You are here: HomeNews2020 01 30Article 851698

General News of Thursday, 30 January 2020


Ursula Owusu picks forms, vows to retain seat for NPP

Communications Minister, Mrs Ursula Owusu-Ekuful Communications Minister, Mrs Ursula Owusu-Ekuful

Communications Minister, Mrs Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, on Wednesday picked nomination forms to seek re-election as the Member of Parliament for Ablekuma West Constituency in the impending December general elections.

A leading member of the party, Robert Kwesi Hayfron Nicol amidst brass band music, picked the forms on behalf of the Minister, who is performing official duties outside the country.

He paid GHC2000 in bankers draft and was issued an official receipt covering the payment by the party executives.

Addressing delegates who had thronged the party office to grace the occasion, Robert Nicol, said Mrs Ursula Owusu-Ekuful is determined to lead the party again into victory in 2020.

He said he has never seen the NPP so united in the Ablekuma Constituency, stressing that, the days of unnecessary acrimony and rancor are over.

“I have never seen the NPP Ablekuma West so united for a very long time. We have learned from the past and this time around we have resolved to deliver a resounding victory for Mrs Ursula Owusu-Ekuful and President Akufo-Addo,” elated Robert Nicol added.

It is however not known yet if Mrs Ursula Owusu-Ekufful will face any opposition within the NPP.

The Communications Minister as MP for Ablekuma West has embarked on several developmental projects, including facilitating the construction of roads and the launching of “work, pay and own taxi scheme”.

The scheme has since empowered the beneficiaries economically as they were given a period of three years to make payments.

Mrs Ursula Owusu-Ekuful is credited for spearheading government's digitisation agenda, which has helped transformed Ghana’s socio-economic development.

The ruling New Patriotic Party is expected to hold Parliamentary primaries in areas where it has sitting Members of Parliament (MPs) on April 25, 2020.

The NPP has I69 sitting Members of Parliament out of the total 275 seats in Parliament.

The party has already elected more than 95 Parliamentary candidates who would be contesting on its ticket in orphan constituencies [areas the party does not have sitting MPs].

The same April 25, 2020 date would also be used to elect a flagbearer for the party for Election 2020.

Join our Newsletter