You are here: HomeNews2013 01 29Article 263530

General News of Tuesday, 29 January 2013

Source: Joy Online

Parliament approves first batch of Ministers

Parliament on Tuesday approved the President’s nominee of all Seven Ministers who were vetted by the one-sided Appointments Committee last week.

They are Seth Terkper; Minister for Finance, Hannah Tetteh; Minister for Foreign Affairs, Clement Kofi Humado; Minister for Food and Agriculture and Alhaji Inusah Fuseini; Minister for Lands Natural Resources.

The rest are Alhaji Aminu Sulemana; Minister for Roads and Highways, Alhaji Collins Dauda; Minister for Works, Housing and Water Resources and Mahama Ayariga; Minister for Information and Media Relations.

Joy News Elton John Brobbey reported that although members from the minority side were present on the floor of the House, they abstained from any matters relating to the approval process.

He said Deputy Minority Leader, Dominic Nitiwul indicated, the minority will not be playing any role in matters concerning the appointments of persons into the Mahama-led administration pending the outcome of the Supreme Court ruling on the NPP’s petition challenging the election results.

The Appointments Committee is expected to vet four ministerial nominees this week.

They are Mr Akwasi Oppong-Fosu, Minister designate for Local Government and Rural Development, Nana Oye Lithur, Minister designate for Gender, Children and Social Protection, Dr Omane Boamah, Communication, Prof Jane Nana Opoku Agyemang, Minister designate for Education, Dr Oteng Agyei , Minister designate Environment, Science Technology and Innovation.

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter