He should sack himself now. Who goes to the wolrd with these calibre of players and lower their expectations
Amenyo 2 months ago
Is he not a fool? No wonder he will be replaced before the world cup commences.
Tony Kweku 2 months ago
Absolutely, he (Otto Addo) should be replaced before the world cup proper. I have never seen a Coach lacking in confidence and talking down on his team always as this coach is doing on a consistent basis. You have a very skillful squad of players and all you do is demoralise them and put them down before facing any international team.
No this guy should just go. He has tried by qualifying the team for the WC but there so much deficiency in his coaching capacity.
Simeon London 2 months ago
Sack this Idiot Now!
What is the point of going to waste the taxpayers money then? Such a negative mindset. Our target at every world cup should be to do better than we did in South Africa 2010.
You don't necessarily hav ... read full comment
Sack this Idiot Now!
What is the point of going to waste the taxpayers money then? Such a negative mindset. Our target at every world cup should be to do better than we did in South Africa 2010.
You don't necessarily have to have the best team in major tournaments to go far. A lot of other factors comes to play. For instance you can get lucky and avoid all the Big teams.
This man here doesn't deserve to lead us to the world cup simple!!!
He's tactically empty. We play with soo much caution that watching Otto Addo's Blsckstars play is scarier than a horror movie.
His set up brings unnecessary pressure on the team and heart attack on the fans. Sack him Now !
DEEVINITY 1 month ago
Finally the cat's out of the bag!!! The man has outed himself as a cheap, defeatist, low-quality, backward pretender without a shred of backbone. Thank you @Simeon London for articulating my most intimate thoughts about this waste of time. Even if we win the world cup, this guy would have been our worst ever nightmare of a Black Star Coach. Tell him I said so.
ST Ghfuo: Canadians are dishonest, liars, Gh leaders are fools 2 months ago
Wcup is all politics and betting..even the mafia is linked with fifa and juxtaposing, fixing matches behind the scenes..if those in positions of authority want Ghana to make it to semi finals it will happen..until yhen, I will only advice gfa to add kwasi Appiah or a high profile coach who has had previous wcup experience and success at the tournament to the technical bench. Oto by himself will not yield much results but a first rd exit. Fifa has already predicted Portugal to win the wcup so expect a lot. Major tournaments like the wcup are not about what you can do but who you know or are associated with..all corrupt from top to bottom
Pto understands the geo political and mafia orchestrated schemes of fifa that's is why he is telling Ghanaians to Lowe your expectations..look at the economies of the nation's that qualified to the semis and finals of the last 4 wcups? Those nations/teams have populations supporting them. They have strong economies. They have higg profile players the workd wants to watch and they are box office attractions..now, do bstars or Ghana as a nation fit within this profile?
Simeon London 2 months ago
Rubbish!
How did geopolitics favour Morocco to do so well at the last world cup? If that's the case the super powers of this world would have won all the cups.
Rubbish!
How did geopolitics favour Morocco to do so well at the last world cup? If that's the case the super powers of this world would have won all the cups.
P Djamgbe 2 months ago
@Addo & Amenyo, you both are correct, if we want to do well at the world cup Otto Addo must be replaced asap before the tournament begins - but I SERIOUSLY doubt that would happen. If we enter the tournament with Otto Addo as our head coach, we shouldn't expect any better performance than we did the last time - as he himself is admitting right now
Johnny 2 months ago
There's no way Otto Addo can be replaced at this hour, his employers knew the risk when they contracted him to manage BS. Do not read into the statements he's been making. What were thinking about that post when we signed him?
Fifa will even make sure Nigeria qualifies to the wcup over South afroca just watch. Nigeria may not have the talent but they have numbers which is good for fifa tickets, viewership..there are more Nigerians living in North America than South africans so do the math as far as eyeballs and viewers. Plus, fifa will punish South africa for speaking against Israeli massacre of the Palestinians
USUS 2 months ago
No way. Plenty Nigerians in the US so what? That is still peanuts. We are talking World Cup! It is not like it is the Afcon where Nigeria's numbers ought to matter.
Lance 2 months ago
What is the meaning of lower your expectations. He has won something so he's began to misbehave.
Addo 2 months ago
Our group is the cheapest of all. He can't stand any big team. He has no ideas. Just doing something to represent something
Be serious 2 months ago
Man be serious for once. Go and continue your work in Germany and leave the work for a serious person. He has started
POWERFUL 2 months ago
This boy of a coach is really taking us for a joy ride. Calling for Ghanaians to lower expectations is tantamount to preparing the foundation for failure at the World Cup. We want to be motivated for it to reflect in the success of the team. If he isn't ready, he should step down for the UDS Coach who just won Gold at the World Universities Football tournament in Dalian, China to take over.
Atta Kay 2 months ago
What about President John Dramani Mahama saying that we dont need State of emergency at this current stage of galamsey? Both are incorrect at what they've said.
Amenyo 2 months ago
Akoa wei agyimi kraa dodo. What is the essence of being a coach then? The team is indeed not up to standard, but is it for a coach to blatantly say this? Then it means you don't know your job as a coach. This guy doesn't have any intellectual capacity apart from playing football and achieving certificates back door. Wei!
Awuni 2 months ago
Sack him and replace him someone competent enough to boldly raise the expectations of Ghanaians
Sethoo 2 months ago
Can we impeach John Dramani Mahama for disappointing the whole nation ? He's made so many disappointing statements as an elected President.
Achakanapaya 2 months ago
Otto Addo already know he can't make it at the World Cup. He is not a tactician.
Yes he succeeded in taking Ghana to the World Cup though but I doubt if he will make any impact at the tournament.
I have nothing against him, ... read full comment
Otto Addo already know he can't make it at the World Cup. He is not a tactician.
Yes he succeeded in taking Ghana to the World Cup though but I doubt if he will make any impact at the tournament.
I have nothing against him, I will be very happy if can prove me wrong. I love our own couching the National team but I don't trust Otto Addo.
Citizen 2 months ago
This coach is not ambitious. If we want to dream, it should be big enough. He is suggesting that representing African countries at the World Cup is big enough. In that case, lets save millions of dollars in preparation and participatiom
Pie Trumpet Pet 2 months ago
Truth bi truth: even coach Otto is not there yet! So why raising our hope? Let the local players, the strong and talented ones, train with the army - karate groups, boxers and the fishermen. Then they’ll replace these poultry-birds foreign players who have done us so much honour that it’s a ‘shame’ to call the name: but let them rest and allow the willing local highly motivated to play the world cup. Hahahaha, just kidding, well, then Black stars boys - you’ll go America with Otto Addo.
Isaac Kwame Kwahene 2 months ago
The coach lack self motivation, dumping teams spirit like this..... Do you know the other countries we are going to meet the top teams they play? At least if you are not ready to go far with the team because you fear criticism please do not dump the team spirit please.
Bad GFA 2 months ago
Lower expectation what kind delivery is that?
Then his salary & bonuses must as well be reduce drastically/lowered.
Ghanaians be ready because Trump will make sure we play our in Mexico at least most of the African countries.
A bad coach & management shall always give you a mediocre performance
Otto Addo is a disgrace 2 months ago
This guy lack belief. Not the kind of mindset that wins big things
Striker 2 months ago
What he’s saying doesn’t make any sense. He says there not that much players in the squad who have played in the Champions League? Kamaldeen Sulemana also plays in the Champions League, yet he’s sitting on the bench. And with Besson, a player like Jordan Ayew—who plays in the second division with Leicester and is even on the bench there—still starts. How does that make any sense? He has the players, but he doesn’t use them. He keeps playing Jordan Ayew instead of the ones who actually play in the Champions League. What he’s saying just doesn’t add up.
Schywee 2 months ago
He keeps playing Jordan Ayew? How do you not play the player with the highest goal contribution ( 14 in 10 games)? As a coach you’d actually bench your highest goal contributor? That doesn’t make sense.
DEEVINITY 1 month ago
@Striker.
In the aftermath of the last world cup in Qatar, many who know the game and have followed it with a technical eye predicted that Otto was both incompetent and an unqualified opportunist. They were right then, an ... read full comment
@Striker.
In the aftermath of the last world cup in Qatar, many who know the game and have followed it with a technical eye predicted that Otto was both incompetent and an unqualified opportunist. They were right then, and they are right even more today.
I myself (apologies to Dr BAWUMIA) coined a mantra not too different and not nearly as far off the mark as the popular NPP one, "WHEN THE FINDAMENTALS ARE WEAK, YOUR BENCH WILL EXPOSE YOU.."
That was true then in Qatar, it is still true today and I can assure you, it will be just as true in the Tri-nation tournament next year.
Otto is a piece of work.
Striker 2 months ago
We have such good players — Semenyo, Kudus, Nuamah, and Iñaki Williams should be leading the attack. Jordan Ayew shouldn’t be starting. Yes, he’s scored some goals for the national team, but the opponents in the qualifiers were weak. He’s even on the bench at Leicester City. So what is he talking about?
Schywee 2 months ago
That’s is the most ignorant statement I have ever read. Jordan played with these same players you are rooting for against the same cheap opposition you just mentioned yet none of these players were able to contribute half the goals he contributed! You will dismiss your most prolific goal contributor because he doesn’t play for a team you like? Seriously you can’t hide your hatred can you? You just have to rebrand it however way you can
Kj 2 months ago
Ok I hear but if drawn against Brazil, France and Japan, which of them can you beat? Just asking
TK 2 months ago
This coach is not confident enough in himself,how can he instil confidence in the boys.Sometimes it’s not about the club you play but psyching yourself to play well
anokwale 2 months ago
I am surprised at the responses here. You have to watch the press conference properly. It was not said in a negative way. He was saying that there is work to do. In fact, these same players missed easy shots during AFCON qualifiers. Go look at the highlights. It is important to note that in as much as the team has done a great job for WC qualifiers we all are aware of the possible low points. Even in WC qualifiers we saw a little bit of it in the Comoros loss under Chris Houghton and the draw against Chad under Otto Addo. We never know which version of our players we will get.
Kofi of Africa 2 months ago
OTTO ADDO NEEDS RE-EDUCATION IN A.B.C. OF GROUP PSYCHOLOGY - HE'S A COMPLETE WRECK!
Firstly, I congratulate Otto Addo for bumbling his way through, often hash public criticism, to qualify the great Black Stars again t ... read full comment
OTTO ADDO NEEDS RE-EDUCATION IN A.B.C. OF GROUP PSYCHOLOGY - HE'S A COMPLETE WRECK!
Firstly, I congratulate Otto Addo for bumbling his way through, often hash public criticism, to qualify the great Black Stars again to the 2026. FIFA World Cup. I take my hat off to his sheer brawn and stickability.
Yesterday, I commented in a post that Coach Otto Addo is very negative. He lacks self-confidence so badly that he often projects it on Black Stars players and Ghana's media audience, at his many inept "Press Conferences."
If before crucial matches he had "low expectations" about the abilities of his players, it is psychologically improper to immediately projects it.
He's had ample time to have corrected his low expectations but he has failed to act dilligently, thus causing his players to be under siege.
Secondly, he should have paused to do a thorough self analysis, find practical solutions, sought alternative superior solutions, and correctively implemented them.
I was most downcrested watching the Black Stars succumb to steady skillful, tactically superior pressure from Comoros Island (who were beaten convincingly by Madagascar whom we easily beat). The problem had to do with Addo's pre-match media statement saying the match was going to be tough!
Of course it was going to be tough. All matches are tough, and all good coaches assume so. But telling everyone so is bad psychology. Of course, he should have honestly, but gently intimated his caution to his players. And he or his psychologists should have found the wherewithal to boost player confidence.
My!...Kwesi Appiah was "Teboo-teboo" (spineless), but this Otto Addo guy is a complete psychological wreck! I can't stand retrogressive mindsets like his!
Revolutionary regards.
DEEVINITY 1 month ago
Thank you @Kofi of Africa. You have spoken my thoughts ELOQUENTLY!!! THANK YOU.
Oh!! Ghana Coach 2 months ago
Papa Daps
The coach has started preparing the minds of Ghanaians because he knows the Black Star under him will not make any impact at the World Cup. He doesn't trust things will work well for him at the World Cup. Let's get ... read full comment
Papa Daps
The coach has started preparing the minds of Ghanaians because he knows the Black Star under him will not make any impact at the World Cup. He doesn't trust things will work well for him at the World Cup. Let's get a very good coach who is more experience than Otto Addo. This coach should replace him as the senior coach. Otto can work with him. This will even help coach Otto Addo to gain more experience. The team is bigger than his experience.
Long live Ghana, Long live the Black Star.
Richard 2 months ago
If we want to go far,we should Sack him cause even in Qatar we didn't qualify for round 16...
DEEVINITY 1 month ago
A coach who keeps all his best legs on the bench when he NEEDS THEM THE MOST and justifies his ineptitude too. Is this one too a coach????
Paa Pee 2 months ago
All FIFA matrches are shown free on fifa.com or fifa app and all fifa apps works with all smart TVs. Watch Nigeria Game on Fifa.com as well as all Highlights of previous games free online
Vido 2 months ago
Agy3 ta
Agy3 ta
Uwusu 2 months ago
Please Kofi you people must sack this coach before it's too late. He is not serious as a coach. You can always judge him from his face. Just look at what he just said.He urges Ghanaians to lower expectations ahead of 2026 world cup. Is this coach serious all. This is insult to Ghanaians
Kaya Man 2 months ago
Ghanaians don't want the truth. These players cannot be compared to the class of 2010. Ghana cannot win a single game at the WC even with Klopp, JM, etc. This is just an ordinary team.
James 2 months ago
Just like everything else in the country, we are on the down side. Nothing seems to work. Lord have mercy on Ghana. We are doomed as a nation.
Ataya 2 months ago
I have gone through some of the comments and I can boldly beat my chest and say majority at the comment section lack wisdom and knowledge. What Otto Addo was saying is %100 and bitter truth its hurts but that's reality of life. We have to limit our expectation and hope for the best.
Saidawadhrubeya@gmail.com 2 months ago
Remember the team failed to qualify for Afcon 2025 in morocco and has qualified for the world cup.. You can’t compare this team with that of 2010 and 2006 so let's hope the situation improves later on..
Martin Kreisler 2 months ago
This is defeatist talk from 'Herr Coach', and very uncharacteristic of the German society he was raised in.
A good coach must inspire confidence in the team.
This is defeatist talk from 'Herr Coach', and very uncharacteristic of the German society he was raised in.
USUS 2 months ago
Otto is smart. He knows the BStars will be disaster at the World cup and is already sending the excuse message. Only hope they lose respectably like 1-0s and 2-1s and not 8-0s for instance.
Bonus Baba 2 months ago
I pray for my black stars to get to some place at the world cup. The coach is right. Ghanaians set you hopes around your ankles. Let's keep our fingers crossed. No pointing fingers.
I don't trust the talents of this coac ... read full comment
I pray for my black stars to get to some place at the world cup. The coach is right. Ghanaians set you hopes around your ankles. Let's keep our fingers crossed. No pointing fingers.
I don't trust the talents of this coach. At the same time I tend to support him at this point
TG 1 month ago
He's actually not wrong because if we come in with low expectations and the boys play above those expectations then...
DEEVINITY 1 month ago
@TG.
He is referring to HIMSELF!!
@TG.
Laye 1 month ago
Receive Jesus as your Lord and Savior today
DEEVINITY 1 month ago
How many times do I have to say it???? We have a dud for a coach. HE DOESN'T HAVE A CLUE. Then again this must be some kind of reverse projection and an apt one because clearly he fits all the negatives he listed and blames everyone but himself for the poor performance of the players. That is a quintessential sign of a terrible leader; one who quarrels with his tools......because he doesn't have a clue.
Absolutely, he (Otto Addo) should be replaced before the world cup proper. I have never seen a Coach lacking in confidence and talking down on his team always as this coach is doing on a consistent basis. You have a very skil ...
Sack this Idiot Now!
You don't necessarily hav ...
Finally the cat's out of the bag!!! The man has outed himself as a cheap, defeatist, low-quality, backward pretender without a shred of backbone. Thank you @Simeon London for articulating my most intimate thoughts about this ...
Wcup is all politics and betting..even the mafia is linked with fifa and juxtaposing, fixing matches behind the scenes..if those in positions of authority want Ghana to make it to semi finals it will happen..until yhen, I wil ...
Pto understands the geo political and mafia orchestrated schemes of fifa that's is why he is telling Ghanaians to Lowe your expectations..look at the economies of the nation's that qualified to the semis and finals of the las ...
Rubbish!
@Addo & Amenyo, you both are correct, if we want to do well at the world cup Otto Addo must be replaced asap before the tournament begins - but I SERIOUSLY doubt that would happen. If we enter the tournament with Otto Addo as ...
There's no way Otto Addo can be replaced at this hour, his employers knew the risk when they contracted him to manage BS. Do not read into the statements he's been making. What were thinking about that post when we signed hi ...
Fifa will even make sure Nigeria qualifies to the wcup over South afroca just watch. Nigeria may not have the talent but they have numbers which is good for fifa tickets, viewership..there are more Nigerians living in North A ...
This boy of a coach is really taking us for a joy ride. Calling for Ghanaians to lower expectations is tantamount to preparing the foundation for failure at the World Cup. We want to be motivated for it to reflect in the succ ...
Akoa wei agyimi kraa dodo. What is the essence of being a coach then? The team is indeed not up to standard, but is it for a coach to blatantly say this? Then it means you don't know your job as a coach. This guy doesn't hav ...
I have nothing against him, ...
This coach is not ambitious. If we want to dream, it should be big enough. He is suggesting that representing African countries at the World Cup is big enough. In that case, lets save millions of dollars in preparation and p ...
Truth bi truth: even coach Otto is not there yet! So why raising our hope? Let the local players, the strong and talented ones, train with the army - karate groups, boxers and the fishermen. Then they’ll replace these poult ...
The coach lack self motivation, dumping teams spirit like this..... Do you know the other countries we are going to meet the top teams they play? At least if you are not ready to go far with the team because you fear criticis ...
Ghanaians be ready because Trump will make sure we play our in Mexico at least most of the African countrie ...
What he’s saying doesn’t make any sense. He says there not that much players in the squad who have played in the Champions League? Kamaldeen Sulemana also plays in the Champions League, yet he’s sitting on the bench. An ...
@Striker.
In the aftermath of the last world cup in Qatar, many who know the game and have followed it with a technical eye predicted that Otto was both incompetent and an unqualified opportunist. They were right then, an ...
We have such good players — Semenyo, Kudus, Nuamah, and Iñaki Williams should be leading the attack. Jordan Ayew shouldn’t be starting. Yes, he’s scored some goals for the national team, but the opponents in the qualif ...
That’s is the most ignorant statement I have ever read. Jordan played with these same players you are rooting for against the same cheap opposition you just mentioned yet none of these players were able to contribute half t ...
I am surprised at the responses here. You have to watch the press conference properly. It was not said in a negative way. He was saying that there is work to do. In fact, these same players missed easy shots during AFCON ...
Firstly, I congratulate Otto Addo for bumbling his way through, often hash public criticism, to qualify the great Black Stars again t ...
Papa Daps
The coach has started preparing the minds of Ghanaians because he knows the Black Star under him will not make any impact at the World Cup. He doesn't trust things will work well for him at the World Cup. Let's get ...
Agy3 ta
Please Kofi you people must sack this coach before it's too late. He is not serious as a coach. You can always judge him from his face. Just look at what he just said.He urges Ghanaians to lower expectations ahead of 2026 wor ...
I have gone through some of the comments and I can boldly beat my chest and say majority at the comment section lack wisdom and knowledge. What Otto Addo was saying is %100 and bitter truth its hurts but that's reality of lif ...
I don't trust the talents of this coac ...
@TG.
How many times do I have to say it???? We have a dud for a coach. HE DOESN'T HAVE A CLUE. Then again this must be some kind of reverse projection and an apt one because clearly he fits all the negatives he listed and blames e ...