You are here: HomeSports2013 02 07Article 264399

Pratt: Appiah deserves another chance

Read Comments Comments (100)

• MB 11 years ago

We need to support our local coaches.

• joe pinto 11 years ago

Clueless bunch, we were lucky to get that far, kwesi Appiah is just clueless, how do you take wakaso out before the penalties? if we dont fire akwesi appiah we might just not qualify for the world cup, right now Sudan is on t ...

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED 11 years ago

JOE GOD BLESS YOU::WE ARE VERY VERY LUCKY TO GET TO SEMI FINALS::WE DID NOTHING ;THAT IS FACT::BETTER TO LOOSE AS A GOOD TEAM AS TO WIN WITH POOR TEAM::THAT DOESNT MAKE GHANA A WHOLE FOOTBALL NATION PRAOUD:TO BE REGORNISED AS ...

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

AKWASI PRATT HAS SAID SOMETHING SENSIBLE FOR ONCE. KWASI APPIAH SHOULD STAY ON

• bob m 11 years ago

For the first time i disagree with Pratt. How can we prefer to lose just because we have a local coach. That is accepting mediocrity. Appiah has within this short time shown that he is incompetent and above all vindictive. h ...

• Selassie Dzokoto 11 years ago

In as much as i admit he goofed by replacing Paintsil(Agya Koo) with Solomon Asante and subsequently pushed Kwadwo Asamoah who could have helped in the attacking machinery to forcefully play at the left full-back, i think our ...

• Kwasi Asante, Providence,RI USA 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah must learn that Kwadwo Asamoah is effectively forceful as attacking midfield. When you watch K. Asamoah play Juventus, there is no doubt the boy is good. Watching him play full back with the B. Stars, he seems in ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WE HAVE SEEN ENUFF. AA MUST COMOT!
    GET RID OF APPIAH!
    HWE, IM NOT A CERTIFIED COACH, BUT I CAN WIN AFCON WITH THE PLAYERS GH TOOK TO SOUTH AFRICA.
    APPIAH HAS NO BRAINS AND HE CANT MANAGE ANYTHING!
    I COULD HAVE COACHED THE ...

• Yamus 11 years ago

We dont't only want to ualify for the world cup. We want to go and perform well against world class teams like Germany, Brazil, Italy without fear like we did in 2006 and 2010 WC. If we can't stand against Burkina, what futur ...

• Lemu 11 years ago

What a prat. Who are you to decide whether Ghanaians prefer to lose with a clueless local coach. No ideas, direction, ambition and the commitment to at least try. It was just a fluke we won the other matches.

• Me4U 11 years ago

You must be a dreamer if you think we are going to qualify for the World Cup. Playing Sudan in Khartoum and the Zambians in both Accra and Lusaka will not be easy; especially with similar tactics the Black Stars employed in a ...

• Pito Brewer 11 years ago

We were indeed lucky to get to the semi-finals. The overall performance of the Black Stars was pathetic, which is a direct reflection of the standard of coaching. Kwadwo Asamoah at left back? Who dreamed that up?

• Ekumfi Akyen -Obamaland 11 years ago

Mr.Pratt,I am so proud of you,for being so candid,unlike idiotic Joe Pinto.
    Coach Appiah has done very considering the fact that he is a first timer.
    I wonder why we Ghanaians are so fixated on foreign(white)coaches.Why? ...

• GHANANIBA 11 years ago

He is a first time, the Black Stars are a world class side not for first timers. He can go coach a local club for starters. The foreign coaches had coaching experiences. The basic requirements for a coach.

• moyo 11 years ago

kwasi Pratt assertion is very very wrong. Football is different from politics. Ghana lost to Burkina because their technical bench was far superior than Ghana. Ghana was technically inept. We started with poor performances th ...

• Blaque Marque 11 years ago

Kwasi Prat gives no sporting or technical and therefore credible reason other than that Kwasi Appiah's continuation as coach saves the country money...THIS IS AN ECONOMIC REASON and if this were the basis for selecting nation ...

Great comment, moyo! You said it all.

• kofi salanga 11 years ago

please - we lost to burkina - who put kwadjo asamoah at left back - who decided to leave warris, jordan and inkoom (dede i will excuse him as he was late for camp)- please kwasi appiah take responsibility and resign

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Ghanaians are overly critical of their own. He took a young experimental team to the semi-finals of a tough tournament. I know we are all disappointed, but in retrospect, many Ghanaians were saying that this team would not ...

The idea of supporting local coaches is bogus. What we need is performance and results. Give the job to the best coach we can afford, whether local or foreign.

• Diaba 11 years ago

Yes! He deserves another chance! He is a GREAT coach!

• Tanga stsr in Egypt. 11 years ago

he deserve to go to hell, we need a local coach who call players that deserve to play in blackstars and not the players that h want or players from his tribe. We have so many local coaches in Ghana who can take over and call ...

• Knowledge 11 years ago

Do you Akwasi Appiah's tribe? And if you did, how many players form his tribe were on the eam?

• diaba k 11 years ago

Man, do not steal my name.

• asante 11 years ago

sack him be4 he tanish ghana image

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

KWESI PRATT IS RIGHT.THE COACH MUST BE ENCOURAGED TO CONTINUE HIS WORK

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

KWESI CAN DO BETTER.THERE IS MUCHH NOPE

• koo emma 11 years ago

I think mr pratt sshould stick 2 his political stories & leave soccer alone. How can u ask Ghanaians to retain a clueless coach l.ike Kwasi Appiah who selects his team based on grudges he has with players and their family? Ap ...

• Tanga stsr in Egypt. 11 years ago

thank you my brother, we can use a local coach but not Appiah.I think no reasonable person in Ghana that will like Appiah to coach Blackstars again.

• Kwasi 11 years ago

Where is your reasoning? Appiah has done better than most of his immediate expatriate coaches. Black Stars not because coaching, or the players but due to "big mouth" of Ghanaians; most of the players didn't want to take pena ...

• Tanga star in Egypt. 11 years ago

my brother mr Appiah only call the players that he love and not those who know how to play ball.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Burkina was bigger, stronger and faster. It showed. Our ball skills were not enough to overcome them. They were determined. No coach in the world would have made a difference. Appiah did the best he could.

• ababio 11 years ago

we would all prefer local coaches to handle the black stars but if they are to be influenced by the GFA then a foreign coach will be our best bet. poor management of key players is killing our local coaches and they should be ...

• Chief 11 years ago

kwasi Appiah the best coach we've ever have.Penalties is not a coach fault.All the hail Mayele

• Joe 11 years ago

You must be very young my friend, because this chap is the most useless local coach I have seen over the years.

• LD 11 years ago

We want competent coaches to manage the national team not JUST local coaches. AA is incompetent:
    1: Gyan should never have been the captain. This guy quits Blackstar twice and he comes back within a month you make him the ca ...

• joe pinto 11 years ago

well spoken my brother well spoken with facts, a lot of people on this site are all loud mouth no facts, i dare anybody to challenge your facts with facts not insults, we might not qualify for Brazil 2014 with clueless Appiah ...

• Ouaga Boy 11 years ago

We need a better local coach who will put the nation at first and not his personal issues. I also don't understand why the coach took his best penalty taker out just few minutes to penalty shooting knowing very well that Asam ...

• Cornell 11 years ago

Sensible point. I wholeheartedly agree with you. However, as much as I prefer kwesi appiah to be fired the timing isn't right especially when the stage of world cup qualification is around corner. Kwesi Appiah needs to quit h ...

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Wakasso was drained. This was evident from the last bad free kick that he took. In addition, many a Ghanaian on this site and Ghanasoccernet have been touting Clottey as some super local based striker. Appiah gave him the ...

• Koby_USA 11 years ago

shut the f**k up Pratt,you nothing about football

• Ali Ibrahim 11 years ago

i agreed with your comment that ghana should retain Akwesi Appiah he deserve another chance because he has lean from some mistakes that will not repeat it self

• joe pinto 11 years ago

as we speak we are second in our group for the world cup, if we don't get raid of Akesi Appiah we will not qualify for Brazil 2014, he has been an assistant coach who never learn anything,Ghana was poor through out while Nige ...

• S E Turkson 11 years ago

Foreign coaches go to semi finals without the Africa Cup, receiving salaries no Ghanaian has ever got before. Appiah has done the same without the cup with 1/3 the expatriate's salary. What is Kwasi's crime? Leave Mayele al ...

• blackchild 11 years ago

apia must go to hell

• COMMON SENCE 11 years ago

kwesi pratt ..only ignorant can say what you said grow up appiah lacks many things. timidity has taken the better part of him ok....

• Anthonya Kwasi Stamp 11 years ago

To tell ya something, Ghana needs a a good qualified couch. Football, now, is based on attack. Ghana has no attacking squade.

• thinking man 11 years ago

educate me if i am wrong but Ghana has not yet qualified for the world cup or have we? well, ultimately we want to get to the world cup and to give a great performance when we get there. That takes a tactically superior coach ...

• Yamus 11 years ago

The answer is a big No

• sammy 11 years ago

I beg to Disagree with Kwesi pratt....i think that coack Akwasi Appiah should be replaced immediately...by either Marcel Desailly or Abedi Pele.....I have observed in silence Coach Akwasi Appiah ...for some time now......And ...

• I REP NAIJA 11 years ago

ghana oh oh oh ghana, ghana oh oh oh ghana, ghana u don lose oh ghana, thirdplace final u go lose again oh ghana. are u a loser? u are loser confirmed loser.

• KWAKU 11 years ago

If we allow people who mingle family grudges and tribal politics with national team selection, we will go no where because our best players will always be left on the bench while tribesmen are selected. We need to acknowledge ...

• Knowledge 11 years ago

"We need to acknowledge that the presence of one player can have tremendous impact on the performance of the a team."

Yes, especially if that player lacks discipline and brings disunity into the team.

How many trbesmen ...

• ali abubakar 11 years ago

go to hell mr,you dont like our country other wise you will not talk all this nonsens...so keep ur big mounth silent,

• Sam. 11 years ago

Infact we need a technical team who are not sentimental like K.Appiah who is using old wounds in the national team. Pls. bring on Daissell.

• Mac Tonto 11 years ago

What is the point in maintaining someone who can’t do the job? National pride? One of the problems we have as Ghanaians is that, we don’t believe in technical knowledge and knowhow. This is one reason we set up low-level ...

• nelson 11 years ago

whatabout the ghanaian coach who conquered africa and the world at the under 20 level??

• GC/USA 11 years ago

UNLESS TRIBALISM/CORRUPTION IS DEAD

• mankind 11 years ago

kwasi appiah is stupid

• Gargantuan 11 years ago

Appiah lacks ideas when it matters most. How on earth will a coach pull out Wakasso, a good penalty taker, few minutes to penalties? He left out the Ayews on flimsy excuses.

• Yaw 11 years ago

GFA should let Appiah go on study leave to understudy top coaches likes Alex Furguson, top coaches at Madrid, Barsa, Itay & Germany for one Year. In the mean time bring in Dasally immediately to handle affairs. The two can wo ...

• Yaw 11 years ago

Appiah should go for tactical training now - at least 6 months. Desally should given caretaker coach position now let see what he can do. On Appiahs return the two should work together for World Cup. They would have better co ...

• Yamus 11 years ago

One year will not be enough. Three year study will be right.

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 11 years ago

THATS IT.PERIOD, WE DONT WANT THE FOREIGN COACHES WHO WILL LEAVE GHANA TO OTHER CLUBS AND WOULD BE SACKED FROM THERE AFTER 3 MONTHS

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 11 years ago

GHANA LOST ITS PENALTY SHOOT OUT DUE TO SUPPORTERS MOUTHS.YOU SAW THAT THE PLAYERS WERE NOT WILLING TO TAKE THE PENALTIES DUE TO THE FEAR OF BIG MOUTHS OF INSULTS AND THREATS TO THEMSELVES AND THEIR FAMILIES.HOW ON EARTH WOUL ...

• GC/USA 11 years ago

MR. GORDON YEBOAH IF WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS TRUE THEN THOSE PLAYERS SHOULD REFUND THE 3500.00 DOLLARS AND QUIT THE NATIONAL TEAM. DO YOU WANT TO TELL US THAT THE SO CALLED CAPTAIN, A. GYAN, PERFORMANCE DESERVES GHANAIANS JUBI ...

• GC/USA 11 years ago

TAUGHT SHOULD THOUGHT AND 35,00.00 DOLLARS.

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

“I will be happy if a local coach lead us (Ghana Black Star) and still lose. We must support our local coaches. They can do better than what the foreigners come here to do,” quoting Kwesi Pratt. If that is the case, then ...

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

THEY ARE DOING BUSNESS WITH THE PLAYERS.GHANA CAN NEVER WIN ANY CUP IF NYANTAKYE REMAIN GFA BOSS.

• Debs 11 years ago

he needs more training... sacking him now is not a good idea! Who do you replace with? how would that affect team. Get rid of some players give ALL players (old and new) a fair chance, and the technical team should insist tha ...

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

KEEP him

• NPP=Kotoko AKYEM BEGORO 11 years ago

Just like former president Bush of USA has zero feeling for democracy, it is the same with Kwesi N, Kwesi A, and Maxwell konadu. After they have achieved paying back Ghanaians for supporting Abedi with the issue of captainshi ...

• ONYAME AKOA 11 years ago

Kwesi Appiah can only do well if he is given a free hand to select the squad without any interferance whatsoever from any quarters. he must also be given in-service training by being attached to FAs or top football clubs in E ...

• AFEVIA 11 years ago

AA WAS GIVEN THE FREE HAND TO SELECT THE SQUAD HE WANTED WITHOUT ANY INTERFERANCE. THE CURRENT KOTOKO COACH IS VERY TACTICAL AND CAN PARTNER SELLAS TETTEH THE HANDLE THE BLACK STARS.

• GC/USA 11 years ago

KWESI APPIAH IS A TRAINER NOT A COACH. 8 YEARS WITH THE BLACK STARS AND HAD LEARNED NOTHING AND YOU THINK BY WASTING MONEY TO BE ATTACHED TO EUROPEAN OR SOUTH AMERICA CLUBS WOULD MAKE A DIFFERENCE IS A JOKE. WHY NOT COACH ONE ...

• basoah george 11 years ago

Yes,we learn from our mistakes.Appiah is yet to master international coaching

• Knowledge 11 years ago

You guys insult players when they miss penalties. Now, nobody is willing to step up and take penalties, so we have mediocre penalty kickers losing it for us.
    Sometimes we should just STFU.

Who will want to die a little fo ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 11 years ago

Kwesi Appiah is alright. He above average as a rookie national coach. Let him have a chance to qualify for Brazil. Our boys missed some chances too.. i give coach 75% approval for semi finals

• Nana Owusu. BELGIUM 11 years ago

GHANAIANS SOCCERFANS DE MOST DISGRACE EN DISRESTECFUL IN AFRICA. AKWASI APPIAH HAS DONE BETTER THAN ANY WHITE COACHES GHANA HAS EVER EMPLOYED. HE IS LEARNING AND I KNOW WITH TIME HE WILL BE THE BEST. ASAMOAH GYAN SHOULD BE BE ...

• Pastor Osofu 11 years ago

Massa, your gramma is rubbish.

Your comments indicate you have no love for mother Ghana. You are just interested in your kinsman or uncle or whatsoever having a job with a fat salary without thinking what happens to Ghana. ...

• Anokwale 11 years ago

2012 Serbian coach 4th Place in Gabon
    2008 Leroy 3rd place with Ghana as host
    Appiah will at minimum match the Serbian coach.
    Being objective, Appiah has done well with a team that is experimental. That is a good sign. ...

• LD 11 years ago

First stop writing caps. Nobody is yelling here. Do you think the coaching the Blackstars is an experimental work that AA would learn on the job? Absolutely, No!! You either produce results or get fired! Part of the job of co ...

• Pastor Osofu 11 years ago

What does Pratt know about football?????

I will advice him to stick to his politics. Because he is so soccer naive, Kwesi Pratt unsurprisingly cannot see the millions of stupid and avoidable mistakes we made in the tourna ...

• Cornell 11 years ago

Keeping Appiah without any drastic changes in his coaching approach as well as technical staff can only result in one thing...failure.

• Musah 11 years ago

Though it's good to advocate for local coaches to coach our national teams, but we need local coaches with technical know-how and not coaches who fail to find befitting roles and positions for their players. Kwasi Appiah can ...

• MUGU 11 years ago

DEDE would have ensured victory for GHANA.This is a good lesson for a stubborn coach.

• Lord Avot 11 years ago

I support the local coach idea all the way. As much as it hurt to lose, we need to realize that we cannot always win. We will lose some and win some. I believe that we should invest and use our local coaches instead of bringi ...

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

If AA is the best local coach Ghana can come up with both home and abroad fine with me. Then he needs serious HELP to make him competitive at the international level. That help can be provided by the GFA. On the other hand if ...

• edd 11 years ago

hmm, when AA was clearly showed lack of tactic and game reading, the GFA boss jumped to his defense. he told Ghanaians it was the three points that mattered and not the quality of play. he had earlier told us that the squad t ...

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

He's good. He's paid less than foreign coaches. All he needs to do is add new players.

• James Joyce 11 years ago

Kwasi Pratt is an expert in football too?

• abdul 11 years ago

This coach should go or we lose again in future , his duty was to coach the guys win , but in this case he failed, as such he got to go, i support local coaches but.....

• SHAKAMORA 11 years ago

better players abayie is very gud player n leave him n take small boys

• OBENFO 11 years ago

We will miss the world cup if we keep Kwasi Appiah. I am saying this not because he failed in his bid to win the cup but based on his performance as coach during the tournament. His player selection and positioning of these ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WHOEVER IS CHEAPER N AFFORDABLE. APPIAH IS A TOKE, A DUMMY. EVEN IF U GIVE HIM A COACHING MAO. HE WILL STILL GET LOST. USING KWADWO ASAMOAH AT LEFT BACK? PLAYING AFFUL OUT OF POSITION? USING BONESHAKER PAINSTIL AGAINST A FAST ...

• Joe 11 years ago

Let us encourage the coach to perform better next time.yes the team did not play well,no midfield,poor in attack,but sacking the coach is not the solution.We have sacked too many coaches in recent times.

• GHANANIBA 11 years ago

Just curious what Kwesi Appiah's experience as a coach was prior to being given the black stars post A world class team for that matter? Winning counts, you make money when you progress in tournaments. He played the same form ...

• Novembre 11 years ago

I am all for local coaches, but not at the expense of competence. K Appiah is simply not up to scratch. If we want local coaches let's invest in their development. Our local coaches lack basic football analytical skills and t ...

• Nana 11 years ago

Would you have said that if it was aforeign coach. The guy lacks technical ideas. The team cannot score in any open play game. they lack ideas upfront in the opponents goal post. Its over. Also its time we stop retiring our e ...

• Kofi Karikari 11 years ago

AS usual not enough substance.
    Kwesi Appiah has not exhibited any tactical intelligence so far. If Ghana wants local coaches, sack this one and replace him with another one,
    and the value will be the same.

t