You are here: HomeSports2013 07 22Article 280166

I won't rush Satellites players - Appiah

Read Comments Comments (72)

• grandpa 10 years ago

That makes sense.

• Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

I do agree with Coach Appiah. The only player who played at this tournament that have not featured for Blackstars before and might soon break into the senior team is Assifuah only because we don't have an established striker ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

“I actually went to Turkey purposely to have a look at the performance of these players.**** Ajwesi Appiah

Ebenezer Assifuah is playing in the Ghana league our greatest headache is to find a strikers it took Turkey to di ...

• Bebeto 10 years ago

Ask again! I am asking the same question...i was positively surprised to find out Assifuah was a local player. Blackstars without delay!!!Such ball sense and killer instinct is what we need up front to support Assamuah Gyan. ...

• Dr Coach 10 years ago

Rush has no place in professional statements. So Coach Akwesi Appiah you have said nothing. Let's see what you can do with all of this asset. Mind you some of these players may already be at their peak.

• Alugu 10 years ago

Simply make a policy on how a player can become a member of the Black Stars squad. Example....All Black Star players must be professional first team players or only those who played Satellites in the past can graduate to the ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV & TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, UNDER 20 FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 10 years ago

Mr.N,i think u are confused.Kwasi Appiah is a coach.his job is not only for local boys playing.coaching this days is both local and international thing.if Appiah watches only the local boys,what do u want him to do to the oth ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Yes, Appiah went to Turkey for more evaluation of the players, and see how they perform during competitions.Appiah is now growing and thinking like Rasheed.

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

Yes,Rasheed! that's why sometimes I like your comment.

AA is suffering from the same disease as majority of Ghanians(inferiority complex) You have to live in America, Europe or Australia to see what some of us see. The u20 players and others could play the best football but if th ...

• KojoLee@Dilemma-Situation 10 years ago

"Assifuah is a better striker than Clottey, Adiyaah, Boakye Yiadom and Jordan." (Kofi)

Word, period!

Our current strikers should be as follows:

#1. Captain Gyan
    #2. Warris
    #3. Assifuah

The young Fifi U20 Golden ...

• Ato K. 10 years ago

Catch them young. Remember the German team for the 2010 World Cup. Most of them were from the junior ranks. And look at how these performed at the European Championship after the world Cup.Look at the performances of some of ...

• A concerned citizen 10 years ago

That is a step in a right direction..Don't rush them ans stick to more experienced top form players only. Continue to monitor them

• krikri 10 years ago

Is it coach Appiah or Big Boss Nyantekyi?

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

ODJER, YIADOM, ASSIFUAH, ACHEAMPONG ARE READY. JUST GIVE THEM A CHANCE TO SHOW WAT THEY GOT. USE THEM IN MORE FRIENDLIES. DID U SEE THE MEDIAN AGE OF THE BRAZILIAN TEAM AT THE CONFED CUP?DEY THERE....START THEM YOUNG

• Nenebi 10 years ago

Assifuah,Acheampong,Yiadom could fuse into the Stars team but Aboagye, Odjer have no place in the team. Yiadom has tasted it and working gradually into the team, Assifuah and Acheampong need time to grow through the U23.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

I am glad Appiah is now growing and thinking like Rasheed.Why rush these players when Meteors is waiting for them to mature.

AND SO? CAN NEYMA NOT PLAY WITH THE METEORS? LOOK AT THE AVERAGE AGE OF THE BRASILIAN TEAM AT THE CONFED CUP? ABEDI WAS 17 WEN HE PLAYED FOR GBSTAR. ODJER WAS A WORKHORSE. THE BOY UNDERSTANDS HIS ROLE WELL. HE IS FAST, CAN CO ...

• Johnny 10 years ago

Good to monitor, but Acheampong and Assifuah are ripe for the senior team. The backline is a bit weak, and as such you might have to take a look at Attamah as well. I love Aboagye for his pinpoint passes to strikers! A Carlos ...

• Nene Adekerker 10 years ago

Thank u coach. Don't let anybody force you to select a player. Use dedication,respect and good form to do your selection. Once again do not allow yourself to be forced to pick players like Dede Ayew

• Busumbru 10 years ago

Good comment. These guys should go through the meteors first.

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 10 years ago

Milo did not think the U-20 tournament was "not enough to rate the quality of the players." Milo's plan of including about a third of the U-20 players in his squad nearly shocked the world.

These players have already prove ...

• CEREBRAL 10 years ago

I support the idea of using some of the players from the U20 team, but this must be done with caution and based on merit and necessity.

The 2010 AFCON was a different scenario. At that tournament many of the senior experie ...

• Edem Lasisi, Atlanta 10 years ago

Cerebral, I agree with you on the point that it must be done with caution. But, we are not dealing with wholesale promotion here. I know that Milo had no choice at the time, but with that experiment, we now know that it would ...

ASANTEKOTOKO'S DIMINUTIVE WINGER, RICHARD MPONG. WAS INVITED TO A GBSTAR FRIENDLY AGAINST CHILE IN AMERICA. WAT DID MPONG DO? HE SCORED A FANTASTIC GOAL....GIVE THESE GROWEE/MO ENYIN APUA U20 PLAYERS A CHANCE. THEY R EVEN HUN ...

I agree.

• CEREBRAL 10 years ago

This is what I said "I support the idea of using some of the players from the U20 team, but this must be done with caution and based on merit and necessity." The following players impressed me.....but then who am I....my opin ...

Milo did not think the U-20 tournament was "not enough to rate the quality of the players." Milo's plan of including about a third of the U-20 players in his squad nearly shocked the world.

These players have already prov ...

• Africanus 10 years ago

Kwasi Appiah like many Ghanaians are misinterpreting drafting some of the U-20 into the Black Stars to mean they have to be included in the first eleven.

Bringing about 3 or 4 of them into the senior team now is the ideal ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

Based on the lack of strikers on the senior team, Assifuah is likely to get a chance. Of course Boakye-Yiadom has already tasted the senior team and will likely be called again. The rest of the U-20 should sit back and deve ...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

Oberemba Kwesi! from Samms!

• DESTINY 10 years ago

It is always good to have the depth of players, and a pool to draw from: e.g. local Black Stars, and the Satellites. The composition and particular selection of the players may depend on the dominant chosen formation the coa ...

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

let the coach do his work

• GC/USA 10 years ago

MONITOR THEM UNTIL THEY ARE 30 YEARS OLD;DUMMY COACH. GHANA MENTALITY. THESE GUYS PLAYED AGAINST THE WORLD BEST UNDER 20 PLAYERS AND ALMOST SUCCESSFUL. ARE YOU TELLING GHANAIANS THAT THEY ARE NOT READY? WHY DON'T YOU ASK SELL ...

• Ringo Watusi, 10 years ago

You under-bridge-sleeper,why insult the coach? Why can`t you fools leave the coach alone to do his job? You are the same hypocrites who are going to blame him if he uses these youngsters and fail.He`s gonna use them at the ri ...

• Terry Gyimah 10 years ago

Personally if anything he should be bringing them into the team now rather than keep monitoring them

• NPP 10 years ago

KWASI GIVE THEM CHANCE,EVEN THEY ARE BETTER THAN SOME OF YOUR OLD PLAYERS,JUST TRY THEM AND LET US SEE THEIR PERFORMANCE.

• bernard 10 years ago

Coach Kwesi Appiah is very right on this.Long term monitoring is required before invitation to the senior squad.

• Africanus 10 years ago

Long term monitoring until when? Until they are 45 years old?

• kwame Gyebi 10 years ago

Mr Akwesi Appiah use better players to encounter Zambia national team Zambia is going to Ghana football anything can happen because Zambia beat Ghana black star 2times Coach Appiah becarefull of u selection Ghana black star l ...

• Lenos 10 years ago

I totally agree with you. You cannot use just these few matches to rate the capabilities of those players. Let us monitor their performances for sometime. Stay blessed Kwesi.

• Sir Kofi Mumui 10 years ago

Hope Nyantakyi butts out of team selection.

HAVE U FORGOTTEN ANGOLA AFCON 2010? ABEDI WAS 17 WHEN HE FEATURED FOR THE SENIOR TEAM. LOOK AT THE AVERAGE OF OF THE BRASILIAN TEAM AT THE CONFED CUP. LOOK, SEND THESE U20 TO ANOTHER AFCON N WITH GOOD COACHING N SOUND DEFENDI ...

• TA USA 10 years ago

What is Coach Appiah saying? Most of the Under 20 boys are already enlisted in their National Teams. Milo your boys prove that under 20 can play in the National team. Those boys are already playing Premier Leagues so what is ...

WAT AGE WAS FREDDY ADU, MICHAEL OWEN, ROONEY, ABEDI PELE, PELE ....WHEN THEY FEATURED FOR THEIR NATIONAL TEAMS? WE SEEM TO FORGET THAT THE REAL AGES OF THESE U20 PLAYERS HAVE BEEN DILUTED AS WELL. LOOK AT ACHEAMPONG, ASSIFUAH ...

• Visco 10 years ago

I agree don't rush the players but we need someone with Asifua's hunger in front on goal and someone with Acheampong's courage and speed on the wings. Please try these two.

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

Yes, Visco! I totally agree with you.

• Ben Boateng-Nartey 10 years ago

Assifuah 80% agree, but Acheampong is still a little raw, as we have plenty of more experienced players with more skill and technique. He might have a slight edge over the others in terms of speed, but internationally, he ne ...

• awonaniba 10 years ago

when are u going to use dem? the guys are 27- 29yrs now.

• Mercy 10 years ago

well said coach

• OSEI STEPHEN,NORWAY 10 years ago

YOU HAVE SEEN THE GOOD ONCE THAT YOU WILL NEED,WHY DONT YOU CALL THEM NOW TO JOIN THE NATIONAL TEAM TO GET THE TEAM SPIRIT WITH THEM,BECAUSE THEY ARE NEW,THEY NEED TO BE HARD AND BOLD

• Ciz 10 years ago

Wise decision.

• duodu 10 years ago

This is no wise decision. Do you remember ? Pele ( Brazil ) was a teenager when he played his first game for his country. So what are you waiting for----until they are spoiled by huge transfer-money, just like the Ayews ?

• idiot 10 years ago

under 20 players are not ready so do not bother yourself to include them in the nationals.do not let the fools to pressure you into play any of them.

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

AA you can watch tv at home and see their performance going to turkey is out of context!!!!

• SEAMAN UK 10 years ago

NDC FOREVER NDC MATCH FORWARD KWASI YOU ARE A MAN OF WISDOM I RESPECT YOU VERY VERY MUCH GOD BE WITH YOU NDC FOREVER

• BRING MILO BACK 10 years ago

We need a progressive coach, not a coach with this kind of colonial mentality. We gonna get beat by Zambia anyway. So, the end of Appiah and Nyantakyi is very near.

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Dirty Zambian idiot!!

Getting reasonably cheap foreign coaches can only get you so far, I believe other than getting the likes of Wenger, Mourinho, and the likes, there is no point in getting average foreign coaches, when our local coaches are jus ...

• kobby scratch 10 years ago

Gh Web!!! Is this the only pic of kwesi Appiah u guys have! U guys r not forcing in some area koraa! Get a more current pic of him!

• Visco 10 years ago

Asifua, has demonstrated on more than four occasions that he is a better striker than boakye Yiadom. Football is not about playing in Europe. It is about results and that is what we need.

Unleash Asifuah and Asamoah Djan o ...

That kind of pairing will surely scare our opponents. But, with Appiah I don't know if he is going to do that.

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

He played 2 times as many minutes as Boakye!!

He has already earned his place both in the local league and at the U-20 World Cup.

• THINK STRAIGHT 10 years ago

I WON'T RUSH SATELLITES PLAYERS-APPIAH

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Your other is a whore!! MOron!!

• GhanaBoii 10 years ago

These boys may have done well at a youth tournament but they're not yet ready for the World Cup, its too soon especially as they are locals. Take it step by step, call them up for friendlies, African Nations qualifiers & game ...

• Dramani Attah 10 years ago

Appiah,Acheampong is the best of all.

I don't know his name, but that little no 10, Lartey and possibly Assifuah, other than that the Stars have more than enough to deal with ANY team, with the right coaching and higher ranked opponents in friendlies.

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 10 years ago

I am impressed with the fact that Appiah actually went to Turkey to watch the under - 20 tourney. Well, it looks like he is learning the ropes rather well. I hope he also takes delight in updating his repertoire on modern tec ...