You are here: HomeSports2013 02 11Article 264713

I am sorry - Kwasi Appiah tells Ghanaians

Read Comments Comments (108)

• ROCKET 11 years ago

Better luck next time!

• GHANAian 11 years ago

For me, His apology is not that we need.
    RESIGN -- PERIOD!!

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

Can you give us just 3 reasons the coach should be fired? Here is mine and think about it. Willy Klutse, one of our legends, statement is what I will base my argument on.

Some people will never allow patience to prevail be ...

• Efo Komla 11 years ago

He will get it eventually as Keshi did.

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

ADWEE LOOKING AA. AREA BURGER, AKROBETO LOOK ALIKE. IM SORRY!
    IF PLAVI WHO DIDNT GET ANY DEPUTY COACHING JOBS WITH GBSTAR COULD BE FIRED FOR NON PERFORMANCE AFTER BARELY 1 YR ON THE JOB.
    THEN THIS ADWEE LOOKING BB AKA AREA ...

• Ekumfi Akyen -Obamaland 11 years ago

This fool by name of GHFUO again?

• THE LIKES OF T YEBOAH, A PELE, O ADDO 11 years ago

GFA, what you guys need to do is to set up Ghanaian Legends Footballers Board to screen thoroughly for all the positions very good and effective players to represent Ghana and not old good-for-nothing rusted player to represe ...

• TinTin 11 years ago

I hear your argument for retention. My problem is, GFA was not patient with Plavi. Why was he fired? GFA made a point of saying he promised to win the African cup, he failed so he did not deliver. He was et go at a cost. ...

• moyo 11 years ago

Apology accepted that he is not fit for the job and has to do the right thing now. Resign or get fired with Nyantakyi

• Yamus 11 years ago

We don't need an apology. We were simply not good enough. The way forward is that you resign temporarily while on coaching course and allow Konadu to qualify the BS for the world cup. When you come back next year you can take ...

• Thanks 11 years ago

Blackstars were fed horsemeat, that is why

• Yamus 11 years ago

Great sense of humour

• Papa Dey 11 years ago

You cant learn on the job.You did nothing to help yourself.You dont have no clue in coaching.Please do us a favour and resign.

• payola 11 years ago

we are not calling for your sack because we failed to lift the cup but because of the way we are playing. Our game has gone back than when that serbian was in charge.When Goran lost Zambia, we outplayed them. When you lost to ...

• him 11 years ago

yes, we played absolute nothing.

U ARE SORRY...KWASIA, U ARE SORE(GET UP)....
    AH, WHY DO U THINK WE ALLOWED YOU TO BE THE DEPUTY COACH FOR ALL THESE YRS? SO U CAN LEARN ON THE JOB. U HVE LEARNT UNDER MILO, PLAVI. U HAVE BEEN TO 1 WCUP AND 3 AFCONS. STILL, U ...

• BALL ROLLING 11 years ago

I STILL BELIEVE THAT NAIJA AND BURKINA WORKED TOGETHER TO ENSURE GHANA REMOVAL. FROM THE GROUP STAGES TILL THE END IF YOU OBSERVE GOOD YOU CAN SEE THAT THIS TWO TEAMS HAD SOMETHING WITH EACH OTHER WHILE GHANA WAS THERE TO STR ...

LOOK AT UR STINKYFACE IN THE MIRROR N TELL ME IF U ARE A HUMAN BEING OR AN ORANGUTAN...REST UR CASE BCOS U FOOL PAS STINKY PUSSY....

His apology is accepted. I think he deserves a second chance. It is not easy to build.

By the way, who says building anything is easy? If we will look back at FC Barcelona, Real Madrid, Manchester United, Manchester City, ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

You raise important questions and I would like to respond. The United States of course has better resources, but as you say it has not been smooth for them. Truthfully they are not as passionate with football as they are with ...

CEREBRAL, I like your comment and no one is saying Appiah did great. He did his best but for a new and with that short time in office, I knew he wasn't going to do everything right.

Here is my question for you, Bro.

How ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

I for one do not buy your argument at all, Chelsea fired their coach and they went ahead to win Europe Cup. Akwesi Appiah has been an assistant coach for 6 years and if he did not learnt anything when is he going to learn. He ...

Was this what you wanted to do with your so called walatuwala-whatever? Do you think the operation feed yourself went on for just 10 months? Think again. Building a team takes time and with the way you were backing this coach ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

You should know that I am for results when are going to stop building our team we are always building our team. Charles Kumi (C.K.) Gyamfi took over the Black Star from Hungary Josef Ember in 1963 five months before the AFCON ...

• Ama Buoh 11 years ago

Sorry is not enough. Do the right thing and resign. You are clueless when it comes to strategizing in soccer. With your approach, Ghana might as well forget about qualifying for the 2014 world cup. Utter disgrace of nature.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Let us be real here. All the strategy in the world cannot help when a country does not have players who can put the ball in the goal. In the semi-final, Gyan and Solomon Asante missed clear chances when it was still 1-0. ...

IF PLAVI WHO DIDNT GET ANY DEPUTY COACHING JOBS WITH GBSTAR COULD BE FIRED FOR NON PERFORMANCE AFTER BARELY 1 YR ON THE JOB. THEN THIS ADWEE LOOKING BB AKA AREA BURGER/AKROBETO LOOKALIKE MUST ALSO BE FIRED FOR NON PERFORMANCE ...

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Let us face the reality of the business end of this. If European coaches are getting paid $45,000.00 per month plus housing and travel allowances, they should be held to a higher standard. Appiah gets less than half and goe ...

You made a great point there. Allow me to include mine to yours because it seems most of the fans are not understanding what is going on. There are a lot of things we need to consider before we can even think of firing the co ...

CAN U SEE A LOSER WHEN U SEE 1? THE NEXTIME UR DAUGHTER/NIECE SHOWS UP TO THE DINNER TABLE WITH SOME DUDE WITH TATTOOS, DREADS N SHABBILY DRESSED. TELL YOUR WIFE N YOUR DAUGHTER TO GIVE HIM TIME TO DEVELOP WAI......THE GBSTAR ...

IM SORRY MAN BUT U SEEM TO ME LIKE A MAN WHO IS VERY CONFUSED. WHO PUT A GUN TO AA'S HEAD TO ACCEPT THE TERM SO FTHE DEAL? LOOK AT THE TEAMS GH FACED IN THIS AFCON EDITION N COMPARE IT TO LAST YR? IF A WAS OUR COACH LAST YR, ...

• Anokwale 11 years ago

I was responding to the idea that since Plavi was fired Appiah should also be fired. My position is that for the amount Plavi or other European coaches get paid to come to Ghana or Africa, they should be fired if they do per ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

"In the semi-final, Gyan and Solomon Asante missed clear chances when it was still 1-0. We could have been up 2-0 and it would have been a different story. The coach cannot be blamed when players miss opportunities." In addit ...

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Keshi resigned after the NFF made him feel unwanted. Good for him. Now let Nigeria go and pay a European too much money. In addition, according to many who post on this site, we should insult Appiah and hire a European coa ...

• Karim fatawu 11 years ago

Kwesi appiah dnt worry next time. Wat is writting is writting.every single thing is giving by god.n god has giving it to nigeria.

• Ali Ibrahim 11 years ago

Kwesi Appiah must be retain again ,for i believe in his ability
    to provide in future he has already tested he will know what to do next
    but look for strong techinical bench
    for him and after every time metings to find so ...

• ghana 11 years ago

nyantekyi look for the way backwards because we cannot go forward with akwesi appiah in charge!

• Agada 11 years ago

Give him time please...dis is comin frm a Nigerian.

• BJ 11 years ago

This is not an apology. “each and every player, the technical team and the management team are all sorry for not bringing the cup”.

• Promise Son 11 years ago

Akwesi you've been forgiven. We know you have good things ahead for mother Ghana. Steve Keshie didn't do it in a single trial so don't worry about what some Ghanaians would say against you. We shall support you in prayers unt ...

• payola 11 years ago

Look nobody loves Akwasi Appiah more than me but this is football management.
    against Congo : We were praying for the game to end in a draw in the dying minutes because Congo almost came back to whip us 3 goals.

against ...

• One Love 11 years ago

AA it's not your fault so you don't need to be sorry. Like Payola you're also a good friend of mine but I'll not mince words in saying that you displayed some tactical inefficiencies/deficiencis in your leadership and that co ...

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED-GERMANY 11 years ago

IF THIS TRAINER CONTINUE;GHANA WILL MISS THE NEXT COMING WC IN BRAZIL::WE NEED LOCAL COACH THATS OK BUT NOT APPIAH::LOOK AT KESCHI::HE IS LOCAL TRAINER BUT LOT OF EXPERIENCE:::HE WAS EVEN ONCE MALI NATIONAL TRANER:I PREFER E ...

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED-GERMANY 11 years ago

SORRY ;I MEAN GHANA WILL NOT BE AT WC IN BRAZIL

• kofi 11 years ago

hahahaa, alhaji you said sorry for making mistake which has been accepted so why can't you forgive him after saying sorry.

• uknow 11 years ago

That is the spirit Ghana is gonna prove that their good at football come on blackstars

• Me 11 years ago

Please resign

• GC/USA 11 years ago

WHAT IS THIS GUY GOING TO BUILD ON, THE SAME TEAM YOU COACHED AND LOST OR ANOTHER SET OF PLAYERS AND HOPE THEIR TALENT WILL MAKE YOU LOOK GOOD. WHY DO YOU HAVE TO FORCE YOURSELF TO COACH WHEN YOU LACK THE KNOWLEDGE/EXPERTISE. ...

• A B R 11 years ago

must resign now

• asante 11 years ago

Appiah please do the honorable thing and tender in a resignation letter. You still have a future with the stars after you have coached some clubs in Ghana. It will be easy to return and claim the coaching position because you ...

• Adom Boakye 11 years ago

Hi Mr. Akwasi Appiah,
    Are you also sorry for all the dollars you are laughing your way to the bank?
    Recently, the Chairman of a global bank turned down his bonus.
    You need more club action to build up your confidence and c ...

• fufuo dadesen 11 years ago

That chairman got more money than Ghana. AKwasi should keep it,damn.

• One Love 11 years ago

What about the GFA officials? Do you think they're also SORRY? Hell NO!!! They got what they wanted win or lose and that's the per diem and bonuses. What a GOOD LIFE!!!!

TELLING ATAA AYI TO GO AND SIN NO MORE?...MUAHAHAHAAAA, U MUST BE HIGH OR VERY STUPID

• fufuo dadesen 11 years ago

,Make sure you don't repeat the same bad selection and tactics

• YAW 11 years ago

SHAME !!!

• Ransford 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah should not apologise to anyone. He did his best. Can anyone tell me which foreign coach has been in charge for just ten months and won anything at that level? Ghanaians must learn to be grateful.

• JOHNSAM 11 years ago

WHAT GHANAIANS WAITING FOR ?PLEASE LET THESE MAN QUIT ASAP.IF PERSUASION FAILS FORCE WILL BE APPLIED.THANKS.

• Ern 11 years ago

You picked the best players, but they were not up to scratch.
    Keep trying!

• jb 11 years ago

Gyan is your fault.. has been the reason for Ghana's under performance in th last two years

• NOB 11 years ago

Yea, we have accepted his appology but that shouldn't change the authority's mind to get raid of him.I am not a coach but druing the games anything that i would say all came to pass.Example; the game b/n GHANA and BURKINA FAS ...

• TRUTH 11 years ago

Asamoah Gyan and John Pantsil should leave the team and make way for younger players. Ghana must also build on their stamina.

• Koo Nana 11 years ago

I saw a progressive build up in the team. First, he qualified the boys to the Championship. Coach Akwesi Appiah played a couple of test matches to clean up the rough edges, with great results over Egypt and Tunisia.
    At the A ...

DEY DERE....IRON PASS IRON...
    U CALL PLAYING AGAINST EGYPT N TUNISIA REAL TESTS? U ARE A DREAMER....LOOK AT THE AMOUNT OF EXPERIENCE HE HAD AS DEPUTY COACH? PLAVI DID THIS AS FIRST TIME COACH N EVEN HE WAS FIRED. RACIST GHPP ...

• Jason 11 years ago

With all respect,

If ghana is going to play like this, then I have to say that they will never win a African cup and worldcup qualifications will be even harder.

It is time for him to make room because he failed and som ...

• jb 11 years ago

These guys can help with scouting, player development and selection. Together they are a great resource for Ghana...Polo is unemployed and always complaining. GFA can use him.. he still has soccer knowledge to impact...These ...

• fk 11 years ago

sometimes people talk like they eat shit,look at him A,A man u are a great failure so far my bother if i were tobe u i would have resign.first all u are out of idears very poor sighted for me that is what ican say peroid

• hawalee99 11 years ago

u need to be studying u cant even spell, instead u telling AA how to do his job, PLEASE GET SOME EDUCATION IDIOT, any foolish man can watch tv and say what they want, have u even gone to see i live match before u scumbag

• Ghanaian Okie from Musgokee 11 years ago

Congrats.Coach semi- finals is good enough.Blackstars weren't up to the task.Gone were those days when any dominant team can walk over a lesser known team.Plus moreover it's just a game,somebody got win or lose.Look at Ivory ...

ADWEE LOOKING AA. AREA BURGER, AKROBETO LOOK ALIKE. IM SORRY!
    IF PLAVI WHO DIDNT GET ANY DEPUTY COACHING JOBS WITH GBSTAR COULD BE FIRED FOR NON PERFORMANCE AFTER BARELY 1 YR ON THE JOB.
    THEN THIS ADWEE LOOKING BB AKA AREA ...

• Sarskoberta 11 years ago

Common courtesy costs nothing, yet it returns dividends nearly a thousandfold
    if it is practiced as a matter of habit
    in a spirit of sincerity.

Today,there remains a crying demand for those individuals who understand tha ...

• Appletus 11 years ago

You broke our hearts with your lack of knowledge and now you say sorry. Could you not have refused the position at the time of appointment if you knew you did not have the wherewithal to deliver?
    Now they talking about wasti ...

• Kpakpo Allotey 11 years ago

Is the GFA the owner of the Black Stars the the President of the FA can unilaterally decide for all Ghanaians? The poor performance of the Black Stars is the worse in recent times and I shudder to think that we have a chance ...

• Berto 11 years ago

Has anyone thought about getting Kwesi Appiah to develope his tactical skills. He obviously has something foreign coaches don't have. Let's work on that. Ghana needs a local coach who is not influenced by rich players, not ...

• BALL ROLLING 11 years ago

READ.
    I STILL BELIEVE THAT NAIJA AND BURKINA WORKED TOGETHER TO ENSURE GHANA REMOVAL. FROM THE GROUP STAGES TILL THE END IF YOU OBSERVE GOOD YOU CAN SEE THAT THIS TWO TEAMS HAD SOMETHING WITH EACH OTHER WHILE GHANA WAS THERE ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

Not that someone has a bone to pick with Kwasi Appiah, its just that he is simply not up to the task. There was a clear lack of intensity and disciple both in our defense and in our attack which was borne by his bad team sele ...

• Kofi - New York. 11 years ago

Akwasi, Please make Dede the lead striker and send Gyan to the flanks.

• King wakaso 11 years ago

Brongs Dominant force in the Current black star. Akwas Appiah, Asamoah Gyan, Kwadwo Asamoah, Agyeman Badu.

• Bring our money back 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah,If you want us to believe you are truly sorry then please bring back all the 50,000 plus dollars you took from us for no work done.Then strip the dubai boga off the captaincy.Its only then that we will consider ...

• J. O 11 years ago

Blame the players for not taking their opportunities but not the coach.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Many of the commentators do not want to face the harsh realities. We cannot score. If you want to win at this level, you have to finish certain opportunities.

AND WHO DO U BLAME FOR THE LACK OF STRIKING POWER? THE STRIKERS SELECTED OR THE COACH. BASED ON UR POSTING THUS FAR, I WILL BET MY BOTTOM DOLLAR THAT U ANOKWALE WILL BLAME THE PLAYERS SELECTED. AA WENT WITH 3 STRIKERS. ON A P ...

• guru 11 years ago

Ghana people some of us are not serious at alllll. Nyantakyi, NYANTAKYI, NYANTAKYI, FIRE HIM. we have other proven and promising local coaches who will not select dead pigeons. Who will not play players out of position. Local ...

• Eisner 11 years ago

Sometimes sorry is not good enough, I doubt if he has what it take to lead Ghana, he makes too many poor/ head scratching choices. I say off with his head.

• Efo kwabla 11 years ago

Irrespective of the fact that Gh couldn't made it to the grand finale doesn't mean Akwasi Appiah shd be sacked. We learn from our mistakes. And I believe since he has admitted his mistakes, would give him more experience in t ...

• Kofi Nkrumah 11 years ago

Apology for what, kwasia that 50,000 USD that u and ur men took are u going to pay tax on that as its from poor tax payers tax, mboasem just do the reasonably thing by resigning, and that kwasi nyantohye i dont know what to t ...

• Kofi Nkrumah 11 years ago

Mine worker will work for the whole year and will not get even 10,000USD u people with ur crazy kwasi's use just two weeks or so weeks to take 50,000USD minus tax and come and tell us u are forking idiot, mine worker earns 10 ...

• SUAME MAGAZINE 11 years ago

Why does he need to apologize.
    He got us to the semi-fianls. It is not like he killed somoene or caused a sin. We cant win every tournament. Lets move on and prepare for the WC.

• LATO NEW YORK 11 years ago

If u draw with Sudan . We are done period. I don't think this team can beat Sudan in Khartoum. Zambia will beat Sudan at Ndola and also Botswana.so the pressure is on us not to draw any games. Bring. Abeyie, Essien, Frimpong ...

• Ghanavi 11 years ago

No need to apologize. You were the man for the job and still are. This could happen under any coach. I am very proud of what you did and the entire country should be proud as well. You are our coach. Anyone who does not agree ...

• Kpandovi 11 years ago

I totally agree with you. He did what any coach would do under the same circumstances. No need for him to apologize. If you don't agree GO FUCK yourself.

• Victor A. Young 11 years ago

You've not committed any crime Hon. Coach Kwasi Appiah. In football, anything is possible! These days every nation knows how to play good football---Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Mali are the current best teams in that order and eve ...

• sixtus adongo 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is a nice guy but nice does not win trophys for ghana.The happiness of every ghanain comes when there is victory most especially in football.However, this diffinatelly not the guy to win any trophy. ONE,,kwasi ap ...

• Pojoba 11 years ago

Sooner than later g.f.a would learn the painful mistake of thier decision to keep this clueless trainer who needs improvement course from manu before leading us again. How can such bankrupt trainer who has been parading as co ...

• Ekumfi Akyen -Obamaland 11 years ago

Akwasi,you have nothing to be sorry for.You did your best and,its unforunate your best fell short of expectation. That's all!
    My best advice to you: Simply ignore all of those'idiotic comments.Don't even bother to read cos ...

• Mawwuooo 11 years ago

Does Kwesi Appiah knows that, the purpose of him gong to south Africa was to bring the CUP but not to introduce new players? Is he telling us that, does his objective? Please fire him b4 he says anything.

• Abass de gerrard 11 years ago

Infact if ghanaians need improvement in the team,kwasi appia need 2be sact...obvious he don't deserve 2 coach the stars bcos he lack coaching experience which has eventually led 2 our inability 2 even display well in the pitc ...

• one man soldier 11 years ago

Pls Lets be fair, Is Sacking the Coach the solution?

• james boateng piero jamasi 11 years ago

kwasi appiah is good but he sometimes disapont us why nextime do ur home work well

• Tokyo 11 years ago

Bullshit. !!

• OBOOBI 11 years ago

AKWKASI APPIAH SHOULD SACK HIM FOR NOT KNOWING HOW TO USE THE PLAYERS AND FOR CHOPPING GHANAIANS MONEY WHICH COULD BE USE FOR SOLVING OUR LIGHTING PROBLEM

• Bobo flavor 11 years ago

Criminals, liars, thieves, bunch of nuts,moveway, idiots, u guys are thieves, lack of sight, unprofessionalism left us with not say, i have people from all areas of the world ask of the ayews, you intensionally left in replac ...

• NPP=Kotoko AKYEM BEGORO 11 years ago

Kwesi is this apology coming from your mouth or your heart? Please go to church and apologise to GOD that you dont have anything against Abedis. Thank you

• NPP=Kotoko AKYEM BEGORO 11 years ago

Kwesi is this apology coming from your mouth or your heart? Please go to church and apologise to GOD that you dont have anything against Abedis. Thank you

• JOHANNESBURG 11 years ago

As a former player you did a wrong decision by using your play maker to defend.I lives in Johannesburg and i heard one of your press conference after Mali's game,which you said Kwadwo Asamoah is a utility player who can play ...

• K.B.HOLLAND 11 years ago

NO WAY THE APOLOGY IS NOT ACCEPTED YOU CAN GO TO KOTOKO, YOU ARE NOT SLIM ENOUGH, GO TOGETHER WITH YOUR CORRUPT BOSS NYANTAKYI. FOOL

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

There is nothing to be sorry about coach, you did your best and your best was just not enough to win us the trophy. I am advising you to go by some of the strategies applied before and during the 1978 Cup of Nations in Ghana ...

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

Pardon my spelling regarding Ghanaians which appeared as Ghanaiana