You are here: HomeSports2013 07 11Article 279229

We were unlucky against France – Sellas

Read Comments Comments (100)

• Kofi Yankey 10 years ago

All the players were talented and dedicated. The performance in defense was however poor. The midfield did not defend well and so was the back four. Goalkeeping was also not good enough. I think coaching was the problem.

• Watataman 10 years ago

Whoever selected Anaba and Nketiah Will have some questions to answer.
    Also a coach should be able to use alternatives and I am afraid they do not understand that. When strikers are man marked, you use them as decoy and ge ...

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR 10 years ago

Where as we have talented stylistic players in Ghana, we turn not to cover appropriately. All of the goals by France were easy, which even USA will not concede such goals. We allow France to go. through in the eighting yard b ...

• Asem 10 years ago

Why were the players playing air ball when they were the shortest? It doesn't make common sense. Ghana has one of the shortest squad even at the senior level but we always cross the ball in the air for someone to head. Becaus ...

• VOLUNTOR CONTRIBUTOR 10 years ago

Our coaches are not well inform. Look at how timid he is to criticise his players to do better next time. The midfield aboagye is very skillful player in terms of dribbling, but could not dribbled France who has skillful-gian ...

• XX Somele 10 years ago

My friend I disagree with you. The French resorted to buga buga tactics which any good referee would have cautioned but chose not to, only to blow his stinking whistle anytime our boys made the slightest contact tackle. The r ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

FIFA-U20 LIVE ON WWW.OFMTV.COM

• SANDY FORSTER, USA 10 years ago

IN SPITE OF THE FACT THAT THE SATELLITES DIDN'T REACH THE FINALS OF THE FIFA U-20 WORLD CUP, THEY MADE GHANA PROUD. I CONGRATULATE ALL THE PLAYERS AND SELLAS TETTEH.YOU DID VERY WELL. THOUGH THERE WERE SOME FEW MISTAKES, YOUR ...

• Ogyam 10 years ago

I have realized that there is no way an African football side would get a fair officiating in a World cup competition at any level and in any match .They just allow us to participate just because it's a so called World cup c ...

• Yamus 10 years ago

The referee showed Thauvin yellow card for simulation and when he removed the flag, instead of showing him another yellow card and sending him off, he only wrote down his name. Thus allowing him to continue playing and score ...

• Freelancer 10 years ago

Let's all come together as one voice and point it out to these bais European Referees and match officials to desist from their disgraceful attitude in handling football matches involving African teams and their European coun ...

• XX Somele 10 years ago

You are right. Just as much as we may criticize the way the defence allowed those two cheap goals, we must realize that here was a referee who would not have hesitated to issue a yellow, red or even a penalty against our boys ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

Good show by our boys. Need to be encouraged. But losing twice to same team in same tournament with a good team like ours shows how technically superior the other side was!

• SAMMY 10 years ago

EVERYBODY BELIEVES IN THE WORK OF THE SUPERNATURALS NOT EFFORTS AND HARDWORK. WHAT A SHAME.

• Aduanaba 10 years ago

some xtians and muslims !!!
    evbody is a liar
    from head to toe !!!

• Kojo-USA 10 years ago

THE coach was there but could not read the game,why should they play as defending a goal whereby there was no goal. We lost the game from the bench, bankrupt coach.

• A concerned citizen 10 years ago

Coach Tetteh call a spade a spade..You yourself have testified that apart from mistakes...It means the defense were not solid but porous coupled with a bad second goalkeeper caused the problem..I know you want to motivate the ...

• John,Tema 10 years ago

Ghanaians let us be frank we were just not good enough to win this cup.It would have been unfair to the organizers if we have won it.What a horrible defense?

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

BORBOR, U FACED EGYPTS AT AFCONU20 TWICE. U LOST.U FACED FRANCE,U LOST ALSO. U SIMPLY DIDNT DO UR HOMEWORK WELL WITH THE BOYS.I WATCHED THE FIRST HALF AGAINST FRANCE. GH DID NOT PLAY THE COUNTER ATTCK LIKE U WERE SUPPOSED TO. ...

• E. Twumasi, Colorado, USA 10 years ago

I know for sure that you have not even coached a pee-wee soccer team before. For there is no way any organization would let you come close to any kid in the U.S. or Canada because of your mental condition.

You spend your ...

ABOA NIPA LIKE U. U LIVE IN COLORADO. MORMON, VILLAGE STATE. THAT FUCKING PLACE DENVER HAS TOO MANY CHURCHES. YET, EVERY GUN SHOOTING TRAGEDY EMANATES FROM THERE. STUPID RETARD. U HAVE SOME NERVE, U HEAR. MOVE TO A CIVILIZED ...

• Houdini 10 years ago

When was the last time you saw a Psychiatrist? You need to see one. You are mentally sick.

I AM A MENTAL HEALTH LIASON. I ATTEND TO MENTAL HEALTH TENANTS. THEN AGAIN, IT TAKES 1 TO KNOW 1

You've become one of your wards. It is a known fact that in trying to communicate with mental patients, their care-givers would have to think like them so that they are on the same page with them. But, unlike other people in ...

U HVE BEEN LIVING IN THAT MORONIC MORMON, RIGHT WING, GUN TOTING RELIGIOUS FASCIST, FANATIC STATE FOR SO LONG. WHO CARES IF IM MAD, IM GETTING PAID. TRY COMING TO STEAL MY MONEY N U WILL FIND OUT IF IM TRULY SANE OR INSANE. K ...

HEY TWUMASI, U STUPID FOOL. AA CANT TAKE GH ANYWHERE....WINS OVER SUDAN, LESOTHO OR WHATEVER DONT MEAN SHIT. SINCE HE TOOK OVER, HAS HE COACHED GH TO ANY FREIDLY AGAINST A TOP 10 SIDE GLOBALLY? HE IS SCARED, DATS WHY. HE WENT ...

• kayakaya 10 years ago

find yrself a job.

KWASIA NSH3 10 JERSEY. WHY DONT U COME N PAY MY BILLS, SUCKER. GO N CREATE A JOB STOP BEING AN EMPLOYEEEEEEE.

• Stella Antwi, USA 10 years ago

That's a good one there, Twumasi. This Ghfuo person always attack coach Appiah. I don't think this guy had played soccer before or have a kid who plays. So, he does not know the difficulties that happen during a real game. He ...

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 10 years ago

I don’t understand why Ghanaians believe everything must always go their way, and not the other way. This belief is not healthy and it is very “childish” (for lack of better word to describe this collective negative beh ...

• DJ 10 years ago

You ran-away slave, stick to cleaning gota gota, or whatever slavery you're into, keep kissing your boss ass. You can't invent shiiT at your Oregon apartment!

• kayakaya 10 years ago

yr gota needs to be clean or not?he cleans gota and being paid so whats the big deal.he cleans toilet and being paid.we clean our toilets here in gh.silly fool.i wish i could get his gota gota job.@least ican build myself 2 b ...

• Ekumfi Akyen-Obamaland 10 years ago

IDIOTIC DJ TOO!YOU ARE IN SUIT CHASING BANKU AND FRIED FISH AT KANESHI MARKET IN ACCRA,UNDER THE HOT AFRICAN SUN
    HE IS IN OREGON,USA,AS A "GOTA GOTA" CLEANER BUT EATING THE BEST OF FOOD WEARING THE BEST OF CLOTHES AND S ...

U DONT KNOW NOTHING. DO U KNOW HO INVENTED CHASKELE IN GH? ME.....
    CHASKELE WAS INVENTED IN MATAHEKO N DANSOMAN. WE STARTED OUT PLAYING BASEBALL. THEN, PPL STOLE THE MITT AND BASEBALL BAT. SO DUDES IN THE NEIGHBOURHOOD START ...

• ??? 10 years ago

is gh the best football country in the world?or is gh players invincible?we should just let sleeping dog rest.the boys are doing their best.out of the 28 best in the ranking only 3 reached the semis.pls give us a brake.

• BA 10 years ago

Yes, I think it was unlucky that we lost to France, and knowing where we came from we have to congratulate our boys and the coach and give them all the support, money, gifts and praises that they deserve. It really hurts when ...

• Jack 10 years ago

Waa look at another useless human - "knowing where we came from". People like you think we should never be able to beat "Germany or France or Spain..". That's why you are satisfied by anything you are given because you think ...

• ebo yawson 10 years ago

France was just better. next time u shuld understand that this tournament is not a must win. as long as u can identify potential replacements for the future u are fine. that is why u need to stop using 30 year olds to compete ...

I don't think Ghana fielded any over-age players in this tournament. These days, FIFA uses imaging technogy to test for age-cheaters. Furthermore, at the this level, age-cheating would be actually counter productive, since ev ...

• Unknown 10 years ago

Florian Thauvin plays for Juventus...since when? It's Paul Pogba who plays for Juventus actually.
    If you don't know your footballers, just go on google and read about them before making your small errors like in this article

Thanks for the correction.

MASSA, TAKE UR DENVER KUASIS3M SOMEWHR U HEAR. U MORONIC MORMON. WAT D U MEAN BY "FIFA USES IMAGING TECHNOLOGY TO TEST FOR AGE CHEATERS"? DID U SEE THE CUBAN N NIGERIAN PLAYERS? U FOOL K3K3. THAUVIN DOSENT PLAY FOR JUVE. THE ...

• Sam 10 years ago

Who told you illiterate asshole Denver is a Mormon City? The only Mormon City in USA is Salt Lake City. Stop your primitive behaviour, it is sickening.

HAVE U BEEN TO DENVER BEFORE? U WILL SEE A CHURCH IN EVERY CORNER IN THAT SO CALLED CITY. CHURCHES ARE LIKE COFFEE SHOPS IN DENVER. THAT PLACE IS FULL OF RELIGIOUS FANATICS. YET, THE SILLIEST MASS MURDERERS AND SHOOTINGS, CHI ...

• ??? 10 years ago

do u know that there was a age test?is there any 30yrs old player in the group?i personally feel sorry for u.u tell the whole world what is not true.u can sell our country for a little change.shame

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

If we were unlucky against France then let us see if we can beat Iraq.

• Slimzay **The Unshakable Shaker** 10 years ago

What would you say if Iraq is beaten? Are you going to say anything positive? Could you come out with any encouraging words, Rasheed? By the way, I have something for you to read. I posted it at the other sides and don't thin ...

Rasheed, did you read this because it was meant for you.

"I can bet with my heart that you will be the first person to start insullting him. Rasheed knows no Slim.

Mr brother, are you new on the site? Me, insulting, har ...

• Rasheed.@being realistic. 10 years ago

You may be right about Frank's club,but the fact is that, he is not ripe for black stars yet.When you watched the video of our match against China, were you impressed with his performance?.Let us watch him at the under 23 lev ...

• Rasheed.@being realistic. 10 years ago

"Remember"." I am a skillful player"

Who is not? I played the game too and now working with it.

Bro, Frank Opoku Acheampong to me, looks ever ready. He is like the energizer battery. jokes aside though. I thought Dede wasn't ready until he played few matches. Yes, Frank Acheampong may struggle a little but I believe wil ...

I agree with Sillas, the Satellites were unlucky but the point is they could not be lucky though out the tournament. This game could have gone either way. France wasn't that great, they were lucky as well because the Satellit ...

SLIM, IF U DONT STUDY N U FAIL UR FINAL. DONT BLAME IT ON LUCK. BLAME IT ON UR INABILITY TO STUDY, CHEW N POUR, CHEAT/COPY, VACATION CLASSES/SUMMER SKUUL, APOR, HOME TEACHER, DO UR HOMEWORK...DONT BLAME IT ON LUCK. ALL THESE ...

• kayakaya 10 years ago

IF NOT,FIND ONE AT GFA OR DO YOUR FAMILY A FAVOUR BY HELPING THE KIDS WITH THEIR HOME WORK.PLS., FOR GOD'S SAKE.

• OBIDEEABA, BELGIUM 10 years ago

GHANA WHEN WILL U APPRECIATE PEOPLE, FOOTBALL IS NOT ALWAYS A WIN MATTER. TO ME THE GUYS DID WHAT THEY CAN. PLEASE AT LEAST WE CAN SEE SOME TALENTED KIDS FOR THE STARS IN THE FUTURE.

• TEMPLE 10 years ago

YOU SIMPLY DIDN'T HAVE A GAME PLAN AGAINST FRANCE, THAT'S WGY THEY BEAT YOU 3-1 IN THE FIRST MATCH, THEN CAME THEIR EMPHATIC 2-1 WIN AGAINST GAME-PLANLESS GHANA BS UNDER 21.

YOU MAY HAVE ALL THE LUCK UNDER THE SUN, BUT YOU ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• J Ananga 10 years ago

I don't call this luck but bankruptcy in techniques and reading the game. The French you know are bigger and technically gifted but the second half they appeared tired and especially after our goal. So what the boys should ha ...

• Alah 10 years ago

Winning the trophy was our goal, but is not happening. I still say good job and better luck next time. Who thought we would be playing in semi finals when we lost t first two games?

• Achireko Kwagyan 10 years ago

Ghana is not and has never been the most talented with Soccer players. Mighty Brazil, Argentina, Germany could not even qualify for this tournament. The only thing we need to do is Congratulate GFA, the Team - players and coa ...

• Mohammed Awuni 10 years ago

u were also lucky against Portugal & Chile

• PEKI TUMU 10 years ago

The way the second goal was scored by France in just turning one defender, demonstrated the weakness of the Ghana defense. I am very surprised the coach thinks otherwise. The Ghana defense gave me a lot of anxiety as the matc ...

• Abalai Tsi-Toto 10 years ago

France easily robbed Ghana of possession because of Good organization defensively as a TEAM.Its easy to look at the back four and point fingers (wrong).Its our defending as a TEAM that did us in.There were times that France d ...

• THE LONE PROPHET OF JEHOVAH 10 years ago

Our defence system was very poor, Duncan was nowhere in the game.Boakye should have started the game to put more pressure on france defenders instead of Ken Ashia.

• Abalai Tsi-Toto 10 years ago

The Portugal and Chile games took a lot out of the boys.Always searching for equalizer after equalizer,extra time,etc affects any team Physically and mentally. France did look fresh and that was key. Second half performance w ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

You should accept that a better side won!The French players were taller,stronger and well-built!And they were faster too!They were unlucky not to have scored more goals in the first half.They knew that they could beat us anyh ...

• XX Somele 10 years ago

You are a sick fake doctor. What game were you watching, twerp? Could u not see that it was a match of two halves? Yes they could have scored more than one in the first half but do you accept that Ghana also could have gone u ...

• kayakaya 10 years ago

Common sense is very uncommon.bcos of his comment he is a fake doctor.u look stupid

• Akwasi Achireko Kwagyan 10 years ago

Why do most Ghanaians think Ghana always has the best talents assembled
    to win every soccer game. We didn't even have one big name of the U-20 age group going into this tournament. Could any of the 3 Greats - Brazil, Argent ...

• VOLUNTOR CONTRIBUTOR 10 years ago

What are you saying nitwig. This is about soccer and that is what it is Coaching is criticise to correct for better next time. This is not hard feelings. That so call morally unexpected from the forum of soccer or sports. In ...

• nana Ga 10 years ago

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, my people relax! We lost to a better team. Our defence was weak, the second goalkeeper was not in perfect shape, even though the defenders could have done better. Was Eric Antwi really hurt? the regular kee ...

• Nicholas Adjei 10 years ago

Our Boys did their best.That is football,let us concentrate on the next match

• GC/USA 10 years ago

LUCK HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH FOOTBALL. FRANCE CAME WITH ALL THEIR BEST PLAYERS AND WERE TACTICAL. GHANA DEFENCE/MIDFIELD WAS WEAK AND NOT TACTICAL IN THE GOAL AREA. IF LUCK COUNTS SOMEONE SHOULD TELL US WHERE TO FIND IT.

• Richard Tinkham 10 years ago

ACCORGING TO A RELIABLE SOURCES,GHANA TEAM TOOK BRIBES FROM FRANCE.

The money was paid to Nyantakyi

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A young man goes into a drug store to buy condoms.

The pharmacist says the condoms come in packs of 3, 9 or 12 and asks which the young man wants.

"Well," he said, "I've been seeing this girl for a while and she's reall ...

stop postin old jokes

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

OLD JOKE IS LIKE AN OLD SNAPPING PUSSY.
    YOU NEED A LOT OF VASELINE FOR IT.
    THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH LEFT OVERS.

• OGYAM 10 years ago

My teacher told me that luck is preparing to meet opportunities. We weren't well prepared in defence.

• John Kool 10 years ago

Coach Tetteh, I don't agree with you alluding to luck as what robbed you of victory.Our team lost because organization-wise we did not deliver.It could be as a result of factors, such as tactical flaw, fitness etc.
    I must st ...

• mike 10 years ago

sallas u should eat yr words the other day u said ghana can beat any team u see u dont talk like thatuntil the job is done bragging does not help the team u see it has backfired talk is cheap u have cursed the team the way u ...

• Soso 10 years ago

Defence was just not good enough.I hope we can have better defenders next time.
    Sellas is very diplomatic indeed the way he describes things.

• David Attakorah. 10 years ago

I really enjoyed your thoughts about the match and the motivation you are asking of the players. You are such a good coach for how far you've brought us and making other African countries as a whole being proud of us.

• michael boye marquaye 10 years ago

The referee was ridiculous and did not even see how dirty the french are, some of the fouls ruled against the satellites was ridiculous. Also in a very competitive games like that every opportunity counts and must be taken, f ...

• t t b barcelona 10 years ago

you are not a good coach you a stopid they suspended our three good players why you bench B,YANDOM only esperiance player

• Whatever 10 years ago

I warned repeatedly but no one listened. That flaw was so vivid that it was bound to be the nail in our coffin if we face our match like the french team. It was an inevitable crack which was bound to open up when things get h ...

• ERIC 10 years ago

THE COACH MUST/SHOULD Be sacked simple.

• EMMEYSCOTLAND 10 years ago

REALLY STUPID TO TALK ABOUT LUCK..FOOTBALL IS NOT LOTTERY TO USE LUCK TO PLAY MR TETTEH..THAT'S FOOLISH TALK,SAY SOMETHING BETTER CUS U WON A CUP BEFORE!WAS IT A LUCK U USED TO WIN THE CUP IN 2009?

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 10 years ago

I don’t understand why Ghanaians believe everything must always go their way, and not the other way. This belief is not healthy and it is very “childish” (for lack of better word to describe this collective negative beh ...

• samuel 10 years ago

We have tried so much is this Word U20. We started shyly. But we have reached so far. Congrats U20. you have made us proud.

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 10 years ago

Kojo,
    While you may have a good point, I want to remind you that team spirit, technical know-how and ability to read a game could win games. Mohammed Ali was not stronger than Sony Liston, George Foreman and Frazier but Ali ...

• Edem Lasisi, Atlanta 10 years ago

Well said Mr Asante.

• SEAMAN FOREVER 10 years ago

NDC FOREVER MATCH FORWARD CONGATULATION BLACK SATTILITES WELL DONE ENOUGH IS GOOD LONG LIVE NDC

• B K 10 years ago

BK GHANA DID WELL AS A COACH TELL THE KEEPER THE RIGHT THING PLEASE

• drebpen 10 years ago

congrate bobo,atleast ghana can still bost of one oustanding n consistant national coach

• Franklin Senyo Dzah 10 years ago

We lost galantly, no one should be blamed. That is football sometimes.

• Franklin Senyo Dzah 10 years ago

We lost galantly, no one should be blamed,painful though it might be. That's football sometimes.