You are here: HomeNews2019 08 21Article 774171

General News of Wednesday, 21 August 2019


We are ready for 2019 NDC Primaries – Asiedu Nketia

General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress Johnson Asiedu Nketia has indicated their readiness for the upcoming party parliamentary primaries.

The primaries is expected to come off Saturday 24th August 2019, with polling stations opening at 7am and closing at 5pm.

Mr Nketiah noted that a total of 524 aspirants have been cleared to contest the election and 157 constituencies will be eligible to vote.

Meanwhile 5 constituencies have been put on hold following unresolved conflicts. These five constituencies are: Yilo Krobo, Mpohor, Ellembelle, Asawase and Fanteakwa North.

“The 5 constituencies where the exercise has been put on hold are constituencies where there are issues that are in the process of been resolved by our conflict resolution committee.”

Speaking at a press conference Wednesday, Mr Nketiah said that there will be no election in 39 constituencies as aspirants are going unopposed.

“In 39 constituencies there will be no election tomorrow. They are going unopposed so they are declared elected… because of certain challenges, we’ve had to put 5 constituencies on hold by the decision by the functional executive committee meeting that took place Tuesday. So effectively we have 74 constituencies where we have not opened nominations but hope in the coming weeks to open nominations in another batch.”

He however called on eligible voters to ensure to take with them valid ID cards. Adding that mobile phones and picture taking will not be allowed at the polling station. Every aspirant will be permitted to be accompanied by not more than three persons and anyone caught flouting the rules of the election will not be allowed to vote.

“If you go and create problems and your presence there becomes too problematic for the smooth running of the process, I believe the police know what to do.”

In his statement to the press he mentioned persons who are eligible voters of the NDC parliamentary primaries and they are:

“Branch executive committee members, the constituency executive committee members, members of the regional executive committee who are members of a branch in the constituency, former ministers and former deputy ministers who are members of the party and who are members of a branch in the constituency, members of the party which are appointees of the president, former council of state who are members of the party and are members of the branch in that constituency, former presidential staffers who are members of the party, former ambassadors and high commissioners who are members of the party.”

Join our Newsletter