You are here: HomeNews2020 06 23Article 987436

Politics of Tuesday, 23 June 2020


Sitting MPs losing their seats very disheartening - John Boadu

NPP General Secretary, John Boadu NPP General Secretary, John Boadu

The General Secretary for the ruling New Patriotic Party, John Boadu, says it’s really disheartening to see many sitting MPs losing their seats in the just ended parliamentary primaries.

The NPP’s parliamentary primaries saw many big names being shot down.

Immediate past Deputy Communications Minister Vincent Odotei lost the La Dadekotopon seat in Accra.

Deputy Chief of Staff Francis Asenso Boakye also took down Daniel Okyem Aboagye at Bantama in a heated race.

This is the full list of losers in Saturday’s primaries.

Greater Accra Region

Vincent Sowah Odotei – La Dadekotopon
Nana Akua Owusu Afriyieh – Ablekuma North
Ahmed Arthur – Okaikwei South
Alhaji Habib Saad – Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfro
Kofi Brako -Tema Central

Central Region

Abraham Odoom – Twifo Atti Morkwa
Anthony Effah – Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa

Ashanti Region

Daniel Okyem Aboagye – Bantama Constituency
Collins Owusu Amankwah – Manhyia North Constituency
Kwabena Owusu Aduomi – Ejisu Constituency
Kwame Asafu-Adjei – Nsuta/Kwamang/Beposo
Kennedy Kankam – Nhyiaeso Constituency
Ben Abdallah Banda – Offinso South Constituency

Western Region

Ato Panford-Shama Constituency
Joe Mensah – Kwesimintsim constituency
Alex Agyeku-Mpohor Constituency
Patrick Bogyako Kwame Saime- Amenfi East Constituency

Upper West Region

Godfred Bayong Tangu-Wa East Constituency
Patrick Adama-Sissala West
Ridwan Abass-Sissala East

Eastern Region

Mark Assibey-Yeboah – New Juaben South Constituency
Seth Kwame Acheampong – Mpraeso constituency
William Agyapong Qauitoo – Akim Oda Constituency
Opare Ansah – Suhum Constituency
Ama Sey- Akwatia Constituency
Kwabena Ohemeng- Tinyase Kade Constituency
Robert Kwasi Amoah – Achiase Constituency

Northern Region

Charles Bintin – Saboba Constituency
Alhaji Wahab Wumbei – Tolon Constituency

Bono Region

Dr. Kwabena Twum Nuamah – Berekum East Constituency
Kwasi Sabi – Dormaa East Constituency

North-East Region

Dr. Sagre Bambangi – Walewale Constituency

Upper East Region

Joseph Kofi Adda – Navrongo Central Constituency

In an interview with Mr John Boadu on Atinka 104.7FM Midday News, he said it’s really disheartening because “the party has invested so much in some of the them to gain experience and really sad to see them exit but such is life, one must go for another to come”.