You are here: HomeSports2013 01 09Article 261671

Ghana names Afcon squad

Read Comments Comments (102)

• Mr.N 11 years ago

All the so-called self confessed coaches so keep their peace. No "What If".

• POW, Walewale Naaba ba 11 years ago

Heeee, my brother. Hmmmmm, just bell my cell. I've got it back and have lost all my numbers. Can't reach anybody now. Save me please.

• KojoLee/MRAA@WalatuAfcon 11 years ago

Pownazasis, try and kall me saturday for tuk, your old digits don't w3rk.

• Adams 11 years ago

Where is Andre Ayew and the brother. This is pathetic!!

• Paa Pee 11 years ago

This selection shows the type of novice Akwasi Appiah is. What happened to Adiyah and his men who won the Junior World Cup. The coach was forgotten and now the squad.
    Maybe the Akwasi Appiah's Pastors and Festish priest that ...

Paa Pee, I think coach MRAA knew what he was doing. You were talking about previous and he is also dealing with current. The previous forms and current forms are not the same and remember, names don't play but those with curr ...

• Gilly 11 years ago

Black Stars for 30 years have been perenial underachievers in this particular competition. I have personally lost interest and will not watch even a single match. I have no confidence in the current ssquad. It's a SHAME!!!!

• OH GHFUO, WE R SO FAR BEHIND! 11 years ago

I THINK AA AND THE REST OF THE COACHING STAFF MUST ALL WEAR ALL BLACK ATTIRE ON THE SIDELINES AT AFCON 2013.

Haaaa brother Gilly, you made me daff and it's too early morning over here. So you what, "lost confidence?"

Look, everybody knows who I am and I can positively assure you that, never give up because this time the boys are ...

• John Paintsil is a leaky defender ... 11 years ago

AA should have dropped Harrison Afful, John Paintsil, and one of the three gokeepers; and instead, in their place substituted Mohammed Yakubu, Mahatma Otoo, Michael Helegbe for a better squad.

Major Courage Quashiga, you ...

• Ghana Boy 11 years ago

Are you the coach? Leave the coach to do his job,ok? Adwee

Aaaaaah aba! Na who be that whose want us to go back "What if" scenario again.

Massa J.P., we are moving forward and you need to get on board now!

• Kwame Adu-Gyamfi 11 years ago

Alright let's go, here's my starting 11: Goalkeeper: Adam Kwarasey
    Defenders: Wakaso Mubarak, John Boye, Jerry Akaminko, Isaac Vorsah
    Midfielders: Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu, Albert Adomah, Christian Atsu, Kwadwo Asamoah
    Forwa ...

Mr. N(oxitot), now the govina is beaming his eyes closely to watch things. I normally don't predict things but dis taam de3, Ghanaians gonna see wonders from Walatulization camp.

"S3 ampae a, 3be dwa"

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

A good squad for now. We shall only hope for the best. Go for the kill with determniation, will power backed by team spirit you can make it for your country.Zambia did it last time without many world class players,so can you! ...

• Slimzay**The Unshakable Shaker** 11 years ago

This is a real test for these players. Most are new in the tournament as the article mentioned. This means new talents would be seen in this coming tourney. Who would be the new Essien, the new Muntari, the new John Mensah an ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

I am banking on Richmond Boakye Yiadom, Christian Atsu and Jerry Akaminko to step and show a class. I also have the feeling that Emmanuel Clottey and Richmond Boakye Yiadom would get close to the golden boot. There is an old ...

• POW, Walewale Naaba ba 11 years ago

When the whistle blows we'll know those who'll stand.

Emmanuel Clo..who? Please! Do you think this is a Ghanaian league? Richard Boakye Yiadom will show up. For him, I'm having that feeling. Atsu and Kwedwo Asamoah, are already well known. On the other hand, for the young player ...

"..though, I have little confidence in him." ***Pastortuma***

Hahahahaha you made me laugh badly. Since I came to this forum, this is the only time that we are going to have a big tournament and don't feels any pressure. ...

I'm glad you have confidence in the coach. There is nothing wrong with that. Not everyone could be in your shoes.

When I went through my research, I discovered both team "A" and team "B" have good players in them. Yes, the ...

"... because we have good players in both squads." ***Pastorwak***

Day Time Pastor, when are you going to become a full Pastor hur? In your own words, we do possess "good players in both squad" and as you can bear me ou ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Slimzay is a very funny guy and sometimes he amazes me with his line of thinking. He had confidence in that lazy Serbian but he has no confidence in the Ghanaian. Slimzay please answer this question how many tournaments did R ...

Ask the right questions, Mr. N. How many tournaments these coaches handled before they became our national coaches is not the point, Mr. N because I didn't have confidence in them at first. The point is, when they took over t ...

He didn't provide the players, Massa. The crop is already there. Even one without a ball sense but follows the Black Stars could have picked the same players or even better. What did the coach do again, you said? He provided ...

• Africanus 11 years ago

That assumes that Boakye will be Coach Appiah's first choice striker, which I doubt. I do not see Appiah gambling on Boakye when Gyan is there. I think Appiah will rather play it safe.

I do believe though that if Appiah i ...

• yaw o 11 years ago

its true my brother there r new faces and it means they want to stay for the world cup so they would go all out to do their best. god bless them and let them bring the cup home. one game at a time.

I predict this 11 to take on Congo DR on the 20th

1. Adam Kwarasey
    2. Richard Kissi Boateng
    3. Mubarak Wakasu
    4. John Boye
    5. Jonathan Mensah (due to AFCON experience)
    6. Anthony Annan
    7. Albert Adomah
    8. Agyeman Ba ...

• Lord Denning 11 years ago

Good job, but I would like Atsu at 10 instead of Asamoah.

• blackchild 11 years ago

good luck ghana blackstars.

• cap'n planet 11 years ago

Its been decades since I last watched the local league,but I have my outmost faith that,these boys will carve a niche for themselves.We have a dependable striker in the name of R.B. Yiadom,if A.Gyan finds it tough.Believe me, ...

• (ty- 11 years ago

fzeeèèuepçy

• The One 11 years ago

We can only wish Kwesi Appiah and his boys well. I however feel Dede could have added something vital to the team.Well, good luck.

• True Talk 11 years ago

I strongly believe that we will miss Dede. Who will be our playmaker and take on defenders with skillful dribbling?

• abc 11 years ago

no swollen headed idiots on this team....

• Yaw Duku 11 years ago

With one exception _ THE CAPTAIN

• MK dons 11 years ago

Boys make us proud bt den ur winning bonus be huge. unemployement dey waaaaa

Mr. N(oxitot), now the govina is beaming his eues closely to watch things. I normally don't predict things but dis taam de3, Ghanaians gonna see wonders from Walatulization program.

"S3 ampae a, 3be dwa"

• kuje 11 years ago

kwasi appiah is always make a mistake to drop all the stars

• Great 11 years ago

Good Luck Boys.

• lawyer hash 11 years ago

he did not make any mistake bco the so called stars dont want to play (big heads) for the nation so has no option but to go with the players who want to go &play

• Eisner 11 years ago

Good luck

• Onyame Nipa (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

EMPTY HANDED FOR GHANA

• captainjohn 11 years ago

this so call shoeshine and kenkey boys are rubbish

• OFORI AMANFO 11 years ago

stop your nonsense, Lagos boy.

• RICHMOND BOATENG USA 11 years ago

A.A. GOD WILL GUIDE YOU AND BLACK STARS TO WIN THE CUP FOR MOTHERLAND
    GHANA. AMEN APPIAH YOU ARE GOOD COACH AND YOUR SQUAD IS GOOD.

• nana ameyaw 11 years ago

i hope no body in fluence the chorch mm ghana fu) no no

• DANIEL 11 years ago

If the coach says this is his best selection, then we'll all go with it. We've heard all the excuses from player indiscipline, payment of winning bonuses, use of juju in camp, breaking of camping rules, interference from high ...

• Mpere Larbi 11 years ago

I wish them all the best.

• COOLY 11 years ago

WITH OUR LOCAL COACH THE SPIRIT IS GOING TO BE MORE STRONGER..DONT FORGET GHANA HAS WON 4 TIMES WITH OUT EUROPEAN COACH

• kwakuyaw 11 years ago

NOT THIS GUY AGAIN ....

• Kububu Joe 11 years ago

My brother don`t worry.I`m sure Asamoah Gyan will only move away when we have any penalty. We cannot afford to let our Kenkeys and Aponkyenkwan go spoil again.No this time!!!

• SHADY BLUE niagara falls, ontario 11 years ago

KEYS TO WIN AFCON!
    IF THIS SQUAD WANTS TO WIN. DO THIS.
    NO SEX, NO PORNO MAGAZINES
    LIFT METAL. INCORPORATE WEIGHT LIFTING INTO YOUR TRAINING REGIMENT.
    PRACTICE AT NIGHTIME. CORNER KICKS, PENALTIES, FREE KICKS
    ADOPT THE 5 ...

• king fm 11 years ago

Really since I read comment on Ghanaian u r the only wise person with am aim to comment. Kudos man and we prayer that the Good Lord will see the team to a successful end.

• Smoking columbia 11 years ago

The most stupid guy, I ve ever known. This dude called Ghanafuo/now shady blow is just an attention seeker. Kwasiakwa

• J B Odonkor 11 years ago

welcome to J B Knowledge Headway

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

WE CAN WIN IF ISSA HAYATOU WIL WILL NOT TELL REFEREES TO KICK GHANA OUT.

• King L UCHEE 11 years ago

WE hope time around we are seening the cup in GH capital.Good luck every body.

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

JORDAN CAN CHANGE ANNAN

• MIRACLE BOYS 11 years ago

It will be a miracle if we make it thru the prelims. Is this the last we are seeing Kwasi Appiah at the helm? God save Ghana.

• Meosis 11 years ago

1.Kwarasey
    2.Paintsil
    3.Afful
    4.Vorsah
    5.Boye
    6.Annan
    7.Rabiu
    8.Badu
    9.Gyan
    10.Asamoah
    11.Atsu

• Yaw Duku 11 years ago

Annan is too defensive minded and delays attempts at scoring just like Mikel Obi of Alata.

• Nokwarehene 11 years ago

Repalce Painstil with Akaminko and your selection could be a real deal.

• Blockman 11 years ago

Oh!ghana we miss dede

• lilnaz 11 years ago

big blow without..dede.i test

• NENE ADEKERKER 11 years ago

I am happy you did not include Dede Ayew who feels without him there is no Black Star. He can go to hell. God will help Ghana win the Cup. Ayew, YOUR MOTHER.

• abc 11 years ago

no swollen heads then.. they went in the spirit of the revolution... the zeal and the fire to die for Ghana....in fact the Ghana decided to participate at the very last minute....the team members played for the pride and love ...

• Seth Owusu 11 years ago

thank u abc

• Ghana boy 11 years ago

I subscribe Njoy online tv on 12th December 2012 my subscription will end on 12th January 2013. but I cancel it before my subscription even end because of frustration.
    I subscribe just to test it to see if their service has ...

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Allegedly, ESPN 3 is going to show AFCON in America. My hope is that it is a real report.

• Analyst 11 years ago

This team is good but how far they can go will depend on how long Asamoah Gyan stays fit in the competition. Of course Richmond Boakye Yiadom is also a top striker and I'm expecting much from him.

• hyeaduruo 11 years ago

what is AYEW

• clemence okodie frm dc 11 years ago

i think andre morgan dede ayew beign out of the squad will be a big blw to ghana

• Sir Kofi Mumui 11 years ago

There is a joker in Ghana sports. His name is Akwasi Appiah. That man is clueless!

• Demuyakor Stevens 11 years ago

GIVE THE COACH A BREAK, OH YOU PESIMMISTS. AA HAS DONE WHAT THE gods COULD NOT DO _ COACHING A SOCCER LOVING NATION LIKE OUR BELOVED GHANA. NO AMOUNT OF PERFECTION WILL SATISFY THE LOVING FANS.
    IF GYAN SEES THIS CONTEST A ...

• golden 11 years ago

best team they can bring the cup by Gods grace

• Kb 11 years ago

Thats good now.

• Tan 11 years ago

Disgrace awaits Ghana.

• williepumpin+2348027524170 11 years ago

Go and bring d nations cup

• ben 11 years ago

why Kwesi Appiah didn't ever take one of Abedi Pele son to African Cup Nation it's because pele toke the captain baan aware from him in 1992

• Eugene 11 years ago

playing politics with the team again. which is why I'd rather foreign manager.shite squad

• MUGU YARO 11 years ago

The selection is okay but my biggest fear is John Painstil he is the weakest link.The guy can't defend,he lacks speed this reminds me of his days at Fulham scoring own goals 3x. He is good at waving Ghana's flag .This guy is ...

• Anokwale 11 years ago

Correct me if I am wrong but I suspect that Kissi Boateng and Mubarak are capable of playing the right back. I am not so sure that Paintsil is guaranteed a starting spot.

• true words 11 years ago

for the regulars (gyan, vorsah, kwadwo, annan, badu, pantsil,etc.) and for the rookies

• BM 11 years ago

We are just going to present ourselves.

• Bruno 11 years ago

Too much defenders but i wish them well.

• Born in Sekondi, USA 11 years ago

= In goal Kwarasey, 3 Ga, 2 Ewes, 4 Muslims, and 15 Akans

• baba tunde 11 years ago

I did not know being a Muslim was an ethnicity

• K.A BINEY 11 years ago

my 1st 11 *Adam Q*John P*Afful H*Jonathan M*Isaac V*Anthony A*Solomon A*Agyemang B*Asamoah G*Kojo A*Christian A*

• jojo 11 years ago

you call this man a coach, what's paintsil doing in the team, our downfall, the guy is useless, but hey he has paid his tithe so he need to be included.

• AGYA YAW 11 years ago

LET US AS A NATION GIVE UR SUPPORT TO THR COACH AND THE PLAYERS

• kk eric 11 years ago

well done kwasi u have won in advance

• Ghanaian needs moral overhauling 11 years ago

I wish this will never be like a Black star that was dissolved in Morroco or Tunisia 1996, I dont know , just remind me

• GHil 11 years ago

None of the Ayews

• John Mary 11 years ago

May God be your strength and prove your worth that you are capable. That coach has not made mistake. We love you all!

• Mr Ab 11 years ago

Where is Dede Ayew

• OH GHFUO, WE R SO FAR BEHIND! 11 years ago

I THINK IT WILL BE A GREAT IDEA IF AA AND HIS COACHING STAFF CAN WEAR ALL BLACK ATTIRE AT AFCON 2013

• Bekwai nyansa@fb.com 11 years ago

I'm also confident that this team would do well without the recalcitrant Ayew.We are Phobians and we see this coach as a humble and respectful person and therefore pray that he succeeds.The Ayews are not better than Christia ...

• ibrahim 11 years ago

may the God be with ghanablack stars

• Godfred eduam 11 years ago

GOOD SQUAD

• yaw, USA 11 years ago

I am glad to inform all soccer loving Ghanaians based on a revelation I have received that Ghana will not loose a match this tournament.

• Nicholas 11 years ago

The squad is not well set for me , I just dont know why Coach Kwesi Appiah called inexperienced players....