You are here: HomeNews2019 04 06Article 736271

Sports News of Saturday, 6 April 2019


Special Competition Preview: Eleven Wonders to deepen Asante Kotoko woes

Techiman based Eleven Wonders will be hoping for their first major points in the Normalization Committee Special Competition when they host beleaguered Asante Kotoko at Nkoranza.

The home side have lost two of their opening games in the competition losing 2-0, 2-1 to Ashanti Gold and Aduana Stars respectively.

They will be playing their first home game on Sunday at the Nkoranza Park due to the renovation work going on at their traditional home grounds in Techiman.

Enos Adepa will be counting on the experience of former Kotoko striker Alex Asamoah and the captain of his side Abdul Wahab who has scored five goals against Kotoko in all meetings.

Things are not that well for the Porcupine Warriors after their exit in the CAF Confederation Cup, an unconvincing win against Aduana Stars and a loss to Medeama SC at Tarkwa has raised a lot of questions marks on the team progress.

“If we want to go back to Africa again, it’s important we win our matches, but we are struggling.

“There is a little bit of misunderstanding on the way we handle things, hopefully we will rectify things and move on.”

These were the comments of C K Akonnor after his side’s defeat to Medeama SC.

Whatever the case, they will have to put everything behind them in order to get back to winning ways.

Richard Senanu, Teguy Zabo and Maxwell Baakoh will not be Available, but the availability of Songne Yacouba remain on the balance as the player is not willing to feature for the club again.

Kotoko played with no Striker in the game against Medeama and its likely it will remain the same on Sunday.

Fatawu Abdul Safiu is set to lead the line once again against his former club.

Techiman Wonders Probable XI

George Ameyaw , Kwadwo Amoako, Ganiu Fuseni, Alidu Fuseni, Rapheal Essien, Kwayie Simms, Prince Gyan, ADU kwaku ,Benjamin owusu, Abdul Wahab, Alex Asamoah

Asante Kotoko Probable XI –
Felix Annan, Anos Frimpong ,Augustine Sefa, Agyemang-Badu , Abdul Ganiyu, Umar Bashir, Martin Antwi , Emmanuel Gyamfi, Jordan Opoku, Fatawu Safiu, Stephen Nyarko.

Join our Newsletter