As usual a ghanaweb news.
They are heading to play off Dunk.
Ogidigidi 2 months ago
Do you know how much we contribute to Fifa?
Fifa knows our importance therefore they will surely make a way for us to be there by ALL MEANS
KD 2 months ago
@ogidigidi, was it your village FA that organized the 2022 WC?
Or you guys were by then not making your 'fantastic contribution' that you alluded to?
ST Ghfuo: CANADIANS ARE BIASED, DISHONEST 2 months ago
all is not lost yet fo nigeria. they will have to play in a playoff to get the 2 remaining spots available. i hope nigeria and cameroon take control and grab the 2 spots available in the playoff
Ghanaman 2 months ago
Sorry oo, omo, Nigeria is not going to the 2026 world cup! Nigeria is the 7th best second placed team of the African qualifiers. FIFA is choosing 4 best second placed teams for the playoffs. I know FIFA wants Nigeria to show up by all means, but alas, this can not be. They even deducted points from South Africa to aid our Nigerian brothers but, unfortunately, that did not help Nigeria. Maybe, FIFA will find a way to increase the 4 best second placed teams to 7 best to give our brothers a chance. We live to see!
Tony Kweku 2 months ago
You are talking out of ignorance @Ghanaman! Nigeria is the 3rd of the best 2nd placed group teams and fully qualified for the Playoffs. If anything Nigeria did the xenophobic South Africans a favour by comprehensively beating beating Benin (4-0) who were topping the group from match day 9. All Benin needed was just a draw against Nigeria and they would be heading to North America WC but now they are not even qualified for the playoffs- from 1st down to 3rd on final day.
I would preferred Benin to win the group than xenophobic SA. South Africa rigged their qualification from beginning when they ensured that 7 of the 10 games they played were played at Home. Benin and Nigeria FA,s should have protested this "home advantage" handed South Africa by refusing Lesotho and Zimbabwe playing their "home" games inside South Africa. The Fifa and CAF conspiracy was alarming because Caf President is South African.
wofa yaw 2 months ago
Not true;
Gabon, 25
DR Congo, 22
Burkina, 21
Cameroun,19
Nigeria 17 points is 7th
Not true;
Gabon, 25
DR Congo, 22
Burkina, 21
Cameroun,19
Nigeria 17 points is 7th
Osei Bonsu 2 months ago
Because Eritea pulled out, the points obtained against the bottom team in each group will not count. Hence the table showing nigeria had 15 points instead of the 17 they actually obtained.
GH8 2 months ago
@Osei Bonsu you are absolutely right but that rule is very silly and stupid. The rule should have been that, the second placed team the group that Eritrea was supposed to be part should not be part of the selection for the 4 best second placed teams, because they played 8 matches instead of 10 for all the other groups.
GH8 2 months ago
Even Mozambique had 19 points in our group
GH8 2 months ago
@Ghanaman that's my view. How come Nigeria in the play off when indeed they are the 7th best second placed teams?
Hmmm I hear CAF is using some stupid rule bi.
In one of the 9 groups, one group had 5 teams instead of 6. Th ... read full comment
@Ghanaman that's my view. How come Nigeria in the play off when indeed they are the 7th best second placed teams?
In one of the 9 groups, one group had 5 teams instead of 6. This happened after the draw had been made and Eritrea withdrew from Morocco's group, meaning in that group teams played 8 matches instead of 10 matches. So CAF assumes that Eritrea finished at the bottom of that group. So the 4 best second placed teams is determined by the results of second placed teams and the teams the finished last in the respective groups.
So for instance if you finished second in your group but in your matches against the team that finished last you won both home and away you would lose 6 points, if you won one and lost one you lose 4 points, if you won one and lost one you lose 3 points and if you drew both home and away you lose 1point from your accumulated points.
And that's what has worked in favour of Nigeria.
Koo 2 months ago
There's no playoff for them per their 17 points. Other countries in second positions have better points in second positions so the reality here is that they have failed to qualify and should look forward to the next.
Kay 2 months ago
Nigeria, Cameroon, Congo DR & Gabon are going into the play off. One country who will top the play off will play the inter continental play off to be at the WC.
Bongo bongo 2 months ago
Sure this two will go
Gyasi 2 months ago
A vert stupid and unintelligent post
ST Ghfuo: CANADIANS ARE BIASED, DISHONEST 2 months ago
even fifa wants to see nigeria a tthe tournament because of their numbers. more eyeballs and more ticket sales. so dont worry my naija people you will get to the wcup
Pepenyi Mfantse 2 months ago
I hope my Naija People make it we love to see them at the World Cup . They will surely book thier tickets in the playoffs
Fastook 2 months ago
You and who ?? What exactly has Nigeria done at the World Cup beside lay on their back flat for Argentina
@Godisking 2 months ago
Nigeria can't qualify for playoff please. They are not within the very best in 2nd place of the groups
Kay 2 months ago
Nigeria is among best 4 second placed teams. They are going to engage in the play off with Cameroon, Congo DR and Gabon. It's not going to be easy for them though.
Kk 2 months ago
My people the 419 country is completely out of the world cup, not even a miracle from above would save them. The 4 best second place teams going for the play off so far in Africa are Gambia, Burkina Faso, Cameroon and Madagascar as at now. Nigeria is only on 17 points while there are teams with 18 points who cannot even make it to the play off. So please good bye to Nigeria, we don't need any 419 person in America
Selfmade UNIVERSAL 2 months ago
Ghanaweb and their stupid editors haha
Playoffs indeed
There are teams with 20,19, 18 points above Nigeria 17 and they are talking about playoffs for them
Playoffs indeed
There are teams with 20,19, 18 points above Nigeria 17 and they are talking about playoffs for them
Tony Kweku 2 months ago
You are talking out of ignorance! Nigeria is qualified for the Playoffs on 15 points and +7. Recall that because of Eritrea withdrawal Fifa has to deduct the points gained against the last placed team in each group making only 5 teams in each group for equality.
U ignorant too!!
They are matches still ongoing OFUI
U ignorant too!!
Tony Kweku 2 months ago
You talking trash as usual!
After the points earned deduction against the bottom teams, here’s how the 2nd-placed teams stand:
1. Gabon – 16 Points, +4 GD
2. Cameroun – 15 Points +9 GD
3. Nigeria – 15 Points +7GD
4. Burkina Faso – 15 Points +6GD
5. DR Congo (has a game in hand) – 13 Points +4GD
wofa yaw 2 months ago
Wrong
Gabon, 25
DR Congo, 22
Burkina, 21
Cameroun,19
Nigeria 17 points is 7th
Wrong
Gabon, 25
DR Congo, 22
Burkina, 21
Cameroun,19
Nigeria 17 points is 7th
Kwasiafui, Dr Congo is leading Sudan
Senegal and drawing with Mauritania OFUI
You can't fixed stupid for real !!! 2 months ago
Educate them for me ma Guy... you get sence pass.... all these empty barrels are making noise..nj9 indeed has qualified for the playoffs.. Fact
9ja already has qualified for the playoffs
kwaku 2 months ago
Tony your argument doesn't make any sense whatsoever. The rules are clearly stated that only the top 4 second best qualifies for the play off. That being said, if the rule is based on FIFA top ranked teams finishing second...then Nigeria might get the chance for the play off because ranking wise, they are ahead of Burkina Faso, Gabon and Congo.
MARK 2 months ago
Ghana web, check your facts before you post an article
Nigeria won't qualify for the play offs/ There are 6 countries that had more than the 17 pts Nigeria had finishing second in their group. Only 4 best second teams are going to the play off
SBI 2 months ago
Just read the whole article again and you'll understand why Nigeria has qualified for the playoffs as the 3rd best second place team.
kwaku 2 months ago
My friend, Eritrea withdraw from the group stage has no bearing for the rest of groups. It only affected group E.
Ghanaman 2 months ago
Folks as mentioned, FIFA has found a way for Nigeria to be in the playoffs. They want Nigeria to be there so badly, because of its population. I am sure they will change the rules again at the playoffs if as expected Nigeria doesn't make it there either.
Daniel Ezekiel 2 months ago
Nigeria will forever be your headaches Ghana!
Id Nigeria the only team in second position?
re: 2 months ago
I am Ghanaian but never in my life will your zoo be my headache. Maybe some Ghanaians. Your zoo are making videos on Ghana's qualification on youtube. I guess Ghana is your headache.
If Ghana is.not your headache why are you spying on a Ghanaian platform. Don't you have anything better to do with your time than snooping on Ghanaian platforms as a Zoogerian.
Ghanaman 2 months ago
Very good point, why are you snooping around on a Ghanaian platform? The news here is mostly about Ghanaian issues so why are you here? Having said that, let's look at a few things that happened during the qualifiers. I suspect that Nigeria bribed Benin to play it soft to give them a chance. They were expecting South Africa to lose or draw. How much will it take to bribe Benin, 25 players or so, each $1 million=$25 million, plus a couple of millions for the country and the officials. When they realized that South Africa was winning, they went for the second best option, for Benin to allow in 4 goals, exactly the number of goals needed for the playoffs. Now you are in the playoffs, who are you going to bribe? Before you start thinking that all this is an imagination, think about what Libya tried to do to our Ghanaian players in Tripoli during the finals of the African Nations Cup. The 3 other teams to face Nigeria are so formidable that it will not be easy for them at all. Maybe, FIFA will change the rules again to favor Nigeria or just say, we tried everything to help you but you are helpless!
You are a sharp Guy....Benin definitely sold the match for alatafour... there's no way in hell that Alata people can beat them 4;0 and if you know you know ... the match was SOLD
Fortune 2 months ago
We are in palyoff
Paa Pee 2 months ago
There is a very stupid rule that all matches against the 6th placed teams should be removed to help the group with only 5teams. That rule will benefit only Nigeria who got the least points from the 6th placed team. This is unfair to the other good teams who got five points more than Nideria. This rule is a new one decided when Eritea quit.
Job 2 months ago
Am confused here oooo
Adjei 2 months ago
Why are you all angry that Nigeria qualified for playoffs? Doe their lack of qualification make your lives better?
Kk 2 months ago
The 419 people are completely out of the world cup. See you in 2030 world cup. For now the countries that qualified for the playoffs according to their points are ;Gambia -25, DR Congo-22, Burkina Faso - 21 and Cameroon-19 points respectively
Nelly 2 months ago
@kk, why calling Nigeria 419 country in your comment, you are so daft and ignorant, if Nigeria is not qualified, is it the end of the world, the company like Nike wants Nigeria to be there because they make money, Nigeria is an asset when it comes to our kits, anyway am not here to insulting Ghanaians but you, you sound childish as if Nigeria will be your problem in the world Cup, afterall, your team always fails to get to second round, just sit down and cover your face with shame, mumu, see the way you are happy, oh my God, people are so funny, just cover your face and leave that childish comment for your kids. Idiot.
Fastook 2 months ago
Because Nigeria does not deserve to be there . Other countries performed better and deserved it more . Why should other countries like Madagascar, Burkina Faso and others who performed better be punished just because they won and had more points. You guys are losers and you’ll get knocked out of the playoffs
Ghand has a better world cup record than your useless Super Eagles Until you break qualify for quarter finals come and let have a conversation. Oh you think your country is going to do better than Ghana. Useless
Adjei 2 months ago
KooManu 2 months ago
Nigeria is in the playoffs and they'd play Gabon or DRC. They qualified for the playoffs because Fifa said it would be fair for the second placed teams to drop points against the bottom placed team in each group because Eritrea withdrew from the competition. That is why Nigeria qualified for the playoffs ahead of say Madagascar, Burkina Faso etc because Nigeria didn't win against the bottom team (Zimbabwe) in that group so their total points of 17 were discounted by 2 points hence they are one of the best four second placed teams with 15 points. So they basically made it on goal difference versus Niger who also finished with 15 points after discounting points.
Ignoramus 2 months ago
Trying for shedding light on the situation to educate the ignorant ones who are so desperate to see Nigeria eliminated. The celebrations are premature for now. Save them until perhaps November or March
Mike Agyemang 2 months ago
They should work hard next time
@Godisking 2 months ago
CAF AWAM. Nigeria not qualified to play playoff
@Godisking 2 months ago
Then for the sake of natural justice all teams should have points gained from 6 th placed teams deducted and the table reshuffled.
TG 2 months ago
Nigeria can actually get to the playoffs
Ghana will go 2 months ago
Hmmmm Nigeria why
ANELKA DE LENGED 2 months ago
Write your comment EIII NAGERIA PAA WONDERS SHALL NEVER END.
They should keep trying 2 months ago
It would be strange for Ghana to go and leave our fellow Jollofians behind. They should try harder or else we go laugh them too much!
Tesla 2 months ago
We have three points worth noting:
Points acquired
Goal difference
Head to head, in that order. The deduction of the points acquired from last team comes under head to head. that comes after the points build up, as well as ... read full comment
Points acquired
Goal difference
Head to head, in that order. The deduction of the points acquired from last team comes under head to head. that comes after the points build up, as well as goal difference.
TG 2 months ago
Nigeria now face Gabon in the playoffs
Bastie the Emperor of Kumasi 2 months ago
LOL the ZOOOOOOO will be in PortHacourt, whiles Ghana will be in Pot 1
The match was SOLD by Benin Rep.
Adebayor 2 months ago
Just like how ghana sold off the last encounter that we have been beating u... lolzzz. continue to cry
Adebayor 2 months ago
You are a failure bro.. all ur cursed on Nigeria did not come to pass
Sorry oo, omo, Nigeria is not going to the 2026 world cup! Nigeria is the 7th best second placed team of the African qualifiers. FIFA is choosing 4 best second placed teams for the playoffs. I know FIFA wants Nigeria to show ...
You are talking out of ignorance @Ghanaman! Nigeria is the 3rd of the best 2nd placed group teams and fully qualified for the Playoffs. If anything Nigeria did the xenophobic South Africans a favour by comprehensively beating ...
Not true;
Gabon, 25
DR Congo, 22
Burkina, 21
Cameroun,19
Nigeria 17 points is 7th
@Osei Bonsu you are absolutely right but that rule is very silly and stupid. The rule should have been that, the second placed team the group that Eritrea was supposed to be part should not be part of the selection for the 4 ...
In one of the 9 groups, one group had 5 teams instead of 6. Th ...
Sure this two will go
My people the 419 country is completely out of the world cup, not even a miracle from above would save them. The 4 best second place teams going for the play off so far in Africa are Gambia, Burkina Faso, Cameroon and Madaga ...
Playoffs indeed
You are talking out of ignorance! Nigeria is qualified for the Playoffs on 15 points and +7. Recall that because of Eritrea withdrawal Fifa has to deduct the points gained against the last placed team in each group making onl ...
U ignorant too!!
1. Gabon – 16 Points, +4 GD
2. Cameroun – 15 Points +9 GD
3. Nigeria – 15 Points +7G ...
Wrong
Gabon, 25
DR Congo, 22
Burkina, 21
Cameroun,19
Nigeria 17 points is 7th
Tony your argument doesn't make any sense whatsoever. The rules are clearly stated that only the top 4 second best qualifies for the play off. That being said, if the rule is based on FIFA top ranked teams finishing second... ...
Nigeria won't qualify for the play offs/ There are 6 countries that had more than the 17 pts Nigeria had finishing second in their group. Only 4 best second teams are go ...
Folks as mentioned, FIFA has found a way for Nigeria to be in the playoffs. They want Nigeria to be there so badly, because of its population. I am sure they will change the rules again at the playoffs if as expected Nigeria ...
Very good point, why are you snooping around on a Ghanaian platform? The news here is mostly about Ghanaian issues so why are you here? Having said that, let's look at a few things that happened during the qualifiers. I suspe ...
We are in palyoff
There is a very stupid rule that all matches against the 6th placed teams should be removed to help the group with only 5teams. That rule will benefit only Nigeria who got the least points from the 6th placed team. This is u ...
Am confused here oooo
The 419 people are completely out of the world cup. See you in 2030 world cup. For now the countries that qualified for the playoffs according to their points are ;Gambia -25, DR Congo-22, Burkina Faso - 21 and Cameroon-19 p ...
@kk, why calling Nigeria 419 country in your comment, you are so daft and ignorant, if Nigeria is not qualified, is it the end of the world, the company like Nike wants Nigeria to be there because they make money, Nigeria is ...
Because Nigeria does not deserve to be there . Other countries performed better and deserved it more . Why should other countries like Madagascar, Burkina Faso and others who performed better be punished just because they won ...
Nigeria is in the playoffs and they'd play Gabon or DRC. They qualified for the playoffs because Fifa said it would be fair for the second placed teams to drop points against the bottom placed team in each group because Eritr ...
Hmmmm Nigeria why
Points acquired
Goal difference
Head to head, in that order. The deduction of the points acquired from last team comes under head to head. that comes after the points build up, as well as ...