You are here: HomeNews2001 01 23Article 13173

General News of Tuesday, 23 January 2001

Source: Ghanaian Chronicle

Owusu Poku Succeeds Nanfuri As IGP

Mr. Peter Nanfuri has been asked to proceed on leave while Mr. E. Owusu Poku, a native of Kenyasi in the Brong Ahafo Region, now acts as the Inspector General of Police (IGP). Mr. Owusu Poku is currently the Director of Passports and should he be made the next IGP, he will be the first Brong native to occupy the highest office in the Police Service.

Since the appointment of Mr. E. R. T. Madjetey, a Krobo, as the first IGP in 1958, the Brong Ahafo, Greater Accra and Central regions have not benefited from the position. Four former IGPs were from the Eastern Region. They are; Mr. Madjetey (1958-1964), Mr. R. D. Ampaw (1971-72), Mr. Ernest Arko (1974-78) and Mr. S. S. Omane (1985-86).

The Volta Region also has had its fair share in the personalities of Mr. J. W. K. Harlley, an Anyako native, who served from 1964 to 1969. The rest are; Mr. R. K. Kugblenu (1982-1985) and Mr. C.K. Dewornu (1987-1989). From the Western Region, we had Mr. J. H. Cobbina who served from 1972-1974, while the Ashanti Region could boast of two former IGPs: S. B. K. Kwakye (1978-1979) and P. K. Kyei (1980-81). The Northern regions also had their men B.A. Yakubu who occupied the position of IGP from 1969 to 1971 and Peter Nanfuri who has just the vacated post.

Mr. Owusu Poku, the acting IGP, joined the Police Service in July 1965, after graduating from the University of Ghana, Legon. He served in the then Special Branch in 1970 as an Administrator under Professor George Ofosu Armah and later in various positions in the Police Service. By 1974 he was a Superintendent of Police.

Owusu Poku was seconded to the Ministry of Interior where he co-ordinated duties of the security services including, the Police, Immigration, Prisons, Fire services and the Narcotics Control Board. He has to his credit the publication of the Justice Archer Commission Report on Police Affairs where he served as secretary to the Commission from 1997-1999.