You are here: HomeSports2013 06 17Article 277075

Gyan, Muntari robbed in Lesotho

Read Comments Comments (101)

• UNCLE KOFI 10 years ago

THE BOYS SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD ABOUT LIFE IN SOUTHERN AFRICA. BUT WHAT CLASS OF HOTEL WERE THEY PUT?

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Why should Sulley put on such an expensive jewel to a place like Sudan and Lesotho?Is it to show off?The whole story is so amusing,why should our players be paid bonuses fiscal cash?Can't they use the banks?There is a huge pr ...

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 10 years ago

THERE IS NO EXCUSE FOR THE GFA N THESE TV STATIONS TO NOT SHOW THE GAMES. IN THIS DAY N AGE? WAT KIND OF FOOLISHNESS IS THIS? GFA, CANT U SPONSOR 2 CAMERA PPL TO SUDAN N LESOTHO TO BROADCAST THESE GAMES LIVE ON LINE OR ON TV? ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Why carry such sums of money on you in this age of credit cards ?

These boys need to grow their brains a bit.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Both Asamoa Gyan and Mutari have my sympathy, especially, when they lost that much in the service of mother Ghana. However, and as Kwaku has questioned, why did the players leave such valuables in their hotel rooms and go to ...

• Fellow citizen. 10 years ago

You`re more than a useless human being. What`s wrong if he feels comfortable doing what he loves! If it were you, you would have done more than that.

• TEXAS KING 10 years ago

THERE IS NO MENTION IN THE STORY THAT THE MONEY STOLEN WAS HIS BONUS.STOP FALSE ACCUSATIONS AND READ WELL BEFORE COMMENTING.

• Ghana Fan 10 years ago

Your assertion here is wrong. The theft happen while we were at the stadium. No bonuses could have been distributed by then. I was right there in the same hotel and saw when they were trying to figure out who had committed th ...

• Kaduna Mafia 10 years ago

think a little bit...when you go on a trip its nice to come back home with present for your wife...that is all Sulley was doing....he may have found bargin in South Africa compared to the prices in Italy...it is very normal w ...

• Maclean 10 years ago

Should we believe this story?? In this world of hi-tech monetary management, Asamoah Gyan is not mentally-retarded to have carried such amount in its physicality. This is pure sensationalism!!

• Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

What kind of jacket are we talking about here that cost over 35,000 Euros? Such outrageous price tags of lost of properties make these stories unbelievable.

These Players and even Joe Blows like us have insurance coveri ...

• TEXAS KING 10 years ago

it's because you are poor thats why you look so surprise.haven't you seen a diamond design shoe of 200,000 euros?

That is the stupidity of African or a Blackman. You will not see these rich whitemen or even young white Soccer or football players who earns ten times what Sulley earns buying a jacket for 35,000.

Have you ever seen anybo ...

Wanna be Texas King butcher at Espinay African maqrket in France, where have you seen a diamond shoe costing 200,000 Euros, you moron.

• Sinew 10 years ago

He is surprised because he is wise. Sensible people protect their valuable assets. There are millions of people who have tens of thousands of dollars. They don't carry their money around. They use credit cards and checks.

• ogwah 10 years ago

I know this jacket, it is slightly higher in quality than the 2013 SR5/TDR TOYOTA TACOMA

• yorkeshire 10 years ago

Don't think they will have insurance trust me not all these guys have brains to put things in order like wat white man will do insurance $10,000 could be true but the 35.000 euro is bullshit full of bullshit

• KK 10 years ago

The cost of the jacket is probably 3500 and not 35000, that is unheard of. Transpositional errors every where.

the writer wanted to report the cost of the jewelry and the jacket is estimated around 35,000 euros..you owe your buddy sulley an apology...he did nothing wrong buying jewelry for his dear wife and some low life stealing it e ...

just last week there was a wedding ring which was inadvertently sold at a garage sale in Southern California ...the original price of the ring was reported as $23,000...So if the cost of the jewelry Sulley may have bought on ...

I would not have even questioned it if the ring alone has been said to worth half a million Euro because I have seen jewelry costing that much but a jacket for 35,000? That I have not heard of.

• POW@One goal project is over 10 years ago

Anytime after Americas grammy or film awards, I go online to check on prices of what who wore on the red carpet and it outrageous the prices you hear for just one designer wear. Some go up to $60K for a gown, $20K bracelet an ...

• POW@One goal project is over 10 years ago

My brother, if you break $10,000.00 into a $100.00 bills, that's just one wrap that will fit in almost every pocket. It's like putting together 100 notes of one dollar bill. Lot of Spanish guys in the USA carry more than that ...

• Ewusi 10 years ago

Some Africans are a disgrace

GBSTARS MUST WIN WITH CONVICTION. GH SHOULD BE WHUPPING THESE EASY TEAMS LIKE SUDAN, MALAWI, LESOTHO ETC...4 NIL EACH. NOWADAYS, A WIN ALONE IS NOT ENUFF. YOU NEED TO SCORE MORE GOALS AS WELL....

IM SURE THE PLAYERS WERE C ...

• Min tua 10 years ago

It is very sad indeed. What a blow. Luckily the CCTV footage can be used to grab this stooge of a thief. Or the hotel must bear the cost. No security for foreigners then it is dangerous to do any business in that country

35,000 euros for a small hole? They should have robbed Agyeman Badu too who was spreading girls in SA during Afcon. Idiots

It is a universal law in hotel industry that, customers check their valuables and leave them at the front office for safe keeping or the hotel cannot be held for any theft. These Players stay in hotels all the time and should ...

• KAFUI 10 years ago

the hotel shld be hold for the missing items,bloodclaat

• smith 10 years ago

Ye mamu a mo

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 10 years ago

please the thief is morally right.these guys do not need money.the poor man should be left alone.especially Sule,you do't pay,zakat,this is payment in kind.why sule and gyan,they are the richest among the layers,he is aware i ...

• Justice Jay Yao Amevor 10 years ago

Good players of Ghana, God watches from every angle and for that matter
    your money and the other things complained of would at all course be
    found,so never mind.

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

why should the guy arm himself with $10g in this technological age?

Oga, why? Prostitutes don't accept checks or credit cards? Apart from that, I don't see why anybody will carry that kind of money to Lesotho. For shopping? Don't think so.

• OpeibeaMyDaughter 10 years ago

Asamoah Gyan is rich and was just taken preventative measure that could happen in that part of Africa. I don’t see anything wrong if you have extra money and having such physical cash on you. Everything can change in that p ...

You sound really dumb indeed. If you carry such an amount on you, you don't leave it at your hotel room. Your problem is that you don't seem to know the universal hotel rule. Leave valuables for safe keeping with the front of ...

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

sheriff, you have said it all

• Adongo 10 years ago

Rich village boys,they need to be educated about how to handle valuables in a hotel

• Hammond bongaza 10 years ago

Waa _Love

• mos 10 years ago

cctv in africa? The thief is already in south africa.Tiny Lesotho is surrounded by south africa where crime is committed every minute.Be careful when when in that region.

• naija man 10 years ago

this is fake news.

• STAFFORD 10 years ago

Please, prevent theft, get BANK-CARDS-AS-YOU-GO !

• U O 10 years ago

i dont see why a pro like Gyan shld carry 10000 on him instead of visa or master card,do have to live the way our ground parents did?a lesson for as all

• 911 10 years ago

Thats their profession. Dem thieves got to survive somehow and they like guys who are happy showing off-

• Okpowurahf@gmail.com 10 years ago

The hotel must pay for every iterm stolen bcos its their resposibility to provid security to the players and their belongings.

OH WHY?

HOTEL NO GET SECURITY? STOP STAYING IN CHEAP HOTELS....

OKPOWURAH FRANCIS

• Joe navtajo 10 years ago

My jacket cost 3500 euro

• Jah jah man 10 years ago

Hard luck guys ths is Lesotho nothing is to be found.

• Kpanlogo Boy 10 years ago

Why did they think it was necessary for them to carry all that much money and other expensive items with them on a football trip?
    Were they trying to show off? Hopefully they have learned their lesson.

• grace 10 years ago

This is shameful. the hotel must be held responsible for this and pay back to the last penny!

• STAFFORD 10 years ago

Insurance...insuring property, life, one's person, etc., against theft, loss or harm arising in specified contingencies, as fire, theft, accident, death, disablement, or the like, in consideration of a PAYMENT proportionate t ...

• corby fiagbe 10 years ago

i cant just believe it robbers y

• papillon 10 years ago

patronise current technolgy

• Kobby 10 years ago

As international travellers or persons who patronise hotels they should know that valuables are not to be left in hotel rooms that they are to be kept in the hotel front desk safe.
    Some of these guys are daft.

Yes, you have to be daft to pay 35,000 for any kind of jacket.

• OpeibeaMyDaughter 10 years ago

The statement could be read as the jewelry and the bracelet included to that amount. So you guys to chill. After all it is his money and how he uses it is his own business.

Do you understand English where the language used is very clear about the price of the jacket? Where did you get this idea that the 35,000 include the price of bracelet or jacket?

It is his money as you said but it casts a ...

• Busumbru 10 years ago

Too bad, but some of these players do things to show off without thinking. I sympathise with them, but I am also convinced that it will teach them some valuable lesson that money cannot buy..

• Daavi 10 years ago

THEY SHOULD FILE FOR INSURANCE PAYMENT FROM THE HOTEL.

• Daavi 10 years ago

WHAT HAPPENED?

• ibrahim fati 10 years ago

dis is strange,was there no camara in de hotel or what.what class of hotel were they logeg?

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO www greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot com

• Abena 10 years ago

Oh Africans...when at all are we going to change? the culprits should be punished severely..

• Kofius 10 years ago

A player resigned after AFCON 2012 in Equa-Guinea but was rewarded with the captaincy when he was begged to return. Please leave Ayews and KPB alone. They are also human like the Twi players in Black Stars

Stop being an idiot. KPB is not a Northerner but the faqther is an Akan who speaks Twi. Fools like you always want to divide Ghana with your low self esteem tribalistic nonsense.

Morons like you always want to divide the c ...

• TUNDE 10 years ago

Valuables are not kept in hotel rooms.They should be handed over at reception for safe keeping.
    FOOLISH BOYS

• NANA YAW 10 years ago

i will advice gyan not to have huge amount on him next time, thats is not safe.

• Abdul Aziz Mohammed Sadat 10 years ago

it is with the workers there

• Pheshepeshe 10 years ago

Gyan is lieing, how can he travel with such amount of money? Pure lie we are not fools you idiot.

• Kata 10 years ago

I guess they went buying services from prostitute alongside kingsway street.Lesotho is a nice place, ask ur bros & sisters who live in the mountain kingdom, Mr Editor, be specific, ur boys went for sluts.

• Methodeman 10 years ago

That is the only pride losuthu can do for thier country

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Invest your money!

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Madam,
    Don't blame them for their loss.
    Blame it on the GFA for handing physical cash to the boys whilst in camp. They could have electronically paid the boys in a bank to bank transaction.

It is quite an irony that, so ...

• Papa Marshall 10 years ago

Those swimming in the pool of wealth have the gut to display their wealth in jewellery even @ a place where concentration is needed most. To me, it's one of the ways of sharing wealth in the society. For what should I worry ...

• Mallam-usa 10 years ago

Is the jacket made of Gold? :(

• Daniel 10 years ago

Although its not right for the theft, but do you need all of that in a hotel room whilst in camp preparing for a match?

• Papa kweku 10 years ago

I am in doubt to believe the values of the stolen items. The question is why carry such expensive items and money for a football games.The truth is yet to be told.

• akosua 10 years ago

Thank you. The only comment that goes with my doubt. These guys are lying. Muntari 35,000euro's watch and Gyan 10,000usd. Please, you might have been robbed but don't exagerate.If its true then these guys are really kobolo gu ...

• fo kofi 10 years ago

they could have kept these goods and cash in the hotel safe. This has happened before so why take the risk. They should have known better. Better luck next time

• OSEI STEPHEN,NORWAY 10 years ago

EVEN WE SHOULD GIVE THANK TO GOD THAT NO GUN OR BLOOD,WHAT HAPPEH TO TOGO TEAM IN SOUTH AFRICA.DENGROUSE PLACE.

• Kwame, Holland 10 years ago

35.000 USD jacket? 10.000 USD cash in your hotel room?

Apart from apparently being profligate spenders a.k.a. squanderers like our politicians, the common sense of these footballers may well be doubted ! Another proof of t ...

• CK 10 years ago

Why travel with so much cash and expensive jewelry. This should be a lesson to them, keep such items in a safe at the hotel.

• naija man 10 years ago

this is fake news, black star players are rubbish.

• BLACK-STAR-COAST 10 years ago

NO EUROPEAN WOULD BELIEVES ON THAT AMOUNTS OF MONEYS STOLEN FROM THAT GUY
    ON PERSONAL EFFECTS,THERE ARE NO PROBLEMS WITH THAT,BUT,10.000 DOLLARS
    ARE VERY HUGE AMOUNTS TO BE CARRY ON
    PERSONALLY ACOMPANIED

• Fatman Sackey 10 years ago

very bad on de part of de Lesotho's but hope de stolen items wil b retrieved bak 2 dem

• Duke Wilson 10 years ago

Let's live and see how Lesotho Police will handle this issue after getting a clear evidence from the CCTV. WOW, it's good to have so much on you and even waste it. How funny, to carry such an amount on you in this computerize ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

This is incredible!How can one carry so much money on him? Doesn`t Gyan have a credit card?Valuables are always deposited at the Reception for safe keeping!

• PEKI TUMU 10 years ago

With their experience they were foolish to trust the hotel room security. In lowly hotel rooms in The Gambia. my t-shirts and radio were taken. the Staff think traveling africans are rick to be ransacked

• Sanam 10 years ago

Our folks and players should always remember that you never leave your valuables in a hotel but rather either leave them home or leave them at the courtesy desk to be rcorded in their books that way if anything happens the ho ...

• Oteng- U.S.A 10 years ago

GFA FAILED TO DO THEIR ASSIGNMENT AS FAR AS HOTEL SERVICES ARE CONCERNED.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WAS IT WORTHY FOR THESE PLAYERS TO HAVE TRAVELLED TO A POOR NATION OF LESOTO, WITH SUCH A HEAVY AMOUNT OF MONEY.

DID THEY GO THERE FOR A CHARITY PROGRAMME OR WERE THEY THERE FOR FIFA'S WORLD FOOTBALL QUALIFICATION FOOTBAL ...

• Citizen 10 years ago

Why would anyone in his right mind carry such an enormous amount of cash on him? Hasn't Asamoah Gyan heard of a credit or debit card? I am really baffled. If you want to leave such valuable items in your hotel room, lock t ...

• eu 10 years ago

the bastard of a man should be taken in by their police and deal with him

• Joe Penis 10 years ago

Has Asamoah heard of credit cards and travellers checks? No intelligent person in todays world goes about with cash? Ths is 21st century but these imbeciles still act 15-century.

• Dddddd 10 years ago

That money was for bribery. It is for Akwasi Appiah and GFA Boss.

• Joe Penis 10 years ago

Who buys a Jacket for $35000 euros? Fools? What kind of Jacket is it? Is it made of human skin and diamonds? Baloney for sale.

• MV.Dodoo, usa 10 years ago

It is necessary to take such huge money and expensive watch, to your camping and to the hotel?

• Concern Ghanaian 10 years ago

Just travel with some security men to prevent this from happening again.

• stevoo US 10 years ago

The report meant all that was stolen from muntari was worth about 35,000.00 not just the jacket!!!!