You are here: HomeSports2024 03 02Article 1919548

2014 World Cup: Asamoah Gyan and his teammates refused to train until they see cash – Elvis Afriyie Ankrah

Read Comments Comments (124)

• Dzimakpla 3 months ago

Nothing is for free cry Baby

• Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+ 3 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ++
    Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+++
    Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ++++
    Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+++++
    Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ++++++
    Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+++++++
    Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ++++ ...

• Togbe Agorkorli 3 months ago

We know it's you....gay medina mp, sasu...it's over just give up...u lose stop it

• Abu D 2 months ago

We are waiting to see what Nana will do.

• NDC thieves only after power to steal 3 months ago

Ghanaians know which of the two parties is empty of ideas and full of thieves

• Kojo 3 months ago

And he was the captain. Such an idiot. Dede is a far better leader compared to that Asamoah Gyan guy. No wonder he couldn't win anything for Ghana as a Captain. Dede brought the U20 world cup

• Sco 3 months ago

What an absolutely crass statement to make.

• Opoku 3 months ago

@Kojo.Such an imbecile like you calling Asamoah Gyan stupid?. You are a stupid gullible Ndc moron and your insults emanates from the fact that he has decided to serve in an Npp Committee.You are very pathetic.

• Who Killed Mills 3 months ago

Question is , what do we see Asamoah as now. A Ghana Black Star captain or an NPP man. Well, some people have decided to now see him as an NPP politician and what they are doing is the normal dirty politics that we are all us ...

• Tawiah 3 months ago

Ashiwo more ( I dey pain you)

• Koo 3 months ago

You're just a wasted entity.....Was it only Asamoah Gyan that said he won't train unless he sees the money...
    That hypocrite former minister saying that was he not using our money to buy coconut at higher price over there in ...

• Yy 3 months ago

Dede Ayew win African under 17 and also under 20 world championship Dede Ayew is a legend. AG is a disgrace and distraction to Ghana football team at his time

• Wofa Yaw 3 months ago

Why now??? Just because he has offered to help to structure sports for an opposing party? If this our attitude then we have a long way to go as a country. It will come a time opposing parties may not use the same road I suppo ...

• Kwaku Tee 3 months ago

Thank you for noticing NDC Propaganda to destroy Asamoah Gyan all just bcos he has accepted to join Bawumia manifesto committee.

• Kioo 3 months ago

This had been happening in a lot African countries and it is only in Ghana that some fools will ascribe political reasons

• M.T 3 months ago

The NDC are just incredible at propaganda. They are so use to propaganda to the extent that they think people don't have a sense of judgement of their own to decifer their deception. Why did it take Afriyie Ankra ten years to ...

• Johnny 3 months ago

John Mahama can never be a flagbearer of NPP all bcoz of his credibility and bad corruption records.NPP would have been afraid of NDC strong Propaganda team to destroy him.Yet in NDC they have repackaged JDM telling us to vot ...

• Togbe Agorkorli 3 months ago

Plus John mahama ex-girlfriend died of AIDS!

• Asante 3 months ago

But you refused to pay accumulated bonuses prior to this tournament. Pay them their bonuses

• This man who came to shed tears 3 months ago

That team included Stephen Appiah who is senior to Asamoah Gyan and Sulley Muntari who eventualy slaped an FA official because of cash

U fools must leave Gyan be

• Boss 3 months ago

That team had Muntari, Essien, Kevin Boateng etc. So is this frustrated and failed politician trying to say Gyan incited the team to refuse to train before they see cash?

• Di 3 months ago

Elvis and that man be belebele

• Sam 3 months ago

Afriyie Ankrah, you are a disgrace to your Christian faith. You are not a dishonest man and you lack integrity. Why are you saying this now ? Why didn’t you single out Asamoah Gyan then in 2014 ?

If Asamoah Gyan had joi ...

• Sco 3 months ago

Aptly put. He definitely would not have said the same thing if Asamoah had not joined Bawumiahs campaign team. Anyways,congrats to Elvis. Killing their own campaign with less than childish statements.

• Because of Politics 3 months ago

It’s too late to destroy Asamoah Gyan. Shame

• Kay 3 months ago

NDC would have been happy to see Asamoah Gyan joining their campaign team with his money.Criminals they would have milked him dry.In NPP we don't need his monies we want his expertise and experience in the game.

• $20 Coconut 3 months ago

Talk about your $20 coconut.. Thief.

• +Jojo 3 months ago

When the players saw the staggering amount this useless NDC pimp spent on one kube in Brazil, they decided to get their money in cash before the NDC apparatchiks steal all. The stupidity of NDC to insult anyone not in their c ...

• Ghanaba 3 months ago

Hey Elvis stop spewing nonsense, you and your bunch of incompetent fools collected your per diem before the footballers saw a dime. You should be in jail where you belong.

• Spiritual 3 months ago

@Ghanaba.You are mad. You were not in Brazil so just shut your beak.

• OwuraG 3 months ago

This is the most useless and senseless expression of view in the year so far. When everything became fiasco in that tournament as a minister, what did say? Even before the parliament , why didn’t you mention this till now t ...

• Kofi NDC 3 months ago

Stupid people, if you had this in mind, why are you now coming out to say it,, did he ever score a goal during his time in the black stars under the NDC government? Have u announced to us the money u made from the 2014 world ...

• Alamo 3 months ago

Elvis Afriyie-Ankrah was a useless minister,why now?
    He needs to be castrated.

• Noble 3 months ago

Nkwasee keka

• Kobby 3 months ago

Nonsense talk.

• Dondon 3 months ago

Why would Asamoah Gyan involve himself in Ghanaian politics? He is going to destroy his reputation. Ghana is not a country worth dying for my brother, helping a Ghanaian is like helping a lion that has fall into a ditch to co ...

• K’jei 3 months ago

Must we respond to this guy who knows no shame? I thought he had matured and would go beyond this baby politics? I think am wrong! Attempting to tarnish Guam’s image for what? I had always thought “monkeys play by size” ...

• Fathia Fata Nkrumah 3 months ago

I don't know why a legend like Gyan must join politics kraaaa . You have achieved a lot in life be it money and fame and whatever good life brings , why go into politics ???
    Can't Gyan be like Eto'o , Abedi , Stephen Appiah ...

• Kwame 3 months ago

Foool Gyan is a Ghanaian and has the right to join any political party. NDC mmoa mu mmoa.

• Gabsy 3 months ago

Bawumia’s campaign team includes a shameless Sarah kwabla Ass bonking rapist!! Interesting times ahead!

• Kioo 3 months ago

Former President Weah was the only African player to have won the now balon door, European best and African best in the same year, did he not join politics and won the ultimate?

• Gabsy 3 months ago

Asamoah Gyan can never be a legend! That ass bonking Sarah kwabla rapist? Asamoah Gyan long been doing politics with the black stars. Some of the players are ready to expose him!!

• Uncle Pee 3 months ago

Fathia, if you love your country, you share your experiences as a service for the benefit of the citizenry. Gyan must be celebrated for rendering his service to his country.

• Ken 3 months ago

Since AG has now declared his political stance, he must now onwards be treated as a politician

• Ochee-Do-Chee 3 months ago

AFRIYIE MOTHER F..KING ANKRAH. YOU ALL SHOULD HAVE GIVEN THE GUYS THEIR MONEY. YOUR SORRY ASS WAS RUNNING AROUND COPA CABANA BEACH SIPPING PINA COLADA WITH ASSIGNED FUNDS INSTEAD OF BEING THE LEADER OF THE DELEGATION. GO PARK ...

• PASTOR OGOGLO QUARTER aka K20 MMADP 3 months ago

THA AFRI MADA4ING ANKRAH IS EMPEROR RASHEED'S MOTHER'S BROTHER STEP SON ( ACCORDING TO RASHEED) .DAAVI'S PLACE ALL THE WAY,,

• Bob22 3 months ago

So all his team mates were also npp???? Illogical conclusion

• Bob22 3 months ago

This is just a manifesto committee and any resource person's knowledge can be tap into including ndc people so we must grow as a country

• Dr 3 months ago

Interesting times ahead of Ghana’s politrics and antics. Afriyie has the gust to spewing out this nonsense? Age is indeed not a sign of wisdom- the crying minister

• Nana Kwame Owusu-Afranie 3 months ago

Why now? Why won't they behave that way when sports officials milk on their sweats. You think you're wise and would use your 'education' to cheat them. Have you forgotten how you guys spent our monies in Brazil? Keep quiet ov ...

• Kofi nyame 3 months ago

How much did you buy the coconut

• Sir Innocent 3 months ago

Am highly disappointed for the comments coming from the two leadership of the ndc .eeeeeiii ghanaians should ask themselves why now? How much have they bought coconut in brazil before they want to talk about someone to use hi ...

• Gabsy 3 months ago

You have soon forgotten one million dollars in someone’s bedroom? Stuffed cash?

• Kofi Seaman. 3 months ago

WTF is going on? So, the simple fact that he accepted to join a group other than yours, all this is being said to tarnish his image? He has the liberty to join any group he wanted so let him be!!!

• Nii Akwei 3 months ago

Do you blame them? A government that does not honor its financial obligations deserves it.

• Brigadier sabari v.2 3 months ago

Heeeerh NDC ni gyimiii.How petty and childish can these guys be?

• Cabu 3 months ago

Elvis, why are you saying this now, because Asamoa Gyan has joined NPP campaign? You don't know shame, this is how stupid NDC people can be.

• Gabsy 3 months ago

Kwasi Appiah stripped Asamoah Gyan the rapist off the armband because he felt untouchable and was doing politics with the black stars team. He thinks his Government is in power . Immediately after the incident,the president h ...

• Achie bunker 3 months ago

Even big stars waste penalties Mr.Afriyie Ankrah stop this political mischief where you guys are keeping their money is good that they say no money no play here in Ghana when player wound nobody comes to his aid.

• Seihor 3 months ago

Cut n paste man gyai gyimie nu, everything u take dey fool.

• Geo 3 months ago

O my God what kind of future leaders do we have as a Nation, Asamoah has only being ask to share his experiences for the committee. I believe the NDC can equally set up a committee and invite him, the man is willing to share ...

• Solomon 3 months ago

They demanded to see money because Elvis Afriyie Ankrah and his cohorts wanted to short change the players. Was this not the same guy who was crying like a baby out of shameful behavour during an inquiry into that fiasco. Wh ...

• Mike Stone 3 months ago

Elvis and all ndc leaders are liars. Who works without being paid? Call Muntari etc and they will say the truth. Ndc will be exposed big time. When is the report of the commission St up to investigate the 2010 World cup. It's ...

• Justino 3 months ago

They not training until they see physical cash was indiscipline fueled by politics. This is because everyone knows Asamoah Gyan as the captain would've acted differently by urging his teammates on if it was the NPP i power.

• Navapio 3 months ago

Not when you were buying a coconut for 150 dollars, and sleeping and spending on prostitutes at the expense of their sweat.

• Obeng 3 months ago

And so what?????

You're jealous of his achievements

You probably bought a coconut for him

• Kwame Twumasi-Fofie 3 months ago

Seriously childish. Some of these our politicians can be so childish and petty it makes you wonder their age. So are they suggesting the Black Stars under Andre Ayew have been performing so poorly in recent AFCONs because the ...

• Uncle Pee 3 months ago

Kwame, you've said it best, and you can imagine if such politicians served as ministers. 3y3 as3m ooo.....

• Kofi Kum 3 months ago

WHY DO ALWAYS NEGOTIATE BONUSEE AND REFUSE TO PAY AT THE APPROPRIATE TIME? THE GFA IS DOIMG THAT EVEN UP TODAY, THE REASON WHY THE BLACK QUEENS FAILE TO QUALIFY FOR THE OLYMPICS. SAME WITH BLACK STAR COACHES. THEY HAVE TO GO ...

• Frank 3 months ago

And you failed as a sports minister

• Towncrier 3 months ago

Ridiculous! But it was ok for you to be sharing cars to girls at the Ministry, right? You guys are nut caes. Leave the man alone before you catch a lawsuit.

• Kofi Kum 3 months ago

Our Governments, past and present, seem to have a Culture not wanting to pay what we owe until something Drastic happens. Otherwise How can Parliament House, Ministries, Accra Sports Stadium, all of these places suffer Power ...

• Kwaku 3 months ago

Football matter in Ghana too turn ndc or npp politics!!! Oh brain dead Ghanaians

• Elvis why? 3 months ago

Did you expect them to play without pay?
    Did work as a minister without pay?
    Did you ever travel officially without per diem?

• Didi 3 months ago

Elvis is funny. Yiu embarrassed the country by transporting loads of cash from Ghana to Brazil. Upon arrival as usual NDC cohorts eat coconut at the expense of the country and you want to blame players who were fighting for ...

• DD 3 months ago

I am lost. How can you say this now. After good 14 years at South Africa. You Afriyie Ankrah led the team to 2014 World Cup at Brazil and you and your government refuse to pay them their bonuses instead you use the money to b ...

• PINTO 3 months ago

Eiiiii. NDC. WHATS WRONG WITH YOU GUYS?
    OK IF ASAMOAH GYAN HAD JOINED YOUR PARTY
    WOULD YOU BE SAYING ALL THESE NEGATIVE COMMENTS ABOUT HIM? YOUR EVIL HEARTS
    WILL TURN ON YOU

WO YE ABBEW PAAA! WHEN DC ABRONYE AND WONTUMI TALKED RUBBISH, DID YOU ASK WHAT WAS WRONG WITH NPP AND NP-PIGS?

• Kay 3 months ago

Mr Aftiyie Ankrah don't bring yourself! Stay in your corner and remain quite. You cried the money to them knowing your interest in that deal. God have mercy on you.

• Good Boy 3 months ago

NPP supporters like Asamoah Gjan never had Ghana at heart because NDC was in power. Thank God the Coach was smart to strip him of the captainship.

• Jeffrey 3 months ago

That was because they saw you Afriyie Ankra stealing with your both hands

• Ray Alan 3 months ago

Another NDC moron spewing garbage. Grow up cry baby

• John k 3 months ago

And Ghanaian who thinks Gyan missed the penalty because of politics is not well So NDC people saying that should be taken to hospital for check up Everything politics NDC just because of confusion you can't tell Ghanaians any ...

• Anna 3 months ago

When you went to the commission you were crying like a baby now you have mouth nonsense!

• Siabonga ny 3 months ago

Ndc Should stop this stupidness,so they wanted Asamoah to play for free??

• Greed 3 months ago

The players got agitated because you were stealing in their name. You went to Brazil with your family and girlfriends at the expense of the tax payers

• Achakanapaya . The ship is moving. 3 months ago

That's why he missed the penalty. Because NDC was in power.
    At least we can attest to it that Asamoah Gyan is a politician since.

• Assempa ( Game over for the Black Stars ) 3 months ago

No wonder the won nothing. Now that they continue to be on a loosing spree , blame it all on coaches. It's game over; they'll never win again.

• I know 3 months ago

Okudzeto Ablakwah and Afriyie Ankrah the big judgment debts beneficiaries. They were very smart to have covered their backs. North Tong & Bomso anaa

• emmanuel odonkor 3 months ago

see who is talking,stupid

• ras 3 months ago

You spoilt them and noe they are doing it on you you say weitin???? keep quiet and face it.

• Amoah 3 months ago

Cee who is taking thief

• Kwame 3 months ago

Arrest this NDC criminal called Elvis Afryie Ankrah. He is a damn motherfucker criminal with no shame. From NUGS to politics he is a thief. Didn't they airlift a cash of $4 million by air to Brazil in 2014? Jerks. Criminals. ...

• AMARIYA 3 months ago

NONSENSE, NDC PARLIAMENTARIANS BOYCOTTED PARLIAMENT

How many times did NDC reps in Parliament boycott parliament demand something?

• George 3 months ago

Why wouldn't they demand cash when u the government officials were spending careless on girls n buying coconut for $100

• FTT 3 months ago

Keep quiet, Asamoah Gyan is more important than you. Brazil 2014 chop chop will hung in your head forever

• Joe 3 months ago

Asamoah Gyan was actually doing everything to sabotage the then government. He was neck deep into politics no wonder he intentionally missed the penalty just not for NDC to get the glory. Trumu footballer

• Coonier MeChaie 3 months ago

Asamoah Gyan, I'm not a fan of his. I know he is a human being and I know also that when I work I must get paid.
    Mr Whoever-you-are, tell Ghanaians why the players said....
    Money na hand, back na ground/bed.

• Sam 3 months ago

What happened to the Black Queens recently ,they demanded payment due them and eventually lost a vital home match,Did they do that because they support NDC?

• KB 3 months ago

So why are you telling as now!

• Ato 3 months ago

Elvis you’re the last person to have come out to say shit. You are a man of no shame at all. Elvis you are a low class person you should have been in jail but here you are spewing stupidity because of politics. People like ...

• KAKO 3 months ago

Elvis is a corrupt person. He must declare his assets. Idiot.

• Kath 3 months ago

Look at the coconut seller too!

• Kantudu, Bunkpurugu. 3 months ago

Well, Monkey dey work, Baboon dey chop. Why should the players play with sweat and blood only for rhe minuster and his "Banza Goro Boys" to take undeserved advantage to sleep and knack prostitutes in 5Star hotels and even rec ...

• koni 3 months ago

the current team also doing the same, so the question is are the current players also ndc players? Ndc almost all their big men lack sense of reasoning. Their thinking capability very low so imagine these people lead a countr ...

• Kwaku Mensah 3 months ago

How many players were in the team at the time.
    Did you mention these during your flop World Cup in the
    Committee sitting. You were a failure don’t blame the player.
    Is it because today after retirement doing politics.

• Citizen8 3 months ago

Another shameless thief and idiot wants to show up.

• Fredrick Korankye, Columbus Ohio USA 3 months ago

He will definitely come back and apologize to Asamoah Gyan, but it will be late for him and his NDC

• ROB 3 months ago

NDC PARTY MEMBERS WILL SAY ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING IN THEIR QUEST FOR POLITICAL POWER TO ENABLE THEM CREAT, LOOT AND SHARE.THIEVES, LIARS AND MASTERS OF PROPAGABDA AND INSULTS.VERY BACKWARD POLITICAL PARTY.

• Christian 3 months ago

Ooh no Mr,whatever don't you have something sensible to say?

• Austin 3 months ago

Afriyie Ankrah is a mean of minister, how can you pay the spectators (the ladies and the guys sponsored by your government) their per diem and you expect the main actors (the players) to play without their, you bought a commo ...

• Kweku mensah 3 months ago

Most p/ndc people will always say or do things that will take shine and votes from them. Afriyie ankrah where did you spend the night before coming out with this? If it is for propaganda, did you think through before coming o ...

• Free Abena 3 months ago

NDC will have wished Asamoah is in their party so they jealous. Skin pain

AT LEAST THE NDC PEOPLE WON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT WATCHING THEIR DAUGHTERS' TRUMU BECAUSE HE WON'T BE AROUND THEM. FULANIS LOVE TRUMU, BAWUMIA LOVES FULANI, ASAMOAH LOVES TRUMU. ASAMOAH LOVES BAWUMIA BECAUSE BAWUMIA LOVES TRU ...

• Chief 3 months ago

Yes, cos Gh sports authorities have reputation of not paying up sportsmen alawa.

• Registered Independentoid 3 months ago

What a stupid pronouncement. Why do these stupid politicians always want to associate everything under the sun to politics? Think and talk about the economy stupid. Ghanaians are tired of your shallowmindeness.

• Free Abena 3 months ago

And so what coconut buyer

• David Hammond 3 months ago

Why did then Government of which Elvis Afriyie Ankara refused to pay tye players their appearance fees? In 2006 World Cup tournament in Germany, the Togolese team also made similar protest. The question is, if Asamoah Gyan h ...

• Kwame Ametoh 3 months ago

Useless talk from Useless Minister and this same fools want to come back. Kwasia keka u bought coconut n kyinkyinga n u are expecting him to do what.ofui Ankrah

• Otto pfister 3 months ago

Nonsense talk,do you want them to play for free while the most of you following the team have already pocketed your share of the loot.

• Pat. 3 months ago

Dede Ayew also missed penalty with the same team and out of that Ghana was eliminated at a group stage. The question is, is he an ndc member who want to make a showdown with npp. For a fact, everybody here in Ghana is a poli ...

• Yaw Asante 2 months ago

The question any sensible person would ask is why were you holding on to their money? Were you holding the money for your self interest
    by investing the money and pay them later? Were you cashing out on those guys sweat? Br ...

• web and App 2 months ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com

• Abu D 2 months ago

Now the cat is let out of the bag. Not knowing that he was all along a politician not a footballer. Shame !