You are here: HomeSports2013 02 03Article 264001

Ghana Meets Burkina Faso in Semis

Read Comments Comments (85)

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

gh 3 vs burkina 0
    GYAN, OMOTUO TUO ZAAFI STRIKER!
    someone tell gyan that TO BE AN EFFECTIVE STRIKER. HE MUST HAVE HIS BACK TURNED TO THE GOALIE.
    GYAN NEVER TURNS HIS BACK TO THE GOALIE. INSTEAD, HE RUNS SIDEWAYS TO THE LE ...

• true talk 11 years ago

My only request to the coach is please start Solomon Asante. Ghana really needs a playmaker. I thought Atsu could do it but not there yet. If I was the coach there is no way I will put either Atsu,Wakaso or Asante on the benc ...

• Kwasi 11 years ago

You're right; I think at this moment we need your selection. Asante is smallish in structure but not afraid to penetrate .

• Fama Nyame Selection 11 years ago

Some people are getting confused, who is Allain Troare and Who's Pitroipa, or are they the same person, striker, or midfielder?

Help!

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

He is one of the Burkina Faso Strikers. He has scored most of their goals. He was injured when they played against Zambia, so he did not play against Togo.

• uio 11 years ago

Pls. mind this Pitroipa he was taking out purposely to preserve fit against Ghana

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

MY PREDICTION: BUEKINa FASO 3 GHANA 1

• OWASS 11 years ago

his tournament is over!he played just 10 mins in their draw against Zambie!!!

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

I guess not and you sound very shallow too. And you call yourself what?

• Alugu 11 years ago

I have no doubts Ghana can win the cup. I believe we will win with our name. These other teams in the semi-final are always afraid of Ghana. We shall meet Nigeria in the final.

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

I tip the Malians to beat Nigeria. Any of the four teams can be in the final so don't assume Nigeria will be there. I pray to God Ghana to be there in the final but the Nigeria Mali game is a toss-up.

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

THE NEW 'SUPER EAGLE' IS YOUR NEMESIS. WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT, NIGERIA WILL WIN THE 2113 CAF CUP. BE AFAID, BE VERY AFRAID INDEED.

• Afua 11 years ago

Why should Ghane be afraid? Like you have said, "NIGERIA WILL WIN THE 2113 CAF CUP" For your information, this is 2013 CAF cup.

• The Stallion 11 years ago

Some players are naturally substitute players. They change the game like adding salt or something in the middle of cooking! So leave coaches alone.
    Seek some knowledge from Sir Alex Fergurson.

• KojoLee/MRAA@WalatuAfcon 11 years ago

"Some players are naturally substitute players." ***Stallonzy***

Exactly!

What did you make of that? For nearly 40 munoiyes of hold up due to a power outage for a final game such as the super bowl? Are Ghanaians listening? When power went out at the Kumasi stadium in our match against Lesotho, it w ...

AA SHOULD START ASANTE ON THE WING. WE NEED EARLY GOALS, EARLY PRESSURE. WAKASSO HOWEVER IS A SUPER SUB. RABIU/ANNAN CAN BE USED IN THE MIDFIELD TO NEUTRALIZE PITRIOPA OR THE BURKINA CAPTAIN

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Solomon is good but he is what you call a super sub. He cannot start and play all 90 minutes at 5 ft 5" and light weight. He will get muscled. His speed is a great change of pace. Adomah is necessary for crosses to Gyan. ...

IT STARTED WITH GH VS LESOTHO. NOW WE SEE BLACKOUTS AT STADIUMS IN THE UK..MAN U GAME AND NOW AT THE SUPERBOWL. IF UR TEAM IS LOSING, JUST QUENCH THE LITES!

ADOMAH IS INEFFECTIVE. CAPE VERDE WERE ALSO MUSCULAR BUT LOOK AT ...

Do you remember what you said after that black out in Kumasi? With all the cusses you rained over people now you know it's real and can happen anywhere abi? This has also become history, now you know and can tell it to your f ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

In this physical tournament size and strength does matter. In AFCON, they let the games be a bit more physical. You need to handle the pushing and shoving that often goes on near the sideline or endline. That can make a di ...

• appiah papa 11 years ago

i still think we need Dede. Burkinabs are strong.

• Boss 11 years ago

why are you crying over a spilt milk? we are looking at the way forward and you there talking about an already closed case.

This subject is not closed until i say so. We need Dede wheather you like it or not.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

The word is whether not wheather

you understood what i meant

Just stop the nonsense and reason like a man.

• WOFA WOHOO 11 years ago

Saying is that,Ghana needs our best players even if we take the Africa cup of nations.We cannot be great by excluding some of our best players like Dede,Muntari etc,just to mention a few.We shall win this cup by God's grace,h ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

We cannot take all the players there because we have a limit of Players we are allowed to bring.

Stop this nonsense of even if you do not like them stupidity. Coach Appiah selects Players he thinks will give him the best ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

1998 champions of what?

• AA's Fama Nyame Selection, Tweaaaaaaa 11 years ago

Some selection just makes you feel like break-dancing; what's Derek Boateng, Paintsil, Rabiu, Adomah, Gyan (to an extend) doing in this fama Nyame selection, when we are coming up against Burkina, and Alata 11?

AA is livi ...

• Kwasi 11 years ago

I disagree abit; I think we need Gyan just to attraction the opponent's defense. Paintsil also brings experience otherwise your selection is cool with me.

• Busumbru 11 years ago

You are right, Djan is really drawing opponents' defence men away alright, but the seems to be no confident ball holder who is able to exploit the spaces created by Djan's play to score the much needed goals. This is where i ...

GYAN HAS BEEN USED TO DRAW AWAY DEFENDERS ALRITE, BUT WHO HAS BEEN THERE TO SCORE? NOONE...EITHER GYAN GETS USED AS A DECOY TO SET OTHER PLAYERS UP, BUT WHO? GYAN HIMSELF IS A LOUSY FINISHER. AA SHOULD PLAY THE 532. START CLO ...

USE GYAN AS A SUB. IF U START GYAN, U WOULDHVE PLAYED INTO THEIR HANDS. BURKINA WILL MARK HIM OUT. START YIADOM OR CLOTTEY. LET GYAN N WAKASSO COME IN LATER TO ADD EXTRA ENERGYN BITE TO THE TIRED BURKINA DEFENDERS. IF U START ...

Whether you like it or not, Appiah is in charge. He's doing what he can defend when questioned. Fama Nyame soccer or not, we've come this far through that. Were we not paying $55K a month in 2012 for Plavi and where did we go ...

• ADOBEA 11 years ago

But he scores in world cup.African cup,France and mallam leagueso whats your problem

• ?????????????????????????????????? 11 years ago

Mallam league u made me laugh men

• Joe Papa 11 years ago

Enough of Gyan other strikers must be use. Gyan is tired and no more sharp .Yiadom and clottey will bring fresh into the team. We must learn from Nigeria, which use all it strikers.Gyan may kill us off when it need most.

why are you using my name?

Make room for two more strikers to operate with Gyan upfront,am not a football side coach,is there a way AA can include both Clottey,Yiadom and Asamoah together upfront?At this stage of the competition we need the best player ...

• No Name, USA 11 years ago

Congratulations to both Appiah and Keshi for jobs well done.

I am a little bit concerned about that terrible sandy field, which may favor the Stallions a little bit and calls for certain types of strikers, but not the Gya ...

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Listen well.. BF is a strong side. They are big, strong and determined. They may bully us around quite easily. Gyan has to be real man in this game or else we will lose. We have a better team but I think they are physical ...

• Alugu 11 years ago

There is no way Gyan can go pass these Burkina defenders. We better think twice! This is a FINAL game! no return match.

SIMPLICITY N SPEED WILL WIN OVER BURKINA

• Mohammed Awuni 11 years ago

no need for him

U AGAIN. HAVNT I TOLD U TO REFRAIN FROM MAKING BLANKET, IMMATURE N UNCULTURED STATEMENTS? CLOTTEY HAS ONLY PLAYED IN LESS THAN 10MINUTES IN THE TOURNEY THUS FAR. IN THE GAME AGAINST NIGER, HE ALMOST HAD A GOAL WITH HIS HEAD. ...

• ed 11 years ago

has gh/bs won any match with him.ungratefull.Ungrateful people breed negativity. No one gets any pleasure from giving to an ungrateful person. When you show appreciation, the object of your attention blossoms and flourishes.W ...

• The Stallion 11 years ago

We are not going to change a winning team!

We are not going to change a winning team period.

• WIT 11 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS BLACK STARS FOR MAKING IT TO THE FINAL. HOWEVER LEAVE JUBILATIONS FOR THE MEANTIME AND TRAIN
    YOURSELVES VIGOUROUSLY FOR THE NEXT MATCH WITH THE BURKINABES. THEY ARE PHYSICALLY WELL BUILT AND STRONG AND ARE VE ...

• Alugu 11 years ago

We need very swift players to go pass the Burkina defence.

• ernest mensah 11 years ago

ghana has been to the semi finals in the last 4 afcons. ghana, angola, gabon and this one. we were 3rd, 2nd, 4th and its time we win this time. we should keep it simple. we will adoma be playing on the left wing and atsu on t ...

• cocky overreacting gh football fans 11 years ago

BF is a dangerious team for GH. if I were the players, i would train and prepare better for BF. this team isn't CV with all due respect. BF is a serious contender for BS of GH. there should not be any room for error.

• read y 2 dye 11 years ago

we should use fast players like s. asante, wakaso, atsu, to quickly go around them. short passes like spain cuz them mugs bigger than us. boycott vodaphone, one!

• Jonathan Waki united states 11 years ago

Burkina 0 Ghana 2

• Apia 11 years ago

Each member of the team should be able to run back and forth from one box to another throughout the game to ensure victory over our northern neighbors.

• Champ, Denver, USA 11 years ago

I think am for Burkina to raise the worth of Ntafuos here!! Atleast Ghana has four Cup wins. It's Burkinas turn. Northern brothers, you have a choice. You do not have to support the Black stars this once!

• KK 11 years ago

Hello, Mr writer, do not misinform the public. Burkina has never been champion.Burkina was the host, and Egypt took the cup.Please check the records before you write.

Did i misunderstood something?Had Burkina Faso ever won an African cup of nations?I was just wondering who was the writer refering to,pls someone clear the air for me thank you guys

• Jon 11 years ago

Burkina Faso hosted the championship in 1998 and came fourth having lost a 4-1 lead against Congo.

The writer said Burkina Faso was host, not champions

Thank you for making the corrections,however lets us always read and go over re-read what we print bf we send it out to the whole world,inorder to avoid such mistakes.Congratulations to the BLACK STARS pls do not relax,beat B ...

• mallam-usa 11 years ago

They hosted , but Egypt won

• K.K 11 years ago

For once i can be positive and congratulate my fellow kwesi appiah whom i have unnecessarily criticized with nasty comments, please accept my apologies. am now a believer of james kwesi appiah for his tactics which differ fr ...

gh 3 vs burkina 0
    GYAN, OMOTUO TUO ZAAFI STRIKER!
    someone tell gyan that TO BE AN EFFECTIVE STRIKER. HE MUST HAVE HIS BACK TURNED TO THE GOALIE.
    GYAN NEVER TURNS HIS BACK TO THE GOALIE. INSTEAD, HE RUNS SIDEWAYS TO THE LE ...

• K.K 11 years ago

Your anlayses are spot on and demand severe attention from all Black stars lovers Kwesi Appiahand G.f.a included must implement your tactical assertions immediately or even atleast some of them must be implemented for us to a ...

We are going to lose. We need DEDE in the semis.

• Rocket 11 years ago

Allah will strike down all those who seek to bring confusion like you are!!

• ed 11 years ago

Allah will strike them bcos of football?IS THE GAME LEADING US TO HEAVEN?I FEEL SORRY FOR YOU.PLS., LET ME ASK YOU.CAN YOU SAY THIS IN FRONT OF YOUR CHILDREN OR INFRONT PEOPLE.PLS., DONT LOWER YRSELF.

• ed 11 years ago

a commentator of eurosportInternational asked the same question.He said BS need players like Dede,Essien and mutari.he said some of this players are inmature.

• Popopo-London 11 years ago

Lets face it the tarlions are playing with determination ans as a team just like haw Zambia played in last afcon and i will not be surprise if the beat Ghana.infact i tip them to pick the cup because the deserve it .God will ...

• Rocket 11 years ago

Allah will strike down all demons like you hoping to bring confusion and all the enemies of coach Appiah!!!

• Boss 11 years ago

No matter how strong or good the burkinabes are they can't beat the black stars.Neither Burkina nor Nigeria can stop the blck stars.watch out for another deadly action gaint the Malians in the final.

• KOFIUS 11 years ago

Cape Verde were ROBBED with a controversially dubious penalty. If GH win this cup then the whole thing is a farce. The best team must win not just relying on luck and dubious officiating

• uio 11 years ago

Pls. mind this Pitroipa he was taking out purposely to preserve fit against Ghana

• KWAKU 11 years ago

the Black stars need increase their performance level if the want to win this crucial semi-final match against BF. The coach must come with a solid strategy to overcome any strong defensive wall by the remaining opponents. Ne ...

• GEORGE 11 years ago

is me

• rauf sani 11 years ago

Ghana 3 Burkina Faso 1

• Whatever 11 years ago

This is my little advice to the team as they head into this face off.

Good Luck

• RKB USA 11 years ago

BY THE GRACE OF GOD WE WILL WIN AMEN

• naija man 11 years ago

this useless ghana team can never score my dear naija. we will white wash these idiots who defecate into the sea at accra

Half of LAGOS Defecate, swim n drink
    off of waters surrounding Ajegunle???

• Ekumfi Akyen -Obamaland 11 years ago

WHAT'S WRONG BWITH THIS SCAR-FACED KOLA CHEWING NAIJAMAN?WHEN HUMAN BEINGS ARE TALKING SENSE THIS ABEOKUTA MAN IS TALKING RUBBISH.
    HE IS VERY IDIOTIC AND I DONT KNOW WHY.COULD SOMEBODY TELL ME SOMETHING?

• burkina 11 years ago

Burkina 1 : Ghana 0... the truth hurts. Soo sad