.Appiah has not thought these boys how to play. We already have a strong team.If he made the team strong then we shd have beaten burkina mali n others.Most of ...

• AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS 10 years ago

YOU SUCKS

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 10 years ago

HE WENT TO AFCON AND BOMBED. HE WENTO ZAMBIA AND ALSO BOMBED. LET HIM CONTINUE HIS STRING OF WINS AND WE WILL REWARD HIM ACCORDINGLY

• Kwasea 10 years ago

Why did you then blame him for our defeat by Burkina Faso?

• afrikaba1 10 years ago

We dont owe Akwasi Appiah any apology. If he invites the right players like he did nobody will criticize him. If he wants to force average players like Rabiu, Kissi Boateng, Solomon Asante etc into Blackstars and there's no C ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

THE COACH SHOULD READ THIS COMMENT AND MAKE AMENDS BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE.
    GHANA FIRST...

• DAVI 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah can not play with the SAME SET of players over and over,we need at least two or three set of Black Star team in case of on forseen situation.Smart up Guys.WE NEED A DISCIPLINE BLACK STAR TEAM.

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 10 years ago

Well said!

• BJ 10 years ago

Did I ask you to make any Ayew a captain?

• BJ 10 years ago

That was not meant for you. I deeply regret it.

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

Apology for what??? We have talented players with skills already before he had the bribery nod ete,etc,

• Akonoba 10 years ago

Talents without proper direction is useless. Just give credit to the man and shame you pride.

• AFIA SERWAA 10 years ago

THANK GOD KWESI APPIAH IS AN AKAN. IF HE WERE AN EWE, THEY WOULD HAVE JUJUED HIM TO FAIL. BUT THANK GOD ASHANTIS ARE NOT AS SELFISH AS EWES.
    WELL DONE KWESI, WE ARE SOLIDLY BEHIND YOU.
    THOUGH THE JM AND HIS BUNCH OF FOOLS D ...

• Abrantie-In Da House 10 years ago

A doom-sayer prophet! A prophet with no direction other than negative. Typical Ghanaian/African prophet who doesn't see or say anything good but all the negative. For all you prophets out there in GH and rest of Africa your t ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

I can't have put it better.

And atop everything, I didn't see him play in any position against Egypt.

Let us not fool ourselves, we just have to do the right thing and keep going.

• U knowMe 10 years ago

for me, he's still not Good Coach....Kwarasey is good n better than Fatau and Kingston..somethin is wrong abt dis A.A And Fatau.

• anokwale 10 years ago

In business and sports (which is also a business), you have to keep the staff competitive and not complacent. Once the staff believes their position is automatic, they will start to perform in a lackidasical fashion. His in ...

• afrikaba1 10 years ago

Boss I am very sure any football loving fun will agree that Wakaso is top quality and he was the only positive that came out of the recent African cup of nations. Ghana was the only team that managed to go through in a scrapp ...

• The Stallion 10 years ago

Left to majority of us, the Queen of the UK should still be our Head of State today.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

The question to writer Lexis is this who own an apology to Akwesi Appiah he should have been better off to name names I know some people were at war with the so-called Serbians and their Mafia and current GFA's love for them. ...

• KojoLee@Dilemma-Situation 10 years ago

Haaa the "Walatulization" ship is about to yield dividends very soon if everything goes on according to the plan and hard work. As the saying goes, a good man is never honoured in his own country, most of us have witnessed ho ...

• POW@ Appiah anaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

Haaaaaaaaaaa, I don't think apology is needed but I can hand pick people like Rasheed, Papa Appiah, GHFUO, NEMIESIS to mention but a few who were very outstanding in this Appiah's coaching saga. While Papa Appiah's was uncert ...

• papa appiah 10 years ago

W'adwen nnye edwuma

• POW@ Appiah anaaaaa 10 years ago

Ami m'adwen nny3 edwuma? Gy3ma opanyin foto biara nnyi wo fie? M3 nny3 mboadze biara wo ha atse?

• BJ 10 years ago

The criticism has brought him this far. His team selection had been a problem till he was advised to do away with nepotism. Where are the likes of AdiYiah, the other Asamoah, etc.? There are still a couple of names to be incl ...

• BREAD 10 years ago

BJ you are the type of people who obviously have blinkers on. You are a very narrow-minded person. I wouldn't say anything more.

• BJ 10 years ago

about what I said? Idiot, were you not the same people who were calling for rejection of Muntari, the Ayews etc.? Give me the reasons for making Asamoah Djan the captain?

• Askantwi 10 years ago

And who do you want to be named captain, asshole? The Ayews do not respect, and do not belong to the Black Stars camp. They were lucky AA was in charge. if it was left to me, they and kPB will never be recalled to the nationa ...

Who do you want as a captain? The tradition where we choose which player joined B/Stars first as the captain is trash. No wonder John Mensah after being out for all this while still thinks he's the general captain of the tea ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

I think the disciplining of Muntari and the Ayews was quite necessary. Now they have humbled themselves a bit and realize that we can still make it far in qualifying without them. In fact, we also made it to the semi of the ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

But, Adiyiah?

• BREAD 10 years ago

Bro, it is said that little minds create BIG PROBLEMS, empty barrels make the BIGGEST NOISE. Ghanaians are crying foul of the government, they cry HUNGER and yet spend GARGANTUAN
    amount of money on mobile phone and media net ...

• Mactonto 10 years ago

Trial and error can sometimes yield positive results. No one can question Kwesi's dedication to the national team. Unfortunately, self-dedication alone is NOT enough to win matches. Like we have seen in other aspects of our l ...

• ABRAMPA 10 years ago

I watched the Ghana - Egypt match not with fanatical eyes but with a critical mind to see whether the boys were playing to planned tactics.....and surely the latter was dominant. The substitutions were meant to give standing ...

• Andrew 10 years ago

We dont owe Kwesi nothing.He is doing his job and so be it.We love you kwesi and keep doing your job.After all you are one of the highly paid Ghanaians in the country...Good job though...may you never be complicent.

• Askantwi 10 years ago

Those who say "We don't owe him nothing" are the very ones who do. They prayed for Ghana to be eliminated just to get at Akwasi Appiah and Nyantakyi. Yet, they claim to be Ghanaians. How idiotic is that? No matter what AA doe ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

This is so typical of us Ghanaians, "we seem to always "go with the wind". It is right for us to praise Kwesi Appiah for this wonderful feat of both beating Egypt emphatically, & getting us where we are, but for goodness sak ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Going with the wind is sometimes better that going with nothing at all. IT gives you speed, freshness and not costly.

You see, criticism is not about hate, but about how positive a person should see to improve.

For sta ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Kwasi, disregard all the praises and the adulations being showered on you and concentrate more on what the nation expects you to achieve.Beating Egypt by six goals to one in the first leg does not mean that we are already in ...

• Sports Guru 10 years ago

Some Of us backed him

Yes you're right. I know you did and I also did. You're not called a Sports Guru for nothing. You see the unseen and think the unthinkable. Oh what a wonder you are?

• Sports Guru 10 years ago

Haha..Na true.Thank you,POW.i remember you did support him too even when others werebegiining to turn away.Our fight is ending well.Kudos

• nelly d@ 10 years ago

jx support him nd stop critisizing

• Efo 10 years ago

who are the critics, is it not the old story of the ewes and the northers who have been adopted by the ewes always condemn the great people of Ghana The Akans when they are steering the country into the right path. Lets have ...

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 10 years ago

Efo is mad.period

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

Yes, I, like 25 million other Ghanaian soccer fans raised an eye brow or two when KA was appointed to coach the BS. It did not take me too long to see his qualities as a top coach in the making. Yes, he made some mistakes dur ...

• Wayo 10 years ago

Ghanaians Want to win a cup,that is our concern.

• jUJU gUY 10 years ago

This writer is very dishonest. Beating Egypt 6-1 does not suddenly make Ghana world champions. It is true Kwsi Appiah has inproved since our first match with Zambia, but we are not there yet. In any case, the European coaches ...

• DESTINY 10 years ago

jUJU gUY, I see you want to keep the door open for KPB. My question is, who should do all the hard work for KPB to 'chop'. This 'monkey de work, baboon be chop' tactics is demoralising to the 'monkeys', and it must stop. What ...

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 10 years ago

Y MUST U CRITICIZE SOMEONE WHO HAS NOT STARTED DOING ANYTHING WRONG?ITS SOO FUNNY MOST GHANAIANS CRITICIZED APPIAH BEFORE HIS FIRST MATCH.I STILL FEEL THE PAIN WHEN ALMOST ALL MY FRIENDS WOULD BE ONE SIDE AS AGAINST ONLY ME A ...

• BJ 10 years ago

Yeboah most of us opted for a local coach from day 1. Coach Appiah, I believe has not been because of his appointment as our national football coach. Criticism stems from the perception that he is being controlled and that as ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

The law of recognition states that:
    EVERYTHING WE NEED IN OUR LIFETIME,IS ALREADY IN OUR MIDST/AROUND US,ONLY THE RECOGNITION OF IT.

I said it,and saying it again:
    IF GHANA WILL EVER,WIN ANY FOOTBALL CUP OF SIGNIFICANCE( ...

You were not doubting him, you were doubting your selves, you are all sick from "inferiority complex". Many so called "educated" people can't even speak and write their own language. They come on the media and can't complete ...

• Harrison 10 years ago

The players played well out of experience, AA did not do much. There was no time, and the fact of the matter was, he managed to put talented players together. There is still a lot of work to do. The players are not WC mate ...

"The players are not WC material yet. Let us face facts." (Harrison)

Raising a topic without solution is to have a woman on bed ready 100% to engage intimacy and you pulsed to pick a phone call and talk about 15 minutes, b ...

• Harrison 10 years ago

Am glad a matured person like you asked me to explain my point without insults. I watched the full match over and over. The Egyptians were not that bad. We should not expect an easy return match. If we can do it in Ghana, i ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Somebody like who if I may ask did you ask the same help for Serbians when we were going to 2006 and 2010. You also said Appiah did not do anything he just put players together if we have failed to win people would have calle ...

• K. Nyame 10 years ago

You and who are WE ? nobody owes him a JACK SQUAT! Every coach in the world regardless of who or what they have achieved or have not achieved are critiqued both negatively or positively at a point in time. It's up to Kwasi Ap ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

AgyaNyame, you have a point well carried home.
    Until he reaches and get settled in Brazil people who are just, being just, for the word just, will continue to 'fiilifili' dissect and bisect the MRAA Law. And that is godly tr ...

• etweba 10 years ago

He rather owes us apology for selecting a weak team to the Nation cup. If he had this team we would not have struggle to beat cape Verde and the likes . He should rather apologize.

q

• Chooboi 10 years ago

It's the players... He should have played diamond formation from the start anyway! Rather neglecting midfield any stupid coach knows that!

Oh massa, we can't behave like snakes in the cage, always expecting feed backs and immediately your hand slip in their cage, they bites you also, what kind of wickedness was that!

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

You crave for sugar coated words to besmear a coach who obviously is a case study of a work in progress.

"Don't get over-excited over GBS' triumph" Haaaa, I daf.

There is more to it than the win.
    "Biribi wom"!!!!!
    Cal ...

• POW 10 years ago

Black Stars lose and Appiah's game plan gets a back lash as the reason for the loss. The B/Stars win and this time the coach has nothing to do with it?

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

I am not one of the 'we' you're talking about. I supported him from the beginning. He needs an increase in salary.

• GC/USA 10 years ago

THE SHOULD RATHER THANK ESSIEN, MUNTARI AND K ASAMOAH WHO CONTROLLED THE MIDFIELD TO DESTROY THE EGYPT'S RHYTHM, PROVIDED COVERED FOR THE DEFENSE AND IN THE END SAVED THE COACH. BEING A MEDIOCRE COACH, THIS IS THE KIND OF SE ...

• EWES PRIDE 10 years ago

BITCH

• AA& NYANTAKYI MUST STILL GO 10 years ago

AA rather owe us apology for not calling the experience players for the African cup of Nations. What did he do right to beat Egypt? Is it not those dedicated boys; Essien, Dede, Muntari,Asamoah, Inkoom.........etc etc

• k.baah 10 years ago

whilst we congratulate the coach for the big win, it will be prudent of us not to sing his praises so soon till the second leg is played.
    the coach had a very talented side, and the home support was fabulous. the players we ...

• Asafo Kwame Sowah 10 years ago

Why jump the cart? This is only the beginning. If things continue then you can talk. Your behaviour is too Ghanaian; don't get anybody confused. Just let the guy do his work and reward him at the appropriate time. Don't showe ...

• Owura Wiafe Akenten 10 years ago

thanks for great job done and big thanks to the Blacks Stars for good job done. keep de performance up and make Ghanaians proud. one love

• KOFI MUMUI 10 years ago

Stupid. Go look for a job.

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 10 years ago

The magic behind AA's success is the respect he demonstrates to his boys which is being reciprocated by the will power of the boys.Very few trainers have that quality and i do urge him to keep it up.There is no apology becaus ...

• Kwesi Brenu 10 years ago

The Problems with Black People is that , we don't believe in ourselves.It's all about race, We are okay to lose with a white coach but we have rather anger when we win with a African coach. In fact how much are they paying Ou ...

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

Akwesi Appiah rather own Ghanaian s apology. It`s about time for him to ignore his ego and adamant and listening to the media for their long awaited squad and lineup.Hopefully, he has realized that he can`t go nowhere without ...

• joe 10 years ago

lol we owe him nothing credit to the players who worked hard on the pitch and he own the ayews brothers apology

• Slimmart 10 years ago

People, give thanks where it is due. All those talking about the players themselves excelling coz they are good, don't realise that the coach provides the game plan for them to use their 'goodness'. After all, Cote D'ivoire h ...

• EKOMDEBOY 10 years ago

CRITICISMN IS PART OF HIS PROFESSION AS COACH AND THERE ARE MANY MORE TO COME. GOOD OR BAD PERFORMANCE, HE IS GONNA BE CRITICIZE AND HE BETTER GET USE TO IT

• baggio 10 years ago

Even though i believe in given people enough time to settle in to their jobs, i still do not think that Appiah is in that class to be able to develop a winsome team like the one that won against Egypt.Remember omission or com ...

• PLAIN TALK 10 years ago

All I can say is that the coach has learnt his lessons. Initially his old time grudge with Abedi Pele made him exclude his sons in his team, and some fine players too. The team we see now is the team Ghanaians have been cryin ...

• J.O 10 years ago

Great writer, Yes we owe him apology

• crorkz matz 9 years ago

jwpPqf I really enjoy the blog article. Awesome.

• crorkz 9 years ago

ApVAKQ Thanks so much for the blog.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic.