2024 Olympic Games: Botswana president declares public holiday after Tebogo’s 200m triumph

Read Comments Comments (30)

• SECURITY FENCING AND CCTV 1 year ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS & CCTV CAMERAS. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 for more info. FGHJGH ...

• QWERTY 1 year ago

Great feat by the young man. Celebrating him and his achievement is very much in order but national holiday for it, may be a bit too much. The most important thing is building the facilities and systems that will help raise m ...

• P Djamgbe 1 year ago

@Qwerty, I disagree - in my opinion half a day of holiday is not good enough. To win the country's first Olympic gold in an event that is widely seen as the second most popular event (after 100m) at the Olympics is a very sig ...

• KNIGHT STEALER 1 year ago

Give him a full holiday. Name a stadium after him. Give him a tebogo national holiday to be celebrated for life in Botswana and he must get a diplomatic passport n eat for free in that country as the first human to win an oly ...

• Nash 1 year ago

In fact, Africans need deliverance. How many events have Americans won but there is no holiday. Poverty will continue to be our surname. Tweaaaaa

• Kojo Sromani 1 year ago

You cannot just compare apples to oranges without looking at the situation and historic circumstances. Ignoramuses like you always jump into making stupid comments when you have no clue about the historic perspective of how s ...

• Kwabena Ohemeng 1 year ago

Thank you Kojo Sromani!!.You have said it all.Nash is just a slave of the Americans and the name suggests it.It pains him that an African has won the 100 metres which the Americans cheekily thought it was there for their tak ...

I think nash and kwame might be related bevause reading theirncomments these 2 fools have the same gyimifuo DNA they would be great Ghanaian leaders they should go and run for office in ghana the people will vote for them

• Felix 1 year ago

Kojo Sromani you are damn damn dumb African animal. Junk. How on earth should a president declare a holiday because one person has won 200 meters race at Olympics. African leaders are real motherfucker animals. You jerk suppo ...

• I b 1 year ago

My brother you've made a point but it sounds too abusive

• Kwabena Ohemeng 1 year ago

A very stupid comment!!! The Americans expected to win and they lost to an African. I wish i am in Botswana to enjoy the half holiday.

Nash you fool why compare America to Botswana there should be a full holiday infact as the first Olympian to win gold there should a tebogo day a national holiday. This man should get a diplomatic passport for life and be abl ...

• Nyansani 1 year ago

@Nash, thank you. Giving a holiday for winning a single gold is ridiculous at best.

• Jojo 1 year ago

Well done my brother, Keep going higher

• Felix 1 year ago

African junkies shut up. Ofui animals in a jungle. Look the GDP of entire African continent is $3.1 trillion. California alone has almost $4 trillion. If you don't compare, how do you develop. Fucked African brains. Motherfuc ...

Stupid fool Felix you believed the lie obroni is feeding you kwasia you compare cut n paste technology in california, the dead film induatry and tourism to the consumer population and humongous resource potential coming from ...

• Sirsey 1 year ago

Congratulations! Young man. You have made your country and Africa proud!

• Africawatch 1 year ago

I am happy he beat those Americans,especially Lyles who luckily won the 100 metres gold medal..They think they are unbeatable in the sprints.

• Darko Amoah 1 year ago

WELL DONE BUT LEARN FAST

In the press conference after the race, I heard Tebogo describing Lyles as arrogant and loud. Usain Bolt described Lyles as confident. In Africa, generally, we call confident people arrogant. It he ...

Darko,Darko, it'everywhere in every country you have some persons who are confident n loud n people mistake their confidence for arrogance its everywhere lyles wants to sell the sport n make it mainstream can you believe usai ...

• Kwame. 1 year ago

Africans are real real junkies. You these shits and run to the IMF and the World bank for rescue. Fools. 54 countries with $3.1 GDP? and you continue to fool. California alone surpasses entire African GDP. Mmoa mu mmoa. You g ...

• COD 1 year ago

KWame, you are an African and an aboa mu aboa, hhahahaha....! You`re a funny one.
    You`re bitter & disappointed given the resources we have but continue to sweat in crass poverty.
    Soon, Africans will compete and win and domi ...

How can a person named Kwame be this stupid? You believe this gdp foolishness? How much agrican resources leave unaccounted for keasia the materials made for computers, iPhone etc all come from Africa bitch negga go n read yo ...

• COD 1 year ago

Congratulations Champ Tebogo !!!

• Bazz 1 year ago

This is a very great achievement, there are too many village people in Ghana, what's wrong to honor such a great feat by half a day holiday

• Kwame Twumasi-Fofie 1 year ago

It's good honouring the young man, but I wonder how beneficial a holiday - to be enjoyed by workers, and to the disadvantage of the nation's economy - would be for him. Why not rather a national sporting monument to perpetuat ...

• Nana Amoako 1 year ago

Yeah Tebogo deserves that honor. To beat all those guys in the 200 is not a small achievement. I was jumping up and down in the office and some of my colleagues who are Americans couldn't believe the devastation Africa has me ...

• Nana Agyeman 11 1 year ago

Congratulations to Tebogo. You made Africa proud. Thank you sir.

• Sly K. Ed 1 year ago

This is the sort of mentality retarding Africa. Whole national holiday for just silverware on one person's neck and whole national productivity lost? Africa, we are something. Our priorities are all wrong.

• Keorapetse Gotshajwang 1 year ago

Considerable time for him