You are here: HomeNews2014 08 29Article 323338

Politics of Friday, 29 August 2014

Source: GNA

Takoradi NDC Constituency elects new executives

The Takoradi constituency of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has elected new executives to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

At the end of the keenly contested election, Eliasu Abdul Rahman emerged victorious in the chairmanship race polling 217 votes to beat the incumbent Charles Nana Banyin Rabbles who had 109 votes.

The delegates elected Kow Crankson as the vice chairman who beat his closest rival George Bakan.

Emmanuel Donkor defeated three other contestants to claim the Secretary post and Issaka Mohammed was elected Deputy Secretary. Frederick Yaw Baah was elected the Treasurer.

Madam Emmanuelle Esi Aidoo was elected Women’s Organiser and Grace Banni the Deputy Women’s Organizer.

Michael Quashie was elected Constituency Organizer, Victor Obboy, the Deputy Organizer, Nana Yaw Koomson, Youth Organiser and Jasper Tsey, the Deputy Organiser.

The Propaganda Secretary position went to Aliyu Umanu and Charles Edward Dadzie, the Deputy Propaganda Secretary.

Eight persons were elected to form the Executive Committee and they are Abdul Abu Razak, Moses Afriyie, Doris Dadzie, Famous Kumi Acquah and Gifty Oboi.

The rest were Issah Kofi Ackah, Inkoom Bossman and Ibrahim Adam.

In all, 332 delegates voted for 37 candidates that contested 11 vacant positions in the constituency which was supervised by Mr. Kwabena Asante from the Electoral Commission.

Join our Newsletter