You are here: HomeNews2011 03 07Article 33454

Photo Page of Monday, 7 March 2011

Source: .

The Big Six!

LEFT to RIGHT: 1. Dr. Kwame Nkrumah; 2. Mr. E. Obtsebi Lamptey; 3. Mr. Ebenezer Ako Adjei (died in Jan 2002); 4. Mr. William Ofori Atta (Paa Willie); 5. Dr. J.B. Danquah; 6. Mr. Edward Akuffo-Addo These are the venerable BIG SIX, so called because of their vigorous agitation for Ghana's independence and their subsequent imprisonment by the British colonial government. Following the killing of ex-servicemen on February 28, 1948, and the subsequent rioting in Accra, the colonial government declared a state of emergency. On March 12, the Governor issued Removal Orders and police arrested the entire UGCC leadership. Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, Dr. Joseph Boakye Danquah, Mr. Edward Akufo Addo, Mr. William Ofori Atta, Mr. E. Obetsebi Lamptey and Mr. Ebenezer Ako Adjei were detained and exiled to the Northern Territories, now the Northern and Upper East/West Regions. This act gave them the accolade the "Big Six" in Ghana's political lexicon. ----by Kofi Ellison