You are here: HomeSports2013 08 22Article 283275

GFA feels deceived by Essien

Read Comments Comments (87)

• Kofi Asiedu 10 years ago

The guy is playing sub football from now on;so why not leave him alone?

• nAMEwITHHELD 10 years ago

The guy has past his prime! GFA can't you see? He is warming the bench at Chelsea. Leave him alone. Talents abound! Aba

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

WAT DID NYANTAKYI AND MAYELE DO WHEN BOATENG, GYAN SAID THEY WERENT INTERESTED IN PLAYING FOR GH? DIDNT THEY GO TOUAEN AND MILAN SEVERAL TOMES TO BEG? WAT DID ASANTEHENE N JOHN MAHAMA DO WITH THE AYEWS? DO THE SAME WITH ESSIE ...

• The African Patriot 10 years ago

Essien is beating GFA with their own weapons. Lies surrounding GFA is too much. He is also postponeing his decision now that you are missing him.
    Game of Politics!!!

• Essien to captain stars not Gyan 10 years ago

People, consider this after John mensah Essien was next to captain the stars based on seniority. He was Bypassed by GFA and Gyan was made the captain. Essien has already told GFA he has issues to discuss with them before he a ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

OBVIOUSLY ESSIEN MADE A BIG ANNOUNCEMENT AFTER THE CHARITY SHOW AND THAT WAS TO ISSUE NO WORD MENAING THE STATUS QUO REMAINS. IT WAS AN ERROR OF GARGANTUAN PROPORTION TO HAVE MADE GYAN THE CAPTAIN OF THE TEAM. IT WAS OBVIOUSL ...

• 4 Year Old 10 years ago

Don't blame the man. There are a lot of untold stories.

• pala 10 years ago

essien is not desperate to go to the press. essien is not interested in a media war. so the gfa has the liberty to resort to the media to paint essien black

• pala 10 years ago

they want essien to come and beg them

• baba cpp 10 years ago

Essien knew if he did not say he would play for the Black Stars the Foundation match would be a fiasco, now that he has achieved that why should he play for the Stars? Forget him, the Black Stars can boast of players still re ...

• ERICUS 10 years ago

GFA should have known this long a ago. I said it earlier that this boy ESSIEN was just using Ghanaians and the GFA for his charity match. I was surprised the GFA and Ghanaians couldn't see what he was doing. If I were the coa ...

• Yo 10 years ago

The arrogant Essien feels he's too big for the black star club.

• Osagyefo!! USA 10 years ago

I could have told them this!! Even if he were to return he will be hearted about it! Ghana should consider them selves lucky without him!!

• son of man 10 years ago

GFA is too foolish to believe this guy. What he said in June was just to facilitate his charity game plan. He will he looking for a place when the world cup gets closer and foolish GFA again will accept him back. I agree with ...

• John,Tema 10 years ago

That is a typical Ghanaian,everybody that he disagrees with is arrogant and too known.

• zorro 10 years ago

your post is very childish!

• Yaw 10 years ago

Thank you but not only that.He is a Ghanaian by birth but feels white inside.A stooge i will say.
    I just hope and wish they forget about him.

• adio ismail 10 years ago

DAT should be inability of manmanagement

• SUPER O.D 10 years ago

he has already done his best for the nation.

• Yaw 10 years ago

What did he ever win for Ghana?

• OK 10 years ago

The GFA and the BS should move on. Essien contributed his quota to the BS and Ghana already when he was very fit. So if he can't play now, there is no need to make a big deal out of it. After all, there are several players of ...

• KojoLee@Dilemma-Situation 10 years ago

Yea OK, but we cannot blamed GFA alone. I respect Essien and admires him a lot, but if you are not ready for an old woman don't play with her thing. Why if he knew deep down he wasn't going to play for Ghana again but tried ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER 10 years ago

ESSIEN HAD MADE HIS DECISION LONG LONG LONG TIME AGO NOT PLAY FOR GHANA AGAIN ..BCOS HE HAS GONE THU HARDER TIMES.GFA AND PEOPLE OF THIS COUNTRY KEEP DREAMING OF HIS RETURN .TO COOL OFF THAT PRESSURE ESSIEN PROMISED TO ANNOUN ...

• Leeeee 10 years ago

i don't think is the fault of gfa. people were putting pressure on them to call him K.P. Boateng especially Nyaho Tamakloe. they tried to do what people want and it has backfired in their face. i also knew Essien will never c ...

• Ogwah 10 years ago

OK, you have stated it all, just that the authorities have to stop their double standards.

• PEE 10 years ago

The adage "when one door closes, many more are opened is a true reflection of the Essien case. Some had to retire or be injured that leads to the discovery of new talents. Such is the case of Essien. He's done his part and if ...

• soso 10 years ago

Whatever it is Essien should speak up. Let us know if he wants to return or not. As simple as that.

• KK 10 years ago

What did he say before his charity game in Ghana, and what happened after that? He is not forthcoming, and that is the issue.

• Smarter 10 years ago

Essen is just smarter than the GFA. This just shows the level of intelligence of the GFA. Essien is going to make a big announcement and you assume it is what you are expecting. Sorry GFA, Essien had made his big announcement ...

• KK 10 years ago

What is smart about not being forthcoming?

• Retired Soldier 10 years ago

He knew he was not coming back but wanted the support of GFA for his tournament. In order to do that he told the GFA a proverb "I have a big announcement to make" and they thought he was going to tell them what the GFA wanted ...

• Ama Atta 10 years ago

This is a trend in Ghana.Ghanaians are not analytical at all.We jump to conclusions on sentiments ,tribal inclination or relationship with persons concerned.According to some of the comments on this forum he was by passed whe ...

• WHITE MAN. 10 years ago

You people are all right in what you're saying about Essien having given his best already and maybe knows himself that he's no longer as good as before now,but then he should be bold and say something to the GFA in a formal w ...

• PK 10 years ago

CRAP.Are you people stupid.

• pala 10 years ago

it's purely envy. they want him to come and kotow to them first

• KOJO 10 years ago

Essien thinks he can deceive Ghanaians and go scort free. what did he tell us before the charity match??

• ghanaba 10 years ago

continue with your toilet packaging around personalities. if essien had played only a game for gh, just be appreciative. not only that, he continues with an annual gala of international quality and standard. most players tha ...

• oppong london 10 years ago

since when did essien leave the black stars and what have they lost then?why don,t you leave this unpatriotic cant alone.take glance at didier drogba,samuel etoo ,salmon kalou,yaya toure and others,how they always love to pla ...

• KK 10 years ago

If you want to look at the man for his country, just look in the direction of Didier Drogba. The man developed his talent in France, yet he never sought to play for France,and at age 40 (LOL!!) he is still playing for his co ...

• Great Olympics 10 years ago

Good point made and here in lies the difference. One who calls someone his "daddy" needs guidance in making speeches and decisions! Drogba is more intelligent even though he is rich he is also humble, patriotic and levelheade ...

• seek n find 10 years ago

Essien need to be commended and awarded and not pursued. Leave the guy alone and groom the younger, stronger ones. Are we inviting Essien to play 2? fine by me. if not, Essien is not fit for the middle. The guy will be retir ...

• BONGO MAN LONDON 10 years ago

ALL THESE GUYS THE ESSIENS THE BOATENGS THE AYEWS ARE ALL WAITING FOR GHANA TO QUALIFY FOR THE WORLD CUP THEN YOU WILL SEE THEM MAKING THEMSELF AVAILABLE FOR SELECTION.IF IT WAS UP TO ME I WOULD NOT BOTHER WITH THEM NO ONE IS ...

• Me4U 10 years ago

I don't think so... Essien is not interested in playing at the 2014 World Cup; at least not with Ghana. He could have featured at the 2010 one if he wanted but he said he was not completely fit.

As a matter of fact, he has ...

• Mr Jay ******************London 10 years ago

Essien is finished and is taking care of the little that is left of him.

Do you think a real Essien would be on the bench under Mourinho?

He is just taking it out on Ghana and the sooner we realize that player come play ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

THE LEAGUE JUST STARTED. DID U WATCH ANY OF CHELSEA'S PRESEASON GAMES WHERE ESSIEN WAS FEATURED? NOT TOO LONG AGO, THIS SAME ESSIEN WAS AN INTEGRAL PART OF REAL MADRID'S SQUAD. NOWLOOK AT WHAT FOLSKA RE SPEWING N HERE. JUST B ...

• papayaw 10 years ago

leave them,the guy has the juice.

• KAY 10 years ago

Tell Essien to go to hell. Who does he think he is? He be yawa boy paa. You point your left finger to your father's house and then you want to succeed outside. Laila. U will always play you football from the bench. Mtchewwwww ...

• Mix Breed (NPP-NDC) 10 years ago

When it was some other people, the President intervened; why not do it again or Essien is a Philistine??????

• Boagyaa Appiah-Kubi,Connecticut. 10 years ago

Leave the 40 years old man alone,his Goddamn bones has started to rot like hell.He need our prayers in his last playing days.

• Kwabena 10 years ago

True. Who are the up and coming Black Stars? The big names won't play the game forever. So how are they developing the next batch of talent to represent Ghana on the international stage and bring home a World Cup championship ...

• ??? 10 years ago

do gh have first 11 to start a match?

• Flava 10 years ago

I think there are better players who can equally perform his task. Let him go and this will be opportunity for Ghana to discover hidden great players.

• Zilla 10 years ago

Why do we Ghanaians worry ourselves on a single player? Ghana has more quality players than he Essien is so we should forget him and move on with the new talents coming. After all he hasn't played for his club in their first ...

• J Ananga 10 years ago

Essien is finished and it is only Mourihno who can get the best out of his tired body. Our coach is no Mou so just forget about him. At least he has played in a world cup and that is good for him. There are better guys around ...

• SEAMAN UK 10 years ago

NDC FOREVER THIS OLD MAN MR ESSIEN IS NOT FIT FOR THE NATIONAL TEAM PLEASE LOOK FOR YOUNG TALENT. COMPREHENSIVELY MR ESSIEN CAN ONLY PLAY AS SUB PLEASE LOOK FOR YOUNG TALENTS TO REPLACE HIM HIS TIME IS OVER

• SEAMAN UK 10 years ago

NDC ALL THE WAY ASAMOAH GYAN AND HIS MEN HAS CONQUERED SUDAN AND LESOHTO BOTH HOME AND AWAY WHY WORRY FORGET ABOUT MR ESSIEN AND THE AYEWS.

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

THIS ESIEN GUY KNOW THAT YOU GFA GUYS ARE FOOLS AND ILLITERATE-
    Any intelligent Person could have detected that all they said were a mere propagander , we warned you about him but due to your stomach you ignored the advis ...

• BMW 10 years ago

great players have come and gone

• TWEEEAAA 10 years ago

the Ghana sports ministry has not been fair to any sportsman (except Asamoah Gyan)but like Ghana government, will always want the world to see sportsmen as being bad. If Ghana has been able to dash out Ignisious Gaisah to Hol ...

• PK 10 years ago

FORGET ESSIEN,WE HAE SEEN POLO,YARA,OSEI&A FYNN

What ever goes up comes down, GFA must know what time of day it is regarding Esien, the guy has done his best for us in the past so let us not spoil the relationship by demanding too much from him.

• George Lawson 10 years ago

Please leave michael essien alone. The marks are heavily written on the wall. He is not fit. Again, he is due for retirement.

• ??? 10 years ago

Gibbs still playing at MU.do you think is easy to play at RM and chelsea at this age?he is playing under one of the world best coaches.

He gave to the world the best in him , and the best is still coming back to HIM.

• Twum Barimah 10 years ago

It serves GFA right. Please tell every player that the country is bigger than them. Elsewhere players beg for inclusion into national teams. In Ghana it's the opposite. Why allow them to take us for a ride?

• CONFLICTIVO 10 years ago

I BELIEVE TRONGLY THAT THERES NO NEED TO PURSUE HIM (ESSIEN)ANYMORE BCOS HE HAS NOT BEEN PART OF THE BLACK STARS FOR SOMETIME NOW AND WHITHOUT HIS PRESENCE THE TEAM HAS BEEN DOING EXTREMELY WELL,SECONDLY I AM HAPPY THE GFA HA ...

• pala 10 years ago

THE GFA is always quick to give essien and desailly bad names and then be hanged by the public.
    when matters between the gfa and esiien or desai,lly on the other hand come up, the GFA would remain quiet giving virtually no i ...

• GA man 10 years ago

Forget about essien and concentrate on the Zambia game.

• Nurudeen 10 years ago

GFA must just forget about Essien & co, without them we've reached this far and will qualify for the word cup without them.The coach has to focus on the hungry and loyal players that have made this far. why should others do t ...

• NII 10 years ago

We are tired, Ghanaians should boycott any charity match he organized by Essien. Only God knows where the proceeds go. If Essien's reps and Akosua are that desperate to deceive Ghanaians then you know for sure something is ve ...

• ??? 10 years ago

do AA has first 11 players at the moment?

• Alex 10 years ago

Right from day one this Essien player has been ungrateful to this country for our support. He has never been committed to our course and I think we need to forget about him.

• KANO 10 years ago

NO WONDER, ESSIEN IS AN AKAN, THAT'S WHY GFA'S TRIBAL BIGOTS NYANTAKYI AND KWESI APPIAH DO NOT SEE THE NEED TO ASK ESSIEN, LIKE THE AYEWS AND MUNTARI, TO OFFICIALLY WRITE TO CALL OFF HIS TEMP RETIREMENT.

UNLIKE ESSIEN AT R ...

• Alah 10 years ago

This KANO man. Na wa for you.

• Alah 10 years ago

It is very annoying when the issue of this guy Essien keep resurfacing for no any positive response from him. Fellows, this is Ghana, we will soon forget about Essien. Where are the likes of Abdul Razak, Adolf, kyenkyenhen, O ...

• KWAKU POKU 10 years ago

THE PROBLEM WITH THIS COUNTRY IS THAT ONCE WE SET OUR EYES AND HEART ON ONE GOOD THING, WE LACK THE ABILITY TO TAKE IN OTHER EQUALLY GOOD THINGS AROUND. THAT IS WHY IN OUR SOCIETY THOSE WHO ARE ALREADY THERE KEEP HANGING IN T ...

• ??? 10 years ago

The real stuff is.How often do we hesitate to pursuer our dreams because we feel deficient in talent, knowledge, or experience - the perceived roots of success. But chances are that we carry untapped strengths and abilities w ...

• Jonathan 10 years ago

Pls let all forget about this man, his time has pass. Can't you see he's always on the bench. Let's focus on the young one's now and forget the old man.

• KODUA 10 years ago

THIS UN-PATROTIC DUDE THINKS GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS. HE WILL NEVER EVER COME BACK, NOT IN A MILLION YEARS. KWADWO ASAMOAH RISK HIMSELF ALWAYS TO PLAY FOR GH AND EVEN IF HE WAS AT BARCA KWADWO ASAMOAH WILL STILL PLAY FOR GH ALWA ...

• abooowa 10 years ago

the guy is shit anyway Ghana fa dont't need his shitty football and arrogancy

• 911 10 years ago

no commentto

• Shaban mohammed Delimar. 10 years ago

Essien have no way to go . Ieave Essien alone and he is still Essien in black star.Essien papa paa!

• Kujo 10 years ago

Leave this over age player his age can not allow him to play for team and nation almost 40 years

• Joojo, Sask, Canada 10 years ago

Hard to believe that in the !950's, 60's, through the 70's when Ghana's population was about 7million or less, the nation could put together a Black Stars team that had 11 or more superstars:--The Aggrey Fynn's, Gyamfis, Edw ...

• jay moon 10 years ago

He Essien don't know this, but black stars could be what he essien needs to stage his come back to it old self. if people round him have any ideas they should advice him to use black stars to stage come back... sometime all y ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

Essien is a greatplayer and i think he knows wat he is doing.He would surely comeback.We should jx gv him all the time he needs..