who cares???? what is important is ghana blackstars. forget about selfish essien!! he is history!!!!!
COMPUTER DOCTOR - CHARLOTTE, NC, USA 12 years ago
We always have a right to express our views on issues. That doesn't make us right, always, unfortunately.
Essien is not the only player to have 'stayed away' from National duties for a while.
Think again before you insult ... read full comment
We always have a right to express our views on issues. That doesn't make us right, always, unfortunately.
Essien is not the only player to have 'stayed away' from National duties for a while.
Think again before you insult people. The guy is coming back to play for Ghana. And you say he's History? Well, be entitled to your opinion, but not all WELL-MEANING Ghanaians share that.
Give people a chance to 'correct' anomalies.
Mr.N 12 years ago
Tell him more if Essien is selfish he would take the match to his hometown after all who would point his left finger to his or her hometown there are many ways to serve Mother Ghana and he is doing the right.
GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 12 years ago
Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFM
gazy 12 years ago
lets give him some chance he can do better
GHFUO, LOVE YOURSELF! 12 years ago
I THIBNK ITS TIME FOR PPL LIKE ESSIEN, GYAN TO INVEST IN BIG BUSINESS IN GH...LIKE ASHGOLD MINES, AIRPORTS, TOR, COCOA FARMS ETC...BUY HUGE STAKES IN THESE BUSINESSES.THIS IS ONE WAY WE CAN BEGIN TO TAKE BACK WATS OURS....
AGYA MUNKO 12 years ago
Typical 'Obibini' (EOP)Pull him down is all we know.At least the guy has opened the eyes of foreigners and their perception of some 'black africa' might change because they have seen Ghanaian hospitality and the potential the continent as a whole possesses.
don`t care !!! 12 years ago
nice match anyway!
Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 12 years ago
This match though was just for fund raising, it really opened some of the fans, especially those who witnessed the match life, eyes to see the kind of players we, Ghanaians have. Let us begin from the defense.
John Mensah ... read full comment
This match though was just for fund raising, it really opened some of the fans, especially those who witnessed the match life, eyes to see the kind of players we, Ghanaians have. Let us begin from the defense.
John Mensah and John Paintsil still have what it takes to defend and could be a good back bone for the national team. The way John Mensah constantly stopped Maluda from penetrating the Africa XI defensive line, I have no doubt on his effectiveness in the national team if he is called to serve the country once again. If John Panstil will stop his unseriousness at the right back during national assignments, he will be a good back up for Micheal Essien at the defense. You may not understand it but I will be back to explain allow me to come back to that later.
In the middle, Dede should be called for he is still among the players the country possesses who can penetrate opponent's defense. Jordan Ayew, on the other hand, should be kept outside the national team for now. The reason is, he still demonstrates his elementary ball technique in terms of whom to give pass to and when to release his passes. As soon as he gets a ball, he looks to his brother, Dede, to give a pass. Even if there is no space to distribute the ball to his brother, this young man still forces himself through opponents' defense just to give the ball to his brother. That is not the way the game is played. Team work is the key. A player needs to regard team mates around him and give the ball to an open man.
Left Wing, Haminu Dramani could be a help and a back up to the strikers as well. Appiah should look to these players closely for we will need the best to encounter Zambia.
Now here was what I assembled at Accra Sports Stadium last Saturday during this game.
Micheal Essien could be used at the right full back position for John Paintsil to be his back-up. Essien has been used in this position by Jose Mourihno at both Chelsea and Real Madrid. Essien will be the Ivanovic of Chelsea for our country. This will allow Kissi Boateng to mature and have experience before calling him back into the regular line up.
Harrison Afful will have the free mind to mount-up his favorite position, which is the left full back.
Now we need 4 players at the heart of the national team. Call John Boye, John Mensah, Issac Vorsah and Jonathan Mensah. These are the best numbers 4s & 5s we have in the system at the moment.
The 4 defensive midfielders should have Sulley Muntari, Rabiu Mohamed, Wakasso Mubarack, Agyeman Badu
Right Wingers: Issue a warrant on Zambia by bringing in Dede Ayew instead of Albert Adomah. Adomah could back Dede up and come in when Andrea is not functioning well. Andrea is ready to join the national team with or without his little unfit brother, Jordan Ayew, and it is obvious.
Left wing: Use Atsu for Haminu Drammani to back him up.
Play Makers: Employ Kwedwo Asamoah there
Strikers: Asamoah Gyan could once again be paired with Richard Boakyie and have Warris and Adiyah as the back-ups.
This is my say
Kobina Bo 12 years ago
I care,anyway.How many honorable minister even think of kids in the orphanages?Leave the guy alone,after all,the current captain also retired prematurely from the BS team after Afcom games in Equatorial Guinea.He only came back when AA and Nyantakyi offered him the captains band.
Zambia will surely top our group and meet Cote D'ivoire in round 3 of the qualifying matches.Zambia is playing Sudan at home next week.
Ghanaman 12 years ago
You IDIOT! They would have to beat us in Ghana to do that which they can't do!!! hahahah Kwasea!!
Ka Na Wu 12 years ago
Zambia is playing Ghana in Kumasi.
The Stallion 12 years ago
"Zambia is playing Sudan at home next week." And so?
Tell me how Zambia will survive when they come to Ghana.
We need to start the game at 2 PM and hammer them well well, like say, 5 or 6 goals. We will load them.
Ka Na Wu 12 years ago
Do not worry the winner will be decided in Kumasi and not anywhere. It is 2-0 in favor of Ghana in September. We do not want Lesotho or any other country including Sudan to do our work for us. We do not want anybody to say "Sudan or Lesotho helped Ghana to go to the 2014 World Cup". We will go there on our own merit.
AGYA OTI 12 years ago
IS GOOD TO ORGANISE SUACH GAMES BRAVO ESSIEN.
PRINCE DOUGLAS UNITED ALL AFRICAN ENT 12 years ago
I AM SO MUCH HAPPY WITH WHAT ESSIEN IS DOING ..HAPPY TALKING TO OKOCHA TODAY....ONE LOVE GHANA AND AFRICA AT LARGE ......
Rasheed. 12 years ago
Zambia will top our group and meet Zambia in the final round of the qualifying series.No world cup for us.Says Rasheed. Any way Zambia 4 Lesotho 0,and Zambia is playing Sudan at home.
The Stallion 12 years ago
We will massacre Leso next week while Sudan is ripping Zambia apart in Ndola.
But all that is not necessary. We will load Zambia well well in Kumasi (the waterloo of foreign clubs).
In fact we have to load them like 4 or 5 ... read full comment
But all that is not necessary. We will load Zambia well well in Kumasi (the waterloo of foreign clubs).
In fact we have to load them like 4 or 5 to show them that they won the AFCON 12 by accident.
BRO DAN- TRC 12 years ago
NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, BLESSED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, INTO 'CANAAN' -'THE GAME OF HOPE' CALLED ALL LOVERS OF SOCCER AROUND THE GLOBE, GATHER TOGETHER ON BEHALF OF GOD, AND HUMANITY FOR THE SAKE OF THE GLORIOUS GATHERING, BRAZIL, 2014.
YEA, GHANA, AFRICA, AND ALL THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, WHERE THE CALL MAY BE, THERE -MUST WE GATHER. PULSE. NOW, -LET MY PEOPLE THINK. IT IS FOR THIS REASON THAT ALL NATIONAL SOCCER TEAMS AROUND THE GLOBE BY -DILIGENCE, "OCCUPY" UNTIL THEY ENTER INTO 'CANAAN', -THE GLORIOUS, GATHERING, BRAZIL 2014. "IT IS FINISH" THEREFORE, "OCCUPY TILL I COME" FOR THE SAKE OF FIFA SOCCER WORLDCUP 2014.
TOGETHER, WE CAN! WITH GOD, WE CAN! GOD BLESS AFRICA. GOD BLESS -AFRICA THANK GOD FOR BLESSING, GAME OF HOPE. GOD BLESS ALL NATIONS BACKING THEIR -FAITH- WITH -DILIGENT WORKS- UNTIL BRAZIL 2014. GOD BLESS THE GLORIOUS GATHERING, BRAZIL 2014. GOD BLESS THE -SURE- RETURN OF ALL THE "LIONS AND LAMBS" OF -THE BLACKS STARS, BOTH -HOME AND ABROAD, TO RETURN FOR THE SAKE OF AFRICA AND -THE GLORIOUS GATHERING. AND , GOD BLESS OUR HOMELAND GHANA.
THE LORD BLESS THEE, AND KEEP THEE; THE LORD MAKE HIS FACE SHINE UNTO THEE, AND BE GRACIOUS UNTO THEE; THE LORD LIFT UP HIS COUNTENANCE UPON THEE, AND GIVE THEE PEACE.
OSEI STEPHEN,NORWAY 12 years ago
GHANA HAVE WORLD CUP QUALIFIRE TO THINK NOT THIS AT THE MOMENT,PLEACE .
concern citizen 12 years ago
Write good english. QUALI.....WHAT...FIRE
ed 12 years ago
hahahaha you make me laugh "qualifire" lol
Awasaso 12 years ago
The great love for one's country.
Nyansasem 12 years ago
Some of you refuse to analyze things and always jump to conclusion. I, Nyansasem has not paid and will not pay a dime to watch any of Charity or Foundation game by a Superstar, be it soccer, basketball, hockey, baseball or a concert.
With the huge contract from their endorsements and the kind of money they make, I don't see why it is so difficult to take a million dollars to help the poor or needy without an event.
You want money to help the poor and the needy and yet has to organize this event to take the money from the same poor or needy and give it back to them. WHY?
After the Katrina Hurricane, I remember Garnett and Celine Dion giving one Million dollars each for the victims. After this year Oklahoma City tornado accident, Kevin Duran gave a million dollar without organizing any event. That is what is should be.
Anytime you hear a superstar organizing any event in the community to raise money for the poor by charging an entrance fee, it is a rip-off; that is how I see it.
Essien always refuses to play for the country, so I don't see this as a love for the country.
OB 12 years ago
You make some good points but do you have any idea how much money Essien has given to the foundation? The Katrina and OKC disasters needed money immediately to help the victims. The stars did not have time to organized a fund raiser event. You may not like Essien, but his approach has a long term effect. This is not the first time a rich man has raised money to help the poor. To ensure that the Foundation's programs are sustainable, this is the right approach.
Nyansasem 12 years ago
Check on Tiger Woods' foundation and see how he makes profit to help to the young ones. He goes to the rich in Vegas and find sponsors to rake in money and bring the money to inner city; that is what is done. Don't take it from the poor. In Ghana, poor people are the one who watch soccer, not the rich. I for one don't believe in "Robbing Peter to pay Paul" foundations.
I say the same thing about Beyonce foundation too and many of the stingy black artists and ballers. Kobby can buy a 4 million dollar ring for appease his wife for his whoring ways and yet has to go to the community to rip them off and give it back to them. Excuse moi!
ray 12 years ago
this is funny i dont understand this
ed 12 years ago
only few people went for the game
Zikpedoda 12 years ago
Well done boy,for all these all time greats to agree to follow you to ghana means a lot.thank you and God bless you for ur effort.say hello to Akosua puni
haj paris 12 years ago
a perfect report from a qualified sports journalist i think the ghanaweb sporting journalists should take a lesson from you kudos
cgristop 12 years ago
Brav, Essein & heros
lion king 12 years ago
lovely one/
lovely one/
JiMY SOMER 12 years ago
The nuture is too hot
hoo-yah 12 years ago
good jog Mr Essien the world luv
Brandford C. Sykes 12 years ago
Essien or no Essien Ghana will by all means go to Brazil come 2014.Cheer up Black Stars!!!
Think again before you insult ...
Typical 'Obibini' (EOP)Pull him down is all we know.At least the guy has opened the eyes of foreigners and their perception of some 'black africa' might change because they have seen Ghanaian hospitality and the potential th ...
nice match anyway!
John Mensah ...
I care,anyway.How many honorable minister even think of kids in the orphanages?Leave the guy alone,after all,the current captain also retired prematurely from the BS team after Afcom games in Equatorial Guinea.He only came ba ...
folks lets lace our boots for lesotho zambia crushed lesotho 4 nil
Do not worry the winner will be decided in Kumasi and not anywhere. It is 2-0 in favor of Ghana in September. We do not want Lesotho or any other country including Sudan to do our work for us. We do not want anybody to say "S ...
In fact we have to load them like 4 or 5 ...
NOBLE PEOPLE OF AFRICA, BLESSED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, INTO 'CANAAN' -'THE GAME OF HOPE' CALLED ALL LOVERS OF SOCCER AROUND THE GLOBE, GATHER TOGETHER ON BEHALF OF GOD, AND HUMANITY FOR TH ...
Some of you refuse to analyze things and always jump to conclusion. I, Nyansasem has not paid and will not pay a dime to watch any of Charity or Foundation game by a Superstar, be it soccer, basketball, hockey, baseball or a ...
You make some good points but do you have any idea how much money Essien has given to the foundation? The Katrina and OKC disasters needed money immediately to help the victims. The stars did not have time to organized a fund ...
Check on Tiger Woods' foundation and see how he makes profit to help to the young ones. He goes to the rich in Vegas and find sponsors to rake in money and bring the money to inner city; that is what is done. Don't take it fr ...
Brav, Essein & heros
lovely one/
The nuture is too hot