You are here: HomeSports2013 01 11Article 261807

Ceasefire! - Our Boys Deserve our Support

Read Comments Comments (31)

• MUMUNI MUSAH (PARAHINDO) UDS 11 years ago

wonderful analysis and God bless u

• Mr.N 11 years ago

No wonder you write nonsense most of time you have been watching the Black Stars from distance. I was there both in Winneba and Senegal. Ziese was my friend we used to drink beer at Top Way. Winneba Sport College has everyt ...

• Ogyam 11 years ago

ABEDI PELE DID NOT SCORE THE WINNING GOAL, RATHER, WAS PRINCE OPOKU.

• KojoLee/MRAA@WalatuAfcon 11 years ago

Hahahaha Papa Appiah again, locally, I am a 100% pure fan of Kumasi Asante Kotoko, any time that we lose to Hearts was like a pain in the ass. BUT when Hearst Of Oak is playing African Clubs Championship, I fully supported t ...

• OWASS 11 years ago

hhhhhhhhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm !!!!just a trial match can change a lot ooo!!!

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Governor KojoLee I put it to you that you are not 100% +1% fully supported Hearts of Oak you head may be there but your heart is not there and my half brother POW can back me up.

• POW, Walewale Naaba ba 11 years ago

The guy knew if he had written Papa Appiah up there, nobody was going to read this story so he changed the name only to bring it back at the bottom. Nice try Papa, at least you got me. Lol

However, it wasn't Otto Pfister w ...

• ATIKI A 11 years ago

I READ ALL OF THIS ARTICLE, ESPECIALLY WHAT LED TO ABEDI PELE BEING NAMED CAPTAIN OF THE BLACK STARS WHICH WOEFULLY STAGNATED OUR FOOTBALL PROGRESS FOR MANY YEARS. IT IS DIFFICULT TO PRAISE PAPA APPIAH BECAUSE OF PAST "...." ...

• Nana Owusu. BELGIUM 11 years ago

ASEM SEBE. I QUITE REMEMBER I WAS A YOUNG MAN BUT WAS FULL OF MY BALCK STAR. EVERYTHING CAME TO A STAND STILL WHEN I SAW DAT THEY TOOK THE CAPTAINS BAND FROM JAMES AKWASI APPIAH DEN I KNEW THAT WAS GOING TO BE THE BEGINNING O ...

• Kuntu Blanket 11 years ago

"Abedi had scored the winner but had then received a second yellow card that meant he would be out of the final."

Wrong. Abedi equalized and Prince Opoku Polley scored the winner.

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

Yes!! you are right!!! The match ended 2-1 in Ghanais favour after Nigeria scored first and Abedi's extra ordinary header from a corner kick equalized for us!!!

• nana poku sikadwa 11 years ago

papa has said it all,with goose bumps all over as i read and picture a 20yr old saga.da memory still lingers on.i ope da current black star team will shine brighter to lift da trophy this tym.

• Toms 11 years ago

Well said...thnx for nice article very interesting

• mensah abrampah 11 years ago

Ghana played the qualifying stages of the African Cup of Nations with local based players to qualify for the finals in Senegal. Akwasi Appiah was the team captain for the black stars until the fumbling GFA decided to replace ...

• adu boahene, usa. 11 years ago

As captain, his job performance was so poor that l don't know if he and Tony Yeboah are still on speaking terms. Tribalism was the rule of the day. Oh how unfortunate.
    We need a united team spirit as well a united fan base t ...

As captain, his job performance was so poor that l don't know if he and Tony Yeboah are still on speaking terms. Tribalism was the rule of the day. Oh how unfortunate.

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

Do we need all these reminders and for what purpose or gain at this time when we have been asked to cease fire!!!!!!?

• POW, Walewale Naaba ba 11 years ago

Abedi to begin with never requested for the captainship band. It was our football authorities that decided to make him the captain bços he was popular around the globe, bilingual and a very good player. Having said that, I a ...

• WAZIRAZI 11 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT, HE NOT THE BEST MAN FOR THE JOB BUT LET EVERY LOVING SPORTS FANS GIVE HIM ALL THE SUPPORT.

• CONCERNED GHANAMAN 11 years ago

If Kwesi Appiah is not the best man for the job, then tell us who's the best!! What sense does it make to drum support for the one you know is not the best? Easier said than done!

• papa Adam 11 years ago

yes you said it all.

• Nana 11 years ago

Abedi NEVER requested to be captain, they handed it over you him simply because Abedi by a far margin was the best African Player alive at the time! It was because of Abedi that the BBC instituted its BBC African Player award ...

• TOGBE FIAWORSIMEH 11 years ago

Nana,

Then as a nation, we should learn the lesson! There is a proverb in Ewe, which also has an Akan equivalence. But the closest broken English equivalence is "monkey dey work, baboon dey chop...na very painful".

Th ...

• james 11 years ago

hello good

• yobo 11 years ago

so what.

• E. Ntim-Frempong 11 years ago

Ceasefire

• yaw Boateng 11 years ago

you are a tribalistic Ashanti

• Kobby 11 years ago

My friend, if it's a U-turn of your opinion about Kwasi Appiah after Egypt's match, just say so instead of this subtle change even though you want us to believe you stand by your initial opinion. If Kumasi used to be against ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 11 years ago

This fake Papa Appiah is no Asante so stop your stupidity. Ashanti has nothing to do with this idiot. You people just hate Asantefuo for your own inferiority complex.

• Kwabena Gyamfi 11 years ago

The so-called Papa Appiah is nothing but a divisive character. His main aim is to take pot shot at Kwasi Appiah and the people of Kumasi for reasons best known to himself. And in doing so, he has dragged in and portrayed the ...