Wishing KNUST the grace of God to select the best to lead.
Prof titles... 3 weeks ago
We need a seasoned Administrator with proven track record. I wish someone outside academia can be selected to inject some industry experience. Our graduates can't create anything. Just so so theories
OZYMANDIAS 3 weeks ago
Professors with Academic Pomposity. Booklong but of no substance to alleviate the suffering of the poor people in the country. Most of the students they teach are more interested in staying in air conditioned offices and drinking tea than providing any meaningful contribution to the economy. Like lecturers like students.
Kofi 3 weeks ago
Maria Asantewa Nkansah
Edgar Turkson 3 weeks ago
It would appear to me that commentators would wish an in-house appointment, going by prefered names mentioned so far and their backgrounds. So as to maintain the status quo at KNUST. Currently stale in its outlook. Parochial.
However this is a very important national institution that must for once look beyond those known to have been well established/ associated with the institution bearing in mind that a distinguished outside brain might be the wind of change that, in my view, the institution could do with.
Ashantiman 3 weeks ago
The VC should be a CONTINENTAL else we will not accept him as our VC.
Juliana 3 weeks ago
KNUST has great minds. The choice will be difficult if the game is played on level ground
Felix 3 weeks ago
A very skewed report. Ghanaweb you can do better. Prof Assasie is currently in court with the University, what makes him the dark horse in this race?
Titus Koffie 2 days ago
Oh too many illiterates in Ghana are not aware Prof. Assasie won a landmark victory against the terrible woman VC who has destroyed the University. Prof. Assasie has a high moral standard and integrity which Rita Akosua Dickson cannot stand and she tried using kangaroo committee to destroy the man and it has backfired on him. The man is handsome and clean. He strict and disciplined. He is not a thief and work very hard. Akosua Dickson and her small boys just envy him
Titus Koffie 2 days ago
backfired on her. I know what I talking about
Adwoa 2 days ago
Mr Felix, how about you actually read and get your facts right? Prof Assasie Oppong is a seasoned academic with strong qualifications and work ethics
He took the university management to court for their undue process and u ... read full comment
Mr Felix, how about you actually read and get your facts right? Prof Assasie Oppong is a seasoned academic with strong qualifications and work ethics
He took the university management to court for their undue process and unfairness and won. I see you have conveniently omitted that in your petty comment
No to Assasie-Opong 3 weeks ago
Assasie-Oppong would be a terrible choice. He is a dis-unifier and causes confusion everywhere. There have been several petitions against him by both staff and students.
Just show a proof here to show your honesty 2 days ago
This show that you’re part of the rot in University that man is not angel but he is the to clear the rot in a university where common refuse Babbage cannot be collected. Come to KNUST and see gabbage all over. I am sure you are one of the criminals in KNUST
Adwoa 2 days ago
Lies! Prof Assasie-Oppong took the university to court to hold the management accountable for the wrong actions against him. He won the case at the Court of Appeal. Their decision was unanimous
Many students especially pas ... read full comment
Lies! Prof Assasie-Oppong took the university to court to hold the management accountable for the wrong actions against him. He won the case at the Court of Appeal. Their decision was unanimous
Many students especially past students will testify to his integrity and work ethics
Arc. Carlito 2 days ago
Bro. The man is simply a disciplinarian and always demands excellence. Our systems often accuse such people as “difficult”. But let’s be honest with ourselves, if we really want to see very meaningful and innovative standards, this would be one of the best appointments to be ever made in the university.
Torchlight 3 weeks ago
Akan university?
Prof Assase will be a disaster 3 weeks ago
That man is too erratic for the role of VC. His temperaments are way off the requirements for a chief executive of the university. Speak to past students and current students, no one speaks well of him. It cannot be a coincidence, it is a confirmation of who he is.
Just show a proof here to show your honesty 2 days ago
This show that you’re part of the rot in University that man is not angel but he is the one to clear the rot in a university where common refuse Babbage cannot be collected. Come to KNUST and see gabbage all over. I am sure you are one of the thieves. The man has unquestionable integrity, infact he a man Ghana needs for president. You are just afraid for your life. If you are real just show your identity
Sammy 2 days ago
Or because he always eschews rots & holds up highest standards wherever he goes?
Rita 2 days ago
This comment reeks of agenda, hate and malice. You can never destroy the reputation and good name of Prof Assasie Oppong
His work precedes him. He is the definition of excellence.
How about you actually learn from him an ... read full comment
This comment reeks of agenda, hate and malice. You can never destroy the reputation and good name of Prof Assasie Oppong
How about you actually learn from him and stop this petty nonsense
Gobe 5 cedis gari bebree 2 days ago
charley, did one de3, you dey lie. Ebe agenda you jux dey wan do. den the man be ma lecturer. he stress me erh, but as asee life better, wey a barb say we dey hia more of people like him. We settle for low standards keep for this country. I think he go be good choice! Bam!
Ivory Mensah 3 weeks ago
Prof/Dr Osei Kwame Despite should be considered. To inject the university with scientific business and entrepreneurship.
Interested party 2 days ago
Prof Assasie Oppong is the best thing that could happen to the university! His moral and ethics are unimpeachable and he actually cares about students
All those trying to smear his name should be ashamed of themselves. Yo ... read full comment
Prof Assasie Oppong is the best thing that could happen to the university! His moral and ethics are unimpeachable and he actually cares about students
All those trying to smear his name should be ashamed of themselves. You all know his qualifications and his work standards
Islam the best Religion 2 days ago
Perfectly agree with you. Ghanaians hate any truth speaker and yet we say we are a Christian country. Islam is the best religion and the Professor should join Islam
Arku the Fante Girl 2 days ago
Oh the VC just crushed on the Professor and didn’t succeed so she wanted to show him where power lies but this time dee she no succeed koraa. Assasie-Oppong the man be solid and get swag you can’t beat in plain fields unless you use shambolic and underground committees. The man is standing on his legs pa pa bi
Prof Assasie-Oppong a game-changer and just man for KNUST 2 days ago
Truth be told Prof Assasie-Oppong is the man KNUST need as VC if Ghanaians wants the university develop. He was the Head of Department who made all my final Master of Architecture classmates finish school for the first time in the history of the department. It had not happened before and he did same the second year of his headship. The man is just disciplined and does not tolerate nonsense. He is focused and He does boot lick and speaks his mind based on rules and regulations. He really knows the University rules in and out and he works with the rules. He speaks to power with clarity and doesn’t speak to people for favors. He is soft spoken but doesn’t mince words at all. He is an accomplished academic and architect. Who doesn’t know how he transformed the International programmes office in KNUST and made many staff and students benefit. He is not corrupt. Corruptible people and those lacking integrity don’t like him and actually hate him. Infact some wish him dead but for his fortitude he has survived all the arrows thrown at him. All the people who have been named as possible VC have been working with the current VC Rita Akosua Dickson but they are all afraid of her to tell her the truth and the University has deteriorated, standards have fallen and the University is clothed in indiscipline. The man Assasie-Oppong has been consistent with his discipline life and does not mess up at all. He is not an angel but he is a fine man with great personable qualities. Give him the opportunity and get closer and you will know what I am saying. If the University wants to be fair and see quality development then Assasie-Oppong is the one who KNUST needs to clean the system. Those who have ears let them hear and those who have eyes let them see. God save KNUST.
Alexisandra 5 hours ago
Prof Assase Oppong is a man with vision who is ahead of his generation. The man is one who has promoted all the young lecturers and other lecturers in KNUST. As students of KNUST Business School and many others from different departments have we gained scholarships to study abroad because of Prof Assasie. The records are there in KNUST for any genuine persons who want to see. Any serious university will write a book about the achievements to encourage students instead of pulling the man down.
Professors with Academic Pomposity. Booklong but of no substance to alleviate the suffering of the poor people in the country. Most of the students they teach are more interested in staying in air conditioned offices and drin ...
Maria Asantewa Nkansah
It would appear to me that commentators would wish an in-house appointment, going by prefered names mentioned so far and their backgrounds. So as to maintain the status quo at KNUST. Currently stale in its outlook. Parochial. ...
Oh too many illiterates in Ghana are not aware Prof. Assasie won a landmark victory against the terrible woman VC who has destroyed the University. Prof. Assasie has a high moral standard and integrity which Rita Akosua Dicks ...
He took the university management to court for their undue process and u ...
This show that you’re part of the rot in University that man is not angel but he is the to clear the rot in a university where common refuse Babbage cannot be collected. Come to KNUST and see gabbage all over. I am sure you ...
Many students especially pas ...
Bro. The man is simply a disciplinarian and always demands excellence. Our systems often accuse such people as “difficult”. But let’s be honest with ourselves, if we really want to see very meaningful and innovative sta ...
Akan university?
That man is too erratic for the role of VC. His temperaments are way off the requirements for a chief executive of the university. Speak to past students and current students, no one speaks well of him. It cannot be a coincid ...
This show that you’re part of the rot in University that man is not angel but he is the one to clear the rot in a university where common refuse Babbage cannot be collected. Come to KNUST and see gabbage all over. I am sure ...
How about you actually learn from him an ...
charley, did one de3, you dey lie. Ebe agenda you jux dey wan do. den the man be ma lecturer. he stress me erh, but as asee life better, wey a barb say we dey hia more of people like him. We settle for low standards keep for ...
All those trying to smear his name should be ashamed of themselves. Yo ...
Oh the VC just crushed on the Professor and didn’t succeed so she wanted to show him where power lies but this time dee she no succeed koraa. Assasie-Oppong the man be solid and get swag you can’t beat in plain fields unl ...
Truth be told Prof Assasie-Oppong is the man KNUST need as VC if Ghanaians wants the university develop. He was the Head of Department who made all my final Master of Architecture classmates finish school for the first time i ...
Prof Assase Oppong is a man with vision who is ahead of his generation. The man is one who has promoted all the young lecturers and other lecturers in KNUST. As students of KNUST Business School and many others from different ...