Yet the same Ghanaians crucified him and labelled all disparaging lies against him leading to his brutal cold murder. No we hail him as the best thing since sliced bread. H.E Nana Addo is going through the same myopic ungratefulness. Lest we change our hypocritical ways, Ghana will never prosper as we desire.
Vituperation 1 year ago
Okay, please refresh us on 3 things that H.E Nana Addo has done that are significant for Ghana since I am one of the myopic ungrateful folks. Thank you Brigadier
ODENEHO 1 year ago
Agenda 111 , 320 ambulances, Almighty School Feeding Programme. Satisfied?
Kotoko 1 year ago
Idiot!
Period!!
Idiot!
Period!!
Paa Kwesi 1 year ago
And so what. When we were deceived to chant let the blood flow didn't we know his good works. Why did we allow our emotions to mislead. He was disgraced, shot and buried in a mass grave. ;Now you know why we are still jinxed.
Leroy 1 year ago
That is a lie!! Kutu Acheampong was betrayed and stabbed in the back by his own trusted colleagues in government led by General Frederick Akuffo. Ignorance is a deadly disease that is destroying our society and our people
Nana Kwaku 1 year ago
We were told when we were young that late Gen I.K. Acheampong was an illiterate.I never knew he was a trained teacher b4 entering the military.Infact he went to the Military College meaning he was far intelligent than late JJ Rawlings.
CORNEY 1 year ago
That’s a lie, Acheampong only attended a commercial school, he was NOT a trained teacher.
What are you thinking to compare him to a combat pilot, do you what it takes to become a pilot let alone a combat pilot?
That’s a lie, Acheampong only attended a commercial school, he was NOT a trained teacher.
What are you thinking to compare him to a combat pilot, do you what it takes to become a pilot let alone a combat pilot?
Deji 1 year ago
Brother come again.For your information, Achesampong was headmaster of a commercial school around eastern region before venturing into military
DS 1 year ago
Do you also know what it takes to become a military general?
Eugene Selorm Owusu 1 year ago
Acheampong actually promoted himself from a "Colonel" to a "General"...
Kwasi 1 year ago
Kwaku that's a typical stereotype for the Asante people. To this date some people think Asantes are illiterate. Anytime I hear such ignorant comment I just laugh and walk away.
Twum 1 year ago
Which training college did he attend? A pupil teacher.
Acheampong is the worst military leader Ghana ever had. Clueless about anything that is to do with leading a nation. What was his reason for overthrowing Busia who trained President Koufour to be one of Ghana’s best leaders?
KK 1 year ago
He attended the then Central College of Commerce at Agona Swedru in the Central Region of Ghana. Acheampong worked as a stenographer/secretary at Timber Sawmill in Kumasi and later taught at Kumasi Commercial College, where he became Vice Principal at Agona-Swedru College of Commerce. Acheampong trained at Aldershot, England, as a cadet officer.[4] He was commissioned in the Ghana Army in 1959, and served as a member of the UN peacekeepers during the Congo Crisis. Credit: Wikipedia
Yaa 1 year ago
It was commercial school instead
Yaa Yaa 1 year ago
Brooo that is Ghana for you is ut any wonder they are where they are?
The challenge is my age mates,The Gen Z we are the suddenly people we dont understand the sacrifices our Elders made for us.
we insult we denigrate them ... read full comment
The challenge is my age mates,The Gen Z we are the suddenly people we dont understand the sacrifices our Elders made for us.
we insult we denigrate them, because we refuse to accept the procedure and so opportunistic people see our weakness they quickly capitalise on it,use us and dump us.
We won't understand what you are saying today, some may even insult you but trust me you we will wake up one day with no hope to clutch on.
We are driving Country Ghana into Extinction.
Issah Nuhu 1 year ago
Biggest or largest swimming pool costing over 50 million dollars, 12 million dollars wasted at Pwalugu just to mention a few
JK, Atlanta 1 year ago
Any leader who doesn’t stop galamsay, which is destroying all the fresh water bodies, and who doesn’t build quality modern highways, at least three lanes each direction, is an abject failure.
Leroy 1 year ago
No that is a lie!! Kutu Acheampong was betrayed and stabbed in the back by his own trusted colleagues in government led by General Frederick Akuffo. Ignorance is a deadly disease that is destroying our society and our people
Senga 1 year ago
Don’t ever compare Acheampong’s great achievements in almost ALL sectors with the DISMAL & DISAPPOINTING performances of the incompetent and corrupt Akufo Addo!
Fireman 1 year ago
You call that animal and a thief His Excellency. You must be mad. Even no body should deserve the title apart from God bcos they are not demigods.
Emma osew 1 year ago
Write your comment when you are in power people don,t see your acheivement when you leave office they will start to remmember the good work. The same thing they will remember our current president the excelency nana addo akufo addo dankwa for the good work he has done for the good people of ghana
Akwasi Boateng 1 year ago
Kutu was more visionary, he understood self reliance and homegrown development. He didn’t borrow from IMF and suspended payments on our loans, he imposed strict currency controls and we had food surpluses due to OFY. His rule was short and he couldn’t tame corruption either.
Koofi 1 year ago
Kutu ruled for 6 uninterrupted years. I am not sure it was that short.
Nana Kwaku 1 year ago
Perfectly right he never took any foreign loan,again we became food sufficient country under his regime and even exported a lot of cereals.He also did massive expansion in our secondary schools and universities.
JOE WASSA 1 year ago
Did well an better than all the governments after him.
Paa K 1 year ago
Ghanaian history has not been sincere to this man. For me her was the next after Nkrumah to have tried carve the Ghanaian identity but we tried all w could to tarnish his image. We did to Nkrumah, Acheampong and recently Mahama. Why are we this anti-progress
ZK 1 year ago
There was a serious economic crises during his time and rumors that he was corrupt whether true or not ended his government
Johnny,Oyarifa -Madina 1 year ago
He had a serious foreign exchange crisis bcoz he refused to borrow thus the country could not import foreign goods.But I believed in his consumer what we produced idea,if we had carried that idea forward Ghana would have been like South Korea or Malaysia.
What..!!!!!!!! 1 year ago
Bra why ? you made a very profound statement mentioning good peoples name but why adding a Whimsical Desprate Politrician MAHAMA name to spoil it?
NDC NPP SAME DEVIL 1 year ago
Just tell Mohammed Kudus to leave westham immediately ,reasons; 1.the manager does not like him 1 bit 2. ...ham ...ham clubs do not favour ghanaian footballers
Ackah blay. 1 year ago
General Acheampongs love for sports, and the development of it, was unexampled in the history of Ghana. To give more meaning to it's development, he retained the position as the commissioner of sports with colonel Sempe Asante as his special assistant. It was the golden era of sports like that of Dr. Nkrumah's era.
Dadeako 1 year ago
We need a militaryman not npp and ndc
Kwame 1 year ago
I'm sure you're young so you didn't know how corrupt a military government could be. The military with their guns have plundered the resources of this nation than any civilian government. Lands were appropriated. Business,. Most of them appointed to head government institutions run the places as though they are their personal properties. Human rights were grossly abused with impunity. I wished I could tell you more
NATIONAL DEMONIC CONGRESS ( NDC) 1 year ago
You need a military man you had Rawshit with nineteen excruciating painful wasted evil years his legacy is our present predicament. He trained THIEVES AND MURDERERS ( NDC)who have become serious heavy burden for innocent Ghanaians. I K Acheampong was a military man with vision, wisdom,knowledge and understanding but just like now those NDC fools are busy tarnishing the good image of Nana Addo they the NDC demons will soon come out and denie those evil and baseless allegations of power. Ghanaians must shine their eyes
Konkontibaa 1 year ago
Acheapong built the Dansoman Estate, Mataheko Police Barracks and more infrastructures but they tag him with Kalabule, Fawoto begyie Golf and sorts of n9nsense, Rawlings 19years was to form a CRIMINAL PARTY (NDC) without a single infrastructure, promoted tribalism, hatred, killing, abuse of human rights with his Dzelukope mafias
Acheampong did his bit 1 year ago
Built the tall block at KATH which we haven't completed till this day. Built Weija dam, Dawhenya irrigation system, Kaneshie Market and Estate which serves us till this day.
ST GHFUO: GH LEADERS ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED 1 year ago
i live in one of those dansoman estates at kofi and ama last stop and then also at atico junction police quarters. how many estates did drool mouf akuffu addo build? ask bazooka breasted serwaa bibini
CORNEY 1 year ago
That’s a lie, he didn’t build parks in all the regions, blatant lie by a so called historian.
He should show us the parks, the stadiums he built in the districts and regions.
That’s a lie, he didn’t build parks in all the regions, blatant lie by a so called historian.
He should show us the parks, the stadiums he built in the districts and regions.
It's Not True 1 year ago
I admire Acheampong but it's never true that he constructed football pitches in ALL REGIONAL AND DISTRICT CAPITALS. I'm from Takyiman and I know of the Ameyaw Park which was constructed at Nkrumah"s time. There is no any other major park in Takyiman that one can point to and say boldly that Acheampong constructed. The remaining parks in Takyiman belong to church schools like the methodist park, SDA school park, etc
COD 1 year ago
Ex-Head of State Ignatius Kutu Acheampong, could have led Ghana to improve massively , but he was too neck-deep into women, especially, beautiful looking ones. He lost his dreams & focus for Ghana because of women. The women were seducing & throwing and offering themselves to him, but as usual of majority of men, he could not resist and reject them. He mis-spent a lot of Ghana`s cash fortunes on women rendering him and his team as corrupt as the word connotes, leading up to his eventual downfall.
Operation Feed Yourself and the Bunsu, Koforidua, Agric School added to some attention to mechanical engineering and sports could have changed Ghana massively, but women affairs let I.K. Acheampong down miserably.
Senga 1 year ago
Clearly Gen Acheampong is the best Head of State Ghana has had AFTER Osagyefo Dr kwame Nkrumah! As for Liman & Mills they couldn’t finish their terms for evaluation. The other heads of state are typical Africans- CORRUPT & INCOMPETENT
My second best 1 year ago
My second best head of state after Kwame Nkrumah
John 1 year ago
As a country we shall be where are. What we know is back bitting, jealousy, evy and tribalism. That's the black man fool for you. While the white man ( Obroni ) is planning to manufacture a car to fly ease traffic the black man fool wants to graduate from the degree of insults. But the most painful thing is that when given the opportunity he failed pootoor
Jungler 1 year ago
And his prize was a brutal and cruel murder by some irresponsible people through whose arms today we have an evil band of people called the NDC.
General, you'll be forever in the hearts and minds of all sincere Ghanaians.
R ... read full comment
And his prize was a brutal and cruel murder by some irresponsible people through whose arms today we have an evil band of people called the NDC.
Rest in peace.
Mike. 1 year ago
General Acheampong renovated Accra and Kumasi sports stadium and not stadia for all regions and districts. Let's be factual.He constructed Kaneshie market ,Dansoman Estate and probably Kaneshie sports complex. Most part of his regime the nation was food sufficient because of his operation feed yourself policy which yielded positive results
Ataa Obeng site 19 Tema 1 year ago
Acheampong attended Swadru Commercial college before he joined the military, he is far better done Akuffo Addo and Bawumia put together, he was able to handle the IMF with his military tactics, he didn't use galamsey money to settle Ghana's debt, NPP is saying they are not stopping galamsey because that is what they are using to pay Ghana's debt
JK, Atlanta 1 year ago
What pitches? You need at least three modern football stadiums, and stop patching those archaic rotten metal structures you call stadiums. Look at Rwanda, look at Ivory Coast, look at Morocco, Senegal, Mali… You call yourself football nation. Keep living in past glory
DrGabe 1 year ago
Did he do so using his own earned money? Investigate his record along with the records of others like him!
FOOTBALL PITCHES? 1 year ago
Show me. "ALL" is a strong word to use.
I see many half completed projects, run down projects, and many that were designated but never started.
Stop building people up for should have done but didn't projects.
The old sa ... read full comment
I see many half completed projects, run down projects, and many that were designated but never started.
The old saying applies here:
"Expect what you inspect."
You have youth who need these pitches. Stop Patting yourself on the back and check your work before yp take credit.
Kenneth Sarpong Anaafi 1 year ago
General Acheampong was far better than these PHD holders, judging from, agriculture, sports, health, housing, transport etc,my goodness is Ghana for sale or what, I cry each day when I see our rivers, lands, and forests bring destroyed.
None of our law makers in parliament do nothing about all these because of their involvement in Galamesy.
Gold Coast 1 year ago
He did more that his demonic murderer
Tsikaka was part of hi
Kwasi 1 year ago
Remember Acheampong inherited better economy but messed up. The cedi was strong and the rate of inflation was zero. When asked why he made the coup he stated "Even the few amenities the soldiers were enjoying during NLC was cut down by Busia. 2. Stated he planned the coup before Busia was swore in PM. Acheampong was a fun of Kwame not Kofi. Banks were looted and allowed women to get loans without security. Reason was killed.
Twum 1 year ago
Acheampong should be convicted even in his grave.
Acheampong overthrew Dr. Busia with no apparent reason and plunged Ghana into the most catastrophic economic disaster. He turned Ghana into a beggar nation. Thanks to JJ who came and delivered Ghana from the corrupt Acheampong regime and put Ghana on a good democratic path.
Rawlings is a real Ghanaian Hero who stoped coup's in Ghana and stabilised the country.
Baba 1 year ago
With no intention to belittle the Late Chairman K, could the writer please point out the stadia Acheampong built in the regional capitals apart from expansion and renovation of the Kumasi and accrAccra Facilities.
Gbeh Agbo 1 year ago
Acheampong had so many girlfriends, it was his time bottom power came into our dictionary. He was a better president than our current corrupt president. Rawlings achieved more than any president apart from Nkrumah. The democracy we enjoy today is Rawlings democracy. As for kwasea kufour he is so stupid. Very corrupt, Haruna Eseku exposed him, and soon Eseku was killed
Senga 1 year ago
At the time the corrupt civilian politicians wanted to come and chop! So they EXAGGERATED the shortcomings of Kutu for a regime overthrow! Acheampong is the best head of state after the great kwame Nkrumah!!!!!!
Benjamin thr truth teller 1 year ago
Hmm.we tha Ga's have kept quiete listening to you the ashanti's or Alan's insulting each other anywhere you meet !
Oh is this a case where you have should attack one another? .
Where is Acheapong today who you mean was not ... read full comment
Hmm.we tha Ga's have kept quiete listening to you the ashanti's or Alan's insulting each other anywhere you meet !
Where is Acheapong today who you mean was not educated?
Where is his oppontents who overthrew him and where is Rawlings today who you same people said he is bustard?
Are they not dead and gone .
Look the Akans loves condemnations and insults too much ...you must put a stop to this foolishness ..Ewes are there Northners are there and many other tribes but are quite ,
Insults never helps please my Ashantifuor!
Ebei
Shanunu Mohammed 1 year ago
What a shame Ghana can’t host it games due to poor stadiums that do not meet international standards
Kofi 1 year ago
When you Ghanaians stop insulting our leaders current or past. Let's to be fair and balance in our commentary
Col. IK Acheampong attended Swedru School of Business but in the military when you joined you given the appropri ... read full comment
When you Ghanaians stop insulting our leaders current or past. Let's to be fair and balance in our commentary
Col. IK Acheampong attended Swedru School of Business but in the military when you joined you given the appropriate training within the country and abroad. The political discourse of his time is the same as today. He conducted a referendum to create what he called "Union Governing " and result was No ie. a rejection. Going forward he achieved some ie. Dansoman Estates, North Kaneshie prompted several business men to establish and explain their business eg. Tata Brewey which has been sold to Gunness group. Operation feed yourself was promoted and embraced by Ghanaians consequently food was in abundance
He is human so he can't be a saint. Thanks
Pk 1 year ago
Yet, killed by messiah's who later owned mansions and drives expensive cars.
Nuhu 1 year ago
May God bless his soul, Good president, Ghanaians will always remember you, a man of soccer.
Nicman 1 year ago
You will only be praised when you are dead in Ghana. Land of the dead
Yet the same Ghanaians crucified him and labelled all disparaging lies against him leading to his brutal cold murder. No we hail him as the best thing since sliced bread. H.E Nana Addo is going through the same myopic ungrate ...
Idiot!
Period!!
We were told when we were young that late Gen I.K. Acheampong was an illiterate.I never knew he was a trained teacher b4 entering the military.Infact he went to the Military College meaning he was far intelligent than late JJ ...
Acheampong is the worst military leader Ghana ever had. Clueless about anything that is to do with leading a nation. What was his reason for overthrowing Busia who trai ...
He attended the then Central College of Commerce at Agona Swedru in the Central Region of Ghana. Acheampong worked as a stenographer/secretary at Timber Sawmill in Kumasi and later taught at Kumasi Commercial College, wher ...
we insult we denigrate them ...
Write your comment when you are in power people don,t see your acheivement when you leave office they will start to remmember the good work. The same thing they will remember our current president the excelency nana addo akuf ...
Kutu was more visionary, he understood self reliance and homegrown development. He didn’t borrow from IMF and suspended payments on our loans, he imposed strict currency controls and we had food surpluses due to OFY. His ru ...
Ghanaian history has not been sincere to this man. For me her was the next after Nkrumah to have tried carve the Ghanaian identity but we tried all w could to tarnish his image. We did to Nkrumah, Acheampong and recently Maha ...
He had a serious foreign exchange crisis bcoz he refused to borrow thus the country could not import foreign goods.But I believed in his consumer what we produced idea,if we had carried that idea forward Ghana would have been ...
General Acheampongs love for sports, and the development of it, was unexampled in the history of Ghana. To give more meaning to it's development, he retained the position as the commissioner of sports with colonel Sempe Asant ...
I'm sure you're young so you didn't know how corrupt a military government could be. The military with their guns have plundered the resources of this nation than any civilian government. Lands were appropriated. Business,. M ...
You need a military man you had Rawshit with nineteen excruciating painful wasted evil years his legacy is our present predicament. He trained THIEVES AND MURDERERS ( NDC)who have become serious heavy burden for innocent Gha ...
Acheapong built the Dansoman Estate, Mataheko Police Barracks and more infrastructures but they tag him with Kalabule, Fawoto begyie Golf and sorts of n9nsense, Rawlings 19years was to form a CRIMINAL PARTY (NDC) without a si ...
I admire Acheampong but it's never true that he constructed football pitches in ALL REGIONAL AND DISTRICT CAPITALS. I'm from Takyiman and I know of the Ameyaw Park which was constructed at Nkrumah"s time. There is no any othe ...
Ex-Head of State Ignatius Kutu Acheampong, could have led Ghana to improve massively , but he was too neck-deep into women, especially, beautiful looking ones. He lost his dreams & focus for Ghana because of women. The women ...
Clearly Gen Acheampong is the best Head of State Ghana has had AFTER Osagyefo Dr kwame Nkrumah! As for Liman & Mills they couldn’t finish their terms for evaluation. The other heads of state are typical Africans- CORRUPT & ...
As a country we shall be where are. What we know is back bitting, jealousy, evy and tribalism. That's the black man fool for you. While the white man ( Obroni ) is planning to manufacture a car to fly ease traffic the black m ...
R ...
General Acheampong renovated Accra and Kumasi sports stadium and not stadia for all regions and districts. Let's be factual.He constructed Kaneshie market ,Dansoman Estate and probably Kaneshie sports complex. Most pa ...
Acheampong attended Swadru Commercial college before he joined the military, he is far better done Akuffo Addo and Bawumia put together, he was able to handle the IMF with his military tactics, he didn't use galamsey money to ...
What pitches? You need at least three modern football stadiums, and stop patching those archaic rotten metal structures you call stadiums. Look at Rwanda, look at Ivory Coast, look at Morocco, Senegal, Mali… You call yours ...
The old sa ...
General Acheampong was far better than these PHD holders, judging from, agriculture, sports, health, housing, transport etc,my goodness is Ghana for sale or what, I cry each day when I see our rivers, lands, and forests bring ...
Tsikaka was part of hi
Remember Acheampong inherited better economy but messed up. The cedi was strong and the rate of inflation was zero. When asked why he made the coup he stated "Even the few amenities the soldiers were enjoying during NLC was c ...
Acheampong overthrew Dr. Busia with no apparent reason and plunged Ghana into the most catastrophic economic disaster. He turned Ghana into a beggar nation. Thanks to JJ who ...
Acheampong had so many girlfriends, it was his time bottom power came into our dictionary. He was a better president than our current corrupt president. Rawlings achieved more than any president apart from Nkrumah. The democr ...
Where is Acheapong today who you mean was not ...
Col. IK Acheampong attended Swedru School of Business but in the military when you joined you given the appropri ...