You are here: HomeNews2015 10 10Article 386802

Politics of Saturday, 10 October 2015

Source: GNA

Tano South District Assembly develops MTDP

The Tano South District Assembly has developed a Medium Term Development Plan (MTDP) which spans from 2014 to 2017.

The objective of the plan conforms to the Ghana Shared Growth and Development Agenda (GSGDA) II of government which emphasises accountability and transparency, fair-play, good governance, civic responsibility and popular participation in decision-making.

Mr. Bukari Zakari Anaba, the District Chief Executive (DCE) announced during the inauguration of the 56-member Assembly, comprising 39 elected and 17 government appointees on Tuesday at Bechem in the Brong-Ahafo Region.

Mr. Anaba stated that the Assembly was established by Legislative Instrument (LI) 1765 in accordance with the subsection (1) of section 3 of the Local Government Act, 1993 (Act 462) with the vision of “Reducing the level of economic, social and political deprivation through effective uitilisation of the limited resources to harness the existing potentials and opportunities to improve the living standards of its people”.

He said since the creation of the Assembly, various plans and strategies had been rolled out by successive duty bearers to ensure the realisation of this vision, saying the current four-year MTDP had been developed to make achievement of this vision more pragmatic.

Mr. Anaba therefore stressed the need for the assistance of all because “this vision certainly cannot be realised without the collaboration and collective effort of all stakeholders”.

Mr. Anthony Kofi Opoku, the immediate past Presiding Member (PM) was retained unopposed in an election supervised by a two-member electoral officials led by Mr. George Gyabaah, Regional Director of the Electoral Commission (EC).

Mr. Opoku obtained 55 yes votes, representing 94.82 per cent, with two against, indicating 0.34 per cent in the election conducted on the basis of the ‘Yes’ and ‘No’ procedure.

The AMs were led to swear the three official national oaths of allegiance, office and secrecy by Hajia Yakubu Memunatu Jebune, the Magistrate of the Tano South District Magistrate Court to signify their assumption of office.

Join our Newsletter