You are here: HomeSports2013 06 12Article 276724

Gyan not Black Stars top scorer

Read Comments Comments (62)

• GHFUO, LOVE YOURSELF! 10 years ago

LAZY, PRIMITIVE PPL IN GH. WE RE NOT SERIOUS ABOUT ANYTHING....THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WE DONT KEEP RECORDS, AND FAMA NYAME ATTITUDE

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

WHAT A PRIDEFOOOOOOOOL COMMENT.

WHEN WILL U LET GO OF MY BALLS, MASSA.

• KAY 10 years ago

that was funny

THIS FOOL IS SABOTAGING EVERYTHING I DO ON GHWEB. HE USES MY NAME. I CHANGE MY NAME, AND HE DOES THE SAME. I DONT KNOW WAT HE/SHE WANTS FROM ME. HE PROLLY WATS TO BE ME....LOL

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

April 4th, 1975

Scores - Ghana 6 - Ghana 0

Ghana vrs Ghana
    6 0

Kwasi Owusu scored 2 goals against Ghana in an international match, LOL.

GYAN, THE GFA ARE JUST PULLING YOUR LEG. THEY R SIMPLY MOVING THE GOAL POSTS BCOS THEY WAT YOU TO SCORE AGAINST LESOTHO N ZAMBIA. THIS IS HAUSA KOKO N KOOSEY. U WILL SCORE 2 GOALS AGAINST LESOTOHO, 2 AGAINST ZAMBIA....U WILL ...

• julu 10 years ago

Olympic qualifiers dont count, stupid

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

LOL....OH my country Ghana. How can we give Kwesi Owusu credit for playing against ourselves. We need to wise up and stop being inward looking.This article is crap and useless. The 2 GOALS for Kwesi Owusu for the 1975 Ghana v ...

• osdart 10 years ago

Asamoah Gyan still I'd my number 1

• Osei 10 years ago

I BELIEVE YOU CAN SURPASS THIS RECORD AND SET YOUR OWN VERY SOON. GOOD LUCK

• Nii Gbemi 10 years ago

Oh my God!!!, Still poor record keeping..In this day and age we as a nation still have very poor record keeping records. It has been stated longest time that Abedi has the most goals and as soon as it is broken "somebody" com ...

• ONUA 10 years ago

Please, it's BOFOAKWA TANO [REAL BOFO].Yeah, Kwasi Kwaduo was great, humble, selfless and above all disciplined. Remember Nigerian 'keeper Okalla slapped him, and he did not reply?

• CEREBRAL 10 years ago

Why are we so elated by emotion and oral tradition. Why are we so emotionally charged against research and facts. Why can't we preempt the statistics of our talented athletes. For example who has more assists versus goals, wh ...

• CEREBRAL 10 years ago

Are We There Yet?

• NPP 10 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE UNGRATEFUL,KWASI OWUSU IS THE PAST BEST PLAYER,GHANA HAS EVER HAVE,HIS COMITMENT TO HIS COUNTRY IS UNBELIEVERBLE,OH MY GOD.

• From Crab Nebula!! USA 10 years ago

Where are they now any one know?

• Antonio 10 years ago

Asamoah Guan hasn't quit soccer yet why big deal with just two point difference. It seems some reporters have noting share.

• Augustine, Manchester. 10 years ago

Did you really mean Ghana 6-0 Ghana in the list published as quoted below?
    "06/04/1975 Ghana 6-0 Ghana: Kwasi Owusu 2 goals, Olympic Games qualifier" Please clarify this one because it seems confusing and senseless.

• Meman Nti 10 years ago

I wanted to say the same Ghana V Ghana for Olympic qualifier and secondly there is no BOFOAKWA united,it's BOFOAKWA TANOT,the writer should come again

It was against Nigeria!!

• Methodeman 10 years ago

1975 olympic quali i dont understand

• TUMTUO 10 years ago

It could be Ghana vrs Guinea.

• Bobby 10 years ago

Great Kwasi Owusu. God bless the writer for the research

• TECHSTORE 10 years ago

so Abedi Pele is nobody... soon he will be moved to about 40th

• salis 10 years ago

my friend techstore, remember there is a clear difference between abedi's position and gyan. Remember abedi was a midfielder and gyan is a striker. so this distinction needs to be clear. And again please remember not to say t ...

• REALITY 10 years ago

All the players deserve credit, it is wrong for you to comment that Abedi is a nobody, please, your comment is baseless. Abedi did not only scored goals but he won African best player tittle 3x in line,the first to do that in ...

• ??? 10 years ago

WHY DON´T YOU SAY OSEI KOFI IS NOBODY OR THE REST.WHEN WE ARE TALKING ABOUT STRIKERS HE IS THE MAN.JUST GIVE THE PASS AROUND THE 18BOX AND HE´LL DO THE REST.KWASI OWUSU ´´AKA´´BALL NA ME FIFE.

• Kojo 10 years ago

Kwasi Owusu is not to be credited with Goal Na Mafefe. It was Abukari (Kotoko) another prolific goal poacher for Ghana who said that. If it came to bullet shots you can only site players like:
    Edward Acquah (Real Republica ...

• Egya Nda 10 years ago

Can you please check the goals Kwasi Owusu scored against Niger in the 9-1 trouncing? I think Kwasi Owusu scored 6

• Wanlov 10 years ago

If FIFA don't have his record, why the fuck are we even talking about it? Idiots, they only come out when someone gets credited

• Godwin 10 years ago

We rush to apportion blame too often. Revise the Top 8 List

• nana 10 years ago

apuuuuuuuuuuuuu

• IKE 10 years ago

this is wrong and does not confirm the information unless edited.

06/04/1975 Ghana 6-0 Ghana: Kwasi Owusu 2 goals, Olympic Games qualifier

completely wrong. how can ghana score itself 6-0

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

bravo

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

Is this the Kwasi Owusu I read about when I was a kid, the prolific scorer called POWER HOUSE?

• KOFI OPOKU AGYEMANG, CLOVIS, CALIFORN 10 years ago

Yes, you are right. That's him, KWASI OWUSU, THE POWER HOUSE OF GHANA SOCCER.

• apertupre-usa 10 years ago

• 911 10 years ago

Zambia plans to present evidence to FIFA that national footballing hero Godfrey Chitalu (left) scored more goals in one season than Argentina’s Lionel Messi. Chitalu’s 107 goals in 1972 have never been recognised by footb ...

• zomabi 10 years ago

WE DONT EVEN KNOW HOW TO KEEP RECORDS, IT IS SUCH A SHAME, YOU CAN SEE HOW CONFUSED WE ARE AND WE SAY WE ARE MIDDLE INCOME COUNTRY, LORD HAVE MERCY

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT BABA YARA? I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT BABA YARA WAS THE MASTER OF ALL THESE FIELD PLAYERS JUST AS ROBERT MENSAH WAS FOR GOALKEEPERS.
    CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT BABA YARA ACHIEVED VIS-A-VIS GOAL TALLY?

He played in the 50s-60s. So you can just imagine what records they have. Zero at best. Plus most international matches were only West Africa based.

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

He floats along the touchline and with mesmerizing body swerea he cuts into the center circle and dribbles into the penalty box leaving a twisted and mangled wreckage of colliding defencemen in his wake. The person I am writi ...

• jb 10 years ago

Gyan and co are fake strikers...Kwesi Owusu was a real striker

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Edward Acquah was the best . What about Abeka Ankrah

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

I know Edward Acquah scored at least 34 goals for the Black Stars.
    The best amoung those goals were the 2 against Real Madrid on August 19, 1962. That was the game where the dribblers Baba Yara and Kwame Adarkwa pitched th ...

• adams 10 years ago

Gyan is da great among all ...

• Cap'n Planet 10 years ago

After the Pimp,Abedi had been dethroned is when they dig up archives.This sucks....however,Gyan is ahead of that pimp,and behind the Powerhouse.Great.At least,one selfless ex captain is still in the lead.

• J-Kay 10 years ago

"06/04/1975 Ghana 6-0 Ghana: Kwasi Owusu 2 goals, Olympic Games qualifier"

LOL!! No wonder he has so many goals!

• so 10 years ago

soo 2 more to go..

• MAHAMA and the North NDC 10 years ago

• Pythagoras 10 years ago

When I was growing up in the late 1960s, I heard some BBC news and commentary following the sudden death of Baba Yara. He was described as the Best Right Winger in West Africa, and that he scored a total of 50 goals in his f ...

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

Yes sir. You are almost correct. Baba Yara scored 50 goals in 49 games for the Black Stars.

• A cool guy 10 years ago

GFA must therefore reward these legends

• i knew it 10 years ago

this is when gfa is supposed to look for these legends to come psych the team for the bigger picture

• CECILIA AGYEPONG- BREKUM 10 years ago

DONT WASTE TIME ON THIS ARTICLE BECAUSE GYAN IS STILL PLAYING AND A MEMBER OF THE BLACK STARS.HIS SCORES WILL SOON JUMP AHEAD. I LOVE THAT GUY--OOOO.HE IS SUPERB AND WILL SUCK HIM UP IF I GET THE CHANCE

• Me4U 10 years ago

What or which archives? Edward Acquah scored a lot lot more goals for the Black Stars from (like) 1953 to 1964. Even Baba Yara must have scored about 50 goals before he was involved in the bus accident when he was returning f ...

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

Why the report omitted goals from CK Gyamfi and Baba Yara. The tally for Edward Acquah is obviously wrong. He was the goal-scorers goal-scorer. He and Bulldozer Mfum were players with high honour who never fake injury nor flo ...

• charles frimpong 10 years ago

please let us try to correct the mistakes but not to insult the publisher.gyan is good,pele was good,owusu,yara and co were also superb so lets give them all credits.

• Nyametease 10 years ago

I don't just understand Ghanaians and how we use this medium to encourage sectism.Whether Abedi or kwasi Owusu or gyan it is all for ghana. 33, 39 or 34 or more goals it is blackstars and not an individual who will always nee ...