General News of Wednesday, 7 January 2009

Source: GNA

Doe Adjaho, Mike Oquaye elected first, second deputy speakers

Accra, Jan. 7, GNA - Parliament on Wednesday elected Mr Doe Adjaho, National Democratic Congress (NDC) MP for Ave Avenor, and Professor Mike Oquaye, New Patriotic Party (NPP) MP for Dome Kwabenya, as the First and Second Deputy Speakers.

Mr Adjaho has been in parliament for 16 years and has for 12 years been in the leadership of the NDC in Parliament. Prof. Oquaye was former Minister of Energy and Minister of Communications under the NPP administration.