From Crisis to Glory: How Daniel Laryea put Ghanaian refereeing back on the map

Read Comments Comments (38)

• OKPONGLO 18 hours ago

WELL DONE MR LARYEA. DON'T MIND THESE NOISY FOOLS WITH VERY LOW EQs.

• P Djamgbe 17 hours ago

I have just watched Kunbe's (the YouTuber) analysis of the game and I must say that the referee was very brave and very professional to deny Morocco (at least) a penalty from 3 penalty shouts. If Morocco had lost the game and ...

• ST GHFUO: Ghana, cleanliness is Godliness 8 hours ago

Fools even caf didn't want Nigeria to win okay get that through your think skulls if Morocco lost who would buy tickets to go watch the final? Camels? The Moroccans wouldn't go see the final and caf would lose money..caf want ...

• Kweku Tsin 6 hours ago

The only way i know he did a good job is because the 419 boys did not burn the Stadium like they did when they lost to Ghana in Abuja.

• Nyansa 17 hours ago

We are proud of you, Mr. Laryea. You made everyone proud

• Kwaku-Holland 17 hours ago

He did well. I saw the game. Naija had too many incomplete passes.

• Ayi 17 hours ago

Well done Nii, .the sky is the limit .God be with you for making our nation proud

• Mawulolo 17 hours ago

Was Nigeria expecting to win with such incomplete and inaccurate passes??. Hardly a shot on target ???. Losing possession in midfield by heart??.. wasn't just their nyt. Morocco a better side in every aspect

• the Villager 17 hours ago

In fact he made too many bad calls in my view. What he punished Naija for he let it go for Morocco.

• Jo 10 hours ago

I think the pressure was too much for him.... Some of his decisions depicted anti-Nigerian approach

• Christian 16 hours ago

This is not true, he was not good enough, is a shame to write this article

• Ohene 16 hours ago

Good work done Mr. Laryea u are proud of u...

• Great report 16 hours ago

Nice job bra Laryea.

• Gari Soakings 16 hours ago

Actually, this referee exceeded my expectations. Very bold and firm on his decisions. Not a typical Ghanaian style of officiating. This Nigeria / Maroc game was a high tension game and he handled it super clean. Great job Mr ...

• Ecoselfe 15 hours ago

The day a child says his mother's breast milk stinks, is the day he disown his ancestry.
    What do you expect Ghanaian's to say? I'm not surprised. They detest Nigeria catching up with their AFCON achievements. They are so pe ...

• Aduanaba, 15 hours ago

What were you also expecting from Nigerians? Will Nigeria ever accept defeat gracefully? Probably not.
    Now they will turn attention to the DRC issue to find ways and means to qualify for yhe World Cup. The yellow card for B ...

Exoselfe kwasia what about the clear handball penalty for Morocco that was waived off? No human is perfect no ref is perfect but had laryea called that pe alty this match wouldn't be going extra time so dlnt criticize him on ...

• Ad 15 hours ago

Not surprising comment from biased Ghanians who couldn't even qualify for AFCON.
    Ghana's only representative at the tourney, the referee was clearly biased against Nigeria, just like most Ghanians

Ghanaians are only pain ...

• Aduanaba, 15 hours ago

See you in North America. You will watch us from Abuja, Minna or Kontagora.

Kwasia you want laryea to take your naija penis and put it inside vagina for you? You have penalties why can't you score?

• Okungbowa Aiwerie 14 hours ago

i am scandalised at this article! that ghanian referee is a disgrace to his family and entire ghanian nation for his questionable calls during yesterday's game.if the truth be told, he was a disaster.do u call what he did fai ...

• Nana 14 hours ago

He is a disgrace to Ghana and the continent as a whole

How did laryea support morrocco over Nigeria? A clear handball in the box was ignored to favor Nigeria no pe alty have you forgotten? You are talking about yellow card to Bassey why are you stupidest?

• stevoo 13 hours ago

he was fantastic

• Citizen X 48 minutes ago

Ghanaweb newswriting for a while has been mediocre, sending me on a forced hiatus to avoid reading reports of such nature. This reporter has shown the alternative. His narrative is clear and beautifully written. Well done, Mr ...

• Traditionalist 13 hours ago

I am a Ghanaian. Full blooded.The Ga refree was a disaster in my estimation. Why was Bassey given the yellow card?Secondly, someone the fouls conceded by Morroco were left of the hook and instead free kicks were awarded to Mo ...

• Truth must prevail 12 hours ago

Gid bless you my brother, why would Africa ever progress when we refuse to tell the truth. The referee is a disgrace to African referee

• Oak 13 hours ago

He was just an average. He mafe some mistakes which shouldn't be. Though those mistakes were not match winning ones. He could have done better.

• Not saying my name 13 hours ago

I wonder how much the writer of this article was paid to write this

Not as much as Daniel, that's for sure

• Agbeli Kumordziì 12 hours ago

Nigerians are noise making pollution

• Truth must prevail 12 hours ago

He is one of the worst referee in the tournament. So many bad calls, I believed he must have been bribed. Let us call a spade a spade I am a Ghanaian. And I must stand fir the truth. His bad decisions contributed to low momen ...

• Yemi 9 hours ago

Only a monumental fool would write the kind of sentimental report you wrote in honour of the worst referee in Africa, the senseless and heartless Daniel Laryea, a continental shame.

I know you will find it so uncomfortable ...

• Yemi 9 hours ago

Only a monumental fool would write the kind of sentimental report you wrote in honour of the worst referee in Africa, the senseless and heartless Daniel Laryea, a continental shame. Your write up is as poor as his officiating ...

• ST GHFUO: Ghana, cleanliness is Godliness 7 hours ago

Fool you are comparing yellow card to a handball that was ignored. Penalty too ypu want to ref to kick tha ball for you? Kwasia like that

• Laryea 5 hours ago

All the ghanians praising this fool!sh referee and the person wey write this article konida funyin,
    Ema shoriburuku ni. Infact, All of you are very stup!d
    Your so called ghanian referee was against us throughout the match. ...

• RED SUBMARINE 39 minutes ago

Amin Ase Waaaaa!

• Paul Obakpolo 2 hours ago

That looks like your opinion. I don't think that represented the truth. I think this lobby thinks and scewing of narrative is at play here. It appears that this is not a honest appraisal of the referee's performance. I am ver ...

• Paul Obakpolo 2 hours ago

That looks like your opinion. I don't think that represented the truth. I think this lobby thinks and scewing of narrative is at play here. It appears that this is not a honest appraisal of the referee's performance. I am ver ...