You are here: HomeSports2013 02 07Article 264307

Ghana’s Technical Bench’s Tactical Bankruptcy ...

Read Comments Comments (172)

• BJ 11 years ago

From hair to toe; useless and egoist.

• GA MAN 11 years ago

Heheheheheheeeeeiiii,God no de sleep oooooo.I told you kwesi Appiah cannot win this cup with the Ayews sweat.Asamoah Gyan is reaping what he did not sow,and God will never allow them to win this cup with the Ayews sweat.What ...

• BJ 11 years ago

Hatred and tribalism is killing Ghana.

• We Need Better Readers Of Games 11 years ago

Given that according to you,

"Ghana's technical bench is tactically bankrupt".

Who among the following would you recommend as the coach best suited with agility and skillfulness to read a game and alter formation, pac ...

• BJ 11 years ago

Sellas Tetteh

• GOD IS MY JUDGE HONESTNEST 11 years ago

WHERE IS SELLAS TETTEH who won the world cup for us.Nepotism at is best in Ghana football,fire Appiah and Konadu period.

• Ex-Coach, Spain 11 years ago

We really need Sellas Tetteh. No doubt the only competent local coach we have is Sellas Tettah. GFA should give the job to him as soon as possible. Appiah can still be an assisstant coach to help Sellas Tetteh. At least he wa ...

• Kobina Henry - Chicago 11 years ago

I was about this same article all night because I could not sleep. Why always playing one striker upfront? Why keep 4 left footed players all packed at mid-field? Why pack the frontline with schemers and only lone stiker. Def ...

• THE ENTIRE STARS SQUAD 11 years ago

These are some of the things which makes people to demand a foreign COACH, and they are all fact. They are good things somehow by the way

1) Proper team selection to represent a nation.

2) Ultimate Technical know how fo ...

• JATO 11 years ago

HOW FAR DID GHANA BLACK STARS REACH IN THE LAST AFCON GAMES UNDER FOREIGN COACHS.HOW MUCH WERE THEY PAID?HOW MANY LOCAL PRAYERS DID THE FOREIGN COACHS DISCOVER.IF WE CAN'T COACH OUR NATIONAL TEAM,HOW CAN WE DEVELOP THE NATION ...

• Yaw Boateng 11 years ago

Here is my question: why did they take Wakaso out when they knew we could be headed for penalties and he is our best penalty taker? Plus, why had we not rehearsed penalty taking 100 times beforehand. Isaac Vorsah was great in ...

• SEKYI-AMPAH 11 years ago

Yes Wakaso might have been tired but did the technical team consider the possibiity of penalties? Foresight!

• JATO 11 years ago

Akwasi thanx a lot for your service to the Nation as a Captian of Black Stars and a Coach for both Under 20 National Team and The Black Stars.A team is NOT build over night,Stay focus and fish for more STIKERS,local prayers.O ...

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

JATO, you are missing the point. Some of us personally like the Coach but the incompetence displayed in this tournament cannot be swept under any rug. It started with the call ups. The Coach and his Technical team never did t ...

• JATO 11 years ago

Bro,I agreed but my point is we learn from our mistakes and a team is not build in a day,and NO ONE IS PERFECT.I wish Jonathan Mensah and Opare were in the team.

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

Thanks JATO. We all love Ghana and our Black Stars. The Black Stars are not only the national team, they are the very symbol of our existence as free and independent nation. It is not a team but the nation itself.

Well can we experiment and keep Appiah as the national coach whilst he aquires experience and improve on his technical know-how? He may reach that level probably after 3 AFCONS. Can the nation be patient for that?

• PRINCE ARMAH 11 years ago

The Burkinabes were technically more focused than the Black Stars.

• Benash, NJ 11 years ago

Ex-Coach, that was exactly what I also said to myself and my brothers. I was dumb-founded when Kwesi Appiah substituted Wakaso knowing very well that the game might go into penalty shoot out.No competent and versatile coach w ...

• AYEKO 11 years ago

EX-COACH,SPAIN, YOU WRITE LIKE OUT OF PAIN, AND I UNDERSTAND YOU VERY WELL. I WAS ALSO PAINED BY THE 'FATAL' DECISION. DID YOU SAY SELLAS TETTEH? THE GREATEST FAULT THAT GFA EVER MADE WAS TO DISTANCE ITSELF UNJUSTIFIABLY FROM ...

• AKK 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah who has never achieved anything as a coach is picked over Sellas Tetteh. Whats the best explanation for that? If not based on ethnicity then what?

• joe pinto 11 years ago

Marcel Desailly for sure, once a winner always a winner, some are born winners some are not period, he has won it all and he can instill that believe in our players, he is not going to favor any tribe over the other,the playe ...

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

And let me add, Marcel could have brought Kevin Prince Boateng back into the team and he would definitely pick one of the best teams Ghana has seen in ages.

You dont leave out players like Prince Boateng, Muntari, Ayews etc an who have made their mark at both local and international levels and 'dream' that you are going to win the AFCON. Let this be a lesson to the ambitious coac ...

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

I sincerely believe that Marcel Desailly as head coach and a technical team including Coach Silas Tetteh, Coach Hayford and Carr as goalkeepers coach could have delivered the Cup. And I insist, so long as we keep our best pla ...

• FANTASTIC BOY 11 years ago

drop Paintsil and pick one of the local defenders--AWAL I BELIEVE

BLIND, BLIND BLIND! WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO SEE THE EXCELLENT ROLE/PERFORMANCE OF PAINTSIL? NIGERIA IS NOT GOING TO DROP YEBO

• redd 11 years ago

Let me try to explain why appiah failed.He came into the job with so much good will but he messed it up by listening to too many people.Making enemies where there is none and making a section of the players feel like their ou ...

• O. B 11 years ago

Oh na true u dey yaarn without them we shd count any cup as lost. Akwasi Appiah wo y3 sheeshee.

• moyo 11 years ago

Ghana lost miserably because the Burkinabes technical bench was far superior than Ghana and it would have been a travesty if Ghana had gone through at the expense of Burkina Fasso. Ghana needs a competent foreign coach and th ...

• avola lartey 11 years ago

Ghana does not need a foreign coach. We need a better coach not a foreign one. Kwasi Appiah is clueless like the previous serbians. Go fo Desali

I dont have the reasons for their non-participation. Whoever,(Coach, selector)thought they can do without the 'conerstone' of the team was dreaming.I watched the game in Port Elizabeth against Cape Verde and saw the writing o ...

• ona 11 years ago

The referee cheated the Burkinabe just like Afari-Gyan cheated the NPP. If the referee had the power to declare winner he would have wrongly done it for Ghana just like Afari-Gyan did for the NDC. Untill the Superme Court is ...

• O. B 11 years ago

Oh I no know say u dey wise n could see things 4m afar na true thing u dey yaarn God punish dem n their generation.

• MIDAS TOUCH 11 years ago

Now i see there is ball of kenke in your skull not brain, AKUFO ADDO aka WEEEEliam short dwarf will never be president in Ghana, Under KUFFOUR Ghana never won any trophy, foolish NPP serial maggot brain.

• HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHA 11 years ago

Do u know how to kick ball?if u have nothing to say about football,better sht up,naa we dont talk NDC OR NPP.

• KANAWU 11 years ago

Kwasea bi ba. Don't you know that Black Stars is Ghana's national team? Is it NDC or NPP team? Do they wear any party's colours? Some of you little minds should not be entertained on the web. You are a disgrace. What is ...

• bewise 11 years ago

SILLY GOAT,BANKU-HEADED.COMMON SENSE NO.

• gorden brown 11 years ago

u are a cow, idiot ,leave politics out of this. where were u when in 2008 the npp attempted rigging. mahama won a clean election. once again u are a donkey

• FUTBOL ANALYST 11 years ago

I THINK THAT AKWASI APPIAH'S LACK OF FORESIGHT AND INNABILITY TO READ ANY OF THESE GAMES, IS A CLEAR PROOF OF HIS LACK OF EXPERIENCE TO TAKE US TO THE WORLD CUP.
    LISTEN GUYS, LET US DROP HIM NOW BEFORE WE DISGRACE OURSELVES ...

• Joe Canada 11 years ago

BLAME THE VEEP FOR HIS BAD LUCK.WHO INVITED HIM FOR VISIT.GHANA WOULD HAVE WON HANDS DOWN HAD HE NOT SHOWN HIS FACE IN THIER CAMP. PLEASE NEXT TIME STAY AWAY AND DON'T FOLLOW THEM WITH YOUR BAD LUCK.

• NAADA 11 years ago

Monkey! We lost because of people like you who call themselves Ghanaians. If you had been a straight guy I bet you won't be making comments from your loose anus.

• Nokwarehene 11 years ago

What kind of coach will change his best penalty shooter 15 minutes to the sudden death? Asmoah gyan wasn't going to participate in the penalties, why couldn't you change him instead. By the way if you don't know, Clotey won t ...

i FEEL THAT WAS STRANGE.

• Soweto 11 years ago

Abedi took his team from d lower divisions 2 upset experienced teams all d way to d FA cup final and won it. This is the type of LOCAL Coach we want; he has experience. What local team has Kwesi Appiah coached b4 D Black star ...

• Yaa Yaa Amoah 11 years ago

Kwesi Appeah failed to show the usefulness of local coaches. He is useful as an Assistant Coach. He cannot read the game, and make tactical changes. I am sorry for the local Coaches. Why do we have to hire a White Coach f ...

• Kojo T 11 years ago

It was the technical team at fault. We still play the Milo way

• Mercy Oppong 11 years ago

he has been a deputy for 8 years and he still learnt nothing

• UNCLE KOFI 11 years ago

JAA IS NOT RIPE TO COACH A TEAM LIKE THE BLACK STARS. HE MUST HANDLE SMALLER TEAMS BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO HANDLE STARS.HONESTLY HE DID NOT KNOW WHAT HE WAS DOING. IT ALL STARTED WITH THE POLITICS OF LEAVING OUT THE AYEWS.HE MUS ...

• appiah papa 11 years ago

Ayews were in Afcon 2012 still nothing came out of it.

• UNCLE KOFI 11 years ago

THEY COULD HAVE MADE A DIFFERENCE THIS TIME AROUND. THEY HAVE FAVOURITES IN THE TEAM AND SO THEIR ABSENCE COULD HAVE A NEGATIVE EFFECT ON THE TEAM

• GHANA FIRST 11 years ago

I AM NOT ASKING YOU TO RESIGN YOU ARE OUR OWN WE CAN GIVE YOU ANOTHER CHANCE BUT I JUST WANT YOU TO ACCEPT THE FACT THAT YOU AND YOUR TECHNICAL TEAM SHOULD TAKE THE BLAME OF OUR DEFEAT
    THIS TIME YOU DID NOT TRY AT ALL
    DID Y ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Why do you want to keep one when you, yourself had said he is not good just because he is one of our own to me is backward thinking and that does not advance the nation. Akwesi Appiah had shown that he need help and it about ...

• O. B 11 years ago

n s what u?

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

but we all saw how good they are. Jonathan is far superior to Asamoah Gyan. He can move with the ball and has better techniques and style. How many chances must Asamoah Gyan be given before he scores just ONE goal?

• Paul 11 years ago

Appiah must be blamed. He and his Gyan must go. Whenever a team leaves out its play maker - Dede - that team is bound to be disgraced. I have always said Asamoah Gyan is good for nothing. Appiah must go and good bye to Gyan. ...

• KWAME 11 years ago

TAKEN ASAMOAH TO DEFENCE, WHILES OTHER DEF ARE RELAXING...1sT MISTAKE. BRINGING ASANTE INSTEAD OF NAT. DEF...2nD MISTAKE...UPON SEEING WHAT WAS HAPPENING AND COULD NOT CHANGE....3rd MISTAKE...AS A RESULTS GFA MUST SACK THE CO ...

• Odiasempa 11 years ago

Well said. Mo ne ka

• Akos 11 years ago

Who cares as you call yourself,you are very stupid son of a bitch.

• mumu 11 years ago

taking Wakaso out when it was obvious that we were heading for penalties was a very big mistake on the part of the coach.

everyone is an expert now.

• Papa Appiah 11 years ago

Hes entitled to his opinion. What is yours

my opinion is that the pitch contributed to our downfall. apart from that AA made a mistake by removing Wakaso with 15minutes to go. He gambled and it did not pay off. he wanted to finish the game before penalties. i dont thi ...

• Ghana midfield rocks 11 years ago

Why bring on Derek boateng two minutes after the start of second half, very strange, Solomon Asante as speed but always lost the ball in his own half, Boye struggled against petriopa, Gyan is passed it, the Dubai league has s ...

• Charles 11 years ago

in fact kwasi appiah doesn't seem to have any tactics at all. saying that his tactics failed us is giving too much cvredit to the guy who has nothing to offer the players. all the players did well, except that the coach is em ...

• sly 11 years ago

It doesn't even take an expert to notice the coach was responsible for our loss#

• Yenkasa 11 years ago

You are right.I stopped watching Ghana playing from 30min into the first game with DR Congo.Ghana played so badly and it was so boring to watch them.Personally, I dont think that Kwesi Appiah have the technical acumen to han ...

• I REP NAIJA 11 years ago

my ghana people. una don bribe ref for yesterday. but god dey sha. see how burkina yeye una. una no fit score without having ojoro penalty. SUPER EAGLES GO WIN THIS CUP SWEET

• pozee 11 years ago

U be real mumu to talk like that. everything for u nigerians is about Bribe or u think Ghana is Like Nigeria where u re couted as one of the most corrupt countries in the world. Idiotic and myopic talks. Thats why u people re ...

• GHANA FIRST 11 years ago

SAME GOD GO PUNISH NAIJA ON SUNDAY

• Speedy Gonzalis 11 years ago

Part of the criteria for selecting a coach should be to present him with a team and ask him to make changes based on how he reads a game. If the panel of judges is not satisfied with the prospective coach's performance, have ...

• I am from Naija too 11 years ago

And what your doing now no be mouth...go sit down for Naija forum leave Ghana alone with their wahala. During the group stages u dey follow jab our Eagles , now u dey hail dem as they begin play.Everything for your eye na bri ...

• pozee 11 years ago

Dont mind Naija talks. that is why they would never know peace anywhere they go with their passport. lol. they were praying not to meet us. even will 11 one leged players we would beat naija. the only thing Nigeria is better ...

• Paul 11 years ago

You are right, Appiah thought he could use the Ayews to qualify to South Africa and make Asamoah Gyan the hero by.leaving them out. Oyiwa!!!! Shame on.Appiah and Gyan for that subtle evil conspiracy.

• KOFFIDJ 11 years ago

USELLESS

• BJ 11 years ago

They're corrupt.

• Agya Ebu 11 years ago

First and most importantly,I want to congratulate the boys for their intensive efforts that the semifinals required.
    However,given close thought throughout the games,its obviously became clear that the black stars which was ...

• Agyaaku 11 years ago

Why blame the Coach? If Asamoah Gyan had scored that obvious goal or if Asante had aimed well to score from that chance he got, who would have said anything about the Coach? Leave the man alone. Tell the players to be more co ...

• Yorkeshire 11 years ago

Look guys coach was 100 out ot 100 wrong Asamoah should have been change even goal scorer get to b change sometime b"cause people run of luck sometime thats why Asomoah should .and also kept fallind dowwn come on.was not good ...

• Vora Cape Coast 11 years ago

Ebenezer this is how far I have....Are we saying that Ghana cannot go beyond semi final and that we are satisfy with 3rd place always? Look Ghana needs a dynamic female coach and I nominate Ms Eva Okyere(Sports analyst).She h ...

• Kay 11 years ago

I agree with you writer and I think we cannot even place third unless by a miracle.

• denn 11 years ago

i sensed our defeat from the onset of the game. the players did well, the entire team was clueless.Ball possession was poor,couldnt find targets.no player movements.the opponent dominated the entire midfield. had more ball p ...

• BOAT FROM A/TWON 11 years ago

SUPID

• BOAT FROM A/TWON 11 years ago

GO TO HELL WITH YOUR COACH AND YOUR USELESS GOVERNMENT

• YAW 11 years ago

GOD HAS GIVEN GHANA THESE TALENTED PLAYERS YET WE FAILED BIG TIME TO MAKE GOOD USE OF THEM.HAD THEY CHOSEN TO PLAY FOR FRANCE WE WILL GO HEAVEN AND HELL CHASING THEM FOR THE B STARS.

• king 11 years ago

Asamoah was not acting as a captain and was not serious on the field of play. The coach too was ignorant of the show

• BRACE 11 years ago

YES, WE HAVE HAD USELESS COACHES BUT APPIAH TOPS ALL. TECHNICALLY VERY VERY POOR.

• Ghanaba 1 11 years ago

NDC ?????? YEBE DII TRUMU KEKE.
    TRUMU TRUMU PARTY.OLE,AMISSAH, ASIEDU ALL ARE TRUMU SPECIALISTS.YEBE DII MO TRUMU KEKE,HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHH

• wilson 11 years ago

the coach taught them to give faulty passes, and control poorly

• Yamus 11 years ago

I agree with the writer. A coach is supposed to drive the team. He should be able to read the game and effect changes for the team to achieve its goals. Appiah has proved that he can't read the game. Infact what was his reaso ...

• Yorkeshire 11 years ago

already said why and why A. Gyan should stayed on all 120min is a same to the the coach pls quit b4 is too late, even Ronaldo got subtitute sometime criminals ghanaian football suffer.u guy pisses me off.

• Otoo 11 years ago

Just sack this BOGUS coach. From day one of his appointment, most Ghanaians did not believe in this coach. Ghana should start looking for a new international coach if we wish to qualify for the world cup in Brazil. Appiah sho ...

• Nana Owusu. BELGIUM 11 years ago

BLAME ASAMOASH GYAN. HE CAUSED THE DOWN FALL OF THE TEAM. I WATCH THE GAME AND HE MISSED FOUR CLEAR GOAL CHANCES THAT WOULD HAVE PUT GHANA AHEAD OF THE GAME. THE REF WAS VERY BAD AND CAF SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. THE PENA ...

• Sumanguru Kante 11 years ago

oh now, we had FOUR CLEAR goal chances? clueless folks

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

When he talked of intelligence and football players, we were all at his throat. Not all the players though, but we have quite a few who showed no football intelligence. And our coaching staff flunked badly, all F,F,F and more ...

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

STOP SAYING AYEW FAMILY,OUR TEAM IS ALLWAYS WEAK,AYEW FAMILY PLAY EVERY TIME NORTING SPESIAL HAPPING ALLWAYS THE SAME.EVERY TEAM TRY TO BEAT GHANA

• Okonka 11 years ago

Right from the beginning of the tournament you could see the coach was lacking self confidence. He was simply a mumu dummy. Why bring in Derrick Boateng, why! Asamoah Gyan should start from the bench. Look, the coach should k ...

• jesizbro 11 years ago

trash article

• who cares 11 years ago

who fuck are the ayew brothers,most ghanaians living home does not think at all.their father is a fuck fool with no shame.ghanaians must learn and forge ahead.look at painstil,vorsh what kind of players is that.i pity ghana. ...

• Sumanguru Kante 11 years ago

Always wise after the fact. And you are not even being truthful.... we had as many chances at the Bourkinabe. Just sharrap and take your defeat in good faith.

• Akwasi Achireko 11 years ago

I agree with writer 100%. I've said these long ago on Facebook. But Ghanaians got what we deserve - for firing the previous coach. Fired because we lost the best game played in that tournament when we missed great chances. I ...

• RR 11 years ago

REVOLUTION TIME HAS COME. THERE MUST BE A CHANGE NOW IN GFA FOLD. WE NOW NEED FOOTBALL ADMINISTRATORS WHO CAN BUILD A HARMONIOUS AND WINNING BLACKSTARS WITHOUT FEAR OR FAVOR. WE NEED NO DISCRIMINATION OF ANY SORT IN OUR DEAR ...

• Sam. 11 years ago

Pls.GFA can you pls. and pls. get Ghana a new technical team be4 it's too late. We will not go to the world cup with Appiah in charge of our dear Black Stars.My 5yrs. old cried her head off b'cos Ghana lost.

• umar Abass 11 years ago

akwesi appiah should go and give us the way shame to you for luck of forsight to ayew brothers ayeekoo

• nyamekye 11 years ago

the coach is not gud,fire de coach

• Spike 11 years ago

Problem with Ghana is that we think we are that good as a footbal nation when in reality we are just slightly an above average football nation and not excellent. Hence, we can be defeated by any team that gets their tactics r ...

• SURVIVOR 11 years ago

I totally agree with you. With this attitued of ours we never correct our mistakes

• KOFI BONSU 11 years ago

kwesi Appiah was totally bankrupt,he only deserve to be an assistant coach but not a Head Coach of the Black Stars,He is one of our owns so we will not talk about him resgining but really he does not deserve to be at the posi ...

• kojo billy 11 years ago

Below thé standard kwesi ap.

• Mike 11 years ago

you have written a lot of tosh what do you know about football. article is crap

• Kobby 11 years ago

Mike, I agree with you. This guy in an earlier article has already condemned Kwasi Appiah and written damaged things about. He's just among those Ghanaians who were praying that the Stars should fail so that they could come o ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

...so you think Appiah is a good coach? Our performance though out the tournament was well below average. Kwasi Appiah seems to be a very nice/good guy, but in my opinion this is not the job for him. He conveys an air of lack ...

• richmond vicenza 11 years ago

Waoo na woaa for kwesi.

• RR 11 years ago

LETS 4GET ABT 3RD OR 4TH POSITION NOW SINCE WE DID NOT GET THE AFCON GOLD. FOCUS MUST BE NOW ON THE WORLD CUP AND IF WE WANT TO QUALIFY THEN WE MUST REPLACE DE DULL MINDED & CLOUDED VISIONED TECH BENCH AS WELL AS THE GFA CREW ...

• Nana Darkwa 11 years ago

Thanks BJ you've said it all, we all reap what we sow, it has come to a time where we as Ghanaians need to call a spade a spade. Our Black Stars went into hibernation for 10yrs and it took a young humble captain Tornado Appia ...

• Aj 11 years ago

I couldn't agree more to these comments. I was even suprised we came this far in the games. It appears ghana as a nation is yet to have a cohesive team. It was just sheer luck we came this far. Good effort but we have a lot t ...

• Nana 11 years ago

Its not about individual players and we have to appreciate that. No Ayew or with Ayews, we still have to perform tactically with what we have.One thing we have to consider is the commitment of the players that went to AFCON 2 ...

• BAZOO 11 years ago

FOOL KWASI APPIAH AND ASAMOAH GYAN

• Abongo 11 years ago

What makes you think there would have been a different outcome. All the countries came to play. Ghana played better than Brazil in the world Cup. Guess what, Ghana went home.

• ali abubakar 11 years ago

heart attack now in hospital fuck you appiah ,,,,,go and coach local base not black star...

• ali abubakar 11 years ago

heart attack now in hospital fuck you appiah ,,,,,go and coach local base not black star...afful well than boy

• BAZOO 11 years ago

HI KWASI AND GFA BRING BACK GNPC,S
    MONEY OR,

• ERA 11 years ago

Ghana coach lacked courage to substitute Asamoah Gyan as his perforamnce was well below standard throughout tournament.
    Akwesi Appiah terribly let Ghana down.

• OKOROMANSA 11 years ago

THE GFA MUST START FOM SCRATCH AND RECRUIT NEW YOUNG TALENTS.THE NEW STRATEGY WILL BE TO FIND BOYS WHO ARE ABOVE 6 FEET TALL AND TRAIN THEM TO BECOME STRIKERS. IT SEEMS LIKE THERE ARE NO MEN IN GHANA. LOOK AT THE BURKINA FASO ...

• cool 11 years ago

If Asamoah Gyan had scored one of the 5 begging chances that came his way, we would not be talking about this today.If we have to rely on penalties to win games, it's an indication that our striker is ineffective and that are ...

• King 11 years ago

You can't take penalty kicks as tho u were playing with a todler and expect to win a serious tournment. Akwasi Appiah also has himself to blame for some of his strange and unpopular tactical decisions

• KOKOLIKOKO 11 years ago

Already in Ghana's WC qualifying match against Zambia in Zambia was Kwesi Appiah's tactical bankruptcy in full glare! He went in for an open game, leaving our defence somewhat open, and our midfield porous, in a match that we ...

• shame on ALL OF you 11 years ago

WHEN GHANA WON THE FIRST 4 MATCHES, I DID NOT HEAR ALL THESE BAD COMMENTS. GHANAIANS LEARN TO ACCEPT DEFEAT AND STOP PUTTING BLAME ON OTHERS. WE LOST AND WE SHOULD ACCEPT IT AND MOVE ON.WE NEED CONTRUCTIVE CRITISMS.STOP THIS ...

• KOKOLIKOKO 11 years ago

Rubbish!

• Nyorkopio 11 years ago

Hindsight is always 20/20. Isn't it?
    Penalty shots are part of the game of soccer. Ghana was not the better team on Wednesday. That was why the Burkinabes won. The Stars will be back on top soon. Kwesi Appiah has done a mas ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

I am glad there are some level headed people out here. There is no need for rash action. Just keep playing and look for a new striker. Simple.

• anokwale 11 years ago

I find Ghanaians funny. Did the coach kick the break away opportunity right to the goalie or was that Gyan? Did the coach kick an easy score over the bar or was that Solomon Asante? (by the way, that should not have been a ...

• r.Kankam@hotmail.de 11 years ago

I was especting Akwasi Apia to change Asamoa Gyan from 60 minuts going to Boakye whiles gyan was looking tied always at this time.

• CF 11 years ago

How can u talk about Kwesi Appiah bringing unity to the Stars camp when we all know that he dropped the Ayew brothers due to personal reasons?
    He should be sacked,as simple as that.

• joseph kow amissah saudi arabia 11 years ago

kwasi appiah most go,the back star is too big for him,he has no experience to be incharge of the term.

• Original 11 years ago

No trophy during the reign of a government whose legitimacy is highly in doubt. No Akuffo Addo, no trophy for Ghana.

• COMMON SENCE 11 years ago

appiah can achieve nothing, because jealousy and timidity has taken the better part of him

• jaypopo 11 years ago

u are right my brother, Kwasi Appiah must be sacked cos he lucks the forsight of the game ....HE MUST BE SACKED PERIOD

• Chipolopolo 11 years ago

Congratulations Ghana for making it to the AFCON 2013 Losers' Final.

• Tito 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah in my opinion is just stupid. I'm not sure how much he is earning as a coach but he should have thought about the money, the pride, the honour and everything the country was giving him. Why did he dropped Jordan ...

• asuo 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah should be a ball boy not a coach,simple FIRE him

• KOKU 11 years ago

Where were the Ayew brothers, Dede and Jordan? Their inclusion in the attacking line could have changed Ghana's fortunes greatly.

• diaba k 11 years ago

How could Kwasi Appiah replace Wakasso when the head coach knew the game was heading towards penalty kicks?
    Very poor decision.

• Martin 11 years ago

The author’s assertion that coach Kwasi Appiah, a local coach, was tactically deficient and unable to read the game and make the necessary adjustments. I hope this is not an indictment of all local coaches not being excell ...

• Sulley!! 11 years ago

He is talking about the present coach and not all African or local coaches. He had a whole year to identify talents and skills and this is all he could give us? NO, that is a fail Grade! From Black Stars WC 2006 to Black Star ...

• Koby_USA 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah showed form day 1 that he did not know what he was doing.first he put plays Kwadwo Asamoah as left back.over 5 games he made the same substitutions over and over.he looked lost on the bench.we had no attacking t ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

Sub standard performance though out the competition,
    undisciplined players,
    lazy captain,
    A coach who comes across as lacking self confidence and being timid (...true or imagined, it does not matter).
    Desally could tak ...

• THE ENTIRE STARS SQUAD 11 years ago

There were some players who were selected to the Stars camp that makes me to wonder about Ghana's team selection program.
    How did Clottey and some of the guys get selected.
    All the good players play in a World Class High L ...

• Papa Dey 11 years ago

KA and his technical team are useless They have no clue what was going on the pitch.His substitutions were poor and even the kids were confused of what kind of formation they were playing.We didnt play well thruout the tourna ...

• ama 11 years ago

Why did the coach failed to replace John Pantsil with Jonathan Mensah in order to keep Kwadwo Asamoah in mid field?

• Emmanuel Holland 11 years ago

A Very Bad Cuach. GFA Boss SACK.

• Novembre 11 years ago

There was absolutely no imaginative exposition in our game from beginning to the end. Useless coach.

• Jamit Kofi 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is not qualified to handle the Black Stars, period. He got the selection and tactics all wrong. All the teams in the tournament were better than us. Well done Owoahene Acheampong.

• excuse me to say 11 years ago

People complaining about the coach: get over yourselves. Last time Ayew anybody was in the game, Ghana still didn't win AFCON IF I REMEMBER RIGHT.

Look, a team is not built overnight, give the dude time.

And those of yo ...

• Yaa Asentewaa + Kwame Nkrumah 11 years ago

The Ghana national football team will always be as good as the Ghana's Absolutely Rubbish + Third World "Economy" and "Quility of Life" for it's citizens.

• Onyame Nipa (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

BALAW#O

• Kofi 11 years ago

the word is barawo, you are a very stupid and wicked fool. this is the hundredth time you have tried insulting the president and you always get it wrong. Even on a forum like this you cant seem to be neutral for a while. You ...

• yawstone 11 years ago

Ghanaians should forget about any laurels for blackstars b.cos in the last 3 decades the nation has been politically polarized.Wrong people in control. God save Ghana.

• plain Truth, Texas 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah was simply empty, dumb, and pain stupid to replace Wakaso, his No. 1 penalty taker, at a time "any idiot" knew the game was heading for penalties. How dumb could he be!Ghana lost 2 goals by that stupid act as we ...

• REX 11 years ago

With the exception of Fatau who excelled.All of them played like school boys.No skill,no sharpness, no eagerness for goal.Their physical trainer failed in his duty.They all loooked like weaklings in the face of the opponents. ...

• DAN 11 years ago

Are we not going to humiliated by Mali? I suggest we pull out honourably and give them the points cos i stlii wonder how we got this far with this standard of play.

• YEBOPOWER 11 years ago

This same lack of creativity,display of intelligence,lack of ideas and failure of players taking up leadership roles are all to blame for the loss of Black Stars.Appiah is not a world class coach.He never coached the stars.If ...

• gorden brown 11 years ago

bro, good article.the coach must go for gross incompetence. his tactics is like teaching long division to a p1 class. away appiah

• Risky Mello 11 years ago

I normally don't like commenting as in football, there are winners and losers and sometimes we have to learn to be graceful in defeat. However it's the manner in which we lost, it was as if we've lost our way. The team didnt ...

• Kwaku Berchie 11 years ago

The question that I have for all is this?

If Kwesi Appiah, with all his tactical bankruptcy is able to take the stars to the semi-finals and to place 3rd, just as the obroni ("very competetent")did in 2012, what do you thi ...

• watchman 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah was restless on the bench.He was constantly agitated.Ghana's performance was simply woeful.

• Gaaby 11 years ago

Kwesi Appaih could not understudy Milo & Plavi