You are here: HomeSports2013 01 21Article 262765

Kwadwo Asamoah to stay at left back

Read Comments Comments (107)

• Kwasi 11 years ago

Ghanaians talk too much; "we know everything but we don't anything." Leave & tech team to do their job.

• Kofi Yankey 11 years ago

Kwasi, I ask you this. Are you happy with how things are done in Ghana? Are you happy with this Black Stars performance? Are you happy we spent over $7M on the team for such a poor performance? The feeling is like your kid pl ...

• WISE-TALK, UK 11 years ago

bye bye ghana hahahahah,no any win for ghana hahahaha,u see una?hahaha,go back to ghana in first round,hahahaha.

• Shame Kwesi Appiah 11 years ago

If Ghana fail to qualify,It is because of the exclusion OF DEDE AYEW,THE SON OF SOCCER KING,KING ABEDI PELE OF GHANA. ABEDI PELE THE the MEATRO, DEDE AYEW, THE SON OF THE GREAT KING ABEDI PELEEEEEEE!. KWESI APPIAH, DEDE IS T ...

• Busumbru 11 years ago

Idiotic barbarian. Did you hear the results about the Nigerian team?

• EVIL DWARF FROM KYEBI 11 years ago

Ghana doesn't have the strength,other skills player resources that Juventus has in playing Kwadwo Asamoah at left back. This coach is gambling with the passion of Ghanaians.

• GH 11 years ago

WE JUVENTUS SUPPORTERS WILL NOT SITDOWN TO SPOIL KWADWO ASAMOAH, U ARE KILLING BLACK STAR 4 REAL,CANT U SEE UR RECORD IN CAF??

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WHY DIDNT AA EVEN FIELD CLOTTEY OR ASANTE AGAINST CONGO? I SWEAR, AA IS A DREAMER

• World King 11 years ago

This is your time to prove and not experiment. You would have had a huge support if you won your first game. Your midfield was broke for a good 90min with a weak top striker.OMG

• Lagos4eva 11 years ago

this nonsens blackstar team will not even qualify out of the groups.bye bye ghana...hehe..hehe..hehe

• MIKE 11 years ago

the coach is really not correct

• Wiseman 11 years ago

Right, I support your thought. Saw how Ethiopians played their game? They showed they were anything but lazy, and the teamwork was fantastic.

COACHING TACTICS!
    GYAN DOES NOT DESERVE TO BE CAPTAIN. GIVE THE CAPTAIN SHIP TO BADU!

if the players were doing wat i have been telling them to do like lifting metal. they would be faster, stronger and would have less
    C ...

• DESTINY 11 years ago

Kasa new position is very good, if he can play it well. Let me tell you why. The finals is a long way away, and WE ALL KNOW HE CAN PLAY Any POSITION. So if we can use him at the defence and hide him successfully till the fina ...

HIDE WAT? U WILL HIDE AND HIDE AND BEFORE U KNOW IT GH WILL BE OUT. USE THE PLAYERS AT THEIR TRUE POSITIONS SO THEY CAN PROVIDE MAXIMUM BENEFITS. KASA PLAYING THE LEFTBACK IS A LIABILITY. DID U SEE HOW THE LEFT BACK WAS LEAKI ...

• DESTINY 11 years ago

OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? You may be right. If that left was leaking , why do that? All the same we need a coach who will study the game as it goes on and make immediate changes as the game progresses. Thanks for your comme ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

I wish Coach Appiah brings in KISSI Boateng and push Kwadwo Asamoah to the wings as he is used at Juventus. Kwadwo played a great game not necessary as a defender but when he moved forward. He had a hand in both goals.

AA WITH HIS MBAA KUBE HEAD MUST MOVE EITHER WAKASSO OR KISSI BOATENG TO THE LEFT BACK/3 SPOT. MOVE KASA TO THE LEFT WONG, ATSU TO THE RIGHT WING AND HAVE THEM OVERLAP. AFFUL SHOULD EVER EVER PLAY LEFT BACK, BUT RIGHT WING ONL ...

• Slimzay**Unshakeable Shaker** 11 years ago

Folks don't cry on this past game because none of the nations came as a spectator. They all came to win. Therefore, each team is using whatever means to win. Who could have even thought that Ethiopia could have played 10 agai ...

• joey london! 11 years ago

What did A/G did when he missfired gone were the days,that when he will look at the heavens for comfort and apologise uhhhhhhHh

Nigeria also lost there three point and settled with only a point. This is very painful tournament! Nations are going down in the last minute seconds. Nigeria sat and Bokina Faso scored at the dying second. The game ended 1-1 ...

I'm telling you, bro, this tournament, though Ghana and couple of the teams have been decleard as favorites, one can't tell anymore.

Oh for Asamoah Gyan's case, I think the player is done. We need a striker who wouldn't wa ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 11 years ago

Asamoah Gyan failed Ghana in the Congo match. He is too slow and weak. He was pushed around by the Congolese defence.

Kwesi Appiah needs to change his formation. If you are going to play a one striker formation, you need a ...

GYAN
    IS A FOOLISH STRIKER. HE HAS NO KILLER INSTINCT INFRONT OF THE NET. ANY STRIKER WHO CANT SMELL BLOOD INFRONT
    OF THE NET IS USELESS, IMPOTENT STRIKER!
    WHY ARE THE NAMES ON THESE FOOLISH TYE N DYE PUMA JERSEYS IN SMALL ...

• Africanus 11 years ago

Agree with you. Asamoah Gyan has never been a striker any team can confidently rely upon. He knows that, that is why he run away from the English premier league to go hide in the Arab world. The one-on-one chance he missed co ...

One on one!Togo should be flying by now but not,toure punish them for his flop!

• PAGA 11 years ago

THEY WANT AYEWS STORIES. SO NO MANY COMMENTS

• abc 11 years ago

these are professionals.. they cannot play 90 minutes? what about if games go overtime, Ghana cannot play overtime? South Africa heat?....you make many scratch their hair...hmmmmm

VERY SOON U WILL PLACE UR HANDS ON UR HEAD N CRY AGYEIIIIII. U BETTER DO THAT NOW . WATS THE SENSE IN PLAYING KASA AT LEFT BACK? HE DOSENT EVEN PLAY LEFT BACK AT JUVENTUS. KASA PLAYS AS A LEFT MIDFIELDER AT JUVE. MOVE ATSU TO ...

• wilson 11 years ago

the congolese used that position a lot because the midfielders especially derek boateng failed to be cutting the attacks. i pray that if anthony annan is not fit, coach kwesi appiah should shift agyemang badu to the left half ...

They even got a penalty but wasted that opportunity.

• Sport Guru 11 years ago

It will be fine and K Asamoah loves it there too

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

That's all. Appiah himself will be a fool to listen and impliments most of the nonsense being said over here. I think our players did fare well, especially the new guys but it's just our first game. They'll definately deliver

• Africanus 11 years ago

Yes, our players played well in my view. Ghanaians are failing to see that Congo DR is a very good side, majority of their players are from one team, that is why they have so much cohesion and teamwork. Ghana on the other han ...

• Sports Guru 11 years ago

Yes I agree with you and Africanus,POW.Look at how all the teams are drawing.It takes time to settle in a tournament.The stars will top their group and qualify

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

I agree with all of you about the first game is always the difficult match but disagree with you on the part that our players payed well. They didn't play well because the Black Stars was out played in all departments. We han ...

Both teams have their leaders on the ball so far 1.1 even with the ethipians one man down.na waaa o!

• Anokwale 11 years ago

This tournament is wide open. Stop being so harsh on the Black Stars. Support them!!!

• KWAKU 11 years ago

Our defence was porous especially at the wings. Please sort this out more effectively in the next march. Paintsil is old and was always outpaced by the congolese attackers.

• Appletus 11 years ago

Yes...good observation...the guy is old ...he can run to cover so he is always outspaced

• WOFA WOHOO 11 years ago

Do not start Pantsil in our next most important match,we have to win,this is a fact.We have to beat Mali no excuse coach,I repeat we have to beat Mali.Make sure you put in your best selections ever as if we are playing the fi ...

• HONESTNEST GOD IS MY JUDGE 11 years ago

We need effective defence like Jonathan,Kissi,Boye,Vorsah and we sail through.

• MEMAN NTI 11 years ago

Kwadeo Asamoah did very well in that position(left back)but I think it will work very well for the team if you push him foward to play his up field position to keep the midfield tight and deploy Afful or Richard K.Boateng at ...

U SAY WETIN?
    KASA DOES NOT EVEN PLAY AS A LEFT BACK FOR CLUB, SO WHY AND HOW DID HE ALL OF A SUDDEN BECOME A LEFTBACK FOR GBSTAR? KASA IS A LEFT SIDED MIDFIELDER WHO COMES BACK TO HELP IN DEFENSE N SUPPORT THE ATTACK AT JUVE ...

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 11 years ago

He has been our most creative player so far. From the friendly against Egypt to this match, his clever lay-offs have produced goals. So I think it is time he is deployed up front. He has now scored his long awaited second goa ...

• Madzia 11 years ago

The thing is football is a two way street . U can look good attacking and yet look really bad defending . Kwadwo Asamoah was effective going fwd in the game but at the same time ,he was woeful in defending . The midfield had ...

• allen(Australia) 11 years ago

Akwasi appiah should stop acting like an ass and play kodjo asmoah in his well known position which is the midfield cos he did well though but the left flank was porous and the congolese exploited it..if we fail to win our ne ...

• MIDAS TOUCH 11 years ago

I swear to GOD if this stubborn coach play Kwadwo Asamoah at the left full back and we loose, he shd better not come to Ghana cos we will skin him alive. senseless black man who will not listen to advise.

• abc 11 years ago

It is against the law to issue such threats of bodily harm or dead to another person.. be civil.. AA has a supervisor called GFA.. let everyone do his or her work. Ghana is on a civility project. Do not be let behind..

• tegare 11 years ago

kwasi appiah is just stupid.......he stands by touch line mute throughout the match and comes to talk about indiscipline.....and whats this nonsense about players being tired.. ? his selection cant play 90 mins ?

• M3KA 11 years ago

WE ARE BUNCH OF UNFIT JOKERS IF WE THINK WE CAN WIN AFCON 2013 WITH THIS MEDIOCRE PERFORMANCE. I WILL ADVISE KWESI APPIAH AND USELESS ASAMOAH GYAN TO BORROW A TAPE OF THE ZAMBIA-ETHIOPIS, NOW THAT WAS A TRUE AFCON ENCOUNTER. ...

• AGYA KOW 11 years ago

I do not know about you guys but I am really worried about the so called 'senior players.John Paintsil,Dereck Boateng,Asamoah Gyan.They need to up their game.With John ...I think he has passed it he is slow and a good winger ...

• Abeiku 11 years ago

The Ethiopians wasted a penalty, received a red card and were down by one goal at the end of the first half. They however scored an equalizer at 65th minute.

• Anokwale 11 years ago

You see...Zambia allowed Ethiopia to come back for a 1-1 draw after being a man down. This is a wide open tournament. Do not think that this is Europe where the favorites dominate the tournament. This is Africa. Let the c ...

Ehtiopia played a do and die game!Which Ghana couldn't do!watch nigeria vrs bkfaso!

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Yet another draw. This is a wide open tournament. Ghanaians need to stop being scared. Another comeback by the lower seeded team!!!

ANOKWALE, AINT NOBODY SCARED OOOHH. FEAR BI WAT? AN ILLUSION K3K3....

WE JUST DONT WANT TO SEE NO TYE N DYE SOCCER DISPLAYED BY OUR TEAM. THEY SHOULD PLAY SMART AND FINISH CLINICAL.

COACHING TACTICS!
    if the players wer ...

• Adviser 11 years ago

if kwesi appiah after this poor performance insists of playing kwadwo asamoah at the leftback position then he should prepare very well for insults from ghanaians.

• tegare 11 years ago

isnt there something they call the technical team....whats their function, and whos the assistant coach...

• Kofius 11 years ago

Fear not WE WILL WINTHE CUP

• ere43321`sd/ 11 years ago

wedsssssdddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

• Appletus 11 years ago

This stupid coach is very adamant still putting Asamoah at defense. Is he normal at all?
    How can he risk the CUP this way. The midfield is so weak. We Asamoah , Agyeman Badu and Anthony Annan to strengthen it and create oppo ...

• Sarskoberta 11 years ago

The game did not travel over ninety minutes regulation time, how could MRAA affirm, cite tiredness or exhaustion as the reason for pushing Kwadwo upward?

Does it mean the boys weren't resorted to enough physicals during tr ...

• KojoLee/MRAA@WalatuAfcon 11 years ago

Sarskacum, now the midfield and the defence has been the topic of the town, what is going on. The role that Kwadman is playing was good for the friendlies but it has not yield for the actual tournament.

If you have money ...

• E. Ntim-Frempong 11 years ago

Kwadwo Asamoah to stay

• osei 11 years ago

Akwasi Appaih will end up failing, this is beacuse Anthony Annan is not fit and the only experience midfielder in the team is being used at the defence where will the creativity in the mid field come from.Why did he sit our n ...

• Smoke1ZI 11 years ago

I think the Ghana coach has out of ideas Oh Ghana...hahahaha

• Onipa Bone 11 years ago

They are on their way back home. Qualification not possible. Draw at best with Mali

• FUFUO DADESEN 11 years ago

Change the formation and make Gyan hustle some..watch Burkina faso strikers..Mr Gyan,next time score before you think about how to celebrate with your new dance

• Justice 11 years ago

We the recovery of Afful and Vorsah, Kojo Asamoah should revert to the midfield position and partner Clottey with Gyan. Gyan is not fit to play the lone striker role bestowed on him due to the su-par league he plays in. He wo ...

• Kofi Karikari 11 years ago

Ghana's main problem was from the inability of the midfield players to track back quickly once Ghana lost the ball.

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

You don't put an offensive player in defence.Kwesi Appiah should know better,he has been with the Black Stars team for 4 years,the team has already a solid foundation and does not need unnecessary overhauling from Kwesi Appia ...

• Busumbru 11 years ago

The hard-headedness of Appiah will cost the nation, and will ost him his job and possibly his life. Can someone warn him?

• MIDAS TOUCH 11 years ago

i Agree with you, the fly that refuses advise, ends up in a toilet, somebody should warn AA, he must not gamble with the Black stars, he should better remain in S/Africa if Ghana do not qualify.

TIME TO GIVE THE CAPTAIN BAND TO BADU!

SQUADS
    STARTING 11…
    FATAU/ KWARASAY/ADJEI
    2..AFFUL/AKAMINKO/PAINSTIL
    3. WAKASSO /KISSI BOATENG
    4/5..JONATHAN MENSHA/AWAL/ BOYE/VORSAH/AKAMINKO
    6..ANNAN/RABIU/DEREK BOATENG
    7. ...

• the last don 11 years ago

GOOD THOUGHTS BY ALL, ITS TRUE MOST GHANAIAN ARE COACHES. BUT I WANT TO BELIEVE TWO MAJOR CHANGES WILL HAVE TO BE MADE IN THIS TEAM. I FOUNDED IT QUITE DIFFICULT WHY KWESI APPIAH WILL GO IN FOR ANKAMINKO AHEAD OF J. MENSAH. J ...

• boy 11 years ago

A Nigerian friend told me yesterday that he was so happy that Ghanaian couldn't win and my fellow Ghanaian told me same as Nigerian play 1-1 draw so I can get why this two country compete each other all time ,for me maybe Gha ...

• RAS-VULTURE 11 years ago

Some Ghanians talk too much and most know too little about soccer.I will repeat myself.Formation is just the arrangement of the players on the field and has nothing to do with winning matches.

MOURINHO with such tactical ...

SQUADS
    STARTING 11…
    FATAU/ KWARASAY/ADJEI
    2..AFFUL/AKAMINKO/PAINSTIL
    3. WAKASSO /KISSI BOATENG
    4/5..JONATHAN MENSHA/AWAL/ BOYE/VORSAH/AKAMINKO
    6..ANNAN/RABIU/DEREK BOATENG
    7..ATSU/ADOMAH/ASANTE
    8..BADU/KASA/YIADOM/D ...

• Analyst 11 years ago

Football is the passion of the entire nation hence everybody airing his opinion on the Black Stars, is acceptable. Nevertheless, there is a coach who is paid to manage the team hence he is the man who has the final say in who ...

• Quessi Sam 11 years ago

the coach knws best so we shud give him the chnce to shw us wat he's got

• TRUTH 11 years ago

kwadwo Asamoah should come forward and bring back Jonthan Mensah.

• Lagos4eva 11 years ago

No shining stars...just the coach home...

• saani 11 years ago

I think kwesi appiah is simply telling ghanaians that he is incapable of manning the affairs of the blacks tars. why should players such as annan,mensah amd vorsah start on the bench. shame on him.

• Nice 11 years ago

How the f**K do you play Kwadwo Asamoah as a left back, Juventus vital attacking player. This is f**king ridiculous. Ghana will fail because of this stupid mistake. Absolutely rubbish. AAHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Samir 11 years ago

When you feel writing or talking just talk because talking is free besides your talking will go no where.We all know every Ghanaian is a coach and every Ghanaian knows how to score 100 goals.If goal scoring was all that easy ...

• LUKMAN DAHAMANI 11 years ago

appiah knows what he is doing

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 11 years ago

Even Zambia drew with Ethiopia. Nigeria also drew with Burkina Faso. These are just opening games.

• A concerned citizen 11 years ago

Dauda
    2Paintsil 4Vorsah 5Boye 3Afful

7.Boakye 8Badu 6Wakaso

9Gyan 10Asamoah 11Atsu

Reserves, Derek,Adomah,Kissi,Kwasrasey,Akaminko

• CHECKY LULU FROM NJ 11 years ago

GHANA HAS A DECENT TEAM THAT CAN PLAY ANY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD. THE PROBLEM GHANA HAS IS WE HAVE NOBODY WHO CAN GUARANTEE 4 OR 5 GOALS IN IMPORTANT TOURNAMENTS. WE DONT HAVE THE LIKES OF DROGBA AND ETOO. ASAMOAH CAN GUARANTEE ...

• Joshua 11 years ago

this coach obviously does not want his job. and rightly he'll lose it.

• NANA MENSAH 11 years ago

oN THE BACK OF HIS CURRENT FORM IN jUVE, kWADWO Asamoah could have been or could still be the star of the tournament if the coach used him well.But at left back? Excuse me. That was the same mistake they did with Rahim Ayew. ...

• Yamus 11 years ago

I agree with you. Kwadwo is more effective at offensive midfield than at defence and AA must listen to advice. It is technical imcompetence and not technical indicipline which cost us the game.

• player 11 years ago

you got it wrong on rahim. there was no place for rahim upfront.
    just like paintsil the left full back was made vacant to force a first team place for him under the guise that hans sapei was aging. when he showed he was no ...

• Julor Kromfor 11 years ago

This is not the time of experimentation. This should by now know what to do. My gloodness. Can this guy be fired

• Bright Gyamfi 11 years ago

i know and am sure Ghana will bring the cup home Amen

• baba 11 years ago

The coach knew that he did not have a natural left back before the tournament begun,so he has to risk a high paid mid.That is sad.Why not get GFA to invest or get help from Ashley Cole to mentor a natural left back-like Addy ...

• boy 11 years ago

oh Africans you are down by 2 goals to nil and equalise 1 and you are jubilation is crazy

• Uncle Joe 11 years ago

Our Coach want Ghana down, if not why did he put our goal scorers like KWADWO ASAMOAH even at Juventus at defence. He will also go like coaches, we will not let him continue to waste the task payers money

• Ken 11 years ago

This absolute crap, taking nine defenders to a tournament and using an attacking midfielder in left back, i cant believe this

• Bam 11 years ago

PLEASE JST GIVE AKWASI SOME TIME, IT IS JUST THE BEGINING. I THINK WHAT WE NEED TO DO IS TO SAPORT AND PRAISE ESP, BADU. BADU IS VERY GOOD AND THE REST EXERPT, GYAN, A. GYAN IS SO LAZY HE DOSE NOT FET ATALL, AND ANNAN IS WEE ...

• Nash 11 years ago

Look we kept the PEACE during the 2012 election good. Listen Balck Stars we want the CUP whatever numbers Akesi will perm to get us a win we care less, all we want win.

• King 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah eeeee, we don't need Asamoah at No. 3 ooooooo tom! We want to see him play a creative role in midfield that will open up chances and bring dangerous set pieces for Wakaso to school. This is simple!!! Go for clip ...

• fofi 11 years ago

please use kwadwo asamoah as left midfielder............plsssssssss

• Kofi 11 years ago

MMM..you are still adamant that kwadwo asamoah should defend? The fly that refuses to heed to good counsel follows the corpse to the grave. A word to the wise is enough.

• SULEMANA 11 years ago

COACH APPIAH, I WOULD NOT ARGUE WITH YOU AT ALL. BUT JUST LOOK AT MY STRATEGY FOR A MINUTE. MALI'S KEITA AND HIS BOYS ARE GOOD IN MIDFIELD, BUT I DO NOT THINK DEREK, ANNAN AND BADU MAKE A SOLID. TRIO LIKE MUNTARI, ESSIEN AND ...

• SPEEDY GoNZALIS 11 years ago

It is a wrong decision to keep Kwadwo Asamoah at the Left fullback position. Here is the rationale: If he plays his Left Midfield position, he can still quickly go back to help Vorsah at the back. For the Ghanaian team to hav ...