You are here: HomeSports2013 03 12Article 267414

Ayews wrong to quit Black Stars

Read Comments Comments (67)

• ROKPOR 11 years ago

No player in the world could make intentions of not representing it country....national duties also count for player success.talk about,messi,ronald and many others,all feel proud to play for their respective country.let them ...

• Mr Truth 11 years ago

Hope Abedi Pele and his golden kids read this piece by Chris Opoku ,that's all to be said and a word to a wise is enough they say .

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

Christopher Opoku, you hit the nail right on the head. In addition I beleive that if the young men had remained silent, Ghanaians would have fought their fight for them. If there is some on who can talk to these young men let ...

• Chief 11 years ago

The Black Stars are bigger than each and everyone of the players. Gone are the days when a player would give a leg to play for the Black Stars even without the thousands the current players are making. They shd not think ...

• max 11 years ago

too many fish in our soup

• moyo 11 years ago

I do agree with the writer to some extend but what I don't agree is the fact he is against the Ayew's decision to quit the Black Stars. I do agree with the Ayews on the basis of the fact each and every one of us have our end ...

• Abeiku 11 years ago

People should stop making statements like "the Black Stars made them what they are!!!" The duo were already playing for OM junor team and were being courted by the french national teams before Ghana committed them! Even thei ...

• Nana Darkwa 11 years ago

GFA have always been like this since Adam, they like taking people for granted, these boys had every opportunity of playing for France but chose their truest motherland and then they being treated like some piece of s..t

F ...

• NII 11 years ago

What abt Asamoah Gyan?. The BS did not make Jordan who he is. Their father had a carefully prepared plan for them. People simply hate them

• julu 11 years ago

They don't need the black stars to be successful. I always watch them at Marseille. Good players. They can extend their club careers and make more money. Kwasi Nyantakyi can keep his shit

• Agya yaw 11 years ago

Marseille made them who they are today.Cannot play qualifying and been drop in competition.

• Kofi, China 11 years ago

I love your article. You hit things right on the head. I was expecting you to remind Ghanaians that it was Akwasi Appiah who first featured Jordan in the Black Stars against Sudan. This tells you he has nothing against the bo ...

• Zigi 11 years ago

Christoper, you said they would find it difficult to join the team should they qualify for th 2014 w.cup., and you also stated the monkey babooo they chop thing.
    1. were they not the same players who played for us to quali ...

• Gyaesaayo 11 years ago

You are dead wrong! Akwasi Appiah wasn't the first coach to featuer Jordan! Recall Jordan was in Gabon/Equitorial Guinea and Kwasi Appiah wasn't the coach!

• asante anto kwaku 11 years ago

let them go greedy bastards

• OB. JOSEPH 11 years ago

Let us be careful about this issues in order not to hurt the feelings of the other players of the Black Star Team. The two players are equally important as the rest of their team mates. Let us not cry over a spill milk,I will ...

• Ern 11 years ago

Why all this? People going on their knees to beg for forgivness and all? aba!! why? These boys and their father should know they are in the public eye and Ghanaians like to talk trash, therefore people will say all sorts of t ...

• ME 11 years ago

They don't need black stars to be successful in their career.

• Osei 11 years ago

come back boys , your country is your country. fight 4 Ghana.

• KOO-SWISS 11 years ago

What you & the Ayews deemed had forgotten is that they were called for the first time to feature the blackstars at the expense of other experienced and then regular players of the blackstar, those players kept their cool a ...

• siaw 11 years ago

they should fuck off! this is a WHOLE country they are toying with...not with relatives. there are 100s of players who would want to play. if they don't want to play...they should go. no one will beg them.

• Rasta 11 years ago

You can force a horse to the riverside but how do you force it to drink.No doubt the Ayew boys are good footballers but if we forcibly get them into the Blackstars against their will,their contribution will rather be a liabil ...

• KOKOLIKOKO 11 years ago

There's absolutely nothing wrong with the Black Stars management's not selecting Jordan to the AFCON! It's they who make the decisions and it's they who found Jordan not "good enough" to join the team to the tournament. End o ...

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 11 years ago

So why are you crying if Jordan says he's retired? You should know how stupid some of you Ghanaians are. Idiot.

Your mother, the ashawo, she's the kwasea and the idiot!!! Onye sorrmi! Your mother!!!

• Mr.N 11 years ago

You are making a point that selection of players is based on the Black Stars management does the player has the right to call a quit? Why all these nonsense from GFA and everyone who can find a radio or PC just let them retir ...

Yes, of course, the player has a right to quit! Go, he must! However, the fact that he has a right to decide whether to play for the national or not doesn't make him entitled to any justification from the management for not s ...

• KOFI YEBOAH 11 years ago

after all when they were part of the team in Gabon-Equitorial Guinea Ghana came fourth and South Africa Gh was fourth again so what's the difference. they shd bear in mind that they are not bigger than Ghana.JUST A PRIDE IN P ...

• Boss 11 years ago

And I thought our celebrated Abedi Pele who Ghanaians have cherished so much would be a good patriot and father. But listen to him. Why shouldn't I believe he is behind the sabotage as a disappointed GFA Boss and CAF rep, as ...

• bojo 11 years ago

you see the truth is that appiah, konadu and nyantekyi are a family of hungry brothers who are also tribalistic and can not send ghana football anywhere.See them dede alone is richer than all of them.Greedy bastards.these thr ...

• BASTEN 11 years ago

The truth is, the GFA is as corrupt as many state institutions. It is therefore difficult to tell why the boys were dropped for AFCON. CORRUPTION AND VENGEANCE frm AKWASI APPIAH cost Ghana the African cup. the coach and GFA s ...

• Onyame Akoa 11 years ago

No,I beg to differ. The boys have nothing to lose. They are French citizens and they do not need Black Stars caps for their contract improvements in any European club.The GFA and the ignorant cheap talk by many ignorant Ghana ...

• osei kingsley 11 years ago

the boys want to discredit the good work of gfa and kwasi appiah and also destroy the team exactely as their father did in the past they are not better than any one let them go with their bluff.

• Boss 11 years ago

Excuse me; did Jordan want to play the lead striker? In fact Gyan may not be the striker we want but please Jordan Pleaaaaase!

• Lala 11 years ago

GET OFF

• seniormax 11 years ago

I dont't care who says what!!! And I don't care whether these two brothers are at fault or not!!!
    The fact is that: "GFA officials are incompetent, and most often than not, lack real communication skills with regard to build ...

• ms nyc 11 years ago

Andre and Jordan please listen to me. if someone has angered you in any type of way the best revenge is to be the best that you can be. if it is a result of pure jealosy and hateration then make them hate even more. you boys ...

• CORRUPT FAMILY 11 years ago

LEAVE THEM OUT THEY ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR GHANA,MUNTARI,KELVIN AND ESSIEN IS THE PLAYERS WE WANT

• CORRUPT FAMILY 11 years ago

THEY ARE WANKERS AND CORRUPT LIKE THEIR FATHER

• k.k.t 11 years ago

chris,u have made your point but may i know whether all over the world when a coach drops a player from a squard selected fo tornaments,do the coach or the coaches explain to such players why they can not make up the squard a ...

• Taba 11 years ago

It appears every one is blaming the Ayew brothers for quitting the black Stars.. If the coach did not select then for the just ended African Cup surely he will not be selectinh them now. this is why Ghana is not developing wh ...

• Ishmael usa 11 years ago

Shame unto u and your father

• Ike 11 years ago

Abide pele hiself is jeluosey about Akwasi Appiah, and wish him to flop.
    Akwasi Appiah has be come black stare coach what a prestige. Ayews can go, Ghana will not die.

• ° ° ° O G I D I G I D I ° ° ° 11 years ago

what a great piece of advice and a great article. objective and nicely written! thumbs up!

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 11 years ago

I AGREE WITH THE WRITER BUT THE POINT WHERE HE SAID THEY FELT HURT,REJECTED IS TOTALLY NON SCORING.SO IF YOU ARE NOT SELECTED FOR A TOURNAMENT,DO U CALL THAT A REJECTED?DO THE AYEWS KNOW THEIR TYPES IN AFRICA WHO WERE NOT SE ...

• RAMZY-ABE 11 years ago

WHY CANT YOU LEAVE THE GUYS ALONE COS YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE GOING THROUGH AND BELIEVE ME GHANA IS GONNA MISS THEM WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT. THE AYEWS HAVE ENOUGH TO EAT, WHY DO YOU THINK THEY SHLD JEALOUS THE COACH.T ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 11 years ago

Please don't beg the Ayew Brothers to come and Play for Ghana Black Stars.
    These two Boys have discipline problem.They will bring disunity,and indiscipline in the Team.Let them go to hell.

• ASAFO KWAME SOWAH 11 years ago

Black Stars don't make players; they only expose them. This article failed to explain why athletes playing either in some obscure club or from the bench would be preferred to anyone playing in the 1st team of an European 1st ...

• JAH 11 years ago

WELL SAID

• Benson 11 years ago

I do agree with this writer 100% for all the good points he has made.

But one important point I want to add is that, the GFA should know football is the only advanced sport in our country.
    Therefore they should put the po ...

• kk 11 years ago

They are troublemakers just like their father who fought for captain's
    arm band only for Ghana to lose 7-1 in Germany.

• kk 11 years ago

They are troublemakers just like their father who fought for captain's
    arm band with aanthony Yeboah only for Ghana to lose 7-1 in Germany.

• Kwame 11 years ago

All Ayews are better than any player.

• Franklin 11 years ago

Life is about choice. Jordan is completely out of context when is comes to S.A 13. Andre had made a very big mistake and can never ever captain the stars. The stars belongs to the nation and not an individual. They shouldnt f ...

• Quophie 11 years ago

I see no wrong if the GFA asked Dede to apologize publicly, after all what he did was not private but public. I believe we must support the coach to instill discipline in the Stars' camp. We should NOT encourage the Ayew brot ...

• Abeiku - SW2 London 11 years ago

They r spoilt BRATS .. period .... Upset cos they did'nt have their way ...... Their Dad can stand by them as long as he wants like every Dad or most Dads will do fair enough but at d same time u let ur children know u can't ...

• albert 11 years ago

chris i agree with all u said and i think there is the possibility of the Ayews regretting some day.

• xavi 11 years ago

They're erronously thinking that they have the same talent as their father and as such they can bluff with their talent, but the truth is they're not up to that level yet.The coach has a right to select any 22 players he like ...

• okumi Nana 11 years ago

YOU ARE STUPID FOR THE FACT THAT U CAN'T EVEN SPEAK ENGLISH... # 2 U ARE BORED AND CAN'T FIND STORIES SO U CREATE ONE... 3RD GHANAIANS ARE STUPID AND KWASIAFUO OVER THERE SO U CAN JUST TELL THEM ANYTHING TO MAKE A STORY OR SO ...

• KOKO 11 years ago

PLS LIVE THE AYEWS ALONE.FOOOLLSSSS

• ron 11 years ago

GFA, Kwasi Appiah, Asamoah Gyan etc. are jealous of the AYEWS.

Knowing, this is the time to hand DEDE the captain band for Ghana to win back honours which had eluded us 30 years.

• Adanko 11 years ago

Did you think properly before writing this junk,talking about DEDE and his future captainshiip have you forgotten what Asamoah Gyan did? Foolish article

• macho 11 years ago

add good comments or give advises and stop insulting one another.

• kotoua selira 11 years ago

These people are messing with Ghanaian footballers and I think they should vacate for a better group to come and take over the black stars. They don't seems to know what they are doing:)

• zeee 11 years ago

bomboclaat.. they are rite..cuz theres too much politics in gh football.. all these must stop... itz gfa and kwesi Appiah's fault

• bojo 11 years ago

konadu, appiah and nyantekyi are hungry and greedy bastards who can not take ghana football anywhere.they should know that the abedi family is made and is always a respected family.Konadu played professional where did he go?a ...

• kwasi danso 11 years ago

Must great Players have played for their Countries not only to make their country proud but to prove how gratful they are to the people that suported them to where they are.Playing for your county means you want to carry your ...