You are here: HomeSports2013 01 30Article 263596

Appiah: Asamoah Gyan is Ghana's best striker

Read Comments Comments (89)

• GHANA IS GREAT 11 years ago

Coach, we now understand you. Your philosophy is accepted. I speak on behalf of the whole of Ghana. Keep it up and win the Cup for us.

• GA MAN 11 years ago

Look at this empty headed coach with useless talk.How can a player be the best striker in the country yet cannot score goals?does this coach without identity really knows what he is talking at all?the whole world is singing p ...

• jing 11 years ago

stupid comment!! scoring goals are not the only things that make good players. did you read AA's sensible logic and philosophy??? SORRY but YOU are DUMB like a GOAT!!!

• GA MAN 11 years ago

SOORY, but your ashawo smelling mother,and goat fucker thief father are goats,given birth to moda fucker dog.

• OBOATANTO 11 years ago

YOUR'RE VERY UNCOUGHED. DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE WORD? WO YE OKURASENI, NA WOMPOI YE. IT SIMPLY MEANS YOU ARE A BUSH MEAT FROM THE FOREST. INFACT WOYE ABOA ANKASAA. THIS ALSO MEANS YOU'RE A TYPICAL ANIMAL. YOUR UTTERANCES ARE DI ...

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

Folks Togo is not joking in this competition. They really came. So far they leading Tunisia by 1

Through a penalty kick, the game is 30 minutes old now.

First half is over. still 1 all

Kwasi Appiah needs to watch how Adebayo harasses opponent's defenders. This is what Asamoah Gyan needs to do.

By the way, Algeria 1 Ivory Coast 0. It would have been 2-0 if Algeria didn't miss one penalty earlier.

Algeria 2 Ivory Coast 0

Algeria 2 Ivory Coast 2. A goal from Drogba made it so.

In Tunisia and Togo match, the referee is being partial. Adebayo had two penalties but the it wasn't given to him.

Togo is qualified and will face Burkina Faso. Algeria and Tunisia both are going home. None of the Northern Nations qualified. What a disgrace to the Northern countries.

• Alugu 11 years ago

It's almost an all West African Quarter final except for South Africa and Cape Verde.

• ?????????????????????????????????? 11 years ago

cape verde is west africa

1. Ghana vs. Cape Verde

2. Burkina Faso vs. Togo

3. South Africa vs. Mali

4. Ivory Coast vs. Nigeria

For the semi-finals the winners from 1 & 2 will meet and so the of 3 & 4 will meet.

The boys have been separa ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

HE SCORES 1 GOAL, AND 2 ASSISTS AGAINST AGAINST ASANKA TEAM LIKE NIGER. WHO ONLY MANAGED TO GET 1 POINT AND GYAN IS OUR BEST STRIKER? AA, ALLOW YIADOM N CLOTTEY TO START N GYAN WILL BE AN AFTER THOUGHT....WHY, U DEY FEAR? EEE ...

• mase papa 11 years ago

in this world..

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

ASAMOAH GYAN IS A BETTER STRIKER THAN DROGBA. HE IS THE BEST IN AFRICA. SHUT UP, U HATERS.

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

GYAN HAS NEVER PRODUCED ANY STRIKER AS GOOD AS ASAMOAH GYAN. THIS DUDE IS GREAT.

• the king himself 11 years ago

how long does he last at sunderland
    this coach hate ayew brothers peroid

• mensah 11 years ago

Only people who started watching soccer from yesterday don't know Akwasi Appiah.

• GA MAN 11 years ago

Why didn't you tell those who have started watching football yesterday of Appiah's soccer credentials,since you have started watching his soccer the day before yesterday?including his identity number in soccer.mummu..

• OBOATANTO 11 years ago

BUUUSSSHHHH MEEEEAAAATTTTTTTTTTTT.

• mensah 11 years ago

If knew soccer, I will know that Akwasi Appiah the Mayele is regarded as the best left back in Ghana. You will also know that he captained both the Black Stars and Kotoko for over decade. He captained the Black Stars so smoot ...

• Chiedo 11 years ago

Jesus! you are really a Ga Man!

• Houdini 11 years ago

Sorry, Ga Man is not a Ga but a pepenii in the military posted to South Sudan where he is standing sentry. The Arab Sudanese might even get hold of him and teach him a lesson.

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

If Asamoah Gyan is not the best striker, who then is? Who at all on that team has scored in all the three matches? Just like the coach said, some players need to be on a team and playing to inspire others, if you have ever ...

• Sam 11 years ago

Please Kwesi Appiah don't insult Ghanaians. Gyan was our best striker few years back but not anymore. I do not understand why the coach is protecting Asamoah Gyan. Despite scoring in the last match, A.Gyan has not performed w ...

What sort of attention at all are you looking for? It seems you are so obssessed with these Ayew families to the extent that, matters that are not related them are brought in by you. Do not forget, who Jah bless, no one cur ...

• Akwasi 11 years ago

you said it all brother. The "Ga Man" is just an idiot looking for an attention.

You seem to be a "GUN MAN" rather than a "GA MAN". We need Asamoah Gyan as at this present time of Ghana soccer.

• JOJO 11 years ago

TWAAAAAA THIS AWUF PENALTY GBE. hE IS YOUR TEAM CAPTAIN AND I AM NOT EXPECTING YOU TO SAY THAT HE IS NOT. I LOVE GYAN AND HIS CHARISMA BUT TO ME HE IS NOT FIT FIR A LEAD STRIKER. COMPARE HIM TO ETTO, DROGBA. HE ALWAYS START D ...

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

JOJO YOU MUST UNDERSTAND THAT THERE ARE SO MANY QUALITIES TO ASSESS A PLAYER TO BE THE BEST AMONG OTHERS.DO UNDERSTAND KWESI APPIAH

• Alugu 11 years ago

It is not that people hate Gyan but the fact is that he does not perform to expectation. As kids, when we stepped out to play, it was soccer. Many Ghanaians know the game of soccer and can play better than the crop of players ...

• Super Joel 11 years ago

Alugu is now the best striker for Gh.thumbs up

• mensah 11 years ago

The coach said the best in Ghana. He may not compare favorably with Drogba, or Eto but he is best Ghana has at the moment. Then again if you compare Asamoah's contribution to the national team to that of Drogba and Eto, Asamo ...

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

BABY JET IS FAR BETTER THAN ETOO. YOU GUYS DONT KNOW SOCCER. GYAN IS EVEN BETTER THAN DROGBA.

• Kotoro 11 years ago

Masa make sure you read well, he did not said he is the best in Africa. He said Ghana, so why mentioned those guys.

He is the best at the moment in Ghana, I agree with the coach on this fact. With the coach's statement as Asamoah Gyan draws opponents for team mates to have the opportunity to free themselves, and also work around him, I do ...

• From Gyan 11 years ago

THis message is directly to Assamoah Gyan. I know u guys followw comments and other stuff.
    Point is u are a good striker , but the past three games at AFCON u have been too timid. As a striker it is ur duty to hold up the d ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

I total disagree with you he is the best at the moment because we have not tried anyone he has monopolize that department any no one has the balls to call him to order. You have said it all. This statement of yours said all:

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

Folks, this is the wrong time for AA to make such a comment. We all know what Gyan has done in the past when he is in GOOD form. Gyan himself knows at the bottom of his heart that he needs to raise his game. AA should have su ...

• Alex 11 years ago

The best striker Ghana have ever produce...

• NPP Cocaine Pusher 11 years ago

Of course, he is because the coaches keep on fielding him in spite of his shortfalls. If other strikers are also given the same opportunity the Black Stars (Ghana)will be better off

• ball to wall 11 years ago

THERE IS THAT "NECCESSITY FORCED A BOUCHER TO KILL A CAT"
    AND IN THE MIST OF BLIND PEOPLE ,ONE EYE PERSON IS ALWAYS THE KING

E

• eg 11 years ago

Drogba did not start thier last game

• SUHUM SAMAN 11 years ago

Work on your spelling, son before you open your mouth.

• Samuel Agbesi 11 years ago

Check your facts correctly. Ghana is playing Cape verde in the quarter finals not Sei-finals

• oppong london 11 years ago

ghana will go far to the finals n win the cup .

• oppong london 11 years ago

quarter final with cape verde not semi final,please.

• Frank 11 years ago

MTNFootball, wake up. Ghana is facing Cape Verde in the quarter-final and not semi-final.

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

ASAMOH GYAN IS TE BEST

• Sam 11 years ago

Please Kwesi Appiah don't insult Ghanaians. Gyan was our best striker few years back but not anymore. I do not understand why the coach is protecting Asamoah Gyan. Despite scoring in the last match, A.Gyan has not performed ...

• GG 11 years ago

if he didn't score you won't came out with this.Drogba was not in thier lineup in thier last match.He came in later in the second half

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

GYAN IS GOOD STRIKER WHEN HE IS WIHT HIS PRIVAT TEAM ,HE IS GOOD BUT NO SCORE,MORE CHANCES TO SCORE BUT,,,,,,

• Lips 11 years ago

Ofcourse he is! The players are very happy an feel comfortable when they start the game with him,, it make them work harder.. And play well

• Boakye 11 years ago

Boakye is better than asamoah gyan

• Abrantie 11 years ago

Appiah must refrain from discrimination afterall ghana is for all but not only for akan!

• SHAKAMORA 11 years ago

kwasea concerntrate on one player das why abedi collected cptship from u aboa

• Nana 11 years ago

First of all Kwesi makes Gyan the substantial captain and then protects him at the least chance?

Well here is where if all fits. Among the current Black Star players, Gyan is the only one that can be made captain OVER Ded ...

• Chiga 11 years ago

What the coach says simply goes to show that we lack strikers. And it means nothing in terms of value to the team

• From Gyan 11 years ago

I have a feeling most people havent seen Richmond Boakye play or even Jordan Ayews current form . THe coach should stop lying to himself . Gyan is second to both Boakye and Jordan.

• mensah 11 years ago

We tried Jordan Ayew and he did not perform. His current is no better except for scoring one or two Chicharito goals. Point to one match that Jordan Ayew was the best and you win the day. Enough of Jordan's current form. It i ...

• Chris 11 years ago

Why are you sooo jealous and bitter?

• mensah 11 years ago

It is always good to a spade a spade. Why will be jealous be a player who do not count in the scheme things?
    I devote my time for better players.

• Nana 11 years ago

hahaha and who are the better players?

• mensah 11 years ago

The Mesis, the Ronaldos the Van Pesies. To9 be honest with you the French league is a third tier league that I don't care much about. But just so you know good players who players who play for third tier teams are always the ...

• Nana 11 years ago

i see and what position does "The Mesis, the Ronaldos the Van Pesies" play in the Black Stars?

• Akwasi 11 years ago

GOOD ONE

• mensah 11 years ago

A soccer fan does not only watch African Cups or the Black Stars. A soccer fan watches the best of leagues, listen to soccer analysis from great minds to be able to understand the game better. And that is who I am.

• TJ Hooker 11 years ago

Gyan is a world known player, his presence in a game posses a threat and nervousness to Stars rivals which create a vacuum for other players to score. Dropping him out of Stars line up as of now is jeopardy.

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

AA why create division amongst your players when you are in a serious tournament like this. What ever you say will affect your players either positively or negatively. Since you cannot tell how your comments about Gyan will a ...

• Me 11 years ago

Stupid Coach

• Yeoman 11 years ago

What do you expect him to say? Kwesi Appiah lacks sophistication.

• JUSTMAN 11 years ago

If Asamoah Gyan is our best striker,
    then we are in trouble.Our best striker is far from competing with other strikers on the continent. In short Black Star has no striker.
    Asamoah Gyan need a great discipline, seriousness, ...

I sing praises to you and your name (Asamoah Gyan) as far as Ghana soccer is concerned. And hallow be thy name young man, not "Gun Man" (Ga Man).

• blackchild 11 years ago

JORDAN IS MORE BETTER THAN GYAN

• OBOATANTO 11 years ago

GO TO SCHOOL. WE DON'T SAY SOMEONE IS MORE BETTER.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Last year against Zambia, Jordan had more than enough chances and he simply was not ready. You need to tough for AFCON. The French league is good and I give him credit for his scoring but they just do not get as physical in ...

• JUDAS-Liverpool 11 years ago

The coach is correct to tell us that Gyan is the best striker.In Gyan i also trust.

• Boakye 11 years ago

Boakye is the savior for are striker problem

• Sami 11 years ago

If you think being a striker means you can score at any moment then go score nyourself.It is always easier said than done.Drogba does not score in every match but creates the opportunity to make it easier for others to score ...

• Patrick 11 years ago

God forgive this coach for he doesnt know what he is saying. What makes gyan the best striker? Someone who has never scored more than one goal in a single game for black stars something even adiyiah and jordan did in the matc ...

• Nketia Watuzi 11 years ago

This coach is a joke. His tribalistic tendencies is going to bring the black stars down. Asamoah Gyan plays the position of a striker but of little quality. He gets 10 good scoring chances and converts one. Why are other stri ...

• Osei 11 years ago

Gyan is not yet the best.

• JUJUMAN!! 11 years ago

AYEW BROTHERS CAME TO ME TO PUT A SPELL ON BLACKSTARS...WELL I TOOK THE CASH, JUJU IS DONE. GHANA WILL LOOSE 3-1..... OBADADEDRATEYOOOOOOO!

• Kofi 11 years ago

why are you saying they will score Ghana 3-1 ... then i think are a critical fool to me

• Xx jay 11 years ago

Kwesi appiah u r an Ashanti fool,asamoah gyan is the most useless player in ghana football together with paintsil