Ten countries for Africa's final 2014 WC qualifier confirmed

Read Comments Comments (45)

• DIAMOND 12 years ago

"Powerful" Tunisia, needing only a draw to proceed, lost AT HOME 0-2 to "Minnows" Cape Verde.

Yikes, have times changed!

Could Ghana, needing only a draw, have lost to Zambia?

Could Naija, needing only a draw, have l ...

• DIAMOND 12 years ago

You've come a long way from Sahel starvation, baby.
    Good Luck!

• 911 12 years ago

BEAT THE BEST TO TEST YOUR CHANCES OF GOING FAR IN BRAZIL

• Ern 12 years ago

This is a formidable list!! The teams are all TOUGH!!
    Maybe if we get Cape Verde then MAYBE it will be easier for us..... if not, then maybe Ethopia.
    As for the others, I dont want to see them kwraaa.

• Pap Kwesi 12 years ago

We beat Zambia, who are better than some of the countries up there so we are not afriad of so call big countries. Every game has a plan, look at Turkey, we nearly beat them when we were 2 goals down. Football is tactics not n ...

• Abrantie-In Da House 12 years ago

Hello, you ghanaians should shut the fuck up and stop making wishes as if Ethiopia and Cape Verde will be a walk over thing for us!! If you want to know more about the Ethiopians, then go and ask the Naija boyz, how it feels ...

• anokwale 12 years ago

No team is easy in this situation. This is where you have to prove that you are truly a top team.

• GHFUO, change ur thinking 12 years ago

MASSA, SLOW DOWN. APPIAH WENT TO AFCON 2013 WITHOUT DEDE, KPB, ESSIEN, MUNTARI, ABEYIE, AFFUM, ACHEAMPONG, YIADOM, ASSIFUAH, .......THE ONLY TEAM IN AFRICA THAT CAN CHALLENGE GH RIGHT NOW IS THE DEFENDING AFCON CHAMPS, NAIJA. ...

• Ern 12 years ago

If you read my comments, you will see that I started by saying ALL THE TEAMS ARE TOUGH. Secondly, if you understand English you will realise that I said MAYBE it will be easier. So read my comment again before you start insul ...

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 12 years ago

I think all the guy is trying to say is that playing some of the listed teams will be easier than the other powerhouses like Ivory Coast, Egypt or Algeria. Having said that, I am confident that on our day, we can take on any ...

• Billy Gosh 12 years ago

Guys, I think the pairing will be done based on the latest FIFA ranking coming Thursday the 12th of September, which means the top 5 teams will be seeded so will avoid each other. The August ranking has the following top 5 in ...

• Aduanaba 12 years ago

Always refreshing to read educating posts such as yours. Merci

Thank you too Aduanaba, I'm honoured!

• me 12 years ago

This is the info I needed. Thanks!

• Ern 12 years ago

Oh!! that means we have no chance of meeting Cape Verde!! As for Burkina Faso, the way I fear them?

If your reasoning is true, then we should take on and beat any of these 5 teams. I am not being presumptuous, I am just being frank. If Ghana with our recent world class returnee players of Essien, Andre, Kevin PB cannot beat ...

• KNYC (USMC) 12 years ago

Gosh I think I am in the same page with you.

• MOROBI 12 years ago

BRAZIL 2014.THE BLACK STARS OF GHANA ARE THERE ALREADY.BRAZIL IS WAITING TO SEE THE AFRICAN STAR SHINE IN ALL OVER BRAZIL 2014 WORLD CUP.GOD BLESS OUR HOMELAND GHANA,AND MAKE OUR NATION GREAT AND STRONG.

• CJ 12 years ago

God has already heard your cry over the nation going to Brazil. The LORD will prove the world that the phrase "GOD BLESS OUR HOMELAND GHANA, AND MAKE OUR NATION GREAT AND STRONG" has been sealed in Heaven. Therefore, the nati ...

• HAGGLAAR 12 years ago

GOD KNOWS THE BEST FOR OUR HOME LAND GHANA.SO LETS KEEP OUR FINGERS CROSS N WAIT TO SEE THE BLACK STARS IN BRASIL 2014.SAY AMEN IF YOU ARE IN LINE WITH ME.

• .. 12 years ago

I will take Ethiopia or Algeria. More like Ethiopia. For some reason I will stay away from Cape Verde, they are dark horses and you really never know what to expect from them.

• KOFI KODOM 12 years ago

GHHANA-ETHIOPIA)NIGERIA-BURKINA(IVORY COAST-ALGERIA(EGYPT-SENEGAL(CAMEROON-CAPE VERD)

• Jack T 12 years ago

Ghana can not meet Nigeria,Egypt,Ivory Coast or Cameroun according to latest FIFA ranking

Jack T, I guess the ranking now is 1.Ivory Coast, 2.Ghana, 3.Algeria, 4.Nigeria & 5.Cape Verde so if there is no significant changes coming Thursday and the ranking remain the same, then Ghana will meet 1 of the following; Bu ...

• Aduanaba 12 years ago

'Always hit what is soft and avoid what is hard so that the impact of your attack will be like that of a grindstone dashed against an egg'
    Sun Tzu - Ancient Military Strategist

Big boss Aduanaba, I will go for Cameroon bcos I think we have to avenge our loss in the 2008 AFCON in Ghana. They beat us 1-0 in the semis back then and revenge this time will be sweet dont you think so? lol

• Ern 12 years ago

Billy, forget about revenge and so on........we need some SOFT meat to chew and qualify!!!!

• DIAMOND 12 years ago

Of the ten, I think Cameroun is, comparatively, the SOFT meat.
    They're not as ferocious as they used to be.

Too-much infighting between Eto'o and the FA, the coach and the FA, the assistant coach and the FA, the pro-forei ...

• Ern 12 years ago

Hmmmmm......... this is really a list of powerhouses in Africa! Personally, I would have chosen Cape Verde, but it looks like we cannot meet them as we are in the same seeded group as them.

• Aduanaba 12 years ago

Billy
    I think we should be happy if the draws spared us those two African 'footballing beasts'

Billy, sincerely that draw must be any honest Ghanaian s nightmare !!!

• Kwesi Brenu 12 years ago

I hope the Black Stars are not going to meet their opponent with azonto dancing mentality . We have a very good squad but there is a question on their mindset.Just picture this big guns like Andre, Essien, Muntari and P. Boa ...

Aduanaba, yeah I agree with you BUT I also think there are no minors in Football anymore. I guess you & me should have put our money on Tunisia needing just a draw to qualify @ home to Cape Verde (considering the fact that th ...

• PAUL 12 years ago

I wish we can meet with Cape Verde or Ethiopia which i really knows we can easily win any of them

• Me4U 12 years ago

Paul, please go back and watch tapes of the recent cup of nations. Cape Verde gave us HELL and Ethiopia gave hell to Nigeria and Zambia. Burkina Faso also outplayed and won on penalties against Ghana (even though we all saw t ...

Yes, but our team at the ACON was without our three big guns remember/ Now that they are back, we are a different team. I hope Muntari will be brought in as well and we will be the team to beat. Thank God Appiah is growing in ...

• wofa kokoor 12 years ago

For a very long time west africa has dominated the african soccer scene.
    Out of the 10 countries to play the run-offs, 7 west african countries are represented.
    Well Hope we diversify into other sports as well

• flexi 12 years ago

wish the Ghana black star well

• stephen osei 12 years ago

WHAT WE NEED IS TO SPEED OUR GAME AND BLOCK DEFENDEN LIKE ZAMBIANS , AND STOP MISTEKES,WE HAVE EVERY THING TO BRASIL

• kwaku 12 years ago

This final face of determining who qualifies to Brazil is really a joke, and CAF should take notice that it may not achieved the attended result. I have been analyzing this concept for awhile and I have come to decision that ...

• sas 12 years ago

I ALO SHARE THE SAME FEELINGS,I PRAY THAT GOOD COUNTRIES WILL REPRESENT AFRICA,EX.GH.NIG,COTE,EGY AND CAM.LET'S ALSO PRAY THAT WE AVOID BK .FASO

• wet vagina 12 years ago

i wish ghana will play alongside between algeria ethiopia nor burkina faso so dats we can qualify to the world cup

• K.B.ITALY 12 years ago

IN GOD SAKE I WON'T TO TELL ALL GHANAIANS THAT, WE"GHANA" ARE THERE.NON OF THIS TEAMS CAN STOP US FROM GETTING THERE IN THIS SET OF PRAYERS WE HAVE NOW .SO LET ALL JOIN HANDS IN PRAYERS.AND GIVE GLORY TO GOD IN JESUS NAME. A ...

• Tony S. 12 years ago

Bring on any of the teams that the continent deems the best. We are on a war path to conquer not only the best in Africa but also the best in the world! Exciting days ahead. Go BLACK STARS!!!!!!!!

Now you are talking. It is the confidence of the likes of Tony S that I want to see not the fearing spirit of some of the posts in this forum. Exciting days ahead ampa.

• ANANE DUODU 12 years ago

GHANA WILL MEET SENEGAL THAT WILL BE THE BEST OPTION