You are here: HomeNews2006 05 13Article 103355

General News of Saturday, 13 May 2006

Source: --

New Ministerial List: Summary


  • Presidential Spokesperson & Press Secretary to the President: Andrew Awuni
  • Attorney General & Justice: Joe Ghartey
  • Communication: Prof. Mike Ocquaye
  • Education, Science & Sports: Papa Owusu Ankomah
  • Energy: Joseph Adda

  • Information & National Orientation: Kwamena Bartels
  • Manpower, Dev?t & Employment: Boniface Saddique
  • Aviation: Gloria Akuffo
  • National Security: Francis Poku.

  • Interior: Albert Kan Dapaah
  • Local Gov?t, Rural Dev?t & Environment: Stephen Asamoah Boateng


  • Joseph Boahene Aidoo: Western Regional Minister
  • Nkrabeah Effah-Dartey: Deputy minister for the Interior
  • Isaac Edumadze: Central Regional Minister
  • Yaw Osafo Maafo, Minister of Education and Sports, has been dismissed. Infamous for the "419" loans a.k.a the IFC & Chinese barber loans when he was the finance minister
  • Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, Minister of Regional Integration and NEPAD and Member of Parliament (MP) for Offinso North has lost his position
  • J Ayikoi Otoo Attorney-General and Minister for Justice - replaced by his deputy Joe Ghartey
  • Dan Botwe, Information minister, has been relived of his post. The ex-General Secretary of the ruling party was not a favourite on the administration list, due to his opposition to Kufuor?s bid in the past when the NPP was in opposition.
  • Christine Churcher, Environment and Science Minister, has been sacked
  • Kwabena Agyepong, Press Secretary to the President.
  • Dr. Gashika Agambilla: Deputy Minister for Environment and Science
  • Moses Dani Baah: Deputy Minister for Private Sector Development
  • Kofi Osei Ameyaw: Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry
  • J H Mensah: Senior Minister


  • Ms Gloria Akuffo: From ? to Minister of State for Aviation:
  • Theresa Tagoe: From Deputy Minister of Lands Forestry and Mines to Deputy Greater Accra Regional minister
  • Minister of State for Culture and Chieftaincy: Mr Sampson K. Boafo
  • Office of the President: Charles Bintim, Mr K. Adjei Darko and Ms Elizabeth Ohene.
  • Elizabeth Ohene: Moves to office of the presidency from Minister of State in charge of Tertiary Education:

  • Sampson Kwaku Boafo: Moves from Ashanti Regional Minister to Minister of state for Culture and Chieftaincy
  • Charles Bintim: Minister of local Government and Rural Development, who deposited a whopping ?1.95 billion in his personal bank account with the High Street Branch of Barclays Bank within a period of eight months. Moves to office of the presidency

No Change

  • Defence: Dr. Kwame Addo Kufuor

  • Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration & NEPAD: Nana Akuffo Addo

  • Finance & Economic Planning: Kwadwo Baah Wiredu

  • Food & Agriculture: Ernest Debrah

  • Health: Maj (Rtd) Courage Quashigah

  • Lands, Forestry & Mines: Prof. Dominic Fobih

  • Tourism & Diasporean Relations: Jake Obetsebi Lamptey

  • Parliamentary Affairs: Felix Owusu Adjepong

  • Public Sector Reform: Dr. P. Kwesi Ndoum

  • Trade, Industry, Private Sector & PSI: Allan Kyeremanteng

  • Transportation: Dr. Richard Anane

  • Water Resources, Works & Housing: Hackman Owusu Agyeman

  • Fisheries: Gladys Asmah

  • Women & Children?s Affairs: Hajia Alima Mahama

  • Ports & Railways: Prof. C. Ameyaw Akumfi

  • Mr. Kwadwo Mpiani, Chief of Staff and Minister of Presidential Affairs

Regional Ministers

  • Ashanti: Mr E.A. Owusu-Ansah
  • Brong Ahafo: Mr I. Baffour Awuah
  • Central: Nana Ato Arthur
  • Eastern: Mr Yaw Barimah
  • Greater Accra: Sheik I.C. Quaye
  • Northern: Alhaji Mustapha Ali Idris
  • Upper East: Mr Boniface Agambila
  • Upper West: Mr Ambrose Derry
  • Volta: Kofi Dzamesi
  • Western Mr A. Evans Amoah

Deputy Regional Ministers

  • Ashanti, Mr L. Akwasi Prempeh
  • Brong Ahafo, Mr A. Kwadwo Kwakye
  • Eastern Ms Suzie Mensah
  • Greater Accra, Ms Theresa A. Tagoe
  • Northern: Mr Issah Ketekewu
  • Upper East Mr A. Awudu Yeremiah
  • Upper West, Mr George Hikah Benson
  • Volta: Mr Joseph Kwaku Nyan.

Deputy Ministers

  • Office of the President: Mrs M. Bampoe Addo
  • Attorney General and Justice: Mr K. Osei Prempeh
  • Communication: Dr Aggrey Ntim
  • Defence: William Ofori Boafo
  • Education, Science and Sports: Mr K. Amporfo Twumasi, Mr O.B. Amoah and Mrs A. Baiden Amissah
  • Energy: Mr K. T. Hammond
  • Finance and Economic Planning: A. A. Osei, Dr Y. Djan-Baffour
  • Fisheries: Mr Daniel Dugan
  • Food and Agriculture: Mr Clement Eledi and Ms Anna Nyamekye
  • Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and NEPAD: Mr A. Osei-Adjei and Shirley Ayorkor Botchewey
  • Health: Dr Gladys Norley Ashitey and Mr S. Owusu-Agyei
  • Information and National Orientation: Mrs Oboshie Sai-Cofie
  • Interior: Mr Agyeman Manu
  • Lands, Forestry and Mines: Mr A. Adjei-Yeboah and Ms Rita Tanliddi
  • Local Government, Rural Development and Environment: Mr Kofi Poku Adusei and Mr A. Dwuma Odoom
  • Manpower Development, Youth and Employment: Mrs A. F. Osei-Opare and Dr C.Y. Brempong-Yeboah
  • Tourism and Diaspora Relations: Mr Joe Baidoe-Ansah
  • Trade, Industry and Private Sector and PSI: Gifty Ohene-Konadu and Mr K. Asiedu Afram
  • Water Resources, Works and Housing: Ms Cecilia A. Dapaah and Mr Christopher Addae
  • Port and Railways: Ms Sophia Horner-Sam.