You are here: HomeSports2013 05 24Article 274987

Ghana names 25 for World Cup double

Read Comments Comments (138)

• Agyaaaaaa 11 years ago

Pick the best eleven out of this lot.

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Well well well I do not care who wear the Black Star shirt as long as we beat Sudan and Lesotho. It the coach's job to pick the players and I am only looking for results. By the when was the last time Dominic Adiyiah played ...

• Sanatama 11 years ago

Kwarasey and Vorsah are out with injury.They are not playing for their teams now because of injury.I admired Adiyah but after winning his golden boots at the youth world cup he has disappointed anytime that he given the chanc ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

ALBERT ADOMA AGAIN? WHY ISAAC COFIE?
    WHY DOMINIC ADIYIAH?

TWEAA, REPLACE ADOMAH WITH ABEYIE. REPLACE COFIE AND RABIU MOHAMMED. REPLACE ADIYIAH WITH AFFUM
    USE KWADWO ASAMOAH ON THE LEFT WING.

• Methodeman 11 years ago

Keep quite fool what do u know about football

• Fenix Flagstaff Haus Golden Jubilee 11 years ago

AA, most fans are saying that they don't care how you alter your selection, but Mike Helegbe and Mohammed Yakubu belong in the team, because the fizik, well built Sudanese can be a tough nut to crack at times.

We need a ...

IM WITH U ON YAHAYO MO, BUT NOT HELEGBE. ADIYIAH, COFFIE N ADOMAH HAVE PAID WELL, WELL....
    ABEYIE, AFFUM SHOULD HVE BEEN CALLED. K ASAMOAH MUST BE USED ON THE LEFT FLANK.

@METHOD, MOST EUROPEAN CLUBS WEAR JERSEYS WITH A C ...

• KYINKYINGA UNITED 11 years ago

FRIENDS OF ZAMBIA?MORE OF TRAITORS OF GHANA

• Benjamin akoto amoako 11 years ago

Is essien coming back to the black stars

• False Prophet 11 years ago

Try 2 buy your self a news Paper B.A.A, you will become to know more about football (futbal) across the globe and Ghana as a whole.

If you don't have a pesewa to buy your self a news paper then get closer to the internet.

• aziz@gmail.com 11 years ago

Richmond Boakye Yiadom, not Richard Boakye Yiadom.

• Slimzay *Unshakable Shaker* 11 years ago

I don't think you are right, Sir. Check the name again.

• Mr.N 11 years ago

What a world Richmond and Richard which is which where is Boakye Yiadom's father please come here and clear the air. I am laughing all the way.

I had always known him by the richmond

• Ebenezer Yeboah 11 years ago

i think this squad is not all dat best they should have eliminate solomon asante oye ofunu and too smallish

• roy,usa 11 years ago

I think you are right yeboah. I don't know much about soccer but he looks too soft to me

• Soso 11 years ago

Yes you are right. He is too small and he keeps on falling all the time.

• Josh 11 years ago

Yeboah, you are right.I think Solomon Asante is too tiny and not on point most of the times when he is needed.His judgements are not accurate.

• JKB 11 years ago

He might be physically disadvantaged but he can be effective somewhere on the field. Besides, he is one of the few forceful guys among the team. Bear in mind that Messi is not that bigger than Solomon...but we know what he ca ...

• RAS-VULTURE 11 years ago

Height and weight somehow is an advantage to a player but that alone isn't the yard stick in measuring good player.During the just ended AFCON which of the BLACK STAR players played better than SOLOMON ASANTE besides WAKKASO ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

He did miss that chance against Burkina Faso and he was fed perfectly by Kwadwo Asamoah. That was a critical play. A bigger stronger player would power that in...just my two peswas....

• WISE-TALK,UK 11 years ago

ghana will never go to brazil,i wish ghana out.

• ROMANO 11 years ago

ameeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen

• RKB USA 11 years ago

I DONT THINK YOU ARE FROM GHANA. GHANA
    WILL GO TO BRAZIL BY THE GRACE OF GOD. AMEN

• OKOROMANSA 11 years ago

ANY REASON FOR THESE 2 OMMISIONS - VORSAH AND AKAMINKO? IS ANYBODY THINKING THAT THOSE NEW NAMES FOR DEFENCE ARE BETTER THAN AKAMINKO OR WHAT?

• KKB 11 years ago

YOU ARE VERY FUNNY

• Arafat 11 years ago

you are a stupid fool.

• NameWithheld 11 years ago

BARBARIC NIGERIANS. KILLING INNOCENT SOLDIERS IN LONDON. THE TWO GUYS WHO HACKED DOWN AN INNOCENT SOLDIER BEAR NIGERIAN SURNAMES. THEY ARE OF NIGERIAN HERITAGE

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

Fuck nigeria

• WANGO 11 years ago

AND YOU'LL NEVER HAVE PEACE IN HOME TILL BOKO HARAM GETS YOU ,MAY ALL THE GODS IN GHANA CURSE YOU A DEVIL INCARNATE ,MOTHERFUCKER .

• WOFA WOHOO 11 years ago

we going to wc go n hang yourself after that

• AMERICA LOVER 11 years ago

NIGERIAN BUSH MAN,JELOUS WILL KILL YOU.EVIL DOERS,KILLERS.

• KMAN 11 years ago

Nigeria will always be a hellhole.I wish book-haram takes over the country

• ROGUE LAWYER 11 years ago

GOD BE WITH YOU guys -
    I will realy missed the Action man frimpong -, wish him a speedy recovery

• BJ 11 years ago

HMMMMMMMMMMM.

• BJ 11 years ago

I'm afraid he is not among the best.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

I beg your pardon but Rabiu Mohammed has been a rock as a defensive midfielder for this team. He and Wakasso are the core of this team for the next four years. Please review the Sudan game in Kumasi and watch Rabiu carefully ...

Tell them again, because some other gus just burst out and say their nonsense without gathering facts.

• roy,usa 11 years ago

new prayers every game, why?

• BJ 11 years ago

Why drop Paintsil and Vorsa?

• Soso 11 years ago

The Black stars will be in difficulty without Isaac Vorsah.

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

Vorsa is injured and will be out for about three months. Paintsil is old and not playing regularlaly at his Israel team.

• BJ 11 years ago

although Paintsil is old, he is very experienced.

• Africanus 11 years ago

If you are talking about experience, then maybe we should include Abedi Pele, Abdul Razak, Anthony Yeboah and others. In football as in every other endeavor the old give way to the young at some point. Why do some people fin ...

I love that!

• Soso 11 years ago

so many excellent players.How to match the best eleven is the problem until now.

Goalkeeper:- Dauda
    Right Full Back:- Richard Kissi Boaten
    Left Full-Back:- Harrison Afful
    Central Defender:- Awal Mohammed
    Central Defender:- John Boye
    Defensive Midfielder:- Rabiu Mohammed
    Defensive Midfielder:- Issac ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Why are you playing one striker? Sudan has nothing to lose we need to win I understand your logic that offensive midfielder in the person of Wakaso and Muntari can all score goals why not play one defensive midfielder and br ...

• Johnny 11 years ago

We need to start and get used to playing two strikers. We need goals!

• cofie 11 years ago

where is K. ASAMOAH?

• Soccer Star 11 years ago

Some of these players are too mediocre.

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Apart from Gyan who paradoxically fits a perfect description of a once awhile world striker, I don't see Adiyia, Yiadom and Mahatma as prominent.
    MRAA needs stalwarts, the likes of Abeyie, Nyarko and Oduro upfront manning th ...

• Appletus 11 years ago

Where is Kwarasey , Essien and Prince Boateng. The Ayews are excluded too.
    What is going to happen? A spanking from of course. We never learn at all.

• dimo-the gato 11 years ago

take kwarasey out from the fools

• Kwadjo Frimpong 11 years ago

You are the biggest fool idiot. Have you ever serve your country in any form kurasini.

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

You don't follow the news.Kwarasey is out with injury. The other Players you mentioned are still retired from Blackstars at their own volition, let them enjoy their retirement.

• Arafat 11 years ago

Adam Kwarasey is due for surgery. We do not have to beg essein, and the ayews to play for the national. It is the pride and honor for every player to play for her country, but if these players want the FA to come and bow to t ...

• Appletus 11 years ago

Dont get me wrong... Agyemang Badu, Kwadwo Asamoah, of course, Sulley are in top shape. What about the rest of these...guys?

• yaaro 11 years ago

akwasi appiah should add kp boateng and essien among

• Africanus 11 years ago

Which part of the world are you from. These guys don't want to play for Ghana anymore. No need for Kwasi Appiah to waste his time on them.

• Quabby Joe, USA. 11 years ago

ONLY A VERY FEW OF THESE PLAYERS ARE IN 'CLASS A' TEAMS ABROAD.THE REST ARE IN CHEAP 'CLASS C' TEAMS WHICH ARE NO BETTER THAN OUR LOCAL TEAMS. WHILE THE COACH MAY HAVE NOTHING SERIOUS TO DO, WHY CAN'T THE GFA ASSIGN HIM THE D ...

• KATAKYIE 11 years ago

I hope Nyantakyi is listening.

• sam 11 years ago

Sensible indeed! Do you think world cup is played in BABA YARA stadium? Ghana 4 Sudan 0. Ghana 7 Lesotho 0. Hurray!!! we do not need our foreign-based players. You guys amaze me. Ghana should hunt for the best talents needed. ...

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

bravo!

• OKRUMU 11 years ago

Do Ghanaians realize the importance of soccer as a tool of unity in our national existence? Then, let us organize and organize it very well.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

I think that CHAN 2011 demonstrated that the local league is not as good as we think it is. A mixture is always needed. Even foreign based players on "C" teams will have the drive and incentive to play well because if they ...

• Nelson, BRAZIL 11 years ago

I salute you,sir, for your sensible comment.

ADIYIAH, COFIE, ADOMAH DONT DESERVE SELECTION. AA, SHOULD BRING IN ABEYIE, AFFUM, YAHAYA MO. AND PLAY K ASAMOAH ON THE LEFT WING.

• KING 11 years ago

The football season is over look @ the players he now has @ his disposal....and look at the players he has picked i doubt Edwin Gymiah is of supersport is better than derek boateng and what is soo good about these Tp mazembe ...

• faithmoo 11 years ago

infact,dis is the worst selection i had ever seen in dis Ghana team.dis GFA man n his coach must quite immediately.

• Nana 11 years ago

The Team must work on their Penalty Skills at every Training session. Each one of them must undergo the Penalty skills.

• GASPINO 11 years ago

KWASI APPIAH THIS IS YOUR LAST CHANCE

• Nene Adekerker 11 years ago

Commentator - Wise Talk. May the Almighty God punish you for your comments Amen Amen Amen

• ROMANO 11 years ago

why?

• Adam 11 years ago

The problem with this team is, we do not have ball handlers or handler. This team needed Ayew Dede to handle the ball, score and distribute to others to score.
    This was number one problem during the CAF games in South Africa ...

• Kaduna Mafia 11 years ago

warris and vorsah are key ..sad they are not able...drop adomah

• where ia Abdul Waris? 11 years ago

I THINK HE IS BETTER THAN MAHATMA. THAT IS MY OPINION.

• King F3ts3f3, Mangoase. 11 years ago

Its now becoming increasingly clear to me that its now official policy to axe the Ayew brothers from all our national teams. This is sad indeed. I am not condoning any acts of insubordination / indiscipline, but lets face the ...

• oga yum yum 11 years ago

nobody forced the ayews to retire from the stars

they retired voluntarily, mr man so don't blame akwasi appiah.

the ayews' family should invent a mechanism to woo the guys to go back to the stars.

• Adongo 11 years ago

They can go to hell!

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Well Appiah is human and may have some problems with Abedi but I don't think he would transfer it to the young Abedi guys. We do not know the efforts he might have made to bring them back to the fold. What about if the Ayew b ...

• a.flex 11 years ago

why should adiyiah be part of the squad. he is not even better than yakubu mohammed. he does not deserve a place in this squad. akwasi appiah wake up

• Awal 11 years ago

Lets pray for Kwasi Appiah for a good selection.

• ozy 11 years ago

where is Emmanuel Frimpong

• A cool guy 11 years ago

This is a good selection so far aside injuries. Those who are currently injured are Isaac Vorsah, Emmanuel Frimpong, Adam Kwarasey among others. Dominic Adiyiah is more aggressive upfront which couls create chances for others ...

• READ y 2 dye 11 years ago

adiyiah is always at the right place at the right time. it was his header that almost led us to the semi-finals of the last wc. reverse colonial mentality,boycott voda-phone; one!

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

THE END OF KWASI APPIAH

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

SORRY KWARASEY

• sas 11 years ago

please where are these 2 players?

• Awal 11 years ago

Lets Kwasi Appiah for a good selection,during the matches.

• john kuffour 11 years ago

why do u left ayew brothers,non of the midfielder is better than enouck adu kofi,currently u can not compared adiya to samuel affum but because the managers are kotoko,check how many former kotoko players are in the squad ,ma ...

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 11 years ago

we shouldn't allow kwesi appiah and nyan tekyi hold us to ransom,they don't seem to know what football is all about.especial kwesi wants to cause havoc before he realises what dangerous game he is involving himself into.

• dddd 11 years ago

Well said, this guy has no clue of what he is doing.

• straw,holland 11 years ago

HOW many kotoko former players are in the team? MAY GOD SAVE GHANA FROM THE HANDS OF WICKED BLACK COACHES

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 11 years ago

ameeeeen!they don't have the country at heart.

• You are an IDIOT!! 11 years ago

FOOOOOOL

• Adjei sarpong 11 years ago

does it mean that all it takes to find ones way into the Black stars is to travel outside? Can those playing for TP Mazambe and those loose teams in South Africa be better than the best in our league?

And what have we done ...

• BAWUMIA GABON 11 years ago

You call ur self wise talk u are a big fool. By the way is not ur fault b'cos for sure I know u are from the bush in the ashante region. U are the only people in Ghana with rubish and nonsense talk kwadwo OWUSU afriyie co b'c ...

• him 11 years ago

did you award yourself wisdom?i think all ashantis are wise than you.

• KOJO AFARI 11 years ago

this Ghanaian COACH BE YAWA OOO WHERE ARE THE ACCAMS,WARIS AND THE OTHERS

• KOJO AFARI 11 years ago

THIS COACH ALWAYS WANT NEW PLAYERS FOR NEW BRIBE AHHHH

• koo Tee 11 years ago

Ei!!!!

• Roc 11 years ago

i think kwasi appiah should be remindered if he thinks these matches are friendly...he should know they are part of the world cup qualifiers..

• kingsley Assagba 11 years ago

why akasi appiah did not pic the best goalkeeper in Ghana now ? foli adade of Dwafs

• kingsley Assagba 11 years ago

foli adade is the best goalkeeper in Ghana now ? cant akwasi appiah see him ?

• PROUDLY GHANAIAN 11 years ago

the locally based players are five not four: they are the three goalkeepers, rashid sumaila and mahatma otoo of kotoko and hearts respectively

• From Crab Nebula!! USA 11 years ago

This guy is scoring goals at will in Sweden!!!

• mark 11 years ago

dominic adiyah has no business here

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 11 years ago

SO NO AYEW, NO ESSIEN, NO KEVIN BOATENG?
    I HOPE THIS SQUAD QUALIFIES GHANA FOR THE WORLD CUP. AT LEAST, I EXPECTED AYEW TO BE AMONG THE SQUAD. WHAT HAPPENED WITH THE TALKS TO BRING AYEW BACK? NO UPDATE?

• him 11 years ago

are you a fool? This players retired, and nuts like you still vomitting bullshit. Get yourself informed before praticing vomitting bullshit.

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Where is Anthony Annan?

• aaaa 11 years ago

where are the young stars DEDE and AYEW.infact Appiah is really missing something.he shhould better go beg them back

• him 11 years ago

Go back to your ex- girlfriend who fucked with your brother and beg her to return to you.

• DAW 11 years ago

I THINK A DOG FUCKED YOUR MOTHER STINKY PUSSY AND SHE GAVE BIRTH TO YOU, WHY YOU ARE THROWING INSULTS TO EVERYONE HERE, MOTHERFUCKER U WILL SOON SEE YOURSELF NAKED ON THE STREET WITH YOUR WEED.IDIOT

• KB 11 years ago

Where is Abdul Warris? This guy is a good striker. I watched him play against Sudan at Kumasi Sports stadium and he was a delight to watch. Unless he is nursing an injury I will never understand why he wasn't invited this tim ...

• edwino pepe 11 years ago

Wise guy, you are a faggot..

• GC/USA 11 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH GHANAIANS WHY THEY CAN'T SEE THAT THE BLACK STARS TEAM IS BEING DESTROYED BY APPIAH AND WHO- EVER IS ADVISING HIM. WHEN DID GHANA RAN OUT OF QOALITY PLAYERS TO NOW SELECT PLAYERS FROM AFRICAN CLUBS? ARE THE ...

• BIG IDEAS 11 years ago

COACH APPIAH,PLS INCLUDE EXPERIENCED AND WELL ESPOSED PLAYERS LIKE AYEW BROTHERS AND GHANA'S BEST KEVIN BOATENG.PLS LOOK OUTSIDE THE BOX ,'YOU CARRY GLORY ONLY WHEN YOU ARCHEIVED GOOD RESULTS' MASTER APPIAH

• MATTHEW 11 years ago

THIS GUY IS A BIG JOKE. HE GOT NO CLUE

• Ben 11 years ago

Is this Togo squad or Which country

• Prince Brown 11 years ago

this squad for as a sports journalist i think it's questionable in the sense that,some of the guys in there haven't featured in matches involving their clubs and as a matter of fact we should pray that this gamble pays off ho ...

• ADAM SUALISU 11 years ago

The inclusion of Cofie is good but the exclusion of A-Majeed Waris is unfortunate

• Brother nti 11 years ago

There is no player in the squad who can control the game. Asamoah is good but not a Nr 10. we will be playing against 2 teams where we need to attack and control the game. Appiah needs some sort of plan - which i cannot recog ...

• Black Star 11 years ago

WHERE IS ??
    our future striker....

• PAE MU KA CONTIKLE BODI SEFWI BOY 11 years ago

I think the squad isn't dat bad. I'm suggesting to all that Ghanaians shuld expet victory at all cost becos all die be die by palm wine tapper in box mahatma otoo is promising kwesi appiah hasdone well for introducing more lo ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 11 years ago

When is Ghana playing Sudan and Lesotho?

• Rev. Daasebre 11 years ago

Why is it that they always call the young players and leave the old players. The old players have esperience than the young players,we need the old players with esperience.

• ojein 11 years ago

you sure you can make it with this

• ojein 11 years ago

you sure you can make it

ALBERT ADOMA AGAIN? WHY ISAAC COFIE?
    WHY DOMINIC ADIYIAH?

TWEAA, REPLACE ADOMAH WITH ABEYIE. REPLACE COFIE WITH AKAMINKO. REPLACE ADIYIAH WITH AFFUM
    USE KWADWO ASAMOAH ON THE LEFT WING.

• OSEI STEPHEN,NORWAY 11 years ago

HELLO MR APPIAH,OUR BEST COACH YOU HAVE FOR GOT THIS IMPORTANT BOYS, PENSIL,AKAMIKO,MAJII.CHANGE OTOO HE CANT MAKE IT HE IS GOOD FOR ONLY PHOBIA.

• solweziman 11 years ago

why was Majeed Waris not called????

• Bediako from gbuc 11 years ago

So akwasi did not call dede n broda

• Richard Tinkham 11 years ago

MASA,DOMINIC ADIYAH IS NO MORE BLACK STARS MATERIAL, HE SUCKS AND HE IS GOOD NO MORE AND ADIYAH INCLUSION MEAN,THE BLACKSTAR IS SELLING ITS WORLDCUP DREAM TO ZAMBIAS ALREADY.DOMINIC ADIYAH IS NOT GOOD.

• Ghana boy 11 years ago

where is Kwarasey the guy is good not to even include him is hash its sad.

• Abubakar 11 years ago

Where is Opare daniel

• mike gee 10 years ago

For the most part I feel like kwadwo Asamoah when invited to the black stars is like tony yeboah years ago. He's good in Europe but his contribution is not as good as how he performs in Europe. Now, b4 you say anything, follo ...

• Dave 10 years ago

The guys are your brothers so why don't u pray for them to do the job for you AA pick this pick that and for people that are throwing insults please stop is not good for you god have mercy on you say amen