No we want him for Ghana vrs Nija- that’d be a win for super-eagles alias super- complainants
ST GHFUO: Kwame Nkrumah International Airport 8 hours ago
Go to ivory coast n find a ref
GHANA BLACK STARS 6 hours ago
Please can we have an Ayibe or Hausa referee. I am a Hearts of Oak supporter, but the referee's name is Laryea, so I think he would favor Hearts, and I want us to beat Kotoko without referee assistance!!!
Dr Mumbi Seraki 9 hours ago
Hello youth of Ghana........you can take your own life with medicine. For instance 15 paracetamol at once.....or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.
Yaa Yaa: COULD A REFEREE BE CHANGED BASED ON PERCEPTION?( Y Y Network, Begoro, E/R) 8 hours ago
Is it technically possible to change a referee based on anticipated public reaction?
Yes, it is technically possible. Referee appointments are administrative decisions made by the Referees Committee and the Football Associat ... read full comment
Is it technically possible to change a referee based on anticipated public reaction?
Yes, it is technically possible. Referee appointments are administrative decisions made by the Referees Committee and the Football Association. In exceptional circumstances—such as conflict of interest, health issues, security concerns, or to protect the integrity of the game—changes can be made. However, such decisions must be based on evidence and policy, not pressure or speculation.
WHY PERCEPTION MATTERS IN HIGH-RISK FIXTURES
In emotionally charged matches like Kotoko vs Hearts:
The referee must not only be neutral but must also be seen to be neutral.
Even a correct decision can trigger unrest if trust is already low.
History reminds us of the dangers of football-related agitation, including tragic incidents like May 9.
Football authorities must therefore balance:
Professional merit
Public confidence
Security considerations
The long-term credibility of the league
If Kotoko were to lose under controversial circumstances—fair or not—the fallout could be severe given the history of intense fan reactions.
EQUAL TREATMENT AND MEDIA RESPONSIBILITY
Another concern is selective sensationalism.
Why is so much attention focused on one referee appointment while other match officials receive little mention? Does this unintentionally suggest that some matches—or some clubs—are more important than others?
In top leagues worldwide:
When Arsenal plays Manchester City, attention may be high.
But referees for Burnley vs Wolves are still officially announced and respected.
Every match is treated as part of the same professional system.
Selective outrage or selective publicity can:
Fuel suspicion
Undermine referee authority
Create unnecessary tension
All clubs deserve equal institutional respect. Every referee deserves protection from trial by public opinion.
KEY DISCUSSION POINTS
Should referees be changed based on perception rather than proven bias?
Does public pressure strengthen or weaken football governance?
How can the FA build trust in officiating decisions?
What role should media and fans play in promoting professionalism?
Should high-risk matches have additional transparency measures instead of referee changes?
CONCLUSION
The issue is not about one referee or one club.
It is about protecting the integrity, safety, and credibility of Ghanaian football.
Football grows where:
Institutions are strong
Referees are respected
Media is responsible
Fans are disciplined
All clubs receive equal treatment
Emotion must not override structure.
Perception must not replace evidence.
And reform must strengthen—not destabilize—the
ST GHFUO: Kwame Nkrumah International Airport 8 hours ago
He will be bias n favor hearts...with a name like laryea...lie lie laryea
Yaa Yaa: COULD A REFEREE BE CHANGED BASED ON PERCEPTION?( Y Y Network, Begoro, E/R) 6 hours ago
Ohhh so because his name is Laryea he will favor Hearts? Lie lie Laryea?”
Chale make we reason small. If surname determines bias, then what are you saying about the following referees :
Reginald Collins Amoah
Boateng-Nka ... read full comment
Chale make we reason small. If surname determines bias, then what are you saying about the following referees :
Reginald Collins Amoah
Boateng-Nkansah Rita Ama
Kwasi Acheampong Brobbey
Since when did refereeing become a clan competition?
So by that logic, every Amoah supports Kotoko? Every Acheampong is automatic Kotoko agent? Every Akan referee is secretly wearing red under the jersey?
See how that sounds? Exactly.
Football no be family meeting. Referees are licensed by the FA, not by their grandmother’s stool house. If we start judging officials by surnames, then we’ve left football analysis and entered village gossip league.
If there’s bias, show the calls.
If there’s injustice, show the evidence.
If there’s corruption, bring the receipts.
But this “his name sounds like…” argument? That’s WhatsApp University level analysis.
Kotoko is a big club. Hearts is a big club. Ghana football deserves big thinking — not surname mathematics.
Next time, argue the match decisions, not the genealogy.
AMAK 3 hours ago
Not only the name he’s always been biased against Kotoko. After all the head of the referees Alex Kotey is also a phobian but in all hearts can’t win the league.
Yes, it is technically possible. Referee appointments are administrative decisions made by the Referees Committee and the Football Associat ...
Reginald Collins Amoah
Boateng-Nka ...